Debt consolidation

What does this mean?

A debt consolidation loan is a single loan (generally from a financial institution) that allows you to repay your debts to several or all of your creditors at once. You are then left with only one outstanding loan — to the financial institution. In addition to streamlining your debts into a single payment, a debt consolidation loan may also offer you an interest rate that is lower than that charged by your creditors saving you money in interest charges. This option can be especially attractive if you have outstanding debts at a relatively high rate of interest (for example, those charged on some retail store cards or credit cards). You must ask your financial institution for a loan equal to the amount of your total outstanding debts that are currently due. In most cases, the financial institution will settle all the debts for you and, in return, the only monthly payment you will have to make will be to them.

Contact several financial institutions before you choose a consolidation loan since the interest rates offered by competing financial institutions may vary.

Eligible debts

This option may be suitable for debts such as those relating to credit cards, public utilities or other consumer loans. However, not all debts can be combined into a consolidation loan — a mortgage cannot be included, for example. Your financial institution will be able to tell you which of your debts you will be able to pay off with the loan that they grant you.

Who qualifies?

In order to qualify for a consolidation loan, a consumer usually needs to have an acceptable credit rating and sufficient income to demonstrate that they will be able to manage the loan (that is to say, to demonstrate they will be able to make the monthly consolidation payment, in addition to paying for their regular monthly bills and expenses).

Hand signWarning! A blemished credit rating will likely diminish your ability to secure a consolidation loan, therefore it is best to act as soon as possible (please refer to Credit and Credit Repair for more information).

How much does it cost?

It does not cost anything to apply for a loan in order to consolidate all your debts. However, a fee may be charged to open your file. Inquire at the financial institution that you choose.

Things to do and to remember…

  • Before meeting with a financial institution's loan officer, draw up a complete list of your current debts to determine the total amount of your outstanding debt. You don't have to include all your debts, but it is better to tell the loan officer about them. Since the officer has to look at your credit file in order to make a decision about a consolidation loan, they will have access to all this information anyway. It is best to be completely honest.
  • If the interest rate offered by your financial institution seems too high, don't hesitate to shop around at other financial institutions to try to negotiate a better rate. Some budget/credit counsellors suggest shopping at no more than 3 institutions because "an unusual increase in the number of inquiries can have a negative influence on your credit score".1 For more information on this topic, please refer to the Credit and Credit Repair section.
  • Be aware that many finance companies offer consolidation loans, but generally charge a higher interest rate compared to a mainstream financial institution. Before entering into any loan agreement, it is critically important to carefully review the terms and conditions (i.e., loan period, interest rate, special terms, fees, etc.) so that you know exactly how much the loan will end up costing you.
  • In most cases, once the loan has been granted, the financial institution will pay off the outstanding debts to your creditors. In some cases, based on your ability to convince the lending institution that you are back on track, you may be able to arrange to pay your creditors yourself directly.
  • Your financial institution may close credit accounts you have with stores, businesses or credit card issuers to make sure that you don't increase your debts while paying off the consolidation loan.
Advantages and disadvantages of consolidating your debts
Advantages Disadvantages
The interest rate charged by a financial institution for a personal loan is usually lower than the rate charged for a credit card. As a result, you will save on interest payments. Although this option may help you save on interest charges, you still have a combined debt, which represents the total of your old debts. If you are not careful, and you still have access to your accounts and credit cards, there is a chance that you will be tempted to use them, therefore go further into debt.
All your creditors will promptly be paid in full. You have the chance to maintain a good credit rating if you act quickly. Furthermore, you will only have to make a single monthly payment to your financial institution, instead of making several monthly payments to various creditors. Financial institutions may not be as flexible as your creditors. If you run into further problems, financial institutions will generally be less understanding and may refuse to accept a late payment. You must therefore make sure that this option is the best one for you.
As long as you follow the terms of your consolidation loan and make your payments on time, your credit rating should not be negatively affected.  

Where is this service available?

Inquire at financial institutions such as banks, Caisses populaires and credit unions in your area.

Next Page — Contacting Your Creditor(s)
Back — Ways to Reduce Your Debt


Back to Main Menu


1 Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, Understanding Your Credit Report and Credit Score, 2005. (Return to reference 1)

Consolidation de dettes

Qu'est-ce que c'est?

Un prêt de consolidation de dettes est, en général, un prêt consenti par une institution financière qui vous permet de rembourser plusieurs ou tous vos créanciers en un seul paiement. Vous n'aurez maintenant qu'un seul prêt : avec votre institution financière. En plus de rationaliser vos dettes en un seul paiement, un prêt de consolidation peut vous offrir un taux d'intérêt moins élevé que celui demandé par vos créanciers — ce qui vous permet d'économiser des sous en intérêts. Cette option peut être particulièrement intéressante si vous avez des dettes impayées à des taux d'intérêts élevés (par exemple, les taux d'intérêts des cartes de crédit ou des carte de financement de magasins). Dans la plupart des cas, l'institution financière acquittera à votre place toutes vos dettes et, en retour, c'est à elle que vous ferez un seul paiement mensuel.

