Your Budget

    Your Budget, Methods and Budget Counselling

    Why a budget is necessary

    A budget is a tool that allows you to take control of your personal finances and to make the best use of your income in order to meet your needs, according to your values and preferences. It also helps you to plan and to ensure that you reach your objectives and aspirations. When we realize where our money is going, some options may become more apparent.

    Insofar as we have basic needs to fulfill a roof over our head, heat, a car for getting to work, clothing, childcare and school costs for children, food, etc. and other needs such as recreation, travel and that tenth pair of shoes… you must understand your financial situation in order to distinguish between what is essential and what is unnecessary. This will allow you to see your spending priorities.

    You have to understand the reason for your debts and obligations (required payments, due date of bills, etc.) before choosing a course of action that could help you reduce your debt.

    In short, preparing a budget will allow you to:

    • understand your true financial position;
    • determine how much money you need to meet your basic needs;
    • achieve your goal of regaining control of your spending;
    • evaluate your daily expenses;
    • identify the priorities that will be the base of your consumer choices; and
    • perhaps even save for more difficult times or help make a cherished dream become reality.

    Useful budgeting tools

    Preparing a budget means identifying as accurately as possible your income and expenses for the next twelve months. This can been done by referring to expenses from the previous year or a tally of your monthly expenses for a set period, or by using a budgeting worksheet. You can download an example of a worksheet below:


    If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact us to obtain other appropriate formats.


    This worksheet may be a good tool to use in preparation for a meeting with a budget counsellor. Since this worksheet includes only the basic required budget categories, your counsellor may ask you for additional details on your expenditures and revenues.

    To view the RTF version, use the document conversion features available in most word processing software, or use a file viewer capable of reading RTF.


    Various budgeting tools are also available some of which require a computer.

    Preparing a budget is time consuming and requires you to be realistic. If you have a partner, take the time to prepare your budget together. It requires discipline to budget over a period of time in order to record all expenses incurred, no matter how small the amount.

    Budgeting resources: online and paper-based methods

    These methods were developed or recommended by consumer organizations and/or by members of the Credit Council of Canada. The following are descriptions of certain available methods we are not recommending one method more than another.

    Online

    • Grille budgétaire ACEF de l’Est de Montréal
      With this pocket calculator, you can assess your annual income and expenses. To access this tool, please visit the ACEF de l’Est de Montréal website (in French only*).
    • Home Budget — Credit Canada (Credit Counselling Service of Toronto)
      This is a calculator that will help you control your budget and determine where your money is going. To access this tool, visit the Credit Canada website.
    • La grille budgétaireOption consommateurs
      You can use this spreadsheet to prepare your monthly budget and financial updates. The calculations are done automatically. To access this tool, please visit the visit the Option consommateurs website (The tool is available in French only*).

    Paper Methods

    • Budgeting Made EasyACEF du Nord de Montréal
      Budgeting Made Easy accommodates all financial situations. It is simple to use and very effective for consumers who really want to start new on the right track. It comes with a step-to-step user guide explaining how to budget. This method contains grids, which will enable consumers to better evaluate specific expenses. Available in French and English. To order a copy, contact the ACEF du Nord de Montréal.
    • Finances personnelles 2010Les Éditions Protégez-Vous
      Developed in co-operation with the Association coopérative d’économie familiale (ACEF) de l’Est de Montréal, this practical guide suggests a simple, effective, five-step budgeting method, daily and monthly spreadsheets to manage your income and expenses, other helpful resources and a vast array of tips. To order a copy, please visit the Protégez-Vous website (in French only*).
    • >/ul>

       * This link leads to a unilingual Web site of an entity not subject to the Official Languages Act. Industry Canada, makes this link available to the public as a courtesy. Industry Canada is therefore not responsible for the fact that the content of this website is not in both official languages.

      Next Section – Budget Counselling Services
      Back – Ways to Reduce Your Debt


      Back to Main Menu

Votre budget

Votre budget, quelques outils et la consultation budgétaire

Pourquoi faire un budget

Un budget est un moyen de prendre le contrôle de ses finances personnelles et de faire le meilleur usage de son revenu pour combler ses besoins selon ses valeurs et ses préférences. Cela permet aussi de mieux planifier et de s'assurer de l'atteinte de ses objectifs et de ses aspirations. Lorsqu'on réalise où va son argent, déjà certaines options peuvent devenir plus claires.

Dans la mesure où nous avons des besoins essentiels à combler — un toit, du chauffage, une voiture pour se déplacer au travail, des vêtements, les frais de garde et scolaires pour les enfants, la nourriture, etc. — et des besoins autres tels les loisirs, les voyages ou la dixième paire de chaussures… il faut comprendre sa situation pour distinguer ce qui est essentiel de ce qui est superflu. Il est possible alors d'établir ses dépenses selon ses priorités.

