Contacting Your Creditors

Contacting Your Creditors

By yourself l Through a debt management program

What does this mean?

Making arrangements with your creditors is a way to ease your debt repayments. Draw up a list of your creditors, then contact them with a proposal for either a reduction in your payments, an extended deferral of your debts or a reduced rate of interest (or all three). You can also ask a debt management program advisor to do this on your behalf (refer to the section on debt management programs below).

The budget you have prepared will allow you to clearly show your creditor how much you are actually able to pay until your situation improves. Be realistic — don't make a proposal that you will be unable to implement. Often, creditors will agree to negotiate with you since their ultimate goal is to recover the money you owe them.

Red HandImportant — Remember that your creditors are not legally obliged to make any special arrangements with you, nor are they required to abide by them. Their ongoing cooperation is completely voluntary.

When contacting your creditors, you can try to:

  • Have your payments spread out over a longer period, thereby reducing your minimum monthly payment;
  • Negotiate a reduced rate of interest, which should also reduce the amount you have to pay (some credit card issuers offer cards at a reduced rate of interest — ask about them);
  • Obtain a deferral for some payments;
  • Have your total debt reduced (for example, you owe $5000 but you offer to pay $3000 cash right away using money that you may, for example, have received from an income tax refund). If such a proposal is agreed upon, be sure to obtain a written notification of your agreement that indicates the terms (i.e. that your have no outstanding debt due and that your debt is now cleared with this creditor).

The financial institutions that issued your credit cards may require that you stop using your credit card or may even revoke it. Be flexible and open. You are not in a position to refuse and, in any case, you cannot use your credit card if you have reached your credit limit. By voluntarily suspending the use of your credit cards, you will avoid the temptation to add new debt (on which you may also have to make interest payments). Avoiding the use of a credit card will improve your financial situation and make it easier to stick to your budget.

Eligible Debts

You can try to make new payment arrangements for all types of debts except mortgages, although even these may sometimes be eligible depending on the financial institution and on your financial situation. Under certain circumstances (a job loss, for example), some financial institutions currently offer a mortgage payment relief period of up to six months (deferred payment of principal).

You can exclude certain creditors if you wish — it is up to you. If negotiating with only one creditor provides you with the leeway you need, you don't have to work out an agreement with the others. However, if you are dealing with a debt management program advisor, you should let them know about all of your debts. They will usually check into your situation and find out where you stand. It is best to be completely honest about your financial circumstances.

Who qualifies?

Any consumer who is having difficulty meeting financial obligations may try this option. The key is to take action as soon as possible before the situation gets any worse.

However, this option is most suitable for people who usually make most or all of their required payments, but are temporarily having difficulties with their finances.

Ideally, your total debt load and the number of creditors you owe money to should not be excessive. Otherwise, no creditor will take you seriously.

In what order? Where do you start?

By reviewing your budget, you will be able to see if reducing the monthly payment for a single debt is enough to get your finances in order. If so, it won't be necessary to contact all of your creditors. However, if a payment reduction from just one creditor doesn't quite get your head above water, you could choose to contact all of the creditors to whom you owe the largest amounts of money. This will have a greater impact on your monthly budget.

For greater peace of mind, you could choose the creditors to contact who have already contacted you asking to be paid. For more information on relevant practices in this area, refer to the section on collection agencies.

If your review reveals that you owe money for essential services (telephone, hydro, heat, rent, etc.) you could start by paying off these debts first so that you and your family avoid possible service cuts or loss of your home. If you are faced with excessive debt, the option of making arrangements may not be adequate, especially if some of your creditors are unwilling to enter into an agreement with you (which is within their right). You would then need to try some of the other options.


If the following document is not accessible to you, please contact us to obtain other appropriate formats.


A) Contacting your creditors by yourself

Summon your courage and start making your calls. You are undoubtedly the best person to convince your creditors what you are capable of doing. The fact that you have prepared a budget will help you be more persuasive during negotiations with them.

