Elster A3R meters unapproved for use with kVAh

2019-07-24

Elster A3R meters are subject to the requirements of notice of approval (NOA) AE-1168. The A3R model was not approved for use with kVAh, and as such, does not have an approved testing provision for this unit of measure. Nevertheless, A3R meters were deployed with an unapproved and unverified legal unit of measure (kVAh). Many of these meters are used in service for the measurement and sale of electricity.

Under the same NOA, the A3K model was designed and approved for kVAh billing applications. The manufacturer attests to the design and metrological similarities between the A3R and A3K models. Measurement Canada acknowledges that the risk of kVAh measurement inaccuracy when using the A3R model is negligible.

Measurement Canada is therefore allowing A3R meters currently used for kVAh billing applications to remain in service until they are removed or due for reverification. Similarly, any A3R meters held in inventory may be put into service for kVAh billing applications within their current seal period. Any new installations of the A3R model must comply with the most recent revision of AE-1168.

Upon expiry of the initial seal period, A3R meters used for kVAh billing must be replaced by a meter that is approved and verified for kVAh billing applications. The potential to use the A3R meter for kVAh billing applications will be conditional on the applicable version of the NOA at the time of reverification.

In the meantime, Measurement Canada is in discussions with Honeywell to devise a strategy to establish testing provisions and potentially approve the use of kVAh within the A3R model.

Date modified:

Compteurs Elster A3R non approuvés pour une utilisation avec les kVAh

2019-07-24

Les compteurs Elster A3R sont assujettis aux exigences de l'avis d'approbation AE-1168. Le modèle A3R n'a pas été approuvé pour une utilisation avec les kVAh et, à ce titre, n'a pas de disposition d'essai approuvée pour cette unité de mesure. Néanmoins, des compteurs A3R ont été déployés avec une unité de mesure légale non approuvée et non vérifiée (kVAh). Bon nombre de ces compteurs sont utilisés en service pour la mesure et la vente d'électricité.

En vertu du même avis d'approbation, le modèle A3K a été conçu et approuvé pour la facturation en kVAh. Le fabricant atteste des similitudes conceptuelles et métrologiques entre les modèles A3R et A3K. Mesures Canada reconnaît que le risque d'inexactitude du mesurage en kVAh à l'aide du modèle A3R est négligeable.

Mesures Canada autorise donc le maintien en service des compteurs A3R actuellement utilisés pour la facturation en kVAh jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient retirés ou qu'ils doivent subir une revérification. De même, tous les compteurs A3R en stock peuvent être mis en service à l'intérieur de leur période de validité du sceau actuelle pour la facturation en kVAh. Toute nouvelle installation du modèle A3R doit être conforme à la plus récente révision de l'avis d'approbation AE-1168.

Une fois la période initiale de validité du sceau expirée, les compteurs A3R utilisés pour la facturation en kVAh devront être remplacés par un compteur approuvé et vérifié pour la facturation en kVAh. La possibilité d'utiliser un compteur A3R pour la facturation en kVAh dépendra de la version applicable de l'avis d'approbation au moment de la revérification.

Entre-temps, Mesures Canada est en pourparlers avec Honeywell afin de concevoir une stratégie visant à établir des dispositions d'essai et d'approuver éventuellement l'utilisation de kVAh avec le modèle A3R.

Date de modification :