The Consumer Checklist for Choosing a Moving Company

The Consumer Checklist for Choosing a Moving Company Truck and Checklist

Much of the stress that comes with moving can be relieved by hiring the right people to do the job. When choosing a moving company, it is wise to do some research before making a selection, and to ask your family and friends for the names of companies they recommend. It is also useful to call organizations such as the Better Business Bureau for a list of suggested movers. You may want to find out if the mover is a member of an association of movers or a certified reputable mover program.

The Consumer Checklist for Choosing a Moving Company

The Consumer Checklist for Choosing a Moving Company (hereafter the "Consumer Checklist") and the associated Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers were prepared by a multi-stakeholder working group consisting of government, business, and consumer group representatives and academics, under the leadership of the Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada.

The Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers and the Consumer Checklist were developed to complement legal protections already in place. It is hoped that the existence of the guidelines and the checklist will assist movers in identifying and adhering to high standards and will aid consumers in selecting reputable, ethical and professional movers. The guidelines can also be used as part of moving industry certification programs.

Follow this checklist to help reduce the chance of this sort of problem happening to you.

When Mr. R moved from Vancouver to Toronto, he contacted three major moving companies for estimates before choosing a mover and, as added protection, he bought extra insurance from the mover. The movers alone cost about $10 000.

When his belongings arrived, several rare, framed prints valued at about $50 000 were missing, so he immediately contacted the moving company's head office.

Not only did the company accuse him of making a bogus insurance claim, because none of the packers recalled seeing the missing prints, but also added that it couldn't be held accountable for the actions of the packers because they were independently contracted casual labourers and not full-time company employees.

Start with these questions

  • Does the company know about and agree to abide by the terms of the Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers? Does the company provide you with a pamphlet that outlines customer and mover rights and responsibilities, as well as written material regarding mover liability for loss or damage, optional programs available, limitations on liability and additional costs associated with each level of liability?
  • Is the company insured? Ask them to provide you with the insurance company's name and policy number.
  • Does the company have their own equipment, or will a sub-contractor or another company be providing the service? Which company? What is their record like? Get references.
  • Who will be providing services at the end of the move, such as unpacking, claims settlement, and storage? Is it the same as the original company, an affiliated van line, or someone else?
  • If your belongings will be left overnight in a moving van, will the van be kept in a secure facility? Be sure to use a company that uses vehicles designed for household goods moving and storage.
  • Whose storage facilities will be used – the company's or a third party's? It's a good idea to visit and check out the company's offices, storage facilities and vehicles before you move.
  • Does the mover have a Workers' Compensation Board certificate? If not, you may end up paying for any employee injuries during the move.

Ask for an estimate

  • For a long distance move, a reputable mover will want to inspect your belongings to help prepare a comprehensive quote. If a company says the inspection isn't necessary or wants to provide a quote over the telephone, you're probably better off dealing with someone else. Make sure that everything that needs to be moved is shown to the movers during the estimate, and find out how much it will cost if you need to add any items on the day of the move.
  • When asking for an estimate, be sure to give the mover precise information about the location of your old and new residence. Notify the movers of obstacles such as stairs or escalators that will require special navigation. To avoid being charged more later on, give the movers as much information as possible.
  • It is helpful to make an inventory of everything you want moved, from the basement to the attic, and ensure that special arrangements are made for goods requiring special attention (e.g. electronics, appliances, pianos).
  • Be sure to get estimates and all other assurances in writing, including the delivery date, as well as the full name of the person you spoke with.
  • The estimate should be on company letterhead and state the name, telephone number and address of the company, as well as a full estimate of the number of boxes to be moved, the size and value of items, the cost per hour or flat rate and terms of payment, and timing of services to be provided. If items are being moved out of the country, be sure to obtain the name and address of the moving agents who will be handling your move at the destination.
  • For a local move, the estimate should provide the number of hours the move will take to complete. Make sure the estimate is dated and includes the date of the move. Don't sign a contract unless these options are spelled out in writing.
  • Don't be afraid to negotiate. Beware of a price that is much lower than others. This could be an indicator of sub-standard service or higher charges to come later.
  • Beware of movers who offer to forego the Goods and Services Tax (GST) or who only accept cash payments. These are often indicators of an unscrupulous mover and one who is unlikely to pay claims or even deliver your goods.