How much does it cost?

It does not cost anything to make arrangements with one or more of your creditors. Just contact them and negotiate. In fact, even if you negotiate a reduced interest rate, if you spread your payments out over a longer period you may incur additional costs. But a special debt repayment arrangement can make your life easier, and by honouring your commitments, you minimize the negative impact on your credit rating.

Things to do and to remember…

  • Before calling your creditors, determine which you think will be open to negotiation and which debts could have the biggest impact on your budget.
  • Refer to your budget. Your worksheet can be a useful tool to help manage the payments you have to make. Since this worksheet includes a complete list of your creditors, account numbers, account balances, monthly payments and payment due dates, it can help you plan your proposal. It will help you determine who you should pay and when, as well as what commitments you are able to make.
  • When contacting your creditors by telephone, make sure you write down the name and contact information of the people you speak with. You will need this information if you have to contact them again.
  • Make a clear proposal, based on your budget and how much you are actually able to repay.
  • Clearly explain your financial situation to your creditor so that they fully understand the extent of the difficulties you are facing. The key to success is to show good faith and your commitment to repay your debts. By showing that you are able to repay your debts, based on the budget you have prepared and with their cooperation, it will be easier for you to reach an agreement with your creditor.
  • It is advisable to get a written confirmation of the agreement. You can prepare a brief summary of your telephone conversation and send it to the person you spoke with (by fax or by registered mail). If the creditor does not honour the commitments made to you, contact the person that you spoke with again to find out why and how to rectify the situation, if required. Having a copy of the letter of agreement will facilitate the discussion.
  • If you would prefer not to contact your creditor by telephone, you can always send a letter by registered mail explaining your situation and the arrangement you are proposing. Download the sample letter.
  • Whatever method you choose (telephone or mail), be polite but persistent. Creditors will probably be less inclined to help you if you are aggressive, and remember, they are not obliged to make special arrangements with you.
  • If, after making the arrangements, you are no longer able to honour your part of the agreement, call your creditor as soon as possible and explain your new situation. You must try hard to maintain a good relationship with the person with whom you made the arrangements.

Information on Downloading a PDF Reader
To access the Portable Document Format (PDF) version you must have a PDF reader installed. If you do not already have such a reader, there are numerous PDF readers available for free download or for purchase on the Internet:


Advantages and disadvantages of contacting your creditors yourself

Advantages

This option can help you get through a temporary crisis and help you follow your budget goals during this time.

This option works well if you do not have many creditors.

Disadvantages

Creditors will keep a record of the information you provided regarding your financial situation. They or other creditors may refuse to extend you credit or may limit your credit in the future.

You will pay more in interest charges if the debt repayment period is extended and there is no reduction in your interest rate.

B) Contacting your creditors through a debt management program

What does it mean?

A debt management program is a service you can register for through a not-for-profit organization or a private company. By using this service, you authorize a counsellor to speak to creditors on your behalf in order to make special arrangements with them regarding your payments. In most cases, you will have to make one regular payment to your counsellor, who will look after dividing the agreed upon amounts among your creditors. You can decide which creditors you want the organization (budget counselling service) or company to contact on your behalf (in Atlantic Canada, all unsecured creditors must be included in the Debt Management Program). Once again, your budget will help you determine which creditors you should make include.

How much does it cost?

Depending on the province or territory in which you live and the organization you consult, this service may be free or may involve a fee. The fees vary based on the services offered. It may be a fixed fee, an hourly rate, a percentage of the payments made, or a combination of all three. Contact the organizations or the companies offering these services to find out how much they charge. Ask them to mail you a fee schedule. Before signing a contract, make sure it includes all the services discussed and the exact costs you will have to pay. It is a good idea to get a quote from more than one service before making your decision.

