Language selection

Search

COVID-19

Table of contents


As you know, the impact of COVID-19 continues to be felt by individuals and communities around the world. Given the rapidly changing environment, we must all do our part.

Measurement Canada (MC), an agency of the Government of Canada's Department of Innovation, Science and Economic Development is taking the next steps to protect the safety of our people and communities by reducing services across our offices effective March 16, 2020. We will continue to work to deliver our legislative mandate, programs and services, while also taking measures to reduce the potential for the spread of COVID-19 and the impacts on our clients and stakeholders.

MC takes its obligations regarding the health and safety of its employees very seriously. As a result, it has advised its employees of the following based on the current advice from the Public Health Agency of Canada (this advice is subject to change):

MC expects regulated parties to take similar measures.

Because the situation is constantly evolving, our plans may change, and if they do, we will let you know. This information will be updated when there are changes to the agency's approach and when service delivery begins to return to normal operating conditions.

List of services

Type approvals

The Weights and Measures Act and the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act require that scales, gas pumps, electricity and natural gas meters, and other measuring devices used in financial transactions based on measurement be approved by MC. These type approvals require the physical evaluation of a prototype device.

MC's approval services laboratories have resumed their type approval services with a minimum number of staff. The laboratories have started accepting type approval applications as well as receiving prototype devices at our testing facilities at 151 Tunney's Pasture Driveway in Ottawa and shipping them from there.

When the laboratories are fully operational, MC will make every effort to maximize its operations, respond to client needs and deliver services according to its service standards.

Questions? Please send an email to MCInfo at ic.mcinfo-infomc.ic@canada.ca.

Standards calibrations

The Weights and Measures Act and Electricity and Gas Inspection Act require that physical standards of mass, length, volume, gas flow, pressure, temperature and electricity used to certify the accuracy of measuring devices be calibrated and certified at intervals prescribed by regulation.

Many MC calibration laboratories are now open, but operating with minimal staff. Those in Ottawa are currently accepting and calibrating the following types of standards:

If you wish to know if a calibration service is available, please send an email as per contact information below.

MC will allow certain test (local) standards (e.g. weight kits) and measuring apparatus (e.g. electricity meter test consoles) that cannot be calibrated, and that have passed their recertification date to continue to be used by MC accredited or registered authorized service providers for examinations and verifications. Only test standards and measuring apparatus whose recertification date is between March 1, 2020, and September 1, 2020, can be used past their recertification dates. Some standards may continue to be used without prior permission, while others can only be used once permission has been obtained from MC's Engineering and Laboratory Services Directorate. These requests will be evaluated on a case-by-case basis.

Questions? Please send an email to MC's Engineering and Laboratory Services Directorate at ic.mcinfo-infomc.ic@canada.ca.

Inspections performed by MC before the device is placed into service

If your inspection is scheduled, an MC official will be in contact with you to determine whether the inspection can proceed or must be rescheduled.

If an inspection will proceed, industry cannot ask our inspectors and officials to sign various documents such as visitor request forms and COVID-19 screening forms before entering its facilities. Inspectors will also not be expected to follow specific directives before entering a place for inspection. As you are aware, MC officials are not present at establishments as visitors, but rather, as inspectors under MC's legislation, which allows them to enter any place in which they have reasonable grounds to believe that an activity regulated by MC legislation is conducted, for the purpose of verifying compliance and/or preventing non-compliance.

MC employees are required to follow the policies, procedures and terms of employment established by their employer. Additionally, MC inspectors are not obligated to share personal information with regulated parties regarding their personal travels or health conditions.

MC understands the concerns of industry with respect to COVID-19 and the exceptional circumstances that currently exist. The purpose of this notice is to inform regulated parties of some of the measures that it has put in place regarding the COVID-19 situation. These measures are informed by MC's obligations regarding the health and safety of its employees, which derive from Part II of the Canada Labour Code and the Canada Occupational Health and Safety Regulations. Regarding the COVID-19 situation, MC is also taking into consideration the advice and recommendations of the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada and Treasury Board.