Get the details

  • Who is responsible for packing? Ask about liability if you pack the items yourself.
  • Can boxes from other places like a grocery store be used?
  • Should all owner-packed boxes be sealed and labelled?
  • Are any licences or customs documents required, e.g., at border crossings? Who will prepare them?
  • Are there special seasonal rates or any other factors that may affect the cost of the move? It can be less expensive to move between October and June, or at mid-month.
  • If a deposit is required, will the money be put in trust, as is required in some provinces and territories? Is it refundable? Clarify methods of payment at the outset.
  • What are the terms and conditions of protecting your goods under the mover's Replacement Value Protection policy, including coverage for those goods you packed yourself? Is there a deductible, and if so, how much is it?

What is replacement value protection?

Even with the best mover, you need to know how you can protect yourself:

  • First check with your insurance agent/broker to find out if your existing household policy provides coverage during the move, and if so, what is the deductible. Make sure that your policy provides you with no less than "All Risks" coverage, because any less coverage leaves you exposed.
  • Then check with the moving company for the cost of Replacement Value Protection. This means that the moving company agrees to be legally liable up to an amount that represents your estimate of the value of your property being moved. Often that amount is arrived at by multiplying each pound of weight of your shipment by $10.00 – but that is just a rule of thumb. Make sure that the total amount of declared valuation is enough to replace all of your furniture and personal effects. Make sure that you get Replacement Value Protection and NOT depreciated value only.
  • Ask the moving company for written material that explains how the Replacement Value Protection works.
  • Ask the moving company for information on how to make a claim, and what the time limit is for making a claim.
  • Identify the difference of liability between owner-packed versus mover-packed cartons and special care items (i.e. glass, marble, and other "at owner's risk" items that are not packed professionally).
  • If you don't buy Replacement Value Protection, the moving company is usually liable only up to 60 cents per pound of any article that may be destroyed or lost. (For a typical television set, that's about $30.)
  • Be sure you have adequate protection either through your own insurance policy or through the moving company's Replacement Value Protection.

Making the best of your moving day

  • Be ready when the movers arrive. Have everything ready to go, as you will be charged an hourly rate for the time the movers wait.
  • Make sure both your origin and destination locations are ready. If you are moving to an apartment, book the elevator in the apartment building and notify your landlord or building manager of the arrival time of your movers. Arrange for street parking if needed.
  • For long distance moves, the Good Practice Guidelines for Canadian Movers stipulate that all items must be tagged and listed by the mover and a copy of the inventory supplied to you for your records. Be sure to keep a copy of this inventory. When you arrive at your new destination, check off each piece, and note any changes to the inventory prior to signing it. Otherwise, your mover may decline your claim for lost or damaged items.
  • For a local move, you should make an inventory of goods to be moved and supervise the loading and unloading or arrange for someone else to supervise. If goods are damaged or lost, make sure it's noted on the inventory, and notify the mover quickly. Normally, claims must be made within 30 days for local moves and within 60 days for long distance moves.
  • When the loading has been completed, do a walk-through of your premises to ensure that everything has been loaded and nothing is left in closets, behind doors, in attics or garages.
  • Take any personal, important documents with you. Back up your computer data and take the data and the computer with you.
  • Take all of your valuables (e.g. jewellery, prescriptions, artwork) with you, and make special arrangements for perishables (e.g. food, plants) that may be affected by heat or cold. Make appropriate arrangements for your pets.
  • When the unloading has been completed, do a walk-through of your premises and all hallways and pathways into your premises as well as the moving vehicle to ensure that everything has been unloaded.
  • Enjoy your new home

Follow this checklist to help reduce the chance of this sort of problem happening to you.