Things to do and to remember…

Advantages and disadvantages of contacting your creditors through a debt management program

Advantages

Some creditors endorse this type of service and your counsellor may therefore achieve better results than if you contact your creditors yourself. Your counsellor may, in some cases, be able to have interest charges reduced or waived and payment terms and amounts modified.

While you are taking part in a debt management program, your creditors will contact your counsellor if any problems arise. This does not, however, prevent you from getting in touch with them directly if you foresee any problems or are able to repay them as a result of additional income.

It saves you a lot of time (and possibly stress), as the counsellor makes all the phone calls and does all the negotiating.

Disadvantages

This option is a voluntary arrangement between you and your creditors; as a result, there is nothing stopping them from taking legal action against you or from terminating any arrangement you have since they are not legally obligated to help you. Nonetheless, most creditors will agree to help you since their ultimate goal is to recover as much of the money owing to them as they can.

You have to agree with the organization not to incur further debt while on this program .1

You will likely face additional costs: higher interest charges arising from a longer debt repayment period and the cost (if any) of using a debt management service.

Where is this service available?

You can contact one of the organizations below to get more information about contacting your creditors.

Government Services

Nova Scotia

Debtor Assistance Program
This program is provided by Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations.

Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations
Tel.: 902-424-5200
Toll free: 1-800-670-4357
SNSMR's Debtor Assistance Program Website

Saskatchewan

Provincial Mediation Board
Offered by the Saskatchewan Justice Department, this Board provides budgeting advice and counselling services.

Regina
Tel.: 306-787-5387
Toll free: 1-888-215-2222
Fax: 306-787-5574

Saskatoon
Tel.: 306-933-6520
Toll free: 1-888-215-2222
Fax: 306-933-7030
Saskatchewan's Provincial Mediation Board Website

Non-profit Organizations

Ontario

Ontario Association of Credit Counselling Services (OACCS)
OACCS is a registered charity that represents a membership network of not-for-profit credit counselling agencies.

Tel.: 1-888-7-IN DEBT
OACCS' Website

Québec

Union des consommateurs
Union is a consumer organization made up of 10 ACEFs (Association cooperative d'économie familiale) as members.

Tel.: 514-521-6820
Outside Montreal: 1-888-521-6820
Union des consommateurs's Website
(in French only)

Coalition des associations de consommateurs du Québec
The CACQ is a national group of consumer associations of which, 22 organizations that provide credit counselling services are members.

Tel.: 514-362-8623
CACQ's Website
(in French only)

For all other Provinces and Territories

Credit Counselling Canada (CCC)

CCC is a national association of not-for-profit credit counselling agencies which includes members that serve all provinces and territories. To find the agency nearest you, visit Credit Counselling Canada's Website

Other Organizations

Information on other non-profit organizations and for-profit companies that provide credit counselling services can be found in your local phone book.

You can also call your consumer protection association, the ministry that oversees consumer protection in your province / territory or the Better Business Bureau to see if any complaints have been filed against the person or company you are planning to deal with.

Next Page — Selling one of your assets / possessions
Back – Ways to Reduce Your Debt


Back to Main Menu


1 Debt Management Program, Credit Counselling Services of Atlantic Canada Inc. Back to text

Communiquez avec vos créanciers

Communiquez avec vos créanciers

Par vous-même l Par le biais d'un programme de gestion de la dette

Qu'est-ce que c'est?

Prendre des arrangements avec vos créanciers est moyen pour vous aider à étaler le remboursement de vos dettes. Il s'agit donc, une fois que vous avez établi la liste de vos créanciers, de communiquer avec eux pour leur proposer une réduction de vos paiements, une prolongation de la période de remboursement de vos dettes ou une réduction de votre taux d'intérêt (ou les trois). Vous pouvez également confier cette tâche à un conseiller d'un programme de gestion de la dette (voir la section sur le programme de gestion ci-après).