Any requests can be made by sending an email to MCInfo at ic.mcinfo-infomc.ic@canada.ca.

Meters due for replacement or reverification

In March 2020, MC temporarily suspended the requirements for meter replacement and reverification. Utilities and other contractors with meters due for replacement or reverification were encouraged to suspend the removal of meters at residences and other public places while COVID-19 efforts are in place. MC indicated that it would develop a schedule in collaboration with meter owners to ensure that meters impacted by this temporary suspension are brought into compliance in a timely manner following the return to normal operations.

Over the last number of weeks, Canada has seen the reopening of businesses and the economy with the implementation of different phases throughout the country. As public health measures and restrictions continue to evolve in each respective jurisdiction, so do requirements and guidelines for worker safety and the public.

MC and its industry partners have been working collaboratively on developing and implementing a risk-based framework that aims to facilitate the replacement and reverification of meters that are more likely to create energy consumption errors for consumers while taking into account public health measures and restrictions. As public health and safety is a top priority for MC, any meter that shows a lower risk of measuring inaccurately can stay in operation rather than be subject to the typical mandatory reverification or replacement plan. However, meters that are more likely to create measurement inaccuracies or have shown signs of unreliable measurement may be subject to replacement and reverification.

Meters can continue to be removed from service for a variety of reasons; however, additional directives related to COVID-19 issued by local public health authorities must be followed. In instances where public health measures related to COVID-19 can't be adopted, MC will not enforce meter replacement. If a meter is being removed for a reason other than those listed or you feel that public health measures cannot be adopted, contact your utility provider about your concerns.

Questions and answers on meters due for replacement and reverification

  1. What is a risk-based framework?
  2. A risk-based framework helps to determine the risk and probability of measurement inaccuracy for in-service residential and commercial meters as they get closer to the end of their service life. The duration of a meter's service life is variable and depends on its long-term performance reliability, past performance when reverified and conditions of use (e.g. supply pressure, outdoor/indoor environments and service conditions).

  3. What should utilities do when they can't access meters?
  4. All meters that aren't accessible due to public health authority measures relating to COVID-19 must be identified and the reason(s) for their inaccessibility documented. Examples of reasons include the following:

  5. What do consumers do if they have concerns about a meter replacement?
  6. Typically, utilities and other service providers remove a meter to:

    If your meter is being removed for a reason other than those listed, or you feel that public health measures related to COVID-19 can't be adopted, contact your utility provider.

Filing of a complaint

MC will continue to accept complaints of suspected inaccurate measurement. A preliminary investigation into the complaint will be performed based on the information provided by the consumer and other data MC has at its disposal. Depending on the results of this investigation, MC may schedule an inspection at a later date. In all cases, the consumer will be advised of the actions MC will be taking.

Provision of technical guidance

MC technical specialists and program officers provide direction and guidance on the application and interpretation of the acts, regulations, policies and procedures as part of their regular activities. There will be no change to the process for this type of service.

Questions? Please contact the MC official you have worked with in the past or email MCInfo at ic.mcinfo-infomc.ic@canada.ca.

Submission of inspection results

The Online Reporting Application (ORA) Support Desk is operating as usual.

Questions? Please contact the ORA Support Desk at ic.ora-adel.ic@canada.ca.

Audit and oversight of authorized service providers

MC holds assessment meetings and performs audits, follow-up inspections and recognized technician evaluations of authorized service providers recognized to certify scales, gas pumps, as well as electricity and natural gas meters.

Planned audits and other oversight activities of authorized service providers will be conducted in alternative ways wherever possible. You will be contacted by your MC representative concerning audit and oversight activities.

If an audit will proceed, industry cannot ask our auditors and officials to sign various documents such as visitor request forms and COVID-19 screening forms before entering its facilities. Auditors will also not be expected to follow specific directives before entering a place for inspection. As you are aware, MC officials are not present at establishments as visitors, but rather, as officials recognized under MC's legislation, which allows them to enter any place in which they have reasonable grounds to believe that an activity regulated by MC legislation is conducted, for the purpose of verifying compliance and/or preventing non-compliance.

