Telecommunications Equipment Regulatory Process

1. Overview

International organizations, such as the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), bring governments and industry together to create voluntary international technical standards for telecommunications equipment. Individual governments then base their domestic technical regulatory standards on these recommendations from the international community.

Industry Canada (IC) is the government department responsible for regulating telecommunications equipment in Canada. Section 5 of the Radiocommunication Act and Section 69.3 of the Telecommunications Act give the Minister of Industry the authority to develop technical standards and to ensure that telecommunications equipment 1 meets these standards.

Compliance with domestic technical regulatory standards is necessary in order to prevent radiocommunication interference, harm to the Canadian public telecommunications networks, and to ensure the safety of personnel working on telecommunications facilities and the safety of users. All telecommunications equipment entering Canada must meet the applicable IC technical standards and marking requirements.

Manufacturers, importers, distributors and vendors have a legal obligation to ensure that all IC regulated telecommunications equipment deployed in the Canadian marketplace has been certified or declared to comply with Canadian regulatory standards and that the equipment sold in the Canadian marketplace continues to meet those standards during the entire product life-cycle. Where testing shows that equipment does not comply with an applicable standard, these entities are responsible for taking prompt and effective remedial action.

There are many stages in the end-to-end regulatory process for telecommunications equipment. Table 1.0 lists the stages from when international standards are developed, to when the product is deployed and market surveillance is carried out to verify that products in the marketplace comply with relevant standards. The responsible players for each stage are also listed.

Table 1.0 - Stages of the Telecommunications Equipment Regulatory Process
Stage Players
International Standards Development Governments/Industry
Domestic Regulatory Standards Development Industry Canada/Industry
Conformity Assessment Scheme Industry Canada
Product Design Manufacturers
Manufacturing Manufacturers
Conformity Assessment Certification Bodies/Manufacturers
Import/Distribution/Sales Manufacturers/Importers/Distributors/Vendor
Market Surveillance Certification Bodies/Industry Canada
top of page

2. IC Telecommunications Equipment Technical Regulatory Standards

While manufacturers of telecommunications equipment must design, build and test their products to meet industry standards for performance and interoperability, their products must also meet the technical regulatory standards developed and approved by IC.

In Canada, telecommunications equipment is categorized as:

  • Telecommunications apparatus;
  • Category I 2 radio and broadcasting equipment; or,
  • Category II 3 radio, broadcasting and interference causing equipment.

The technical regulatory standards pertaining to each of the three categories of equipment are:

1. Telecommunications apparatus -

CS–03 : Compliance Specification for Terminal Equipment, Terminal Systems, Network Protection Devices, Connection Arrangements, and Hearing Aids Compatibility.This specification is developed through the Terminal Attachment Program Advisory Committee (TAPAC).

2. Category I radio and broadcasting equipment -

The Radio Advisory Board of Canada (RABC) advises on the development of Radio Standards Specifications (RSS) and Broadcasting Equipment Technical Standards (BETS). These standards can be found on the Category I Equipment Standards List.

3.  Category II radio, broadcasting and interference-causing equipment -

IC adopts Interference Causing Equipment Standards (ICES) based on international standards developed by the Comité International Spécial des Perturbations Radioélectriques (CISPR).The Category II Radio Standards Specifications (RSS), Broadcasting Equipment Technical Standards (BETS) and ICES are found on the Category II Equipment Standards List.

The complete list of Industry Canada standards and procedures are found on the Official Publications website.

top of page

3. Conformity Assessment Schemes

Telecommunications equipment must meet regulatory standards set by IC before it can be imported, sold or used in Canada. Responsible parties 4 have to demonstrate that their telecommunications equipment meets the appropriate standards.

There are three conformity assessment schemes for telecommunications equipment in Canada: Certification, Declaration of Conformity (DoC) and Supplier's Declaration of Conformity (SDoC); with Certification being the most stringent and SDoC the least stringent.