Le budget que vous avez préparé vous permettra d'indiquer clairement à votre créancier ce que vous êtes réellement en mesure de payer en attendant que votre situation s'améliore. Soyez réaliste, ne faites pas de proposition que vous ne pourrez pas respecter. Il arrive souvent que les créanciers acceptent de négocier puisqu'en bout de ligne ils veulent récupérer les sommes que vous leur devez.

signe de la mainImportant — Rappelez-vous que vos créanciers ne sont aucunement obligés par la loi de prendre des arrangements particuliers avec vous et qu'ils ne sont pas tenus non plus de les respecter. Il s'agit d'une mesure volontaire de leur part.

En communiquant avec vos créanciers, vous pouvez tenter :

  • D'étaler vos paiements sur une plus longue période, réduisant ainsi le montant minimal que vous devrez payer chaque mois;

  • De négocier un taux d'intérêt moindre, ce qui devrait également diminuer le montant que vous avez à payer (certains émetteurs de cartes de crédit offrent des cartes avec taux d'intérêt réduit — il faut le demander);
  • D'obtenir un délai pour quelques paiements;
  • De demander la diminution de votre dette totale (ainsi, vous devez 5 000 $ mais vous offrez de payer comptant 3 000 $ immédiatement, argent qui provient par exemple d'un remboursement d'impôt). Si vous vous entendez avec votre créancier sur ce type de remboursement, veuillez demander une confirmation écrite des conditions de votre entente (c'est-à-dire que vous avez payé votre dette et que vous ne devez plus rien à ce créancier).

Il est possible que les institutions financières émettrices de vos cartes de crédit exigent de suspendre l'utilisation de votre carte de crédit ou même qu'elles vous la retirent. Soyez flexible et ouvert. Vous n'êtes pas en position de refuser et, de toute façon, si votre carte de crédit est à son maximum, vous ne pouvez pas l'utiliser. La non-utilisation volontaire de vos cartes de crédit pourra vous éviter d'être tenté la tentation d'y ajouter de nouvelles dettes (sur lesquelles vous auriez aussi à payer les intérêts). C'est pourquoi éviter d'utiliser vos cartes de crédit sera bénéfique pour votre situation financière et vous permettra de mieux respecter votre budget.

Types de dettes admissibles

Vous pouvez essayer de négocier de nouvelles ententes pour tous les types de dettes, à l'exception de la dette hypothécaire, bien que cela soit parfois possible, selon l'institution financière et selon votre situation financière. Certaines institutions financières offrent actuellement, à certaines conditions (perte d'emploi par exemple), un répit pouvant aller jusqu'à six mois (congé de paiement du capital).

Vous pouvez, si vous le désirez, exclure certains créanciers puisque c'est vous qui décidez. Si la négociation avec un seul créancier suffit à vous donner la marge de manoeuvre dont vous avez besoin, vous n'êtes pas tenu de prendre ce genre d'entente avec les autres. Cependant, si vous faites affaire avec un conseiller d'un programme de gestion de la dette, il vaut mieux l'informer de l'ensemble de vos dettes. Le plus souvent, il procédera à des vérifications et connaîtra votre situation. Mieux vaut être franc et expliquer votre situation financière.

À qui cette option convient-elle?

Tous les consommateurs qui ont de la difficulté à respecter leurs obligations financières peuvent y avoir recours. La clé du succès est d'entreprendre votre démarche le plus tôt possible afin d'éviter que la situation ne se détériore davantage.

Cependant, cette option convient mieux aux personnes qui effectuent la plupart ou la totalité de leurs paiements mensuels réguliers, mais qui vivent des difficultés financières temporaires.

Idéalement, le montant total de vos dettes et le nombre de vos créanciers ne devraient pas être trop élevés. Autrement, aucun créancier ne vous prendra au sérieux.

Dans quel ordre? Par qui commencer?

