Online Reporting Application terms and conditions of use

Please read these terms and conditions of use (the "terms and conditions") carefully before using the Online Reporting Application. By using the Online Reporting Application, you agree to comply with all of the terms and conditions set out below. If you do not agree to the terms and conditions, please do not use the Online Reporting Application. We reserve the right, at our sole discretion, to modify the terms and conditions at any time, and such modifications shall be effective immediately upon posting of the modified terms and conditions. You agree to review the terms and conditions periodically to be aware of such modifications and your continued use of the Online Reporting Application shall be deemed your conclusive acceptance of the modified terms and conditions.

Definitions

Authorized service provider

organization authorized to examine and certify measuring devices.

Authorized service provider administrator

individual employed by an authorized service provider (ASP) and who is given the authority to enter examination data in the Online Reporting Application on behalf of a recognized technician employed by the said ASP.

Device

under the Weights and Measures Act, any weight, weighing machine, static measure or measuring machine and includes any equipment and accessories attached to or used in conjunction with the device that have or can have an effect on the accuracy of the device.

Device Examination Certificate

certificate issued to a device owner by fax or email once examination data is successfully submitted in the Online Reporting Application. Device examination certificates were previously referred to as device inspection certificates.

Device Transfer Notice

notice issued to a device owner by fax or email once a request to transfer one or more devices from one establishment to another has been submitted in the Online Reporting Application.

Establishment

business location of a device owner. For the purposes of the Online Reporting Application, it is the physical location of a device being used in trade.

Examination (inspection)

under Measurement Canada's Accreditation Program and Registration Program, the activity of measuring, examining, evaluating, testing or gauging one or more characteristics of a device or meter to determine its acceptability, and it includes documentation of results.

Management representative

under Measurement Canada's Accreditation Program and Registration Program, the person in authority who will act as the organization's representative and main contact for Measurement Canada.

Measurement Canada system administrator

employee of Measurement Canada whose main responsibilities include managing and supporting the Online Reporting Application.

Measurement Canada inspector

employee of Measurement Canada designated as an inspector pursuant to section 7 of the Department of Industry Act and whose responsibilities include investigating reports of suspected inaccurate measurement and conducting examinations of measuring devices to ensure traders comply with the Weights and Measures Act and its Regulations, established specifications, procedures, policies and guidelines.

Online Reporting Application

Measurement Canada web application that enables device examination data and results to be submitted to Measurement Canada. Once the examination results are reported and successfully submitted, a Device Examination Certificate is issued under the authority of the Weights and Measures Act.

Recognized technician

under Measurement Canada's Accreditation Program and Registration Program, an individual, employed by an authorized service provider, whose competencies have been successfully assessed and who is recognized by Measurement Canada to examine devices and submit examination data for the issuance of examination certificates pursuant to the Weights and Measures Act. Recognized technicians are not authorized to take enforcement actions in instances of non-compliance.

Roles and responsibilities

Recognized technicians shall

Management representatives shall

Authorized service provider administrators shall

Measurement Canada inspectors shall

The Measurement Canada system administrator shall

Termination

Measurement Canada may at its sole and absolute discretion cancel or terminate your right to use this application or any part of the application at any time, without notice or liability to you or any other person. In the event of termination, the terms and conditions of use shall continue to apply and be binding upon you with respect of your prior use of the application and of the Content.

Technical specifications

System requirements:

Privacy notice

All personal information created, held or collected by this department is protected under the Privacy Act. This means that you will be informed of the purpose for which it is being collected and how to exercise your right of access to that information. You will be asked for your consent where appropriate.

Public communications

The personal information you include in an inquiry about this website may be used to prepare a reply. The personal information is collected pursuant to the provision in the department's enabling statutes. Such information may be used for statistical, evaluation and reporting purposes. The information is included in the personal information bank PSU 914 – Public Communications. The information may be shared with programs and activities of Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada should your inquiry pertain to a specific program or activity of the department. In such cases, the information is included in the personal information bank of the program or activity.

The transmission of this information is not secure so sensitive personal information, such as your Social Insurance Number, should not be included in your message.

