About MRAs

Mutual Recognition Arrangements/Agreements (MRAs) are government-to-government arrangements. They facilitate trade by promoting the mutual acceptance of conformity assessment results for telecommunications equipment. The term "telecommunications equipment" is used as a generic term covering both wireline (i.e. terminal attachment) and wireless (i.e. radio) equipment.

Below is a brief outline of the history of MRAs for telecommunications equipment in Canada, their recognition procedures and controlling mechanisms.


MRAs – Yesterday to now

The first telecom-only MRA Canada signed was with Korea. It was signed in January 1997 during a trade mission led by the Prime Minister to Korea. This MRA activity was driven by Canadian industry complaints of non-transparency in accessing the Korean market and allegations of design copying and fraud under the guise of requiring very detailed product design material. One significant side benefit of MRAs is that it makes the whole market access process very transparent, which is an essential component of Canadian competitiveness in the international marketplace.

In 1998, a Canada/EU MRA came into effect. It has a framework agreement along with 6 sectoral annexes including telecommunications. The EFTA countries (Norway, Iceland & Liechtenstein) and Switzerland are not part of the EU but they use the same regulations as the EU. With the EU/Canada MRA in place, Canada also negotiated the same MRA with the EFTA and Switzerland. All three MRA's are binding treaties.

In June 1998, APEC leaders endorsed the development of a multi-lateral telecommunications MRA to facilitate trade in the APEC region. This is a non-binding ‘arrangement', as opposed to a binding ‘agreement', covering 21 economies. Participation in this MRA is voluntary. At the APEC TELMIN6 meeting (June 2005, Lima) and on behalf of the Minister of Industry, Carol Swan, the then Associate Deputy Minister, congratulated the APEC TEL Ministers on their progress on the APEC TEL MRA and endorsed a proposal to move forward with negotiation of a new MRA on Technical Requirements, which is now a work in progress in APEC TEL.

The Canada-Korea MRA was replaced by the APEC TEL MRA in 2002, using updated procedures provisioned in the APEC TEL MRA.

With the support of the U.S.A. and the Canadian industry, Canada led the effort to develop the Inter-American MRA within OAS CITEL. This MRA is identical to the APEC TEL MRA and covers the 34 member states of the OAS . It is also non-binding and participation is voluntary. The executive committee of CITEL endorsed this MRA in December 1999 and the CITEL Assembly endorsed it in June 2000.

Introducing MRAs

There are two "Phases" to the MRA process. Phase I is mutual recognition of test reports. Phase II is mutual recognition of certification. In each case the MRA parties recognize each other's competence to carry out their regulatory testing and/or certification.

In Canada's telecom regulatory system, initially the authority to issue certificates rested solely with the Minister of Industry and was delegated and performed only by government labs. In the late 1990s, the Telecom Regulations and Radiocomm Regulations were modified to allow the Minister of Industry to delegate the authority of issuing certificates to recognized certification bodies. This was a required step to implement Phase II of all the MRAs.

Implementing MRAs

For the EU, EFTA and Swiss MRAs, implementation began for Phase I (test report) in July 1999 and for Phase II (certification) in January 2002. For APEC TEL and CITEL MRAs, since they are voluntary, Canada had to notify the appropriate committee of APEC TEL and CITEL when it was ready to implement with another economy or country.

The term Conformity Assessment Body (CAB) refers to test laboratories and certification bodies. These are private sector companies specializing in the verification of compliance of telecom equipment with technical regulations.

In Canada, a domestic CAB who wishes to test or certify equipment to domestic or foreign technical requirements has to apply to the Standards Council of Canada (SCC) which is the accreditation body for Canada, or any other MRA appointed accreditation organization (e.g. ANSI, A2LA and NVLAP in the US). SCC accredits the CAB in accordance with the requirements of the international ISO/IEC standard 17025 for test labs and ISO/IEC Guide 65 for certification bodies. SCC uses a team of assessors; and experts from Industry Canada's Certification & Engineering Bureau (the Bureau) are often asked to act as assessors. SCC issues ISO certificates to successful CABs. It is an important element of MRAs that competence of test labs or certification bodies is established based on international standards.