When the moving truck arrived at Mrs. A's new home in Alberta, the movers told her she would have to pay $2 000 more than expected before her belongings would be unloaded.

The original price was $2 650 but the movers upped the final price to $4 650, saying the final cost was higher because the household goods weighed far more than the company had estimated.

"They sort of held the goods hostage. They said, 'Unless you sign this bill, we're not unloading this truck,' " she said of her move from one city to another in Alberta. "It was getting close to where I could say, 'Keep the goods.' I certainly wasn't prepared for that kind of shocker."

Acknowledgements

The Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada, would like to express its appreciation to the multi-stakeholder working group that assisted in the preparation of this consumer checklist and the associated guidelines. The working group consisted of the following members:

  • Marcel Boucher, L'Union des consommateurs
  • Sheila Charneski, President,
  • Better Business Bureau of Mainland British Columbia
  • Rob Dowler, Director of Marketplace Standards, Ontario Ministry of Consumer and Business Services
  • Joan Huzar, Consumers Council of Canada
  • Jay Jackson, Senior Policy Officer, Competition Bureau
  • John Levi, President, Canadian Association of Movers, 1 866 860 0065, Web: www.mover.net
  • Rob Phillips, Director of Consumer Affairs, Consumer Services Division, Government of Alberta
  • Susan Ramsay, Chief Executive Officer, The Moving Store
  • Marielle Sauvé, Executive Assistant, Consumer Services, Office de la protection du consommateur, Government of Quebec
  • Jim Savary, Department of Economics, York University
  • Kernaghan Webb, Chief of Research and Senior Legal Policy Advisor, Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada (Chair of Working Group)
  • Bob Whitelaw, President and CEO, Canadian Council of Better Business Bureaus (until April 2004)

This publication is available upon request in multiple formats. Contact the Information Distribution Centre at the numbers listed below.

For a print copy of this publication, please contact:

Office of Consumer Affairs, Industry Canada  
235 Queen Street, 2nd Floor, West Tower 
Ottawa, Ontario 
K1A 0H5

Tel: (613) 946-2576 
Fax: (613) 952-6927

Email: Ask us

Permission to Reproduce

Except as otherwise specifically noted, the information in this publication may be reproduced, in part or in whole and by any means, without charge or further permission from Industry Canada, provided that due diligence is exercised in ensuring the accuracy of the information reproduced; that Industry Canada is identified as the source institution; and that the reproduction is not represented as an official version of the information reproduced, nor as having been made in affiliation with, or with the endorsement of, Industry Canada.

For permission to reproduce the information in this publication for commercial redistribution, please e-mail: droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

Cat. No. Iu4-63/2004E-HTML
ISBN 0-662-38203-X
54197E

Liste de vérification des consommateurs pour choisir une entreprise de déménagement

Remorque et liste de vérification

Il est possible de s'épargner une grande partie du stress provoqué par un déménagement en retenant les services de la bonne entreprise. Avant de choisir une entreprise de déménagement, il est sage de faire des recherches et de demander aux membres de votre famille et à vos amis les noms des entreprises qu'ils recommandent. Il est aussi utile de communiquer avec des organisations comme le Bureau d'éthique commerciale pour obtenir la liste des déménageurs suggérés. Vous pouvez demander si l'entreprise est membre d'une association de déménageurs ou si elle souscrit à un programme fiable d'accréditation de déménageurs.

Liste de vérification des consommateurs pour choisir une entreprise de déménagement

La Liste de vérification des consommateurs pour choisir une entreprise de déménagement (ci-après, la Liste de vérification des consommateurs) et les Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens ont été préparées par un groupe de travail multilatéral composé de représentants du gouvernement, du monde des affaires et de groupes de consommateurs ainsi que d'universitaires sous la direction du Bureau de la consommation d'Industrie Canada.