En analysant votre budget, vous pourriez constater que la réduction du paiement mensuel d'une seule dette suffit à vous donner le répit dont vous avez besoin pour redresser votre situation financière. Si c'est le cas, il n'est donc pas nécessaire de contacter tous vos créanciers. Par contre, si la réduction du remboursement d'un seul créancier ne suffisait pas, vous pourriez choisir les créanciers à qui vous devez le plus d'argent. Ainsi, cela aura un impact plus grand sur votre budget mensuel.

Vous pouvez également choisir les créanciers qui ont commencé à vous contacter pour exiger leur dû, afin de vous assurer d'une plus grande tranquillité. À propos, pour plus d'informations sur les pratiques des agences de recouvrement, voir la section sur les agences de recouvrement.

Si votre analyse vous indique que vous avez des dettes envers vos fournisseurs de biens essentiels — téléphone, électricité, chauffage, loyer, etc. – vous pourriez commencer par régler ces factures en premier afin que vous et votre famille soyez à l'abri d'éventuelles coupures de services ou de la perte de votre logement.

Si vous avez trop de dettes, cette option peut ne pas vous convenir surtout si certains de vos créanciers refusent de s'entendre avec vous (ce qu'ils sont en droit de faire), vous devrez alors essayer d'autres options.


Si vous ne pouvez pas accéder au document ci-dessous, veuillez communiquer avec nous afin de l'obtenir dans un autre format approprié.


A) Communiquez vous-même avec vos créanciers

Armez-vous de courage et commencez vos appels. Vous êtes sans doute la personne la mieux placée pour convaincre vos créanciers de ce que vous êtes capable de faire. Comme vous avez préparé un budget, vous serez mieux en mesure de les persuader lors de vos négociations.

Combien ça coûte?

Même si vous n'avez pas à payer pour prendre un arrangement avec un ou des créanciers, il est possible de communiquer avec eux et de négocier. En effet, même si vous négociez un taux d'intérêt réduit, si vous étalez vos paiements sur une plus longue période de temps vous pourriez avoir des frais additionnels à payer. Un arrangement spécial peut vous faciliter la tâche, en respectant vos engagements, vous réduisez les répercussions négatives sur votre cote de crédit.

À faire et à retenir…

  • Avant de téléphoner à vos créanciers, identifiez avec qui vous pensez être capable de négocier et lequel qui pourrait avoir le plus grand impact sur votre budget.
  • Consultez votre budget. Votre grille budgétaire peut être un outil pratique afin de mieux gérer les paiements que vous devez effectuer. Puisque cette grille est une liste complète de vos créanciers, des numéros de vos comptes, du solde de vos comptes, du montant des paiements mensuels, de la date de vos paiements, elle vous permet de planifier votre proposition. Elle vous aidera à déterminer qui vous devez payer, à quel moment et les engagements que vous pouvez prendre.
  • Lorsque vous communiquez avec vos créanciers par téléphone, assurez-vous de bien noter le nom et les coordonnées de la personne à qui vous vous adressez. Cette information vous sera utile si vous avez à communiquer de nouveau avec elle.
  • Faites une proposition claire, basée sur votre budget et votre capacité réelle à rembourser.
  • Expliquez clairement votre situation financière au créancier afin qu'il puisse bien comprendre l'ampleur des difficultés auxquelles vous êtes confronté. La clé du succès est de démontrer votre bonne foi et votre engagement à rembourser vos dettes. En démontrant votre capacité à rembourser, en vous appuyant sur le budget que vous avez préparé, avec leur collaboration, il vous sera plus facile d'arriver à une entente avec votre créancier.
  • Il est recommandé de confirmer l'entente par écrit. Vous pouvez rédiger un court résumé de votre conversation téléphonique et le faire parvenir à la personne à qui vous avez parlé (par télécopieur ou par courrier recommandé). Si le créancier ne respectait pas ses engagements, rappelez la personne avec qui vous vous êtes entretenu afin d'en comprendre les raisons et de corriger la situation, le cas échéant. En disposant d'une copie de la lettre d'entente, il vous sera plus facile de discuter.
  • Si vous préférez ne pas vous servir du téléphone, vous pouvez toujours envoyer une lettre par courrier recommandé à votre créancier lui faisant part de votre situation et des arrangements que vous lui proposez. Vous pouvez téléchargez la lettre-type
  • Dans tous les cas (téléphone ou poste), soyez poli mais tenace. Les créanciers ne seront probablement pas enclins à vous aider si vous êtes agressif puisque rien ne les oblige à prendre des arrangements particuliers avec vous.
  • Si après avoir pris des arrangements, vous ne pouvez plus respecter votre part de l'entente, rappelez votre créancier aussitôt que possible et faites-lui part de votre nouvelle situation. Vous devez entretenir de bonnes relations avec la personne avec qui vous avez pris un arrangement.