For domestic requirements, accredited CABs seeking IC recognition send the required information to Industry Canada (IC). For foreign requirements, accredited CABs seeking foreign recognition send the required information to IC for designation to partner countries. Designation by IC means IC agrees with the accreditation results and indicates to our MRA partners that IC stands behind the designated CABs and that they are competent to perform testing or certification of equipment to our partners technical requirements. Industry Canada forms an ad hoc committee for each CAB application to review the information and to determine whether IC should recognize or designate the CAB.

Foreign CABs wishing to test or certify equipment to Canadian technical requirements must apply to an MRA appointed accreditation organization to be accredited to ISO/IEC 17025 and/or ISO/IEC Guide 65. Using a similar evaluation process as the SCC in Canada, the appointed accreditation organization issuesISO certificates to successful foreign CABs. Accredited CABs then submit to their designating authority an application for recognition to Canadian requirements. In the US, the designating authority is NIST (National Institute of Standards and technology) - an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce which develops and promotes measurement, standards, and technology.

There is no concept of "rules of origin" in any of the MRAs. A CAB can test or certify equipment manufactured anywhere in the world as long as it has gone through the appropriate designation and recognition process.

Controlling Mechanisms in MRAs

Processes are in place in the MRAs to ensure the CABs maintain their competency and perform their duties. According to ISO/IEC 17011, each CAB has to be reassessed every 2 years in order to maintain its accreditation.

Processes are also in place to address delinquent or misbehaving CABs. Once a problem with a foreign recognized CAB has been identified, IC notifies both the CAB and its designating authority of the problem. If the problem is not resolved IC can ask the designating authority to remove the designation of the CAB and IC can also remove the recognition of that CAB. If the designating authority is non responsive, IC can withdraw from the implementation of the MRA by giving a 6 month notice in writing.

For handling of non-compliant products and equipment, there are specified communication protocols described in the MRAs and related procedure documents. The section below outlines the steps taken in the case of product non-compliance.

Audit Guidelines for Certification Bodies (CBs)

In addition to the controlling mechanisms specified in the section above the CBs are also required to audit a minimum of 5% of the products they certify on an annual basis.

Where, as a result of post-certification audit or other information obtained by the CB or by the Department, a certified device fails to meet IC requirements, or where there is reasonable evidence that a certified device is creating electromagnetic interference or not operating in accordance within the parameters described on the Certificate, the CB informs the Department and the certificate holder is required to take remedial action.

In the notification by the CB, the information submitted to the Bureau will include:

  • a copy of the certificate that was issued for the subject equipment.
  • a follow-up report of the corrective action taken or to be taken by the certificate holder (to be submitted to the Bureau by the CB within 30 days after the notification of non-compliance has been sent to the Bureau)

If the certificate holder does not take remedial action, the certification is withdrawn by the CB, and the Department removes the equipment from the Radio Equipment List. The Department also requires that all the offending equipment be removed from service and no longer be made available for sale or distribution in Canada.

Decertification takes place only after full consultation between the Bureau, the CB and the certificate holder.

The Bureau may request test reports of audit and surveillance activities from a CB. The CB submits such reports to the Bureau within thirty (30) days of a request.

The Bureau may also request the CB to conduct additional testing on targeted products.

It is required that Foreign Designating Authorities notify the Department immediately of any changes that may affect the continued ability of a recognized foreign CB to carry out the activities for which it was recognized. In addition, when a recognized foreign CB is the subject of an investigation for non-compliance, a recognition suspension may be issued upon consultation with the Foreign Designating Authority. The Foreign Designating Authority requires the CB to take immediate corrective action to the Department's satisfaction.