MC employees are not in a position to sign COVID-19 screening forms or similar documents, or to be directed by industry. MC employees are required to follow the policies, procedures and terms of employment established by their employer. Additionally, MC inspectors are not obligated to share personal information with regulated parties regarding their personal travels or health conditions.

MC understands the concerns of industry with respect to COVID-19 and the exceptional circumstances that currently exist. The purpose of this notice is to inform regulated parties of some of the measures that it has put in place regarding the COVID-19 situation. These measures are informed by MC's obligations regarding the health and safety of its employees, which derive from Part II of the Canada Labour Code and the Canada Occupational Health and Safety Regulations. Regarding the COVID-19 situation, MC is also taking into consideration the advice and recommendations of the Public Health Agency of Canada, Health Canada and Treasury Board.

Renewal of your recognition to perform inspections will proceed as normal.

Questions? Please contact the MC auditor assigned to you.

Training of authorized service provider recognized technicians

With the exception of training to become authorized to use the online application to report inspection results, mandatory training for technicians is temporarily suspended. If you had registered for a training course, an MC representative will be in contact with you to discuss options available.

Questions? Please contact the MC auditor assigned to your organization.

The impact of the COVID-19 outbreak on businesses and the communities they serve is unprecedented. MC is making significant efforts to change, where it can, its program and service delivery in an effort to help businesses in these difficult times. We will continue to update this information to address changing circumstances.

Date modified:

COVID-19

Table des matières


Comme vous le savez, les effets de la COVID-19 continuent d'être ressentis par les personnes et les communautés du monde entier. Comme la situation change rapidement, nous devons tous collaborer.

Mesures Canada (MC), un organisme du ministère de l'Innovation, de la Science et du Développement économique du gouvernement du Canada, prend les prochaines mesures pour protéger la sécurité de nos employés et des collectivités en réduisant les services dans nos bureaux à compter du 16 mars 2020. Nous continuerons de travailler à la réalisation de notre mandat législatif, de nos programmes et de nos services, tout en prenant des mesures pour réduire le potentiel de propagation de la COVID-19 et les répercussions sur nos clients et nos intervenants.

MC prend très au sérieux ses obligations concernant la santé et la sécurité de ses employés. C'est pourquoi il a informé ses employés des points suivants, en se fondant sur les conseils actuels de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ces conseils sont susceptibles de changer) :

MC s'attend à ce que les parties réglementées prennent des mesures similaires.

La situation étant en constante évolution, nos projets peuvent changer, et si c'est le cas, nous vous le ferons savoir. Ces informations seront mises à jour lorsque l'approche de l'organisme sera modifiée et lorsque la prestation de services commencera à revenir à des conditions de fonctionnement normales.

Liste des services

Approbations de type

La Loi sur les poids et mesures et la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz exigent que les balances, les pompes à essence, les compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel, et les autres appareils de mesure utilisés dans les transactions financières basées sur la mesure soient approuvés par MC. Ces approbations nécessitent l'évaluation physique d'un prototype d'appareil.

Les laboratoires des services d'approbation de MC ont repris leurs services d'approbation mais avec un personnel minimal. Les laboratoires ont recommencé à accepter les demandes d'approbation de type et à recevoir des prototypes d'appareils dans nos installations d'essai au 151, promenade Tunney's Pasture à Ottawa et à les expédier à partir de là.

Une fois que les laboratoires seront pleinement opérationnels, MC fera tout son possible pour optimiser ses opérations, répondre aux besoins des clients et fournir des services conformément à ses normes de service.

Vous avez des questions? Veuillez envoyer un courriel à MCInfo à ic.mcinfo-infomc.ic@canada.ca.

Étalonnage d'étalons

La Loi sur les poids et mesures et la Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz exigent que les étalons de masse, de longueur, de volume, de débit de gaz, de pression, de température et d'électricité utilisés pour certifier la précision des appareils de mesure soient étalonnés et certifiés à des intervalles prescrits par la réglementation.