Renseignez-vous auprès de plusieurs institutions financières avant de choisir votre prêt de consolidation car les taux d'intérêt offerts par des institutions compétitrices peuvent varier.

Types de dettes admissibles

Cette option peut convenir pour des dettes provenant, par exemple de vos cartes de crédit, des services publics ou de d'autres prêts à la consommation. Cependant, ce ne sont pas toutes les dettes qui peuvent être regroupées dans un prêt de consolidation — l'hypothèque ne peut être incluse, par exemple. C'est votre institution financière qui sera en mesure de vous dire précisément lesquelles de vos dettes il vous sera possible de payer avec ce prêt qu'elle vous accorde.

À qui cette option convient-elle?

Afin de qualifier pour obtenir un prêt de consolidation, un consommateur doit détenir une cote de crédit acceptable ainsi qu'un revenu suffisant pour démontrer qu'il est en mesure de gérer ce prêt (ce qui veut dire qu'il doit démontrer sa capacité à faire les paiements mensuels du prêt de consolidation en plus de payer ses dépenses régulières et ses factures mensuelles).

signal de la mainAttention — une cote de crédit entachée diminuera votre capacité à obtenir un prêt de consolidation, c'est pour cette raison que vous devez agir le plus tôt possible (voir la section Crédit et rétablissement de votre crédit.)

Combien ça coûte?

Il n'en coûte rien de faire la demande pour un prêt visant à consolider toutes vos dettes en une seule. Toutefois, des frais peuvent être exigés pour l'ouverture de votre dossier. Demandez à l'institution financière que vous choisirez.

À faire et à retenir…

  • Avant la rencontre avec un préposé aux prêts de l'institution financière, dressez la liste complète de vos dettes actuelles afin d'en établir la somme totale. Vous n'êtes pas obligé d'inclure toutes vos dettes, mais il est toujours préférable d'indiquer au préposé que vous avez d'autres dettes. Comme il doit consulter votre dossier de crédit pour prendre une décision à propos d'un prêt de consolidation, ce dernier aura accès à toute cette information de toute façon. Jouez donc franc jeu.
  • Si le taux que vous propose l'institution financière vous semble trop élevé, n'hésitez pas à comparer avec d'autres institutions financières et à tenter de marchander. Certains conseillers budgétaires recommandent de magasiner auprès de 3 institutions car « une augmentation excessive du nombre de demandes de renseignements peut nuire à votre pointage de crédit ».1 Pour obtenir de plus amples informations sur ce sujet, veuillez consulter la section intitulée Crédit et réparation de crédit.
  • Soyez informé que plusieurs compagnies de finances proposent également ce genre de service, mais le taux d'intérêt est généralement plus élevé. Avant de signer un contrat, assurez-vous de bien lire les modalités et conditions (durée du prêt, taux d'intérêt, conditions spéciales, etc.) afin de savoir exactement combien vous coûtera ce prêt en bout de ligne.
  • En général, lorsque le prêt est accordé, l'institution financière paiera vos dettes impayées à vos créanciers. Dans certains cas, selon votre capacité à convaincre votre institution que vous êtes sur le bon chemin, vous pourrez négocier de payer directement vos créanciers vous-même.
  • Votre institution financière peut fermer les comptes ouverts que vous avez avec les magasins, les entreprises ou les émetteurs de cartes de crédit avec qui vous avez du crédit afin de s'assurer que vous ne contractez pas d'autres dettes pendant que vous payez votre prêt de consolidation.
Avantages et inconvénients de consolider vos dettes
Avantages Inconvénients
Le taux d'intérêt d'une institution financière sur un prêt personnel est généralement plus bas que le taux sur une carte de crédit. Par conséquent, vous économiserez sur les intérêts à payer. Même si cette option peut vous permettre d'économiser sur les intérêts à payer, vous avez toujours une dette globale, qui représente la somme de vos anciennes dettes. Si vous ne faites pas attention, et que vous maintenez l'accès à vos comptes ou à vos cartes de crédit, la possibilité que vous vous endettiez à nouveau augmente.
L'avantage de consolider vos dettes est que tous vos créanciers seront payés au complet et rapidement. Vous avez l'opportunité de maintenir une bonne cote de crédit si vous agissez rapidement. Vous n'aurez qu'un seul paiement. Les institutions peuvent être plus rigides que vos créanciers. Dans le cas où vous êtes confronté à d'autres difficultés, les institutions financières seront généralement moins souples et refuseront peut-être qu'un paiement soit remis à plus tard. Par conséquent, il faut s'assurer que cette option est vraiment celle qui vous convient.
Tant que vous respectez les modalités et les conditions de votre prêt de consolidation et que vous faites vos paiements à temps, votre cote de crédit ne devrait pas être affectée négativement.  

Où trouver ce service?

Renseignez-vous auprès des institutions financières comme les banques, les caisses et les coopératives de crédit de votre région.

Page suivante — Communiquer avec vos créanciers
Retour — « Avant d'aller plus loin »

pile de monnaie
Retour au menu principal


1 Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada, Comprendre votre dossier de crédit et votre pointage de crédit, 2005. (Retour au renvoi 1)