In addition, when a recognized foreign CB is the subject of an investigation for non-compliance, a recognition suspension may be issued upon consultation with the Foreign Designating Authority. The Foreign Designation Authority requires the CB to take immediate corrective action to the Department's satisfaction.

Where it is found that a recognized CB does not comply with the IC recognition requirements the recognition may be withdrawn. Such action takes place only after full consultation between the Department and the Foreign Designating Authority.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Les ARM

Les accords/arrangements de reconnaissance mutuelle (ARM) sont des ententes entre gouvernements. Ils facilitent le commerce en faisant la promotion de l'acceptation mutuelle des résultats d'évaluation de la conformité pour le matériel des télécommunications.
Le terme "matériel des télécommunications" est utilisé comme terme générique couvrant à la fois le matériel à fil (c.-à-d. raccordement de terminaux) et le matériel sans fil (c.-à-d. radio).

Le présent document donne un bref aperçu de l'historique des ARM touchant l'équipement de télécommunications au Canada, y compris les procédures de reconnaissance et les mécanismes de contrôle.


Les ARM – D'hier à aujourd'hui

C'est avec la Corée que le Canada a signé son premier ARM portant uniquement sur les télécommunications. L'accord a été signé en janvier 1997 lors d'une mission commerciale en Corée dirigée par le premier ministre. Il a été conclu à la suite de plaintes de l'industrie touchant la non-transparence dans l'accès au marché coréen et d'allégations de fraudes et de copies techniques sous prétexte d'exigences d'informations très détaillées sur la conception des produits. Un avantage auxiliaire important des ARM est de rendre très transparent l'ensemble du processus d'accès au marché, qui est un aspect essentiel de la compétitivité canadienne sur le marché international.

En 1998, un ARM Canada/UE est entré en vigueur. Il comprend une entente cadre ainsi que six annexes sectorielles, incluant les télécommunications. Les pays de l'AELE (Norvège, Islande et Liechtenstein) et la Suisse ne font pas partie de l'UE, mais ils respectent la même réglementation qu'elle. Une fois l'ARM UE/Canada en place, le Canada a également négocié le même ARM avec l'AELE et la Suisse. Les trois ARM sont des traités ayant force obligatoire.

En juin 1998, les dirigeants de l'APEC ont approuvé l'élaboration d'un ARM multilatéral sur les télécommunications afin de faciliter le commerce dans la région de l'APEC. Il s'agit là d'un « arrangement » sans force obligatoire, applicable à 21 économies. La participation à cet ARM est volontaire. Lors de la rencontre TELMIN6 de l'APEC (juin 2005, Lima) et au nom du ministre de l'Industrie, Carol Swan, le sous-ministre adjoint de l'époque, a félicité les ministres de l'APEC TEL de leurs progrès relativement à l'ARM de l'APEC TEL et approuvé une proposition visant à amorcer la négociation d'un nouvel ARM sur les exigences techniques, auquel travaille maintenant l'APEC TEL.

L'ARM Canada-Corée a été remplacé en 2002 par l'ARM de l'APEC TEL, qui contient des procédures mises à jour.

Avec l'aide des États-Unis et de l'industrie canadienne, le Canada a dirigé l'effort visant d'élaboration de l'ARM interaméricain au sein de l'OEA CITEL. Cet ARM est identique à l'ARM de l'APEC TEL et couvre les 34 États membres de OEA. Il n'a pas force obligatoire et la participation est volontaire. Il a été approuvé par le comité directeur de la CITEL en décembre 1999, et par l'assemblée de la CITEL en juin 2000.

Introduction aux ARM

Le processus des ARM comporte deux « phases », soit la reconnaissance mutuelle des rapports d'essai (phase I) et la reconnaissance mutuelle de la certification (phase II). Dans les deux cas, les parties aux ARM reconnaissent mutuellement leurs compétences pour l'exécution des essais réglementaires et/ou la certification.