De nombreux laboratoires des services d'étalonnage de MC sont maintenant ouverts, mais fonctionnent avec un personnel minimal. Ceux qui sont situés à Ottawa acceptent et étalonnent actuellement les types d'étalons suivants :

Si vous souhaitez savoir si un service d'étalonnage est disponible, veuillez envoyer un courriel aux coordonnées ci-dessous.

MC permettra l'utilisation de certains appareils de mesure (p. ex., les consoles d'essai des compteurs d'électricité) et étalons d'essai (étalons locaux) comme, par exemple, les trousses de poids, qui ne peuvent être étalonnés et dont la date de recertification est passée de continuer à être utilisés par les fournisseurs de services autorisés qui sont accrédités ou enregistrés par MC pour effectuer des examens et des vérifications. Seuls les étalons d'essai et appareils de mesure dont la date de recertification se situe entre le 1er mars 2020 et le 1er septembre 2020 peuvent être utilisés après leur date de recertification. Certains étalons peuvent continuer à être utilisés sans autorisation préalable, tandis que d'autres ne peuvent être utilisés qu'après avoir obtenu l'autorisation de la Direction de l'ingénierie et des services de laboratoire de MC. Ces demandes seront évaluées au cas par cas.

Vous avez des questions? Veuillez envoyer un courriel à la Direction de l'ingénierie et des services de laboratoire de MC à ic.mcinfo-infomc.ic@canada.ca.

Inspections effectuées par MC avant la mise en service de l'appareil

Si votre inspection est prévue, un fonctionnaire de MC communiquera avec vous pour déterminer si l'inspection peut avoir lieu ou doit être reprogrammée.

Si une inspection doit avoir lieu, l'industrie ne peut pas demander à nos inspecteurs et fonctionnaires de signer divers documents tels que les formulaires de demande de visite et les formulaires de contrôle de la COVID-19 avant d'entrer dans ses installations. Les inspecteurs ne seront pas non plus tenus de suivre des directives précises avant d'entrer dans un lieu d'inspection. Comme vous le savez, les fonctionnaires de MC ne sont pas présents dans les établissements en tant que visiteurs, mais plutôt en tant qu'inspecteurs en vertu de la législation de MC, qui leur permet d'entrer dans tout lieu où ils ont des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une activité réglementée par la législation de MC est menée, dans le but de vérifier la conformité et/ou de prévenir la non-conformité.

Les employés de MC ne sont pas en mesure de signer les formulaires de contrôle de la COVID-19 ou des documents similaires ni d'être dirigés par l'industrie. Les employés de MC sont tenus de suivre les politiques, les procédures et les conditions d'emploi établies par leur employeur. En outre, les inspecteurs de MC ne sont pas obligés de partager des informations personnelles avec les parties réglementées concernant leurs voyages personnels ou leurs conditions de santé.

MC comprend les préoccupations de l'industrie en ce qui concerne la COVID-19 et les circonstances exceptionnelles qui existent actuellement. L'objectif de cet avis est d'informer les parties réglementées de certaines des mesures qu'il a mises en place concernant la situation relative à la COVID-19. Ces mesures s'inspirent des obligations de MC concernant la santé et la sécurité de ses employés, qui découlent de la partie II du Code canadien du travail et du Règlement canadien sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. En ce qui concerne la situation relative à la COVID-19, MC prend également en considération les conseils et les recommandations de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, de Santé Canada et du Conseil du Trésor.

Toute demande peut être faite en envoyant un courriel à MCInfo à ic.mcinfo-infomc.ic@canada.ca.

