G-24—Temporary permission for putting gas analysis devices into service without sealing

Category: Gas
Issue date: 2018-05-15
Effective date: 2018-05-15
Revision number:
Supersedes:

1.0 Purpose

The purpose of this bulletin is to communicate the granting of temporary permission to put gas analysis devices into service without sealing and to establish policy requirements applicable to such devices.

2.0 Scope

This bulletin applies to gas analysis devices that are verified or reverified prior to being put into service for use in trade or custody transfer applications. These devices include gas chromatographs, calorific value determining devices (e.g. calorimeters), densitometers and relative density determining devices.

This bulletin does not apply to gas analysis devices where conditional permission has been granted in accordance with bulletin G-14 to put them into service without verification and sealing.

3.0 References

4.0 Authority

In accordance with this bulletin, a temporary permission is granted under the authority of subsection 9(2) of the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act.

5.0 Definitions

Verification triggering event
(événement déclencheur de vérification)
Any event deemed by Measurement Canada to require a verification of a device before it is permitted to be used or continue to be used in trade.

6.0 Policy

6.1 Temporary permission

Temporary permission is hereby granted for putting verified or reverified devices within the scope of this bulletin into service without sealing.

6.2 Application of verification marks

A verified or reverified device for which temporary permission was granted in accordance with this bulletin is to have a verification mark applied to it in a visible location.

6.3 Record of maintenance work

The owner of a device who is granted temporary permission in accordance with this bulletin is required to maintain a record of the date and nature of any maintenance work performed on the device since its last verification or reverification. Upon request, the owner is required to make such records available to Measurement Canada.

6.4 Modifications considered to be verification triggering events

The following modifications to a device for which temporary permission was granted in accordance with this bulletin are considered to be verification triggering events:

  1. Carrying out any repair, replacement or modification of a device's hardware components that may have an impact on its functioning and/or performance accuracy, with the exception of any permissible component exchanges as communicated in a device's notice of approval.
  2. Updating, downgrading and/or reloading a device's legally relevant software.
  3. Selecting and using, for trade or custody transfer purposes, unverified methods of calculation and/or units of measure (as applicable) for gas properties (e.g. calorific value, relative density).

7.0 Expiry of temporary permission

No date is set for the expiry of the temporary permission provided for by this bulletin. This temporary permission will remain in effect until the Agency has completed a policy review of the application of type approval requirements for sealing provisions to all gas analysis devices and finalized its policy in this regard.

Date modified:

G-24 – Permission temporaire de mise en service d’un appareil de mesure du gaz sans scellage

Catégorie : Gaz
Date de publication : 2018-05-15
Date d'entrée en vigueur : 2018-05-15
Numéro de révision :
Remplace :

1.0 Objectif

Le présent bulletin a pour objectif de communiquer l'accord d'une permission temporaire de mise en service d'appareils d'analyse du gaz sans scellage et d'établir les exigences applicables en matière de politique.

2.0 Domaine d'application

Le présent bulletin s'applique aux appareils d'analyse du gaz qui sont vérifiés ou revérifiés avant d'être mis en service pour être utilisés à des fins commerciales ou de transfert fiduciaire. Ces appareils comprennent les chromatographes en phase gazeuse, les appareils servant à déterminer le pouvoir calorifique (p. ex. les calorimètres), les densitomètres et les appareils servant à déterminer la densité relative.

Le présent bulletin ne s'applique pas aux appareils d'analyse du gaz pour lesquels une autorisation conditionnelle de mise en service sans vérification ni scellage a été accordée conformément au bulletin G‑14.

3.0 Références

4.0 Autorisation

Conformément au présent bulletin, une permission temporaire est accordée en vertu du paragraphe 9(2) de la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz.

5.0 Définitions

Événement déclencheur de vérification
(verification triggering event)

Tout événement qui nécessite, selon Mesures Canada, une vérification de l'appareil avant que ce dernier puisse être utilisé ou continuer d'être utilisé dans le commerce.

6.0 Politique

6.1 Permission temporaire

Une permission temporaire est par la présente accordée aux appareils vérifiés ou revérifiés qui sont visés par le domaine d'application du présent bulletin et qui seront mis en service sans scellage.

6.2 Apposition des marques de vérification

Tout appareil vérifié ou revérifié pour lequel une permission temporaire a été accordée conformément au présent bulletin doit présenter une marque de vérification qui a été apposée à un endroit visible.

6.3 Registre des travaux d'entretien

Le propriétaire d'un appareil auquel une permission temporaire a été accordée conformément au présent bulletin doit tenir un registre indiquant la date et la nature de tout travail d'entretien de l'appareil effectué depuis sa dernière vérification ou revérification. Le propriétaire doit, sur demande, mettre ce registre à la disposition de Mesures Canada.

6.4 Modifications considérées comme des événements déclencheurs de vérification

Les modifications suivantes apportées à un appareil pour lequel une permission temporaire a été accordée conformément au présent bulletin sont considérées comme des événements déclencheurs de vérification :

  1. Les réparations, les remplacements ou les modifications de composants matériels de l'appareil qui peuvent avoir une incidence sur son fonctionnement ou la précision de son rendement, à l'exception des échanges de composants permissibles, comme communiqués dans l'avis d'approbation d'un appareil.
  2. La mise à niveau, la remise à une version plus ancienne ou le rechargement d'un logiciel juridiquement pertinent.
  3. La sélection et l'utilisation, à des fins commerciales ou de transfert fiduciaire, de méthodes de calcul ou d'unités de mesure non vérifiées (selon le cas) pour déterminer les propriétés gazeuses (p. ex. pouvoir calorifique, densité relative).

7.0 Expiration de la permission temporaire

Aucune date n'a été établie pour l'expiration de la permission temporaire prévue par le présent bulletin. Cette permission temporaire demeurera en vigueur jusqu'à ce que l'organisme ait effectué un examen des politiques concernant l'application, à tous les appareils d'analyse du gaz, des exigences d'approbation de type en ce qui a trait aux dispositions relatives au scellage, et finalisé sa politique à cet égard.

Date de modification :