Les Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens et la Liste de vérification des consommateurs ont été conçues comme complément aux protections légales déjà en place. Il est à souhaiter que les lignes directrices et la liste de vérification aideront les déménageurs à définir et à respecter des normes élevées et aideront les consommateurs à choisir des déménageurs honnêtes, fiables et professionnels. Les lignes directrices peuvent également être utilisées comme élément des programmes d'accréditation de l'industrie du déménagement.

Suivez cette liste de vérification pour réduire les risques d'être exposé à ce type de problème.

Quand Monsieur R a déménagé de Vancouver à Toronto, il a communiqué avec trois grandes entreprises de déménagement et demandé des devis avant de choisir un déménageur. À titre de protection additionnelle, il a souscrit une assurance auprès du déménageur. Le coût du déménagement s'élevait à environ 10 000 $.

Une fois ses biens arrivés à destination, ayant constaté que plusieurs estampes rares d'une valeur de quelque 50 000 $ n'étaient pas là, Monsieur R a immédiatement communiqué avec le bureau principal de l'entreprise de déménagement.

Non seulement l'entreprise a-t-elle accusé Monsieur R de faire une réclamation bidon, parce qu'aucun des préposés à l'emballage ne se rappelait avoir vu les estampes manquantes, mais elle a ajouté qu'elle ne pouvait être tenue responsable des actions de ces préposés parce qu'ils étaient des travailleurs occasionnels engagés comme sous-traitants et non des employés à temps plein de l'entreprise.

Commencez par ces questions

  • Est-ce que l'entreprise connaît et respecte les Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens? Vous remet-elle une brochure énonçant les droits et les responsabilités du consommateur et du déménageur? De la documentation sur la responsabilité du déménageur pour les pertes ou les dommages, les divers programmes offerts, les limites de responsabilité et les coûts additionnels liés à chaque niveau de responsabilité?
  • L'entreprise est-elle assurée? Demandez le nom de la compagnie d'assurance et le numéro de police.
  • Est-ce que l'entreprise possède son équipement, ou est-ce que les services seront fournis par un sous-traitant ou une autre entreprise? Dans ce cas, de quelle entreprise s'agit-il? Quels sont les antécédents de cette entreprise? Obtenez des références.
  • Qui fournira les services à destination, par exemple le déballage, le règlement des réclamations, l'entreposage? Est-ce l'entreprise avec laquelle le contrat est conclu, une entreprise affiliée ou une autre entreprise?
  • Si votre mobilier doit passer la nuit dans un camion de déménagement, le camion sera-t-il stationné dans un endroit sécuritaire? Assurez-vous de faire appel à une entreprise qui utilise des véhicules conçus pour le déménagement et l'entreposage d'articles de ménage.
  • L'entrepôt utilisé appartient-il à l'entreprise ou à un tiers? C'est une bonne idée de visiter et d'inspecter les bureaux, l'entrepôt et les véhicules de l'entreprise avant le déménagement.
  • L'entreprise de déménagement est-elle titulaire d'un certificat de la Commission des accidents du travail? Sinon, vous pourriez devoir indemniser les employés blessés pendant le déménagement.