Compteurs devant être remplacés ou revérifiés

En mars 2020, MC a temporairement suspendu les exigences relatives au remplacement et à la revérification des compteurs. Les services publics et autres fournisseurs dont les compteurs devaient être remplacés ou revérifiés ont été encouragés à suspendre le retrait des compteurs dans les résidences et autres lieux publics pendant que les efforts relatifs à la COVID-19 étaient en place. MC avait indiqué qu'il allait développer un calendrier en collaboration avec les propriétaires de compteurs afin de veiller à ce que les compteurs touchés par cette suspension temporaire soient mis en conformité en temps voulu après le retour à la normale des opérations.

Au cours des dernières semaines, le Canada a vu la réouverture des entreprises et de l'économie avec la mise en œuvre de différentes phases dans tout le pays. Alors que les mesures et les restrictions en matière de santé publique continuent d'évoluer dans chaque juridiction respective, il en va de même pour les exigences et les lignes directrices relatives à la sécurité des travailleurs et du public.

MC et ses partenaires industriels ont travaillé en collaboration pour développer et mettre en œuvre un cadre fondé sur les risques qui vise à faciliter le remplacement et la revérification des compteurs qui sont plus susceptibles de créer des erreurs de consommation d'énergie pour les consommateurs tout en tenant compte des mesures et des restrictions de santé publique. La santé et la sécurité publiques étant une priorité absolue pour MC, tout compteur présentant un risque moindre d'erreur de mesure peut rester en service plutôt que d'être soumis au plan de revérification ou de remplacement obligatoire habituel. Cependant, les compteurs qui sont plus susceptibles de créer des inexactitudes de mesure ou qui ont montré des signes de mesure peu fiable peuvent être soumis à un remplacement et à une revérification.

Les compteurs peuvent être retirés du service pour diverses raisons; cependant, les directives supplémentaires relatives à la COVID-19 émises par les autorités locales de santé publique doivent être suivies. Dans les cas où les mesures de santé publique liées à la COVID-19 ne peuvent pas être adoptées, MC n'imposera pas le remplacement des compteurs. Si un compteur est enlevé pour une raison autre que celles indiquées ou si vous estimez que les mesures de santé publique ne peuvent pas être adoptées, communiquez avec votre fournisseur d'électricité.

Questions et réponses sur les compteurs devant être remplacés ou revérifiés

  1. Qu'est-ce qu'un cadre fondé sur les risques?
  2. Un cadre fondé sur les risques permet de déterminer le risque et la probabilité d'une inexactitude de la mesure pour les compteurs résidentiels et commerciaux en service alors qu'ils approchent de la fin de leur durée de vie. La durée de vie d'un compteur est variable et dépend de la fiabilité de sa performance à long terme, de sa performance passée lorsqu'il est revérifié et des conditions de son utilisation (p. ex., la pression d'alimentation, les environnements extérieurs/intérieurs auxquels il est exposé et les conditions de service).

  3. Que doivent faire les services publics lorsqu'ils ne peuvent pas accéder aux compteurs?
  4. Tous les compteurs qui ne sont pas accessibles en raison des mesures prises par les autorités de santé publique concernant la COVID-19 doivent être indiqués et la ou les raisons de leur inaccessibilité doivent être documentées. Voici quelques exemples de raisons :

  5. Que font les consommateurs s'ils ont des inquiétudes concernant le remplacement d'un compteur?
  6. En règle générale, les services publics et autres fournisseurs de services retirent un compteur pour :

    Si votre compteur est retiré pour une raison autre que celles indiquées ou si vous estimez que les mesures de santé publique liées à la COVID-19 ne peuvent être adoptées, communiquez avec votre fournisseur de services publics.

Dépôt d'une plainte

MC continuera d'accepter les plaintes relatives à des mesures soupçonnées d'être inexactes. Une enquête préliminaire sur la plainte sera effectuée sur la base des informations fournies par le consommateur et d'autres données dont MC dispose. En fonction des résultats de cette enquête, MC peut planifier une inspection à une date ultérieure. Dans tous les cas, le consommateur sera informé des mesures que MC prendra.

Fourniture de conseils techniques

Les spécialistes techniques et les agents de programme de MC fournissent des orientations et des conseils sur l'application et l'interprétation des lois, des règlements, des politiques et des procédures dans le cadre de leurs activités régulières. Il n'y aura pas de changement au processus pour ce type de service.