Il faut comprendre la source ses dettes et de ses obligations (paiements à faire, date d'échéance de ses comptes, etc.) avant de décider des mesures qui pourraient aider à réduire ses dettes.

En somme, faire un budget vous permettra :

  • de connaître votre situation financière réelle;
  • de déterminer la somme d'argent nécessaire pour combler ses besoins essentiels;
  • d'atteindre son objectif de reprendre le contrôle de ses dépenses;
  • d'évaluer ses dépenses quotidiennes;
  • d'établir les priorités servant de fondement à ses choix en matière de consommation;
  • et qui sait, d'épargner pour les jours plus difficiles ou faire en sorte qu'un rêve cher devienne réalité.

Outils pratiques pour faire votre budget

Faire un budget signifie établir le plus précisément possible ses revenus et dépenses des douze prochains mois. Il est possible d'y arriver en utilisant les dépenses de l'année précédente, la compilation de ses dépenses mensuelles pendant un certain temps ou encore une grille budgétaire. Vous pouvez télécharger un exemple de grille budgétaire ci-dessous :

Cette grille peut être un bon outil préparatoire à une rencontre avec un conseiller budgétaire. Comme la grille couvre que les catégories de base nécessaires à un budget, il est possible que le conseiller budgétaire vous demande des détails supplémentaires sur vos dépenses et vos revenus.

Pour voir la version RTF, utiliser les fonctions de conversion disponibles sur la plupart des traitements de textes actuels ou utiliser un visualiser capable de lire les RTF.


Il existe également divers outils permettant d'établir un budget, dont certains nécessitant un ordinateur.

Faire un budget exige du temps et demande d'être réaliste. Si vous formez un couple, prenez le temps de le faire ensemble. Il faut s'astreindre à une discipline et le faire pendant un certain temps, en inscrivant toutes les dépenses effectuées, si minimes soient-elles.

Ressources budgétaires méthodes en ligne et sur papier

Ces méthodes ont été créées ou recommandées par des organismes de défense des consommateurs et /ou par des membres du Conseil de crédit du Canada. Vous trouverez ci-dessous la description de certaines méthodes — aucune n'étant recommandée plus qu'une autre.

En ligne

  • Grille budgétaireACEF de l’Est de Montréal
    Cette calculette offre la possibilité d’évaluer vos revenus et vos dépenses pour l’année. Pour accéder à cet outil, veuillez visiter le site Web de l’ACEF de l’Est de Montréal.
  • Home BudgetCredit Canada (Credit Counselling Service of Toronto)
    Cette calculatrice vous aidera à gérer votre budget et à déterminer où va votre argent. Pour accéder à cet outil, visitez le site Web de Credit Canada (en anglais seulement*).
  • La grille budgétaire – Option consommateurs
    Pour faire votre budget, vous pouvez utiliser cette feuille de calcul pour vous aider à faire votre budget mensuel et votre bilan financier. Les calculs se font automatiquement pour vous. Pour accéder à cet outil, veuillez visiter le site Web d’Option consommateurs.

Méthode papier

  • Comptes pour tousACEF du Nord de Montréal
    Comptes pour tous est une méthode budgétaire complète qui s'adapte à toutes les situations. La méthode comprend deux documents : le guide d'utilisation avec des exemples concrets et la méthode qui fournit toutes les grilles nécessaires à la tenue du budget. La méthode est agrémentée de grilles facilitant le calcul de certaines dépenses spécifiques. Cette méthode est disponible en français et en anglais. Pour commander une copie, veuillez communiquer avec l'ACEF du Nord de Montréal.
  • Finances personnelles 2010 – Les Éditions Protégez-Vous
    Élaboré en collaboration avec l’Association coopérative d’économie familiale (ACEF) de l’Est de Montréal, ce guide pratique propose une méthode budgétaire simple et efficace en cinq étapes, des grilles quotidiennes et mensuelles pour gérer revenus et dépenses, des ressources utiles, de même qu’une foule de conseils. Pour commander une copie, vous pouvez visiter le site Web de Protégez-Vous.

 * Cet hyperlien mène vers un site Web unilingue d'une entité non assujettie à la Loi sur les langues officielles. Industrie Canada, à titre gracieux, met cet hyperlien à la disposition du public. Industrie Canada n'est alors pas responsable du fait que le contenu de ce site n'est pas dans les deux langues officielles.

Section suivante – Les services de consultation budgétaire
Retour – « Avant d'aller plus loin »

pile de monnaie
Retour au menu principal