Participating in the Standards System – What are Standards?

Standards are technical specifications or other criteria that a product, process or service must meet. Standards provide information to consumers, manufacturers and retailers, and enhance safety, reliability and performance of the products, processes and services consumers use. Standards assure consumers about reliability or other characteristics of services provided in the marketplace. Standards also give consumers more choice by allowing one firm's products to be substituted for, or combined with, those of another.

To be credible, standards must have certain attributes:

  • their development must be overseen by a recognized body
  • the development process must be open to input from all interested parties
  • the resulting standards must be documented and publicly available
  • there is usually a method for monitoring and verifying that organizations are complying with standards.

In Canada, there are thousands of domestic standards in place. Once a standard is developed by a standards development organization (SDO), the SDO may submit it to the Standards Council of Canada as a National Standard of Canada. There are more than 7 000 national standards used as the basis of commercial transactions and regulations. Canadians also participate in the development of international standards. These standards set common requirements for the global marketplace and may form the basis for national standards. Standards are also developed by regional standards bodies.

Standards are developed through a set process. Companies and individuals use and adhere to standards voluntarily, or because they are required to by law. When compliance with a standard is not mandated by law, companies and individuals follow the terms of the standards simply because it is in their interest to do so — standards improve the quality of products, processes or services, reassure customers and open up markets. Approximately two thirds of standards are voluntary.

The terms of standards may also be incorporated into government statutes and regulations, in which case companies and individuals must follow them as a matter of law. In some cases, governments initiate and participate in standards development so the standard can be included in legislation. In other cases, governments find that an existing standard can be used to deal with a public policy problem and include it in new legislation. For example, the federal law for the protection of personal information in the private sector is based on a national standard.

Types of Standards

Standards establish a wide range of requirements for products, processes and services:

  • performance specifications ensure that a product meets a prescribed test, for example, strength requirements
  • prescriptive specifications identify product characteristics, such as the thickness, type or dimensions of material. Standards may also combine performance and prescriptive requirements
  • design specifications set out the specific design or technical characteristics of a product
  • management specifications set out requirements for the processes and procedures companies put in place, such as for quality and environmental management systems.

The National Standards System

Canada's National Standards System (NSS) is the framework for developing, promoting and implementing national standards in Canada. Almost 15 000 people help write standards and hundreds of organizations specialize in testing, certification and other standards development activities.

The Standards Council of Canada (SCC), a federal Crown corporation, oversees the NSS, accrediting more than 250 organizations involved in standards development, product or service certification, testing and management systems registration in Canada. It regularly audits accredited organizations to make sure they meet detailed criteria and procedures.

A 15-member body consisting of representatives from the federal, provincial and territorial governments and a range of public and private interests, including consumer representatives, governs the SCC.

The SCC has further acknowledged the importance of the consumer viewpoint by creating the Consumer and Public Interest Committee. It comprises four consumer representatives, members of environmental, labour and occupational health and safety groups, representatives from the federal government and academia and four consumer professionals from organizations that develop standards. The Committee recommends policies to identify and monitor emerging consumer and public interest issues, promotes consumer and public interest in standards, participates in standards development and contributes to SCC volunteer recruitment and training programs. It also advises the SCC on international consumer policy issues related to standards.

Each SDO accredited by the SCC to develop standards, does so using committees representing various interests and by building consensus. These organizations may submit standards to the SCC to be recognized as National Standards of Canada. They also develop standards-related documents, such as codes, specifications and guidelines, that do not have the authority of standards.

A full list of accredited SDO's are available on the SCC website.

There are bodies that develop voluntary codes, codes of conduct, codes of practice, voluntary initiatives and other specifications that are similar to standards in Canada but that are not part of the NSS. These often serve particular markets and needs.* In some areas, particularly in electronics or computers in which technology changes quickly, a leading company or consortium develops de facto standards. These standards acquire authority or influence due to the market share of the firms that use them. They are not, however, eligible to be National Standards of Canada.

* For a more detailed discussion, see the companion document, Voluntary Codes: A Guide for Their Development and Use.