  1. Certification is the conformity assessment scheme used for Category I radio and broadcasting equipment. A Certification Body ( CB) issues a certificate based on the assessment of the test report produced by a manufacturer selected testing laboratory. Certification must be performed by a domestic CB recognized by IC, a foreign CB recognized by IC under a Mutual Recognition Agreement/Arrangement ( MRA or, in rare instances, the IC Certification and Engineering Bureau (CEB). The testing laboratories used for Category I equipment testing are not required to be recognized by IC; however, they are required to be ISO/IEC 17025 5 compliant. After a CB has certified a Category I equipment, the CB submits the certification file along with test reports, contact information for a Canadian representative and a listing fee to the CEB. If the CEB is satisfied with the information submitted, it will list the Category I equipment on the Radio Equipment List (REL). CBs are required to retain test reports for a minimum of 10 years.
  2. Declaration of Conformity (DoC) is the conformity assessment scheme used for telecommunications apparatus that connect directly to the public switched telephone network. Telecommunications apparatus must be tested by a domestic testing laboratory recognized by IC or a foreign testing laboratory recognized by IC under an MRA. A responsible party declares that its telecommunications apparatus meets the CS–03 specification and submits the declaration along with the test reports, contact information for a Canadian representative and registration fees to the CEB. If the CEB is satisfied with the information submitted, it will register the telecommunications apparatus and add it to the Terminal Equipment List (TEL). The declaring party is required to retain test reports for a minimum of 10 years.
  3. Supplier's Declaration of Conformity (SDoC) is the conformity assessment scheme used for Category II radio and broadcasting equipment. The responsible party tests the Category II equipment and ensures that it meets the appropriate technical standards and labels the equipment as required by the standards. Equipment testing does not have to be performed by a recognized IC testing laboratory. Category II equipment is exempt from certification and registration. The responsible party is required to retain test reports for a minimum of 5 years.
Figure 1.0: provides a logical flow for the deployment of telecommunications equipment in the Canadian marketplace, from design to market surveillance
Figure 1.0 provides a logical flow for the deployment of telecommunications equipment in the Canadian marketplace, from design to market surveillance

Illustrates how Category I & II radio equipment, along with telecom apparatus, must meet the applicable conformity assessment regime, e.g. certification, supplier's declaration of compliance or declaration of compliance. Once they meet the applicable conformity assessment regime, Category I radio equipment is published on the radio equipment list (REL) and the telecom apparatus is published on the telecom equipment list (TEL) - there is no requirement for the listing of Category II equipment with the department. Once published, they along with the Category II equipment, are imported for distribution and sale on the Canadian market. Market surveillance follows thereafter.

top of page

4. Streamlined Market Access
Mutual Recognition Agreements/Arrangements (MRAs)

The purpose of the MRA is to expedite the trade of telecommunications equipment. In the past, most countries including Canada, required telecommunications equipment (imported or locally produced) to be tested and certified within their own territories. With the globalization of trade in telecommunications equipment, exporters consider it redundant to conduct conformity assessment in the importing country since these assessments have already been done in the exporting country as part of the testing and production processes. The WTO considers the requirement for conformity assessment in both the importing and exporting country to be a technical barrier to trade.

MRAs address this problem by enabling the participating countries to mutually recognize the competence of each other's testing laboratories and certification bodies and subsequently, mutually accept the conformity assessment results (test reports and certification). This expedites the approval process and results in faster times to market and savings to the manufacturer in regulatory compliance costs.

Canada has signed or endorsed the following MRAs:

  • Canada/European Community MRA;
  • Canada/European Economic Area-European Free Trade Association (Iceland Liechtenstein, and Norway) MRA;
  • Canada/Switzerland MRA;
  • Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation Telecommunications and Information Working Group (APEC TEL) MRA; and
  • Inter-American Telecommunication Commission (CITEL) MRA.

In addition, Canada continues to negotiate MRAs with other economies.

top of page

5.   Market Surveillance

Market surveillance is conducted to promote continued compliance of telecommunications equipment with applicable IC regulatory standards, in order to prevent radiocommunication interference, harm to the Canadian public telecommunication networks and to ensure the safety of telecommunications personnel and users.