If after reading this statement, you prefer not to submit your inquiry via the Internet, you may use one of the following methods:

By telephone: 613-954-5031 (Toll-free: 1-800-328-6189 (Canada))

By mail:
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada Web Service Centre
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
CD. Howe Building
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5
Canada

In person at: Headquarters or Regional Offices

Teletypewriter: 1-866-694-8389 (toll-free)

Privacy inquiry

Any questions, comments, concerns or complaints you may have regarding the administration of the Privacy Act and privacy policies regarding this website may be directed to the departmental privacy coordinator by email, by telephone or in writing to:

Information and Privacy Rights Administration
Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
CD. Howe Building
2nd Floor, West Tower
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5
Canada

Telephone: 343-291-2792

Fax: 613-941-3085

Email: Kimberly Eadie

If you are not satisfied with our response to your privacy concern, you may wish to contact the Office of the Privacy Commissioner by email at info@priv.gc.ca or by telephone at 1-800-282-1376.

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada terms and conditions

Before using the Online Reporting Application, users must also read and agree to Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's terms and conditions.

Appendix 1: Online Reporting Application list of manuals and tables

ORA users, regardless of their employer, are required to follow the information available in the manuals and reference documents.

Documents applicable only to Measurement Canada ORA users:

Date modified:

Conditions d'utilisation de l'Application de déclaration en ligne

Veuillez lire attentivement les conditions d'utilisation (les « conditions ») suivantes avant d'utiliser l'Application de déclaration en ligne. En utilisant l'Application de déclaration en ligne, vous reconnaissez que vous avez lu les conditions énoncées ci-dessous. Si vous n'acceptez pas les conditions, veuillez ne pas utiliser l'Application de déclaration en ligne. Nous nous réservons le droit, à notre entière discrétion, de modifier les conditions à tout moment; le cas échéant, la version modifiée prendra effet dès son affichage. Vous convenez de prendre régulièrement connaissance des conditions afin d'être au fait de toutes les modifications qui leur sont apportées. Votre utilisation continue de l'Application de déclaration en ligne sera considérée comme votre acceptation formelle des conditions modifiées.

Définitions

Fournisseur de services autorisé

organisme autorisé à examiner et à certifier les instruments de mesure au nom de Mesures Canada.

Administrateur de fournisseur de services autorisé

personne employée par un fournisseur de services autorisé (FSA) à qui on permet d'entrer les données d'examen dans l'Application de déclaration en ligne au nom d'un technicien reconnu employé par le FSA.

Instrument

en vertu de la Loi sur les poids et mesures, poids, appareil de pesage, mesure matérialisée ou appareil de mesure, y compris le matériel et les accessoires solidaires rattachés à l'instrument, ou utilisés en conjonction avec lui, et ayant ou pouvant avoir un effet sur son exactitude.

Certificat d'examen d'instrument

certificat envoyé à un propriétaire d'instrument par télécopieur ou par courriel une fois que les données d'examen sont entrées dans l'Application de déclaration en ligne. Le Certificat d'examen d'instrument était autrefois désigné sous le nom de Certificat d'inspection d'instrument.

Avis de transfert d'instrument

avis envoyé à un propriétaire d'instrument par télécopieur ou par courriel après qu'une demande de transfert d'un ou de plusieurs instruments d'un établissement à un autre a été soumise dans l'Application de déclaration en ligne.

Établissement

lieu d'affaires d'un propriétaire d'instrument. Aux fins de l'Application de déclaration en ligne, il s'agit de l'emplacement physique d'un instrument utilisé dans le commerce.

Examen (inspection)

en vertu du Programme d'accréditation et du Programme d'enregistrement de Mesures Canada, activité consistant à mesurer, à examiner, à évaluer, à tester ou à déterminer une ou plusieurs caractéristiques d'un instrument ou d'un compteur afin de déterminer son acceptabilité, y compris la documentation des résultats.

Représentant de la direction

en vertu du Programme d'accréditation et du Programme d'enregistrement de Mesures Canada, personne en autorité qui agira en tant que représentant de l'organisme et contact principal pour Mesures Canada.

Administrateur de système de Mesures Canada

employé de Mesures Canada ayant pour principales responsabilités la gestion et le soutien de l'Application de déclaration en ligne.

Inspecteur de Mesures Canada

employé de Mesures Canada désigné à titre d'inspecteur aux termes de l'article 7 de la Loi sur le ministère de l'Industrie et dont les responsabilités comprennent enquêter à la suite de plaintes concernant des mesures inexactes soupçonnées et effectuer des examens d'instruments de mesure pour veiller à ce que les commerçants se conforment à la Loi sur les poids et mesures et au Règlement sur les poids et mesures ainsi qu'aux normes, aux procédures, aux politiques et aux lignes directrices établies.