Demandez un devis

  • S'il s'agit d'un déménagement long-courrier, un déménageur sérieux inspectera vos biens pour préparer un devis fiable. Si un déménageur affirme que l'inspection est inutile ou veut faire un devis au téléphone, il est préférable de vous adresser à une autre entreprise. Lors de la préparation du devis, assurez-vous de montrer au déménageur tout ce qui doit être déménagé et demandez combien il vous en coûtera si vous ajoutez des articles le jour du déménagement.
  • Quand vous demandez un devis, assurez-vous de donner au déménageur des renseignements précis sur l'emplacement de votre ancienne résidence et de la nouvelle. Informez-le des obstacles comme les escaliers ou les escaliers mécaniques qui exigent des dispositions spéciales. Pour éviter que les frais augmentent, donnez au déménageur le plus de renseignements possible.
  • Il est utile de dresser un inventaire de tout ce qui doit être déménagé, du sous-sol au grenier, et de vous assurer que des dispositions spéciales sont prises pour les articles qui exigent une attention spéciale, par exemple l'équipement électronique, les électroménagers, un piano.
  • Assurez-vous que le devis et tous les autres renseignements vous sont donnés par écrit, notamment la date de livraison et le nom complet de la personne avec qui vous avez discuté.
  • Le devis doit être présenté sur le papier à en-tête de l'entreprise. Il doit mentionner son nom, son numéro de téléphone et son adresse, et comporter une estimation complète du nombre de boîtes à déménager, préciser la taille et la valeur des articles, le tarif horaire ou le montant forfaitaire pour le déménagement ainsi que les modalités de paiement et les dates des services à fournir. Si les articles doivent être déménagés à l'extérieur du pays, assurez-vous d'obtenir le nom et l'adresse des agents qui s'occuperont du déménagement à destination.
  • Pour un déménagement local, le devis doit mentionner le nombre d'heures que le déménagement exigera. Assurez-vous que le devis est daté et que la date du déménagement est inscrite. Ne signez pas de contrat à moins que ces renseignements ne soient inscrits.
  • N'hésitez pas à négocier. Méfiez-vous si le prix d'un déménageur est beaucoup plus bas que les autres. Cela pourrait signifier que les services seront inférieurs à la norme ou que des charges plus élevées s'ajouteront par la suite.
  • Méfiez-vous aussi des déménageurs qui n'exigent pas le paiement de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS) et de ceux qui acceptent uniquement les paiements en espèces. Il s'agit souvent de déménageurs peu scrupuleux ou de ceux qui refusent de payer les réclamations ou même de livrer les biens.

Obtenez des renseignements détaillés

  • Qui a la responsabilité de l'emballage? Informez-vous de votre responsabilité et de la leur si vous faites l'emballage vous-même.
  • Est-il possible d'utiliser des boîtes d'autres fournisseurs que le déménageur, par exemple des boîtes obtenues à l'épicerie?
  • Toutes les boîtes préparées par le propriétaire doivent-elles être scellées et étiquetées?
  • Des permis ou des documents de douane sont-ils nécessaires, par exemple pour traverser la frontière? Qui doit les préparer?
  • Le coût du déménagement est-il affecté par des tarifs saisonniers spéciaux ou par d'autres facteurs? Il peut coûter moins cher de déménager entre octobre et juin, ou au milieu d'un mois.
  • Si un dépôt est demandé, l'argent sera-t-il déposé dans un compte en fidéicommis comme l'exigent certaines provinces et certains territoires? Le dépôt est-il remboursable? Clarifiez les modes de paiement dès le début.
  • Quelles sont les modalités en place pour protéger vos biens en vertu de la politique de l'entreprise de déménagement quant au coût de remplacement, y compris le coût de remplacement des biens que vous aurez emballés? Y a-t-il une franchise? Si oui, quel est le montant de la franchise?

Qu'est-ce que la couverture de la valeur de remplacement?

Même si vous retenez la meilleure entreprise de déménagement, vous devez savoir comment vous protéger.