How is Conformity with Standards Assessed?

The Standards Council of Canada certifies bodies that assess how well products, processes, services and organizations conform with standards.

Certification organizations regularly conduct on-site audits and sample and test certified products, processes and services. They allow certified products and services to carry special marks that indicate that they conform to standards. There were approximately 15 certification organizations in Canada at the end of 1999.

Testing organizations determine whether a product or service meets an appropriate standard. The SCC has accredited more than 200 testing organizations in Canada based on their ability to perform tests according to recognized standards and procedures, and document their findings. These organizations include private research laboratories, government and industry facilities and most of the certification organizations.

Management systems registration organizations are relatively new. They include, for example, accredited registrars that issue registration certificates to companies that meet international standards for quality or environmental management.

The Standards Council of Canada operates an advisory committee to help it oversee conformity assessment. Two members of this group are drawn from the Consumer and Public Interest Committee described above.

International Standards

International standardization activities are becoming more important to Canadians, and the importance of Canadian consumer input in international standards forums is increasing. International standards form the basis for more than half of the National Standards of Canada. Federal government policy encourages regulators to determine whether international standards can form the basis of proposed regulations. Trade agreements (e.g. the World Trade Organization's Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade) also require governments to use international standards for regulation whenever possible.

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO, based on the Greek word for equal) is one of the most important of the international standards bodies. It is a federation of national standards bodies with some 130 members, including the SCC. Its mission is to promote the development of standardization to facilitate the international exchange of goods and services. It also encourages cooperation in intellectual, scientific, technological and economic activities. The ISO does not address standardization in the electrical and electronics fields (see below).

The ISO's published standards include, among many others, those for film speed, the format of telephone and banking cards, symbols for automobile controls, and paper sizes. There are more than 2800 technical committees, subcommittees and working groups developing standards at the ISO. Committee members include representatives of industry, government, consumers, research institutes and international organizations.

Other International Standards Bodies

The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) is responsible for developing international electrical and electronic standards. The more than 50 participating countries are responsible for more than 95 percent of the world's electrical energy production, and members are drawn from national standardization bodies. The IEC develops standards for electronics, magnetics and electromagnetics, electroacoustics, telecommunications, and energy production and distribution. The IEC and ISO work cooperatively to develop standards in the information technology area through the Joint Technical Committee on Information Technology.

In addition to producing standards, the IEC creates Industry Technical Agreements (ITAs) for markets with short time lines. Industry uses ITAs when high-tech products and services do not need international standards consensus at the time of launch. Industry experts and users working together develop ITAs, which may in some cases proceed through to IEC technical committees to become standards if a market demand is foreseen.

Publicly Available Specifications are another IEC tool for meeting market demands for a rapidly developing technology. These can become de facto standards when they are approved and accepted by the international community. They are usually created by industry consortia and gain rapid acceptance in the global market.

Other international organizations developing standards include the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), which is a treaty organization of approximately 160 members run by the United Nations. National governments that have signed the ITU treaty enforce and administer the standards the ITU adopts.

The Codex Alimentarius Commission is the United Nation's food standards body. Canada is one of the Commission's 150 members and actively participates in its activities. Many legislated Canadian food standards are the result of the Commission's work.

The World Forum for Harmonization of Vehicle Regulations, of which Canada is a member, establishes technical regulations for the construction of motor vehicles.

The SCC coordinates Canada's participation in the international standards system. This is becoming an increasingly important part of the SCC's activities.

"Your responsibility at the meeting is to press for the adoption of Canadian positions on proposed International Standards. You also have a secondary responsibility: to advance Canada's reputation as a leading industrial nation and a respected participant in the international standardization process. Exercising diplomacy in this important forum will go a long way towards achieving that goal, and will help you form positive relationships with colleagues…." Standards Council of Canada, Guide for Canadian Delegates

La participation au système des normes – La nature des normes

Les normes se composent de spécifications techniques ou d'autres critères auxquels un produit, un procédé ou un service doit se conformer. Elles fournissent des renseignements aux consommateurs, aux fabricants et aux détaillants, et améliorent la sécurité, la fiabilité et le rendement des produits utilisés par les consommateurs. Elles rassurent ces derniers sur la fiabilité et les autres caractéristiques des services offerts sur le marché. Elles élargissent aussi les choix des consommateurs en permettant aux produits d'une entreprise d'être substitués ou conjugués à ceux d'une autre.