Avantages et inconvénients de communiquer vous-même avec vos créanciers

Avantages

Cette option peut vous aider à surmonter des moments difficiles, qui doivent cependant demeurer temporaires, en plus de vous permettre de mieux suivre vos objectifs liés à votre budget au cours de cette période.

Cette option est pratique si vous avez peu de créanciers.

Inconvénients

Il est évident que les créanciers prendront en note l'information que vous avez fournie au sujet de votre situation financière. Ces créanciers ou d'autres pourraient éventuellement vous refuser l'accès au crédit ou encore le limiter.

Vous allez payer plus de frais d'intérêts si vous étalez vos dettes sur une plus longue période et que vous deviez aussi payer des frais occasionnés pour le service de gestion de la dette que vous utilisez.

B) Communiquer avec vos créanciers par le biais d'un programme de gestion de la dette

Qu'est-ce que c'est?

Un programme de gestion de la dette est un service auquel vous pouvez vous inscrire auprès d'un organisme à but non lucratif ou d'une entreprise privée. En utilisant ce service, vous permettez à un conseiller de parler en votre nom à vos créanciers afin de prendre des arrangements particuliers avec eux quant à vos paiements. Dans la plupart des cas, vous devrez faire régulièrement un seul paiement au conseiller qui s'occupera de répartir les sommes convenues entre vos créanciers. Vous avez le choix des créanciers avec qui vous voulez que l'organisme ou l'entreprise communique en votre nom (au Canada atlantique, tous les créanciers non garantis doivent être inclus dans le Programme de gestion de la dette). Encore une fois, votre budget vous permettra de déterminer les créanciers avec qui vous devriez prendre des arrangements..

Combien ça coûte?

Selon votre province ou territoire de résidence et l'organisme que vous consultez, ce service peut être gratuit ou il peut comporter des frais. Les frais varient également en fonction des services offerts. Il peut s'agir d'honoraires fixes, d'un taux horaire ou d'un pourcentage sur les paiements effectués ou encore, d'un peu des trois. Communiquez avec les organismes ou les entreprises qui offrent de tels services avant d'y avoir recours afin de connaître leurs frais. Demandez qu'on vous fasse parvenir par la poste la liste des prix. Avant de signer un contrat, assurez-vous que tous les services dont vous avez discuté y sont inscrits et que les coûts que vous avez convenu sont exacts. C'est une bonne idée d'obtenir des estimations de la part de plus d'une entreprise avant de faire votre choix.

À faire et à retenir…

Avantages et inconvénients de communiquer avec vos créanciers par le biais d'un programme de gestion de la dette

Avantages

Certains créanciers reconnaissent ce genre de service et votre conseiller peut donc arriver à obtenir de meilleurs résultats que si vous le faisiez vous-même. Votre conseiller peut, dans certains cas, diminuer ou arrêter l'intérêt chargé, changer les modalités des paiements et les montants de ceux-ci.

Pendant que vous participez à un programme de gestion de la dette, vos créanciers communiqueront avec votre conseiller en cas de difficulté. Cela ne vous empêche toutefois pas de communiquer directement avec eux si vous prévoyez des difficultés ou si vous êtes en mesure de les payer en raison de revenus supplémentaires.