  • Vérifiez d'abord auprès de votre agent ou de votre courtier d'assurance si votre police d'assurance habitation vous couvre pendant le déménagement et si oui, informez-vous du montant de la franchise. Assurez-vous que votre police est une police dite « tous risques » parce qu'une couverture moindre vous expose à des risques.
  • Vérifiez ensuite auprès de l'entreprise de déménagement ce qui en est de la couverture de la valeur de remplacement. Cela signifie que l'entreprise de déménagement accepte d'être légalement responsable jusqu'à concurrence d'un montant qui représente votre estimation de la valeur des biens déménagés. Ce montant est souvent déterminé en multipliant le poids (en livres) de vos biens par 10 $, mais ce n'est qu'une méthode empirique. Assurez-vous que la valeur déclarée est suffisamment élevée pour remplacer tout votre mobilier et tous vos effets personnels. Assurez-vous également d'obtenir la couverture de valeur à neuf et non uniquement la couverture de valeur dépréciée.
  • Demandez à l'entreprise de déménagement de vous remettre de la documentation expliquant comment fonctionne la couverture de la valeur de remplacement.
  • Demandez également des renseignements sur la façon de présenter une réclamation et le délai dans lequel la plainte doit être soumise.
  • Renseignez-vous sur les différences entre les boîtes préparées par le propriétaire et celles préparées par l'entreprise de déménagement, et sur les articles qui exigent des précautions spéciales (p. ex., marbre, verre et autres articles « aux risques du propriétaire » qui ne sont pas emballés par des professionnels).
  • Si vous ne souscrivez pas à la couverture de la valeur de remplacement, l'entreprise de déménagement est habituellement responsable jusqu'à concurrence de 0,60 $ par livre des articles détruits ou perdus. (Pour un téléviseur typique, cette couverture s'élève à environ 30 $.)
  • Assurez-vous de bénéficier d'une protection adéquate, soit par votre police d'assurance ou par la couverture de la valeur de remplacement de l'entreprise de déménagement.

Pour réussir votre déménagement

  • Soyez prêt lorsque les déménageurs arrivent. Assurez-vous que tout est prêt : le temps pendant lequel les déménageurs attendent vous sera facturé à l'heure.
  • Assurez-vous que votre lieu de départ et votre lieu de destination sont prêts. Si vous emménagez dans un appartement, réservez l'ascenseur de l'immeuble et informez le concierge ou le gérant de l'heure d'arrivée des déménageurs. Au besoin, prenez les dispositions nécessaires pour le stationnement dans la rue.
  • Les Lignes directrices sur les bonnes pratiques pour les déménageurs canadiens stipulent que pour les déménagements long-courrier, tous les articles doivent être étiquetés et inscrits sur une liste par l'entreprise de déménagement, et qu'une copie de l'inventaire doit vous être remise pour vos dossiers. Assurez-vous de conserver une copie de cet inventaire. Une fois à destination, cochez chaque article et inscrivez les modifications nécessaires sur l'inventaire avant de le signer. Sinon, le déménageur pourra refuser votre réclamation pour articles perdus ou endommagés.
  • S'il s'agit d'un déménagement local, dressez un inventaire des articles à déménager et supervisez-en le chargement et le déchargement, ou demandez à quelqu'un de faire la supervision. Si des articles sont perdus ou endommagés, assurez-vous d'en prendre note sur l'inventaire et informez-en rapidement l'entreprise de déménagement. Habituellement, les réclamations doivent être faites dans les 30 jours pour un déménagement local et dans les 60 jours pour un déménagement long-courrier.
  • Une fois le chargement terminé, faites le tour de toutes les pièces pour vous assurer que tout a été chargé et qu'il ne reste rien dans les penderies, derrière les portes, au grenier ou dans le garage.
  • Apportez vous-même tous vos documents personnels et importants. Faites une copie de sauvegarde des données de votre ordinateur et apportez-la vous-même, ainsi que votre ordinateur.
  • Apportez avec vous tous vos objets de valeur (p. ex. bijoux, médicaments d'ordonnance, oeuvres d'art) et prenez les dispositions spéciales nécessaires pour les articles périssables (p. ex. aliments, plantes) qui peuvent être affectés par la chaleur ou le froid. Prenez les dispositions appropriées pour vos animaux domestiques.
  • Une fois le déchargement terminé, examinez le logement, les corridors et les chemins d'accès ainsi que le véhicule qui a servi au déménagement pour vous assurer que tout a été déchargé.
  • Bienvenue dans votre nouvelle résidence!

