Field inspection manual—volumetric measuring devices

Appendix II—Linear interpolation

There are occasions when an inspector may need to interpolate values between two known values. This is common when assessing percentage tolerances, or applying various correction factors to a measured quantity. While not difficult to calculate, it is important that the interpolated value be determined carefully and correctly.

The formula for linear interpolation is:

(B mid) = [[(B upper) − (B lower)] [(A mid) − (A lower)]] ÷ [(A upper) − (A lower)] + (B lower)

Where:

  • Aupper = Upper Known Value
  • Alower = Lower Known Value
  • Bupper = Upper Corresponding Value
  • Blower = Lower Corresponding Value
  • Amid = Mid Known Value
  • Bmid = Mid Unknown Corresponding Value

The concept may be best described by example:

Example:

Assume you are taking a temperature measurement with a certified thermometer.

The thermometer is accompanied with a calibration certificate which lists 'Indicated' and 'True' temperatures. The temperature that you observe (26.50 °C) falls between two adjacent indicated values (20.00 °C & 30.00 °C) on the calibration certificate. How do you find the corresponding 'True' temperature?

Interpolation of the observed temperature value
Indicated temp True temperature
20.00 °C (A lower) 20.20 °C (B lower)
26.50 °C (A mid) B mid
30.00 °C (A upper) 30.25 °C (B upper)

What is the true temperature for an indicated temperature of 26.5 °C?

Bmid = [(30.25 − 20.20) (26.50 − 20.0)] ÷ (30.00 − 20.00) + 20.20

Bmid = [(10.05)(6.50) ÷ 10.00] + 20.20

Bmid = [65.325 ÷ 10.00] + 20.20

Bmid = [6.5325] + 20.20

Bmid = 26.7325 Bmid. 26.73 °C

This formula is useful for setting up a spreadsheet or a small program in a laptop, programmable calculator or PDA. If the interpolation must be calculated manually, the following simplified explanation may make it clearer.

Using a simplified approach:

Figure 1

Figure 1
Description of the figure 1

An example of linear interpolation where an observed indicated temperature (26.50) falls between two indicated temperatures (20.00 and 30.00) for which the corresponding true temperatures are known (20.20 and 30.25). The true temperature corresponding to the observed indicated temperature is unknown (Bmid).

The difference between the upper and lower indicated temperatures is 10.0 and the difference between the observed indicated temperature and the lower indicated temperature is 6.5; the difference between the corresponding true temperatures for the upper and lower indicated temperatures is 10.05 and the difference between the true temperature for the observed indicated temperature and the lower true temperature is unknown (x).

The difference between the true temperature for the observed indicated temperature and the lower true temperature (x) is determined by cross-multiplying the ratio of the difference between the upper and lower indicated temperatures to the difference between the observed indicated temperature and the lower indicated temperature (10.00 over 6.5) by the ratio of the difference between the corresponding true temperatures for the upper and lower indicated temperatures to the difference between the true temperature for the observed indicated temperature and the lower true temperature (10.05 over x), giving x = [10.05 × 6.5] ÷ 10.00 = 6.5325.

The true temperature for the observed indicated temperature (Bmid) is then determined by adding the difference between the true temperature for the observed indicated temperature and the lower true temperature (x) to the lower true temperature, giving Bmid = 6.5325 + 20.20 = 26.7325).

Reduced to two decimal points of precision, the true temperature corresponding to the observed indicated temperature is 26.73 °C.

Linear extrapolation

Either of these two approaches may also be used for linear extrapolation (finding a value not contained within, but rather larger or smaller than the data set), although extreme care must be taken to ensure that the extrapolated value is in fact representative and valid.

Revision

Original Document

Date modified:

Manuel de l'inspecteur — appareils de mesure du volume

Annexe II — Interpolation linéaire

Il y a des occasions où un inspecteur doit interpoler des valeurs entre deux valeurs connues. Il s'agit d'une opération souvent utilisée lors de l'évaluation des tolérances en pourcent ou de l'application de divers facteurs de correction à une grandeur mesurée. Même si le calcul n'est pas difficile, il est important que la valeur obtenue par interpolation soit déterminée correctement et avec rigueur.

