Language selection

Search

Electric vehicle charging stations

An approved and certified measurement system is integral to accurate and reliable measurement of electricity. The Electricity and Gas Inspection Act (EGIA) and regulations require that we approve and recertify at prescribed intervals measuring devices used to determine a fee for electricity consumption. This helps protect consumers and electric vehicle (EV) charging station operators against loss due to inaccurate measurement and/or unfair practices.

Want to get involved in developing requirements for electric vehicle charging stations?

We are taking steps to protect consumers’ rights to fair and accurate measurement when they are purchasing a charge for their EV based on measurement. As part of this work, we are developing performance-based requirements to help minimize costs and the regulatory burden for EV charging station operators and equipment manufacturers.

We are looking for help from EV owners, charging station operators and equipment manufacturers to develop these requirements. We would like your input on opportunities and challenges relating to billing approaches as well as EV charging station equipment, set-ups, etc.

Want to participate? Please send an email to ic.evce-erve.ic@canada.ca before January 11, 2021 with your name and whether you are an EV owner, charging station owner/operator or equipment manufacturer. We look forward to hearing from you.

What you need to know about electric vehicle charging stations

What is our role with respect to electric vehicle charging stations?

Our mandate is to protect the right of consumers to accurate and reliable measurement when they make a purchase based on measurement. As part of our mandate, we administer the EGIA, which sets out requirements for the performance of measuring devices when charging for the purchase or sale of electricity. It also sets out the requirement for operators to register their measuring devices when selling electricity.

What are we doing to allow kilowatt-hour billing?

In the next 18 months, we expect to allow existing and new electric vehicle (EV) charging stations that meet established technical standards to charge based on kilowatt-hours (kWh) consumed. We will do this by continuing to work closely with industry and monitoring requirements other countries are developing, as well as advances and innovations in EV charging station technologies. The requirements will be performance-based to minimize costs and regulatory burden for EV charging station operators, while ensuring consumers receive accurate and reliable measurement, and protection against unfair practices.

We will also work with EV charging station operators to evaluate EV charging stations at their installation site under typical conditions of use. If these stations meet the technical standards, they will be approved to charge for electricity based on kWh.

What else are we doing to support Canadians?

While we are developing our standards for Canada, we are also continuing our work with our international partners, including the U.S. National Conference on Weights and Measures and the International Organization of Legal Metrology (OIML), to develop international model standards for billing by kWh at EV charging stations. Our participation in this work ensures Canadians’ interests are represented during the development of these model standards.

This approach gives Canadian manufacturers international market opportunities, and provides businesses and consumers with greater access to EV charging station options, as compliance in one participating country enables market access to all participating countries.

Why is it important to register electric vehicle charging stations?

To protect the right of consumers to accurate and reliable measurement when being charged based on measurement, devices must be traceable to a person who is accountable for their use and operation.

To allow traceability and accountability, device operators are required to register as contractors under the EGIA. The requirement to register EV charging stations enables us to track devices used for EV charging to ensure they meet minimum standards for measurement accuracy and reliability. This protects consumers from inaccurate measurement or unfair practices.

What is the role of the operator?

The operator is responsible for keeping their EV charging station in good working condition. The operator must also keep records with the date of the charging station’s last measurement accuracy certification and energy consumption information.

This information allows us to monitor EV charging station device compliance and to respond to consumer complaints of suspected inaccurate measurement.

Is there a cost to register as a contractor?

There is no cost for EV charging station operators to register as a contractor. Registration can be completed by mail or email.

What are the billing methods for charging electric vehicles?

In Canada, possible billing methods for charging electric vehicles include flat fee (charge per use, charge per month) and time-based (charge per amount of time) billing. EV charging can also be provided free of charge or included in the amount charged for another service (e.g. as part of the rate for parking the vehicle).

What is the most common billing method?

Time-based and flat fee billing methods are most commonly used in Canada and other countries, as they allowed the EV charging infrastructure to grow quickly in support of EV adoption, while providing industry with time to develop and refine technologies necessary for accurate and reliable measurement of kWh consumption at EV charging stations.

Related links

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques

Un système de mesure approuvé et certifié fait partie intégrante de la mesure exacte et fiable de l'électricité. La Loi sur l'inspection de l'électricité et du gaz (LIEG) et le règlement connexe exigent que nous approuvions et recertifiions aux fréquences prescrites les appareils de mesure utilisés pour déterminer les frais de consommation d'électricité. Cela permet de protéger les consommateurs et les exploitants de bornes de recharge contre les pertes liées aux mesures inexactes et/ou aux pratiques déloyales.

Ce que vous devez savoir au sujet des bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques

Quel est notre rôle en ce qui a trait aux bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques?