Suivez cette liste de vérification pour réduire les risques d'être exposé à ce type de problème.

Lorsque le camion de déménagement est arrivé à la nouvelle maison de Madame A en Alberta, les déménageurs lui ont réclamé 2 000 $ de plus que prévu avant de décharger ses biens.

Le prix initial avait été fixé à 2 650 $ mais les déménageurs ont augmenté le montant final à 4 650 $ parce que le poids des biens du ménage était de beaucoup supérieur au poids estimé par l'entreprise de déménagement.

« C'était comme s'ils gardaient mes meubles en otage. Ils m'ont dit "Si vous ne signez pas cette facture, nous ne déchargeons pas le camion", raconte Madame A en parlant de son déménagement entre deux villes de l'Alberta. Je suis venue à deux doigts de leur dire de tout garder. Je n'étais vraiment pas préparée à un choc pareil. »

Remerciements

Le Bureau de la consommation d'Industrie Canada tient à remercier le groupe de travail multilatéral qui a participé à la préparation de la liste de vérification et des lignes directrices. Le groupe de travail se composait des membres suivants :

  • Graham Acreman, vice-président, Boyd Moving and Storage, et président du conseil, Association canadienne des déménageurs
  • Marcel Boucher, L'Union des consommateurs
  • Sheila Charneski, présidente, Better Business Bureau of Mainland British Columbia
  • Rob Dowler, directeur, Direction des affaires commerciales, ministère des Services aux consommateurs et aux entreprises, Ontario
  • Joan Huzar, Conseil des consommateurs du Canada
  • Jay Jackson, agent principal de la politique, Bureau de la concurrence
  • John Levi, président, Association canadienne des déménageurs, 1-866-860-0065, Web : www.mover.net
  • Rob Phillips, directeur, Consumer Affairs, Consumer Services Division, gouvernement de l'Alberta
  • Susan Ramsay, chef de la direction, The Moving Store
  • Marielle Sauvé, adjointe à la direction, Services aux consommateurs, Office de la protection du consommateur, gouvernement du Québec
  • Jim Savary, département d'économie, Université York
  • Kernaghan Webb, chef de la recherche et conseiller principal en matière de politiques juridiques, Bureau de la consommation, Industrie Canada (président du groupe de travail)
  • Bob Whitelaw, président et chef de la direction, Conseil canadien des bureaux d'éthique commerciale (jusqu'en avril 2004)

On peut obtenir cette publication sur supports multiples, sur demande. Communiquer avec le Centre de diffusion de l'information dont les coordonnées suivent.

Pour obtenir une version imprimée de cette publication, s'adresser également au :

Bureau de la consommation, Industrie Canada 
235, rue Queen, 2e étage, tour Ouest 
Ottawa, Ontario 
K1A 0H5

Tél. : (613) 946-2576 
Téléc : (613) 952-6927

Courriel : Posez-nous une question

Autorisation de reproduction

À moins d'indication contraire, l'information contenue dans cette publication peut être reproduite, en tout ou en partie et par quelque moyen que ce soit, sans frais et sans autre permission d'Industrie Canada, pourvu qu'une diligence raisonnable soit exercée afin d'assurer l'exactitude de l'information reproduite, qu'Industrie Canada soit mentionné comme organisme source et que la reproduction ne soit présentée ni comme une version officielle ni comme une copie ayant été faite en collaboration avec Industrie Canada ou avec son consentement.

Pour obtenir l'autorisation de reproduire l'information contenue dans cette publication à des fins commerciales, faire parvenir un courriel à droitdauteur.copyright@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca.

N.B. Dans cette publication, la forme masculine désigne tant les femmes que les hommes.

No de catalogue Iu4-63/2004F-HTML
ISBN 0-662-77914-2