Inconvénients

Cette option est un arrangement volontaire entre vous et vos créanciers; par conséquent, rien n'empêche ces derniers de vous poursuivre en justice ou encore de cesser tout arrangement puisque qu'aucune loi ne les oblige à vous aider. Toutefois, la plupart des créanciers acceptent de vous aider puisque, en bout de ligne, ils veulent récupérer le maximum des sommes dues.

Vous devez convenir (avec l'organisme) de ne pas encourir de dettes supplémentaires pendant que vous participez au programme.1

Cette méthode peut vous sauver du temps (et possiblement du stress) car votre conseiller effectue tous les appels et la négociation.

Vous aurez probablement à payer des coûts additionnels : les frais d'intérêts plus élevés puisque vous étalez vos dettes sur une plus longue période et des frais associés au service de gestion de la dette que vous utiliserez (le cas échéant).

Où trouver ce service?

Vous pouvez contacter un organisme ci-dessous pour obtenir de l'information sur la façon de communiquer avec vos créanciers.

Services gouvernementaux

Nouvelle-Écosse

Debtor Assistance Program
Ce programme est offert par Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations.

Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations
Tél. : 902-424-5200
Sans frais : 1-800-670-4357
Site Web du Debtor Assistance Program de la Nouvelle-Écosse
(en anglais seulement)

Saskatchewan

Provincial Mediation Board
Offert par le ministère de la Justice de la Saskatchewan, ce Conseil offre des services-conseils budgétaires.

Regina
Tél. : 306-787-5387
Sans frais : 1-888-215-2222
Téléc. : 306-787-5574

Saskatoon
Tél. : 306-933-6520
Sans frais : 1-888-215-2222
Téléc. : 306-933-7030
Site Web de la Provincial Mediation Board de la Saskatchewan
(en anglais seulement)

Organismes sans but lucratif

Ontario

Ontario Association of Credit Counselling Services (OACCS)
L'OACCS est un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui représente un réseau d'agences de services-conseils en matière de crédit à but non lucratif.

Tél. : 1-888-7-IN DEBT
Site Web de L'OACCS
(en anglais seulement)

Québec

Union des consommateurs
L'Union est un organisme de défense des consommateurs qui regroupe 10 ACEF (Association coopérative d'économie familiale).

Tél. : 514-521-6820
À l'extérieur de Montréal : 1-888-521-6820
Site Web de l'Union des consommateurs

Coalition des associations de consommateurs du Québec
La CACQ est un groupe d'associations de consommateurs à l'échelle nationale, dont 22 d'entre elles offrent des services-conseils.

Tél. : 514-362-8623
Site Web de la Coalition des associations de consommateurs du Québec

Pour toutes les autres provinces et autres territoires

Conseil de crédit du Canada (CCC)

Le CCC est une association nationale d'agences de services-conseils à but non lucratif, qui comprend des membres qui desservent toutes les provinces et tous les territoires. Pour trouver une agence près de chez vous, veuillez visiter le site du Conseil de crédit du Canada

Autres organismes

Vous pouvez trouver les coordonnées d'autres organismes à but non lucratif et d'entreprises à but lucratif qui fournissent des services-conseils en matière de crédit dans les annuaires téléphoniques de votre région.

Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec l'association de protection du consommateur, le ministère qui supervise la protection du consommateur dans votre province ou territoire ou le Bureau d'éthique commerciale (en anglais seulement) pour savoir si des plaintes ont été déposées contre une personne ou une entreprise avec qui vous prévoyez faire affaire.

Page suivante — Vendre un de vos biens
Retour — « Avant d'aller plus loin »

pile de monnaie
Retour au menu principal


1. Debt Management Program, Credit Counselling Services of Atlantic Canada Inc. (en anglais seulement) Retour au texte