In the case of telecommunications equipment that requires certification, such as Category I radio and broadcasting equipment, CBs are required to conduct market surveillance on at least 5% of the equipment they certify and on at least 1% of equipment subject to radio frequency exposure requirements outlined in Radio Standard Specification-102 (RSS-102), Radio Frequency Exposure Compliance of Radiocommunication Apparatus (All Frequency Bands). If a device fails to comply with the applicable regulatory requirements, CBs are required to notify IC immediately and take all possible actions to resolve the issue.

The roles and responsibilities of CBs in market surveillance are specified in CB-02, Recognition Criteria, and Administrative and Operational Requirements Applicable to Certification Bodies for the Certification of Radio Apparatus to Industry Canada's Standards and Specifications.

As an additional check on the integrity of the process, IC conducts a small number of audits each year on Category I radio and broadcasting equipment certified by CBs. IC also conducts market surveillance on a small sample of telecommunications equipment that does not require certification (telecommunications apparatus and Category II radio and broadcasting equipment).

Footnotes

1

The term "telecommunications equipment" is used as a generic term covering telecommunications apparatus (terminal equipment which connects directly to the public switched telephone network), radio equipment (equipment intended for, or capable of being used for, radiocommunication), broadcasting equipment (radio and TV equipment intended for broadcasting services) and interference-causing equipment (equipment, other than radio receivers, that causes or is capable of causing interference to radiocommunications).

Return to footnote 1 referrer

2

Category I equipment comprises radio and broadcasting equipment subject to technical regulations for which certification is required, such as cordless phones, cell phones and television broadcasting transmitters.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

3

Category II equipment comprises radio, broadcasting and interference-causing equipment, subject to technical regulations for which certification is not required, such as Global Positioning Systems (GPS) receivers, television sets and fluorescent lights.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

4

Responsible party is a generic term for an entity such as a certificate holder, manufacturer, testing laboratory, certification body, supplier, distributor, service provider or importer that is responsible for registered and/or certified telecommunications equipment. The responsible party is the party which responds to inquires, provides test samples, test reports, and/or quality control data upon request by the department.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

5

ISO/IEC 17025 General requirements for the competence of testing and calibration laboratories.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

top of page

Processus de réglementation de l'équipement de télécommunications

1. Aperçu

Des organismes internationaux, comme l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT, réunissent les gouvernements et l'industrie en vue de l'élaboration de normes techniques internationales d'application volontaire à l'égard de l'équipement de télécommunications. Chaque gouvernement établit ensuite ses normes de réglementation technique en fonction de ces recommandations du milieu international.

Industrie Canada (IC) est le ministère chargé de réglementer l'équipement de télécommunications au Canada. L'article 5 de la Loi sur la radiocommunication et l'article 69.3 de la Loi sur les télécommunications donnent au ministre de l'Industrie le pouvoir d'élaborer des normes techniques et de veiller à ce que l'équipement de télécommunications 1 satisfasse à ces normes.

Il faut assurer la conformité aux normes nationales de réglementation techniques pour éviter le brouillage aux radiocommunications, ainsi que tout préjudice aux réseaux publics de télécommunications au Canada, et assurer la sécurité du personnel appelé à travailler aux installations de télécommunications, ainsi que la sécurité des utilisateurs. Tout l'équipement de télécommunications qui entre au Canada doit satisfaire aux normes techniques et aux exigences de marquage applicables d'IC.

Les fabricants, les importateurs, les distributeurs et les fournisseurs ont une obligation légale de s'assurer que tout l'équipement de télécommunications réglementé par IC déployé sur le marché canadien a été certifié ou déclaré conforme aux normes de réglementation canadiennes, et que l'équipement vendu sur le marché canadien continue à satisfaire à ces normes pendant tout le cycle de vie des produits. Lorsque les essais montrent que l'équipement n'est pas conforme aux normes applicables, ces entités doivent prendre rapidement des mesures de correction efficaces.

Le processus de réglementation de l'équipement de télécommunications de bout en bout comporte de nombreuses étapes. Le tableau 1.0 énumère les étapes du moment où les normes internationales sont élaborées jusqu'au moment où le produit est déployé et on effectue la surveillance du marché dans le but de vérifier que les produits offerts sur le marché sont conformes aux normes pertinentes. Le tableau énumère également les intervenants responsables à chaque étape.