Dans le système canadien de réglementation des télécommunications, le pouvoir de délivrer les certificats appartenait à l'origine exclusivement au ministre de l'Industrie et était délégué uniquement à des laboratoires du gouvernement. À la fin des années 1990, la réglementation des télécommunications et des radiocommunications a été modifiée afin de permettre au ministre de l'Industrie de déléguer le pouvoir de certification à des organismes de certification reconnus. Il s'agissait là d'une étape nécessaire à la mise en oeuvre de la phase II de tous les ARM.

Mise en oeuvre des ARM

Dans le cas des ARM avec l'UE, l'AELE et la Suisse, la mise en oeuvre a commencé pour la phase I (rapport d'essai) en juillet 1999, et pour la phase II (certification) en janvier 2002. Dans le cas des ARM avec l'APEC TEL et la CITEL, qui sont volontaires, le Canada devait aviser le comité compétent de chacun des deux organismes lorsqu'il était prêt à passer à la mise en oeuvre avec une nouvelle économie ou un nouveau pays.

L'expression « organisme d'évaluation de la conformité » (OEC) désigne les laboratoires d'essai et les organismes de certification. Il s'agit d'entreprises du secteur privé spécialisées dans la vérification de la conformité de l'équipement de télécommunications à la réglementation technique.

Au Canada, un OEC national qui désire mettre à l'essai ou certifier de l'équipement selon des exigences nationales ou étrangères doit présenter une demande au Conseil canadien des normes (CCN), qui est l'organisme d'accréditation pour le Canada, ou à tout autre organisme d'accréditation nommé dans un ARM (p. ex. ANSI, A2LA et NVLAP aux É.-U.). Le CCN accrédite les OEC conformément aux exigences de la norme internationale ISO/CEI 17025 pour les laboratoires d'essai, et au Guide 65 de l'ISO/CEI pour les organismes de certification. Le CCN fait appel à une équipe d'évaluateurs; et des experts du Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques d'Industrie Canada (le Bureau) sont souvent appelés à remplir des fonctions d'évaluateur. Le CCN délivre des certificats ISO aux OEC qui répondent aux exigences établies. Dans le cadre des ARM, il est important que la compétence des laboratoires d'essai ou des organismes de certification soit établie conformément à des normes internationales.

En ce qui concerne les exigences nationales, les OEC accrédités qui désirent être reconnus par IC transmettent l'information requise à Industrie Canada (IC). Dans le cas des exigences étrangères, les OEC accrédités qui désirent être reconnus par des pays étrangers envoient l'information à IC aux fins de désignation à des pays partenaires. La désignation par IC signifie qu'IC accepte les résultats de l'accréditation et indique à nos partenaires signataires d'ARM qu'IC soutient les OEC désignés et que ces derniers ont les compétences requises pour l'exécution d'essais ou la certification d'équipements conformément aux exigences techniques de nos partenaires. Industrie Canada met sur pied un comité ad hoc pour chaque demande d'un OEC afin d' examiner l'information transmise et de déterminer si IC devrait reconnaître ou désigner l'OEC.

Les OEC étrangers qui désirent mettre à l'essai ou certifier des équipements selon les exigences techniques canadiennes doivent présenter une demande à un organisme d'accréditation nommé dans un ARM afin d'être accrédités conformément à la norme ISO/CEI 17025 et/ou au Guide 65 de l'ISO/CEI. Suivant un processus d'évaluation semblable à celui du CCN au Canada, l'organisme d'accréditation nommé délivre des certificats ISO aux OEC étrangers qui répondent aux exigences établies. Les OEC accrédités présentent ensuite à leur autorité de désignation une demande pour être reconnus selon les exigences canadiennes. Aux É.-U., l'autorité de désignation est le NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology), un organisme du département du Commerce des États-Unis qui travaille à l'élaboration et à la promotion de mesures, de normes et de la technologie.