Vous avez des questions? Veuillez communiquer avec le fonctionnaire de MC avec lequel vous avez travaillé dans le passé ou envoyer un courriel à MCInfo à ic.mcinfo-infomc.ic@canada.ca.

Soumission des résultats d'inspection

Le service de soutien de l'Application de déclaration en ligne (ADEL) fonctionne comme d'habitude.

Vous avez des questions? Veuillez communiquer avec le service de soutien de l'ADEL à l'adresse ic.ora-adel.ic@canada.ca.

Audit et surveillance des fournisseurs de services autorisés

MC organise des réunions d'évaluation et effectue des audits, des inspections de suivi et des évaluations de techniciens reconnus de fournisseurs de services autorisés pour certifier les balances, les pompes à essence, ainsi que les compteurs d'électricité et de gaz naturel.

Les audits prévus et les autres activités de surveillance des fournisseurs de services autorisés seront menés d'autres façons chaque fois que cela sera possible. Votre représentant de MC communiquera avec vous concernant les activités d'audit et de surveillance.

Si un audit a lieu, l'industrie ne peut pas demander à nos auditeurs et à nos fonctionnaires de signer divers documents tels que les formulaires de demande de visite et les formulaires de contrôle de la COVID-19 avant d'entrer dans ses installations. Les auditeurs ne seront pas non plus tenus de suivre des directives précises avant d'entrer dans un lieu pour effectuer une visite. Comme vous le savez, les fonctionnaires de MC ne sont pas présents dans les établissements en tant que visiteurs, mais plutôt en tant que fonctionnaires reconnus par la législation de MC, ce qui leur permet d'entrer dans tout lieu où ils ont des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une activité réglementée par la législation de MC est menée, dans le but de vérifier la conformité et/ou de prévenir la non-conformité.

Les employés de MC ne sont pas en mesure de signer les formulaires de contrôle de la COVID-19 ou des documents similaires, ni d'être dirigés par l'industrie. Les employés de MC sont tenus de suivre les politiques, les procédures et les conditions d'emploi établies par leur employeur. En outre, les inspecteurs de MC ne sont pas obligés de partager des informations personnelles avec les parties réglementées concernant leurs voyages personnels ou leurs conditions de santé.

MC comprend les préoccupations de l'industrie en ce qui concerne la COVID-19 et les circonstances exceptionnelles qui existent actuellement. L'objectif de cet avis est d'informer les parties réglementées de certaines des mesures qu'il a mises en place concernant la situation relative à la COVID-19. Ces mesures s'inspirent des obligations de MC concernant la santé et la sécurité de ses employés, qui découlent de la partie II du Code canadien du travail et du Règlement canadien sur la santé et la sécurité au travail. En ce qui concerne la situation relative à la COVID-19, MC prend également en considération les conseils et les recommandations de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada, de Santé Canada et du Conseil du Trésor.

Le renouvellement de votre reconnaissance pour effectuer des inspections se fera normalement.

Vous avez des questions? Veuillez communiquer avec l'auditeur de MC qui vous a été attribué.

Formation des techniciens de fournisseurs de services autorisés

À l'exception de la formation permettant de devenir autorisé à utiliser l'application en ligne pour communiquer les résultats d'inspection, la formation obligatoire des techniciens est temporairement suspendue. Si vous vous étiez inscrit à un cours de formation, un représentant de MC communiquera avec vous pour discuter des options disponibles.

Vous avez des questions? Veuillez communiquer avec l'auditeur de MC affecté à votre organisme.

L'effet de l'épidémie de la COVID-19 sur les entreprises et les communautés qu'elles servent est sans précédent. MC déploie des efforts considérables pour modifier, dans la mesure du possible, ses programmes et ses services afin d'aider les entreprises en ces temps difficiles. Nous continuerons à mettre à jour ces informations afin de répondre à l'évolution des circonstances.

Date de modification :