Pour être dignes de foi, les normes doivent posséder certains attributs :

  • leur élaboration doit être encadrée par un organisme reconnu;
  • le processus d'élaboration doit permettre l'intervention de toutes les parties intéressées;
  • les normes ainsi formulées doivent être documentées et diffusées publiquement;
  • on prévoit habituellement une méthode de contrôle et de vérification du respect des normes par les organismes.

Au Canada, des milliers de normes nationales sont en vigueur. Une fois la norme élaborée par un organisme d'élaboration des normes (OEN), celui-ci peut la présenter au Conseil des normes du Canada à titre de norme nationale du Canada. Plus de 7 000 normes nationales fondent les transactions et les règlements commerciaux. Les Canadiens participent également à l'élaboration de normes internationales. Ces normes fixent les exigences communes pour le marché mondial et peuvent fonder des normes nationales. Les organismes de normalisation régionaux élaborent également des normes.

Les normes sont élaborées au moyen du processus décrit ci-dessous. Les sociétés et les particuliers utilisent et respectent les normes volontairement ou parce que la loi les y oblige. Lorsque la loi ne prescrit pas le respect d'une norme, les sociétés et les particuliers la respectent tout simplement parce qu'ils y trouvent leur intérêt – les normes améliorent la qualité des produits, des procédés ou des services, rassurent les consommateurs et ouvrent les portes des marchés. Environ les deux tiers des normes sont volontaires.

Les modalités des normes peuvent aussi être intégrées aux lois et règlements de l'État, auquel cas les sociétés et les particuliers sont légalement tenus de s'y conformer. Dans certains cas, le gouvernement lance le processus d'élaboration d'une norme et y participe afin que la norme puisse être intégrée à une loi. Dans d'autres cas, le gouvernement estime qu'une norme en place peut être utilisée pour régler un problème de politique publique et l'intègre à une nouvelle loi. Par exemple, la loi fédérale sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé s'inspire d'une norme nationale.

Types de normes

Les normes fixent toute une série d'exigences quant aux produits, aux procédés et aux services :

  • Les exigences de rendement veillent à ce qu'un produit satisfasse aux exigences d'un essai prescrit, par exemple sur le plan de la résistance.
  • Les exigences prescriptives définissent les caractéristiques des produits, telles que l'épaisseur, le genre et les dimensions des matériaux. Les spécifications peuvent aussi conjuguer des exigences de rendement et des exigences prescriptives.
  • Les spécifications de conception régissent la conception et les caractéristiques techniques précises des produits.
  • Les spécifications de gestion fixent les exigences concernant les processus et les procédés mis en place par les entreprises, par exemple en ce qui concerne la qualité ou les systèmes de gestion de l'environnement.

Le Système national de normes

Le Système national de normes (SNN) du Canada est le cadre d'élaboration, de promotion et d'application des normes nationales au Canada. Quelque 15 000 personnes participent à la rédaction des normes tandis que des centaines d'organismes se spécialisent dans la mise à l'essai, la certification et d'autres activités d'élaboration des normes.

Le Conseil canadien des normes (CCN), une société d'État fédérale, encadre le SNN, accréditant plus de 250 organismes engagés dans l'élaboration de normes, la certification de produits ou services, les essais et l'enregistrement des systèmes de gestion au Canada. Il procède régulièrement à des vérifications des organismes accrédités pour s'assurer qu'ils satisfont à des critères et à des procédures détaillés.

Le CCN est régi par un organe de 15 membres composé des représentants des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ainsi que d'une série de groupes d'intérêts publics et privés, y compris des représentants des consommateurs.

