Measurement Canada stakeholder technical engagement

Conversion of terms and conditions to ministerial specifications

Terms and conditions allow the Minister to approve on a temporary basis measuring device types that use new technology. They help to get innovative measuring device types to the market quicker, provide Measurement Canada an opportunity to evaluate their performance in service and allow Measurement Canada to become familiar with the new technology. The downside is that the approvals are conditional, which means that they can be withdrawn and the devices may need to be updated in the future. This creates uncertainty for both the manufacturers and users.

Measurement Canada would like to convert some existing terms and conditions into permanent requirements through ministerial specifications.

During this process, we would like to initiate a discussion on the technical requirements in the following terms and conditions:

Converting these terms and conditions will allow manufacturers to have these device types permanently approved for use in trade and for device owners to have the certainty of having permanently approved devices that are installed and used in accordance with permanent requirements.

Measurement Canada requests that you review the applicable terms and conditions and answer the following questions:

  1. Are the current requirements still relevant? Do they require updating?
  2. Is there any additional information that could affect the current technical requirements?
  3. Are there any reasons why converting these temporary technical requirements into permanent technical requirements could negatively affect your business? If so, please explain. Do you have an alternative suggestion?
  4. Where possible, Measurement Canada will use incorporation by reference to ensure that the requirements are in line with international standards. Do you think this may negatively affect the industry or your company? If so, explain how. Do you have alternative suggestions?

Please provide your answers and feedback by email to Measurement Canada by September 30, 2019.

The nature and extent of feedback received will determine the next steps for this project.

Measurement Canada greatly appreciates your input and will strive to address your concerns and expedite this process.

Date modified:

Engagement technique des intervenants de Mesures Canada

Conversion des conditions en normes ministérielles

Les conditions permettent au ministre d'accorder des approbations temporaires aux types d'appareils de mesure qui utilisent une nouvelle technologie. Elles permettent de mettre plus rapidement sur le marché des types d'appareils de mesure novateurs, donnent à Mesures Canada l'occasion d'évaluer leur rendement en service et permettent à Mesures Canada de se familiariser avec la nouvelle technologie. L'inconvénient est que les approbations sont conditionnelles, ce qui signifie qu'elles peuvent être retirées et que les appareils pourraient devoir être mis à jour à l'avenir. Cela crée de l'incertitude tant pour les fabricants que pour les utilisateurs.

Mesures Canada aimerait convertir certaines conditions existantes en exigences permanentes au moyen de normes ministérielles.

Au cours de ce processus, nous aimerions amorcer une discussion sur les exigences techniques énoncées dans les conditions suivantes :

La conversion de ces conditions permettra aux fabricants d'obtenir l'approbation permanente de ces types d'appareils pour utilisation dans le commerce et aux propriétaires d'appareils d'avoir la certitude que leurs appareils sont approuvés en permanence et qu'ils sont installés et utilisés conformément aux exigences permanentes.

Mesures Canada vous demande d'examiner les conditions applicables et de répondre aux questions suivantes :

  1. Les exigences actuelles sont-elles toujours pertinentes? Ont-elles besoin d'être mises à jour?
  2. Y a-t-il d'autres renseignements qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur les exigences techniques actuelles?
  3. Y a-t-il des raisons pour lesquelles la conversion de ces exigences techniques temporaires en exigences techniques permanentes pourrait avoir une incidence négative sur votre entreprise? Dans l'affirmative, veuillez expliquer pourquoi. Avez-vous une autre suggestion?
  4. Dans la mesure du possible, Mesures Canada utilisera l'incorporation par renvoi pour s'assurer que les exigences sont conformes aux normes internationales. Pensez-vous que cela pourrait nuire à l'industrie ou à votre entreprise? Si oui, expliquez comment. Avez-vous d'autres suggestions?

Veuillez faire parvenir vos réponses et commentaires par courriel à Mesures Canada d'ici le 30 septembre 2019.

La nature et l'étendue des commentaires reçus détermineront les prochaines étapes de ce projet.

Mesures Canada apprécie grandement vos commentaires et s'efforcera de répondre à vos préoccupations et d'accélérer ce processus.

Date de modification :