La formule d'interpolation linéaire s'énonce comme suit :

(B int.) = [[(B sup.) − (B inf.)] [(A int.) − (A inf)]] ÷ [(A sup.) − (A inf.)] + (B inf.)

Où :

  • Asup. = Valeur supérieure connue
  • Ainf. = Valeur inférieure connue
  • Bsup. = Valeur supérieure correspondante
  • Binf. = Valeur inférieure correspondante
  • Aint = Valeur intermédiaire connue
  • Bint = Valeur intermédiaire correspondante inconnue

Le concept est mieux décrit par un exemple :

Exemple:

En supposant que vous mesurez la température à l'aide d'un thermomètre certifié.

Le thermomètre est accompagné d'un certificat d'étalonnage qui énumère les températures « indiquées » et les températures « vraies » . La température que vous observez (26,50 °C) se trouve entre deux valeurs indiquées adjacentes (20,00 °C et 30,00 °C) sur le certificat d'étalonnage. Comment trouvez-vous la température vraie correspondante?

Interpolation de la valeur de température observée
Temp. indiquée Température vraie
20,00 °C (A inf.) 20,20 °C (B inf.)
26,50 °C (A int.) B int.
30,00 °C (A sup.) 30,25 °C (B sup.)

Quelle est la température vraie pour une température indiquée de 26,5 °C?

Bint. = [(30,25 − 20,20) (26,50 − 20,0)] ÷ (30,00 − 20,00) + 20,20

Bint. = [(10,05)(6,50) ÷ 10,00] + 20,20

Bint. = [65,325 ÷ 10,00] + 20,20

Bint. = [6,5325] + 20,20

Bint. = 26,7325 Bint.. 26,73 °C

Cette formule est utile pour établir une feuille de calcul ou un petit programme sur un portable, un calculateur programmable ou un PDA. Si l'interpolation doit être faite à la main, l'explication simplifiée suivante est très claire.

En utilisant une approche simplifiée :

Figure 1

Figure 1
Description de la figure 1

Voici un exemple de l'interpolation linéaire d'une température affichée observée (28,50), qui descend entre deux températures affichées (20,00 et 30,00) pour lesquelles les températures réelles correspondantes sont connues (20,20 and 30,25). La température réelle correspondant à la température observée est inconnue (Bmid).

La différence entre la température la plus élevée et la température la plus basse affichées est égale à 10, et la différence entre la température affichée observée et la température la plus basse affichée est égale à 6,5; la différence entre les températures réelles correspondantes et celle des températures correspondant à celle des températures affichées est égale à 10,5; et la différence entre la température réelle correspondant à la température affichée observée et la température réelle la plus basse observée est inconnue (x).

La différence entre la température réelle correspondant à la température affichée observée et la plus basse température réelle (x) est déterminée comme suit : établir le produit en croix du coefficient de la différence entre la températures affichées (la plus haute et la plus basse) et de la différence entre la température affichée observée et de la température le plus basse affichée (10,00 sur 6,5) par le coefficient de la différence entre les températures réelles correspondantes pour les températures affichées (la plus haute et la plus basse) à la différence entre la température réelle correspondant à la température affichée observée et à la plus basse températutre réelle (10,5 sur x), ce qui donne : x = [10.05 × 6.5] ÷ 10.00 = 6.5325.

Pa conséquent, la détermination de la température réelle correspondant à la température affichée observée (Bmid) s'effectue comme suit : ajouter la différence entre la température réelle correspondant à à la température affichée observée et la température réelle la plus basse (x) à la température réelle la plus basse, ce qui donne : Bmid = 6.5325 + 20.20 = 26.7325.

Une fois réduite à deux signes décimaux de précision, la température réelle correspondant à la température affichée observée est 26,73 °C.

Extrapolation linéaire

L'une ou l'autre de ces deux approches peut être utilisée pour l'extrapolation linéaire (trouver une valeur inférieure ou supérieure à celles contenues dans un ensemble de données), mais il y a lieu de se rappeler qu'il faut absolument s'assurer que la valeur extrapolée est représentative et valide. L'extrapolation ne doit pas être utilisée pour des valeurs d'étalonnage à moins d'obtenir l'autorisation du spécialiste régional en gravimétrie.

Révision

Document original

Date de modification :