Tableau 1.0 &8211; Étapes du processus de réglementation de l'équipement de télécommunications
Étape Intervenants
Élaboration des normes internationales Gouvernements/industrie
Élaboration des normes de réglementation nationales Industrie Canada/industrie
Plan d'évaluation de la conformité Industrie Canada
Conception des produits Fabricants
Fabrication Fabricants
Évaluation de la conformité Organismes de certification/fabricants
Importation/distribution/ventes Fabricants/importateurs/distributeurs/ fournisseurs
Surveillance du marché Organismes de certification/Industrie Canada
haut de la page

2. Normes de réglementation techniques d'IC à l'égard de l'équipement de télécommunications

Les fabricants d'équipement de télécommunications doivent concevoir, fabriquer et mettre à l'essai leurs produits pour qu'ils satisfassent aux normes de rendement et d'interopérabilité de l'industrie, mais leurs produits doivent également satisfaire aux normes de réglementation technique élaborées et adoptées par IC.

Au Canada, l'équipement de télécommunications est classé dans les catégories suivantes :

  • appareils de télécommunications;
  • matériel radio et de radiodiffusion de catégorie I 2
  • matériel radio, de radiodiffusion et brouilleur de catégorie II 3.

Les normes de réglementation technique applicables à chacune des trois catégories d'équipement sont les suivantes :

1. Appareil de télécommunications –

CS–03 : Spécification de conformité relative aux équipements terminaux, aux systèmes terminaux, aux dispositifs de protection de réseau, aux dispositifs de connexion et aux appareils téléphoniques à combiné qui permettent le couplage avec des prothèses auditives. Cette spécification est élaborée par l'entremise du Comité consultatif du Programme de raccordement de matériel terminal (CCPRT).

2. Matériel radio et de radiodiffusion de catégorie I &8211;

Le Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio (CCCR) fait part de ses observations au moment de l'élaboration des Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) et des Normes techniques de matériel de radiodiffusion (NTMR). Ces normes se trouvent dans la liste des normes applicables au matériel de catégorie I.

3.  Matériel radio, de radiodiffusion et brouilleur de catégorie II -

IC adopte les Normes sur le matériel brouilleur (NMB) d'après les normes internationales élaborées par le Comité international spécial des perturbations radioélectriques (CISPR). Les Cahiers des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR) et les Normes techniques de matériel de radiodiffusion (NTMR) applicables au matériel de catégorie II, de même que les NMB, se trouvent dans la liste des normes applicables au matériel de catégorie II.

La liste complète des normes et des procédures élaborées par Industrie Canada se trouve sur le site Web des Publications officielles.

haut de la page

3.  Plans d'évaluation de la conformité

L'équipement de télécommunications doit satisfaire aux normes de réglementation établies par IC avant de pouvoir être importé, vendu ou utilisé au Canada. Les parties responsables 4 doivent démontrer que leur équipement de télécommunications satisfait aux normes appropriées.

Au Canada, il y a trois plans d'évaluation de la conformité de l'équipement de télécommunications : la certification, la déclaration de conformité DDC) et la déclaration de conformité du fournisseur (DDC du fournisseur), la certification étant la plus stricte et la DDC du fournisseur, la moins stricte.