Le CCN a reconnu encore davantage la pertinence du point de vue des consommateurs en créant le Comité sur l'intérêt des consommateurs et du public. Ce comité se compose de quatre représentants des consommateurs, ainsi que de représentants du domaine de l'environnement, des syndicats, et de la santé et sécurité du travail, de représentants du gouvernement fédéral et du milieu universitaire, et de quatre représentants des OEN et des professionnels du milieu de la consommation. Le comité recommande l'élaboration de politiques visant à déterminer les questions existantes et nouvelles liées aux intérêts des consommateurs et du public, et à suivre leur évolution; il fait valoir les intérêts des consommateurs et du public dans les normes; il participe à l'élaboration des normes; et il contribue aux programmes de recrutement et de formation des bénévoles du CCN. Le comité conseille également le CCN sur les questions de politique internationale en matière de consommation qui portent sur les normes.

Chaque OEN accrédité par le CCN fait appel à des comités représentant divers intérêts et fonctionne par consensus. Ces organismes peuvent présenter au CCN des normes afin qu'elles soient reconnues comme normes nationales du Canada. Ils produisent également des documents reliés aux normes tels que des codes, des spécifications et des lignes directrices, qui n'ont pas l'autorité des normes.

Une liste complète des OEN accrédités est disponible sur le site Web du CCN.

Certains organismes qui élaborent au Canada des codes volontaires, des codes de pratique, des initiatives volontaires et d'autres spécifications semblables à des normes ne font pas partie du SNN. Ces groupes desservent souvent un marché bien défini ou répondent à des besoins particuliers*. Dans certains domaines, particulièrement ceux de l'électronique ou des ordinateurs, où la technologie évolue rapidement, une entreprise ou un consortium chef de file met en place des normes de facto. Ces normes acquièrent de l'autorité et de l'influence en raison de la part de marché des entreprises qui les utilisent. Elles ne sont toutefois pas admissibles à titre de normes nationales du Canada.

* Pour un exposé plus détaillé, consulter le document d'accompagnement intitulé Les codes volontaires : Guide d'élaboration et d'utilisation.

Comment apprécie-t-on la conformité aux normes?

Le Conseil canadien des normes certifie les organismes qui évaluent la conformité aux normes des produits, des services et des organismes.

Les organismes de certification procèdent périodiquement à des vérifications sur place ainsi qu'à un échantillonnage et à une mise à l'essai de produits et services certifiés. Ils permettent à certains d'entre eux d'afficher des marques spéciales qui indiquent leur conformité aux normes. À la fin de 1999, le Canada comptait environ 15 organismes de certification.

Les organismes d'essais déterminent si un produit ou un service satisfait à la norme établie. Le CCN a accrédité plus de 200 organismes d'essais au Canada en se fondant sur leur capacité d'effectuer des essais selon des normes et façons de procéder, et sur leur capacité d'analyser les résultats de ces essais. Parmi ces organismes, on trouve des laboratoires de recherche privés, des établissements gouvernementaux et industriels ainsi que la plupart des organismes de certification.

Les organismes d'enregistrement de systèmes de gestion (ou de « management ») sont relativement nouveaux. Ils comprennent, par exemple, des registraires accrédités qui émettent des certificats d'enregistrement aux sociétés qui satisfont à des normes internationales sur le management de la qualité ou le management environnemental.

Le Conseil canadien des normes possède un comité consultatif pour l'aider à surveiller l'évaluation de la conformité. Deux membres de ce groupe proviennent du Comité sur les intérêts des consommateurs et du public dont il a été question ci-dessus.

Normes internationales

Les activités de normalisation à caractère international acquièrent de plus en plus d'importance pour les Canadiens; la participation des consommateurs canadiens aux tribunes de normalisation internationales prend de plus en plus d'ampleur. Les normes internationales sont à la base de plus de la moitié des normes nationales du Canada. La politique du gouvernement fédéral encourage les organismes de réglementation à déterminer si les normes internationales peuvent fonder les règlements proposés. Les accords commerciaux (p. ex. l'Accord relatif aux obstacles techniques au commerce de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce) obligent également les gouvernements à réglementer en fonction des normes internationales dans toute la mesure du possible.