Nous avons pour mandat de protéger le droit des consommateurs à des mesures exactes et fiables lorsque ces derniers font des achats fondés sur la mesure. Dans le cadre de notre mandat, nous appliquons la LIEG, qui énonce les exigences visant le rendement des appareils de mesure en ce qui a trait à la facturation dans le cadre de l'achat ou de la vente d'électricité. De plus, elle exige que les vendeurs enregistrent leurs appareils de mesure lorsqu'ils vendent de l'électricité.

Que faisons-nous pour permettre la facturation au kilowattheure?

Au cours des 18 prochains mois, nous prévoyons de permettre que les nouvelles bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques et les bornes existantes conformes aux normes techniques établies facturent en fonction des kilowattheures (kWh) consommés. Nous y parviendrons en continuant à travailler en étroite collaboration avec l'industrie et en surveillant les exigences élaborées par d'autres pays ainsi que les avancées et les innovations en matière de technologies des bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques. Les exigences seront fondées sur le rendement afin de réduire au minimum les coûts et le fardeau réglementaire des exploitants de bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques tout en garantissant aux consommateurs des mesures exactes et fiables, et une protection contre les pratiques déloyales.

Nous travaillerons également avec les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques afin d'évaluer les bornes à leur site d'installation, dans des conditions réelles d'utilisation. Si ces bornes sont conformes aux normes techniques, elles seront approuvées pour facturer l'électricité au kWh.

Que faisons-nous d'autre pour aider les Canadiennes et les Canadiens?

Nous élaborons des normes canadiennes tout en continuant à travailler avec nos partenaires internationaux, y compris la National Conference on Weights and Measures des États‑Unis et l'Organisation internationale de métrologie légale (OIML), afin d'élaborer des normes modèles internationales visant les bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques facturant au kWh. Notre participation à ces travaux garantit que les intérêts des Canadiennes et des Canadiens sont représentés pendant l'élaboration de ces normes modèles.

Cette approche offre aux fabricants canadiens des débouchés internationaux et offre aux entreprises et aux consommateurs un meilleur accès aux différentes bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques, puisque la conformité aux normes d'un pays participant permet l'accès au marché de tous les pays participants.

Pourquoi est-il important d'enregistrer les bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques?

Pour protéger le droit des consommateurs à des mesures exactes et fiables lorsqu'ils sont facturés sur la base de la mesure, les appareils doivent être traçables à une personne responsable de leur utilisation et de leur fonctionnement.

Pour permettre la traçabilité et la responsabilisation, les exploitants d'appareils sont tenus de s'enregistrer en tant que fournisseurs en vertu de la Loi. L'exigence d'enregistrer les bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques permet nous de faire le suivi des appareils utilisés pour recharger les véhicules électriques afin de veiller à ce que ceux-ci satisfassent aux normes minimales en matière d'exactitude et de fiabilité des mesures. Ainsi, les consommateurs sont protégés contre les mesures inexactes et les pratiques déloyales.

Quel est le rôle de l'exploitant?

Il incombe à l'exploitant de maintenir sa borne de recharge pour véhicules électriques en bon état de fonctionnement. Il doit aussi conserver un registre où figurent la date de la dernière certification d'exactitude des mesures de la borne de recharge et les renseignements relatifs à la consommation d'énergie.

Ces renseignements nous permettent de surveiller la conformité de la borne de recharge et de répondre aux plaintes des consommateurs concernant des mesures soupçonnées d'être inexactes.

Faut-il payer pour s'enregistrer en tant que fournisseur?

Les exploitants de bornes de recharge pour véhicules électriques ne doivent pas payer pour s'enregistrer en tant que fournisseurs. Il est possible de s'enregistrer par la poste ou par courriel.

Quelles sont les méthodes de facturation pour la recharge des véhicules électriques?

Au Canada, les méthodes de facturations possibles pour la recharge des véhicules électriques comprennent les frais fixes (frais par utilisation, frais mensuels) et les frais fondés sur le temps (frais en fonction de la durée d'utilisation). La recharge des véhicules électriques peut aussi être offerte gratuitement ou être incluse dans le montant facturé pour un autre service (p. ex. dans les frais de stationnement du véhicule).

Quelle est la méthode de facturation la plus courante?

Les frais fixes et les frais fondés sur le temps sont les méthodes les plus courantes au Canada et dans d'autres pays, car elles ont permis à l'infrastructure de recharge pour véhicules électriques de se développer rapidement afin de favoriser l'adoption des véhicules électriques, tout en offrant du temps à l'industrie pour développer et raffiner les technologies nécessaires à l'obtention de mesures exactes et fiables des kWh consommés aux bornes de recharge.

Liens connexes

Date de modification :