  1. La certification est le plan d'évaluation de la conformité qui s'applique au matériel radio et de radiodiffusion de catégorie I. Un organisme de certification (OC) délivre un certificat en fonction de l'évaluation du rapport d'essai produit par le laboratoire d'essais sélectionné par un fabricant. La certification doit être faite par un OC national reconnu par IC, un OC étranger reconnu par IC en vertu d'un accord de reconnaissance mutuelle (ARM) ou, dans de rares cas, le Bureau d'homologation et de services techniques (BHST) d'IC. Les laboratoires d'essais retenus pour mener les essais à l'égard du matériel de catégorie I ne sont pas tenus d'être reconnus par IC, mais ils doivent être conformes à la norme ISO/CEI 17025 5. Une fois qu'un OC a certifié un matériel de catégorie I, l'OC présente au BHST le dossier de certification, de même que les rapports d'essais, les coordonnées d'un représentant au Canada et les droits d'inscription. Si le BHST est satisfait de l'information présentée, il inscrira le matériel de catégorie I à la Nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR). Les OC doivent conserver les rapports d'essais pendant au moins 10 ans.
  2. La déclaration de conformité (DDC) est le plan d'évaluation de la conformité qui s'applique à tout appareil de télécommunications qui assure le raccordement direct au réseau téléphonique commuté public. L'appareil de télécommunications doit être mis à l'essai par un laboratoire d'essais national reconnu par IC ou un laboratoire d'essais étranger reconnu par IC en vertu d'un ARM. Une partie responsable déclare que son appareil de télécommunications satisfait à la CS–03 et présente au BHST la déclaration, de même que les rapports d'essais, les coordonnées d'un représentant au Canada et les droits d'enregistrement. Si le BHST est satisfait de l'information présentée, il enregistre l'appareil de télécommunications et l'ajoute à la Nomenclature du matériel terminal (NMT). La partie déclarante doit conserver les rapports d'essais pendant au moins 10 ans.
  3. La déclaration de conformité du fournisseur (DDC du fournisseur) est le plan d'évaluation de la conformité qui s'applique au matériel radio et de radiodiffusion de catégorie II. La partie responsable met à l'essai le matériel de catégorie II, s'assure qu'il satisfait aux normes techniques appropriées et étiquette le matériel de la façon requise en vertu des normes. Il n'est pas nécessaire que la mise à l'essai du matériel soit effectuée par un laboratoire d'essais reconnu par IC. Le matériel de catégorie II est exempt de la certification et de l'enregistrement. La partie responsable doit conserver les rapports d'essais pendant au moins 5 ans.
La figure 1.0: donne le cheminement logique du déploiement de l'équipement de télécommunications sur le marché canadien, de la conception à la surveillance du marché.
La figure 1.0 donne le cheminement logique du déploiement de l'équipement de télécommunications sur le marché canadien, de la conception à la surveillance du marché

Illustre comment l'équipement radio de catégorie I et II, ainsi que les appareils de télécommunications, doivent respecter le nouveau régime d'évaluation de la conformité applicable, par exemple, la certification, la déclaration de la conformité du fournisseur ou de la déclaration de conformité. Une fois qu'ils rencontrent le régime d'évaluation de la conformité applicable, l'équipement radio de catégorie I est publié sur la nomenclature du matériel radio (NMR) et l'appareil de télécommunications est publié sur la nomenclature du matériel terminal (NMT) - il n'est pas nécessaire d'enregistrer le matériel de catégorie II avec le département. Une fois publiés, tout ces appareils, sont importés pour la distribution et la vente sur le marché canadien. La surveillance du marché suit par la suite.

haut de la page

4. Accès simplifié au marché – Accords de reconnaissance mutuelle (ARM)

Les ARM servent à accélérer les échanges d'équipement de télécommunications. Par le passé, la plupart des pays, dont le Canada, exigeaient que l'équipement de télécommunications (importé ou produit localement) soit mis à l'essai et certifié sur leur propre territoire. Dans le contexte de la mondialisation des échanges d'équipement de télécommunications, les exportateurs considèrent comme redondante l'exécution d'évaluations de la conformité dans le pays importateur, du fait que ces évaluations ont déjà été faites dans le pays exportateur dans le cadre de la mise à l'essai et de la production. L'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) voit l'exigence de mener l'évaluation de la conformité à la fois dans le pays importateur et le pays exportateur comme un obstacle technique au commerce.

Les ARM remédient à ce problème en permettant aux pays participants de reconnaître mutuellement la compétence des laboratoires d'essais et des organismes de certification des autres pays participants et, par la suite, d'accepter mutuellement les résultats des évaluations de conformité (rapports d'essais et certification). Cela permet d'accélérer le processus d'approbation, ce qui raccourcit les délais de mise en marché et se traduit par des économies pour le fabricant au chapitre des frais de conformité à la réglementation.

