Sustainable manufacturing

In today's global economy, Canadian manufacturers face enormous pressures to stay competitive and maximize profit. Canadian manufacturers of all sizes can build their competitive advantage by adopting sustainable development principles and practices, including lean manufacturing, as well as strategies that promote convergence between profitability and sustainability.

Sustainable manufacturing promotes minimizing or eliminating production and processing wastes through eco-efficient practices, and encourages adopting new environmental technologies.

Links to sources on sustainable manufacturing:

  • Provision Coalition
    A not-for-profit organization that works with Canadian food and beverage manufacturers, coalition members and industry stakeholders, to better understand sustainability challenges and implement sound business solutions. Resources are available to Canadian food and beverage manufacturers through the Food & Beverage Sustainability Portal.
  • CME SMART Prosperity Now
    This program allows manufacturers with an export focus to commercialize new technologies, enter new domestic and foreign markets, invest in sustainable and green technology, purchase new or upgraded equipment and technology, and implement efficiency improvements.
  • Excellence in Manufacturing Consortium
    A unique not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping manufacturers gain a competitive 'Advantage through Excellence' emphasizing sustainability and the creation, retention and expansion of skilled manufacturing jobs here in Canada.
  • Association for Manufacturing Excellence (AME)
    The Association for Manufacturing Excellence (AME) is the premier organization for the exchange of knowledge in enterprise excellence. Members come together to explore Lean thinking and other enterprise improvement methods, exchange best practices and network in order to advance their careers and improve the competitiveness and overall value of their organizations.
  • Sustainable Development Technology Canada (SDTC)
    A not-for-profit foundation that finances and supports the development and demonstration of clean technologies which provide solutions to issues of climate change, clean air, water quality and soil, and which deliver economic, environmental and health benefits to Canadians.
  • Sustainable Manufacturing
    This U.S. Environmental Protection Agency website contains information and resources for improving the sustainability and competitiveness of manufacturing companies.
  • OECD Sustainable Manufacturing Toolkit—Seven Steps to Environmental Excellence
    Aims to provide a practical starting point for businesses around the world to improve the efficiency of their production processes and products enabling them to contribute to sustainable development and green growth.
Date modified:

Fabrication durable

Dans l'économie mondiale d'aujourd'hui, les fabricants canadiens font face à d'énormes pressions pour demeurer compétitif et maximiser le profit. Les fabricants canadiens de toute taille peuvent accroître leur avantage concurrentiel en adoptant les principes et pratiques du développement durable, y compris la fabrication allégée, ainsi que des stratégies qui favorisent la convergence entre la rentabilité et la durabilité.

La fabrication durable vise à minimiser ou à éliminer la production et à transformer les déchets par des pratiques éco-efficientes, et encourage l'adoption des nouvelles technologies environnementales.

Liens vers des sources sur la fabrication durable :

  • Provision Coalition (anglais seulement)
    Un organisme sans but lucratif qui travaille avec les fabricants canadiens d’aliments et de boissons, les membres de la coalition et les intervenants de l’industrie, afin de mieux comprendre les défis du développement durable et mettre en œuvre des solutions d'affaires solides. Les ressources sont à la disposition des fabricants d'aliments et de boissons du Canada par le biais du Portail du développement durable des aliments et boissons.
  • Programme MEC SMART Prospérité maintenant
    Ce programme permet aux fabricants à vocation exportatrice de commercialiser de nouvelles technologies, de percer de nouveaux marchés intérieurs et étrangers, d'investir dans les technologies durables et vertes, d'acheter des technologies et de l'équipement nouveaux ou améliorés et de mettre en œuvre des améliorations de l'efficience.
  • Excellence in Manufacturing Consortium (anglais seulement)
    Un organisme sans but lucratif unique s'employant à aider les fabricants à obtenir un « avantage concurrentiel grâce à l'excellence » en mettant l'accent sur la durabilité ainsi que la création, le maintien et l'augmentation des emplois spécialisés ici au Canada.
  • Association for Manufacturing Excellence (AME) (anglais seulement)
    L'Association for Manufacturing Excellence (AME) est le principal organisme d'échange de connaissances dans le domaine de l'excellence des entreprises. Les membres se rassemblent pour examiner l'« allégement des activités » et d'autres méthodes d'amélioration des activités, pour échanger des pratiques exemplaires et réseauter en vue de faire progresser leur carrière et d'améliorer leur capacité concurrentielle, ainsi que pour ajouter une valeur globale à leur organisation.
  • Technologies du développement durable Canada (TDDC)
    Une fondation sans but lucratif qui finance et soutient le développement et la démonstration de technologies propres qui apportent des solutions aux problèmes des changements climatiques, à l'assainissement de l'air, à la qualité de l'eau et du sol, en plus d'apporter aux Canadiens des avantages sur les plans économique, environnemental et de la santé.
  • Sustainable Manufacturing (anglais seulement)
    Le site Web de la US Environmental Protection Agency contient des informations et des ressources pour améliorer la durabilité et la compétitivité des entreprises de la fabrication.
  • Trousse de la fabrication durable de l'OCDE — Sept étapes vers l'excellence environnementale (anglais seulement)
    Elle vise à fournir un point de départ pour les entreprises partout dans le monde pour améliorer l'efficience de leurs procédés de production et de leurs produits, ce qui leur permet de contribuer au développement durable et à la croissance verte.
Date de modification :