Le concept de « règles d'origine » n'est présent dans aucun des ARM. Un OEC peut mettre à l'essai ou certifier des équipements fabriqués n'importe où dans le monde pourvu qu'il réponde aux exigences du processus de désignation et de reconnaissance applicable.

Mécanismes de contrôles prévus dans les ARM

Des processus sont prévus dans les ARM pour s'assurer que les OEC tiennent leurs compétences à jour et remplissent leurs fonctions. Conformément à la norme ISO/CEI 17011, chaque OEC doit être réévalué tous les deux ans afin de conserver son accréditation.

Des processus sont également prévus dans les cas où un OEC ne remplit pas dûment ses fonctions. Lorsqu'un problème touchant un OEC étranger reconnu est constaté, IC en avise l'OEC concerné et l'autorité de désignation compétente. Si le problème persiste, IC peut demander à l'autorité de désignation d'annuler la désignation de l'OEC et peut aussi annuler la reconnaissance de cet OEC. Si l'autorité de désignation ne prend pas les mesures voulues, IC peut se retirer de la mise en oeuvre de l'ARM à six mois d'avis donné par écrit.

En ce qui concerne le traitement des produits et de l'équipement non conformes, des protocoles de communications spécifiés sont décrits dans les ARM et les documents de procédure connexes. L'annexe A présente les étapes à suivre dans le cas des produits non conformes.

Lignes directrices pour l'audit des organismes de certification (OCs)

En plus des mécanismes de contrôle spécifiés dans la section ci-dessus, les OCs sont également tenus de vérifier un minimum de 5% des produits qu’ils certifient sur une base annuelle.

Si, à la lumière des résultats d'un audit après certification ou d'autres renseignements obtenus par l'OC ou le Ministère, le dispositif certifié ne satisfait pas à la présente procédure ou aux exigences techniques applicables, ou s'il est raisonnablement prouvé qu'un dispositif certifié crée du brouillage électromagnétique ou qu'il n'est pas exploité conformément aux paramètres décrits dans le certificat, l'OC informe le Ministère et le titulaire du certificat doit prendre des mesures correctives.

L'information soumise au Bureau dans l'avis de l'OC doit comprendre:

  • une copie du certificat délivré pour le matériel en question;
  • un rapport de suivi des mesures correctives prises ou à prendre par le titulaire de certificat (rapport qui doit être présenté dans les trente (30) jours suivant l'envoi au Bureau d'un avis de non-conformité).

Si le titulaire du certificat ne prend pas de mesures correctives, l'OC retirera le matériel visé de la Nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR). Le Ministère exigera également que tout ce matériel radio soit retiré du service et qu'il ne soit plus vendu ou distribué au Canada.

La révocation d'un certificat n'a lieu qu'après des consultations complètes entre le Bureau, l'OC et le titulaire du certificat.

Le Bureau peut demander des rapports d'essai relatifs aux activités d'audit et de surveillance d'un OC. L'OC doit présenter ces rapports au Bureau dans les trente (30) jours suivant une demande.

Le Bureau peut également demander à l'OC d'effectuer des essais supplémentaires pour des produits particuliers.

Les autorités de désignation étrangères doivent informer immédiatement le Ministère de tout changement pouvant influer sur le maintien de l'aptitude d'un OC étranger à exécuter les activités pour lesquelles il a été reconnu.

En outre, lorsqu'un OC étranger reconnu fait l'objet d'une enquête de non-conformité, sa reconnaissance peut être suspendue après consultation de l'autorité de désignation étrangère. Cette dernière doit exiger de l'OC qu'il prenne immédiatement des mesures correctives à la satisfaction du Ministère.

Lorsqu'il s'avère qu'un OC reconnu ne se conforme pas aux exigences de reconnaissance d'IC, sa reconnaissance peut être retirée. Cette mesure n'est cependant prise qu'après consultation complète entre le Ministère et l'autorité de désignation étrangère.

Date de modification :