Le Canada a signé ou endossé les ARM suivantes :

  • ARM Canada &8211; Communauté européenne;
  • ARM Canada &8211; République d'Islande, Principauté de Liechtenstein et Royaume de Norvège;
  • ARM Canada &8211; Suisse;
  • ARM Canada &8211; APEC en matière d'évaluation de la conformité de l'équipement de télécommunications;
  • ARM &8211; Commission interaméricaine des télécommunications (CITEL).

En outre, le Canada continue de négocier des ARM avec d'autres pays.

haut de la page

5. Surveillance du marché

La surveillance du marché vise à promouvoir le maintien de la conformité de l'équipement de télécommunications aux normes de réglementation applicables d'IC, dans le but de prévenir le brouillage aux radiocommunications et tout préjudice aux réseaux publics canadiens de télécommunications et d'assurer la sécurité des utilisateurs et du personnel de télécommunications.

Dans le cas de l'équipement de télécommunications qui requiert une certification, comme le matériel radio et de radiodiffusion de catégorie I, les OC doivent mener une surveillance du marché pour au moins 5 % de l'équipement qu'ils certifient et au moins 1 % de l'équipement assujetti aux exigences relatives à l'exposition aux radiofréquences décrites dans le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques-102 (CNR-102), intitulé Conformité des appareils de radiocommunication aux limites d'exposition humaine aux radiofréquences (toutes bandes de fréquences). Lorsqu'un dispositif n'est pas conforme aux exigences réglementaires applicables, les OC doivent notifier IC immédiatement et prendre toutes les mesures possibles pour régler le cas.

Les rôles et les responsabilités des OC dans la surveillance du marché sont précisés dans l'OC-02, intitulé Critères de reconnaissance et exigences administratives et d'exploitation applicables aux organismes de certification pour la certification du matériel radio conformément aux normes et spécifications d'Industrie Canada.

Comme mesure de vérification additionnelle de l'intégrité du processus, IC mène, tous les ans, un nombre limité d'audits au sujet du matériel radio et de radiodiffusion de catégorie I certifié par les OC. IC mène aussi une surveillance du marché au sujet d'un échantillon restreint d'équipement de télécommunications qui ne requiert pas de certification (appareils de télécommunications et matériel radio et de radiodiffusion de catégorie II).

Footnotes

1

L'expression générique « équipement de télécommunications » couvre les appareils de télécommunications (le matériel terminal qui assure un raccordement direct au réseau téléphonique commuté public), le matériel radio (matériel destiné à servir aux radiocommunications ou capable de servir aux radiocommunications), le matériel de radiodiffusion (matériel radio et de télévision destiné à la prestation de services de radiodiffusion) et le matériel brouilleur (matériel autre que les récepteurs radio qui cause ou peut causer du brouillage aux radiocommunications).

Retour à l'appel de note 1

2

Le matériel de catégorie I comprend le matériel radio et de radiodiffusion assujetti aux règlements techniques pour lequel la certification est requise, comme les téléphones sans fil, les téléphones cellulaires et les émetteurs de radiodiffusion télévisuelle.

Retour à l'appel de note 2

3

C Le matériel de catégorie II comprend le matériel radio, de radiodiffusion et brouilleur assujetti aux règlements techniques pour lequel la certification n'est pas requise, comme les récepteurs de systèmes mondial de localisation (GPS), les téléviseurs et les appareils d'éclairage fluorescents.

Retour à l'appel de note 3

4

L'expression générique « partie responsable » désigne toute entité, comme un titulaire de certificat, un fabricant, un laboratoire d'essais, un organisme de certification, un fournisseur, un distributeur, un fournisseur de services ou un importateur, qui est responsable de l'équipement de télécommunications enregistré et/ou certifié. La partie responsable est la partie qui répond aux demandes de renseignements et fournit les spécimens d'essai, les rapports d'essai et/ou les données de contrôle de la qualité sur demande du Ministère.

Retour à l'appel de note 4

5

Norme ISO/CEI 17025, intitulée Exigences générales concernant la compétence des laboratoires d'étalonnages et d'essais.

Retour à l'appel de note 5

haut de la page