Application de déclaration en ligne

application Web de Mesures Canada qui permet de soumettre des résultats et des données d'examen à Mesures Canada. Une fois les données soumises, un Certificat d'examen d'instrument est délivré en vertu de la Loi sur les poids et mesures.

Technicien reconnu

en vertu du Programme d'accréditation et du Programme d'enregistrement de Mesures Canada, toute personne, engagée par un fournisseur de services autorisé, dont les compétences ont été jugées suffisantes, et qui est reconnue par Mesures Canada pour examiner les instruments et soumettre des données d'examen aux fins de la délivrance de certificats d'examen en vertu de la Loi sur les poids et mesures. Les techniciens reconnus ne sont pas autorisés à prendre des mesures d'application de la loi en cas de non-conformité.

Rôles et responsabilités

Techniciens reconnus

Représentants de la direction

Administrateurs de fournisseurs de services autorisés

Inspecteurs de Mesures Canada

Administrateur de système de Mesures Canada

Résiliation

Mesures Canada peut, à sa seule et entière discrétion, annuler votre droit d'utiliser cette application ou une partie de l'application ou y mettre fin à tout moment, sans préavis et sans engager sa responsabilité envers vous ou envers des tiers. En cas de résiliation, les présentes conditions demeureront applicables et continueront de vous lier relativement à votre utilisation antérieure de l'application et du contenu.

Spécifications techniques

Configuration requise :

Avis de confidentialité

Tous les renseignements personnels créés, recueillis ou conservés par le ministère sont protégés par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Cela signifie qu'on vous informera des fins auxquelles ces renseignements sont recueillis et de la façon dont vous pouvez exercer votre droit d'accès à ces renseignements. Le cas échéant, on vous demandera d'exprimer votre consentement par rapport à ces renseignements.

Communications publiques

Les renseignements personnels que vous fournissez dans une demande de renseignements relatifs à ce site Web peuvent être utilisés afin de préparer une réponse. Ces renseignements personnels sont recueillis conformément aux dispositions pertinentes de la loi habilitante du Ministère. Cette information peut être utilisée à des fins statistiques, d'évaluation et de compte rendu. L'information est versée dans le fichier de renseignements personnels POU 914 — Communications publiques. Il se peut que ces renseignements soient communiqués aux services responsables des programmes et des activités d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada si votre demande porte sur les programmes ou les activités de ce ministère. Dans ces cas, ces renseignements sont compris dans le fichier de renseignements personnels du service responsable du programme ou de l'activité.

La transmission de ces renseignements n'est pas protégée. Vous ne devriez donc pas inclure de renseignements personnels de nature délicate, comme votre numéro d'assurance sociale, dans votre message.

Si, après avoir lu cet avis, vous préférez ne pas présenter votre demande d'information par Internet, veuillez utiliser l'une des autres méthodes précisées ci-dessous.

Par téléphone : 613-954-5031 (sans frais : 1-800-328-6189 (Canada))

Par la poste :
Centre de service Web d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Édifice C.D.-Howe
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5
Canada

En personne : Administration centrale ou bureaux régionaux

Téléimprimeur : 1-866-694-8389 (sans frais)

Demande de renseignements sur la vie privée

Vos commentaires, questions, préoccupations ou plaintes relatifs à l'administration de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et des politiques de protection de la vie privée en ce qui a trait à ce site Web peuvent être adressés au coordonnateur ministériel de la protection des renseignements personnels par courriel, par téléphone, ou par écrit. Voici nos coordonnées :

Administration des droits à l'information et à la protection des renseignements personnels
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada
Édifice C.D.-Howe
2e étage, tour Ouest
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5
Canada

Téléphone : 343-291-2792

Télécopieur : 613-941-3085

Courriel : Kimberly Eadie

Si vous n'êtes pas satisfait(e) de notre réponse à l'égard de vos préoccupations au sujet de la protection de vos renseignements personnels, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada par courriel à info@priv.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 1-800-282-1376.

Avis d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Avant d'utiliser l'Application de déclaration en ligne, les utilisateurs doivent aussi lire et accepter l'Avis d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

Annexe 1 : Liste des manuels et des tableaux de référence de l'Application de déclaration en ligne

Les utilisateurs de l'ADEL, quel que soit leur employeur, sont tenus de suivre les renseignements disponibles dans les manuels et les documents de référence.

Applicables seulement aux utilisateurs de l'ADEL qui travaillent pour Mesures Canada :

Date de modification :