L'Organisation internationale de normalisation (ISO, d'après le mot grec signifiant « égal ») est l'un des plus importants organismes de normalisation internationaux. Il s'agit d'une fédération d'organismes nationaux de normalisation qui compte quelque 130 membres, y compris le CCN. Elle a pour mission de promouvoir le développement de la normalisation afin de faciliter les échanges internationaux de biens et services. Elle encourage également la coopération dans l'exercice des activités intellectuelles, scientifiques, technologiques et économiques. L'ISO ne s'occupe pas de normalisation dans les domaines de l'électricité et de l'électronique (voir ci-dessous).

Les normes publiées par l'ISO portent, entre autres, sur la vitesse des films, le format des cartes bancaires et téléphoniques, les symboles pour les commandes des automobiles et la taille du papier. L'ISO compte plus de 2 800 comités techniques, sous-comités et groupes de travail qui élaborent des normes au sein de l'organisation. Les membres des comités comprennent des représentants de l'industrie, du gouvernement, des consommateurs, des instituts de recherche et des organisations internationales.

Autres organismes de normalisation internationaux

La Commission électrotechnique internationale (CEI) est chargée d'élaborer des normes électriques et électroniques internationales. Elle réunit plus de 50 pays qui produisent plus de 95 p. 100 de l'électricité de la planète; les membres proviennent des organismes de normalisation nationaux. La CEI élabore des normes pour l'électronique, la compatibilité magnétique et électromagnétique, l'électroacoustique, les télécommunications, et la production et la distribution de l'énergie. La CEI et l'ISO collaborent pour élaborer des normes dans le domaine des technologies de l'information, par l'entremise du Comité technique mixte sur les technologies de l'information.

En plus de produire des normes, la CEI crée des accords techniques entre partenaires industriels (ITA) pour les marchés à évolution rapide. L'industrie utilise les ITA lorsque des produits et services de haute technologie n'ont pas besoin d'un consensus sur des normes internationales au moment de leur lancement. Des experts de l'industrie et des utilisateurs se concertent pour élaborer les ITA, qui parfois sont acheminés aux comités techniques de la CEI pour devenir des normes, si l'on prévoit une demande des marchés.

Les spécifications accessibles au public sont un autre outil utilisé par la CEI pour répondre à la demande du marché pour une telle technologie à évolution rapide. Ces spécifications peuvent devenir des normes de facto lorsqu'elles sont approuvées et acceptées par la communauté internationale. Elles sont habituellement créées par des consortiums d'industries et acceptées rapidement sur le marché mondial.

Parmi les autres OEN internationaux, mentionnons l'Union internationale des télécommunications (UIT), un organisme créé par traité qui compte 160 membres et est dirigé par les Nations Unies. Les gouvernements nationaux qui ont signé le traité de l'UIT appliquent et administrent les normes adoptées par l'union.

La Commission du Codex Alimentarius est l'organisme de normalisation alimentaire des Nations Unies. Le Canada est l'un des 150 membres de la commission et il participe activement à ses activités. De nombreuses normes alimentaires inscrites dans les lois canadiennes sont le résultat des travaux de la commission.

Le World Forum for Harmonization of Vehicle Regulations, dont le Canada est membre, adopte les règlements techniques pour la construction des véhicules moteurs.

Le CCN coordonne la participation du Canada au système de normes internationales. Il s'agit là d'un volet de plus en plus important des activités du CCN.

« Il vous incombe, au cours de ces réunions, de favoriser l'adoption du point de vue du Canada sur les normes internationales proposées. Votre second rôle est de forger au Canada une réputation de leader industriel et d'acteur respecté du processus de normalisation international. User de diplomatie au cours de ces forums importants est la règle d'or pour atteindre les buts visés et établir de bonnes relations avec vos collègues… » Conseil canadien des normes, Guide à l'intention des délégués canadiens