Budget Counselling – Seeking Help From the "Pros"

Are you struggling financially and feel that you need help? It may be worthwhile to meet with a budget/credit counsellor.

What is Budget/Credit Counselling?

Budget/credit counselling allows you to take control of your finances with the help of a professional budget/credit counsellor. These professionals use their experience and training to help you determine why you are in debt, and to find ways to deal with the problem.

Who Qualifies?

Anyone can use a budget/credit counselling service. Counselling will help you establish a realistic plan for managing your money. The budget counsellor can also help you find other options if budgeting alone can't solve your financial problems.

Note: You can use budget/credit counselling services even if you do not currently have any problems with debt. These organizations are there to help you with financial strategies to address your current financial situation and to avoid trouble in the future. Don't wait until it is too late to consult them.

How Much Does it Cost?

Most community organizations offer this service free of charge. In other cases, while there are fees attached to some services, non-profit organizations generally try to offer low cost service options. Private organizations that provide this type of service may also charge a fee. Before making an appointment, find out how much the organization you are considering charges for its services.

Advantages of Budget/Credit Counselling

  • These services are confidential and you do not have to worry that your bank or your creditors will be notified or will find out about your financial situation.
  • These services will help you determine what aspects of your spending habits are problematic and have serious repercussions on your lifestyle.

Note: There are no real disadvantages to using budget/credit counselling services. However, since some of these services are offered free of charge, you may have to wait some time before getting an appointment. The longer you wait, the more difficult it may be for them to help you if you have already fallen behind in your payments, or have been threatened with legal action or service cut-offs.

Things to Do and to Remember…

  1. To receive budget/credit counselling, you must make an appointment with an organization that offers this service. Several meetings may be necessary in order to set up your budget and get you back on track.
  2. Do not delay, since you may have to wait a long time before getting an appointment with organizations that offer these services for free; during this time, your financial situation may deteriorate.
  3. It is up to you to work with your counsellor to develop a solid plan that allows you to manage your money wisely. Once a financial plan is in place, you must be disciplined and follow it. If, however, you notice that your situation is not improving and you need further help, it is usually possible to set up additional meetings with your counsellor.

Before You Decide to Meet with A Counsellor

Be aware that there are people who appear to be offering their help but they may end up taking advantage of your vulnerability. Always double check before signing anything and be sure to ask questions, notably with respect to fees:

  • Is the first consultation free?
  • What about the costs for any other subsequent consultations?

And, if a debt consolidation or debt management plan/program is proposed to you, always double-check before signing anything.

  • What will be the total costs (they may be built into your overall monthly payment)?
  • What is the length of the program that you are committing to, and what are the terms and conditions (for example, if you want to opt out)?

Note: Be wary also of any counsellor that pressures you to sign up for such plans/programs, without first taking the time to fully evaluate your situation and discuss options.

Be sure that you understand all the implications of the plan/program (for example, what are your roles and responsibilities, if and how the creditors will be informed, what are the impacts on your credit report, can you use credit cards, are you protected from certain legal actions, what is the payment schedule, etc).

Where Are These Services Available?

Budget and credit counselling services are offered by various types of organizations including: provincial governments, non-profit organizations and for profit companies across Canada.

Government Services

Nova Scotia

Debtor Assistance Program
This program is provided by Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations.

Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations
Tel.: 902-424-5200
Toll free: 1-800-670-4357
SNSMR's Debtor Assistance Program Website

Saskatchewan

Provincial Mediation Board
Offered by the Saskatchewan Justice Department, this Board provides budgeting advice and counselling services.

Regina
Tel.: 306-787-5387
Toll free: 1-877-787-5408
Fax: 306-787-5574

Saskatoon
Tel.: 306-933-6520
Toll free: 1-888-215-2222
Fax: 306-933-7030
http://www.justice.gov.sk.ca/pmb

Non-profit Organizations

Ontario

Ontario Association of Credit Counselling Services (OACCS)
OACCS is a registered charity that represents a membership network of not-for-profit credit counselling agencies.

Tel.: 1-888-7-IN DEBT
OACCS' Website

Québec

Union des consommateurs
Union is a consumer organization made up of 10 ACEFs (Association coopérative d'économie familiale) as members.

Tel.: 514-521-6820
Outside Montreal: 1-888-521-6820
Union des consommateurs's Website
(in French only)

Coalition des associations de consommateurs du Québec
The CACQ is a national group of consumer associations of which, 22 organizations that provide credit counselling services are members.

Tel.: 514-362-8623
CACQ's Website
(in French only)

For All Other Provinces and Territories

Credit Counselling Canada (CCC)

CCC is a national association of not-for-profit credit counselling agencies which includes members that serve all provinces and territories. To find the agency nearest you, visit Credit Counselling Canada's Website.

Other Organizations

Information on other non-profit organizations and for-profit companies that provide credit counselling services can be found in your local phone book.

You can also call your consumer protection association, the ministry that oversees consumer protection in your province or territory, or the Better Business Bureau to see if any complaints have been filed against the person or company you are planning to deal with.


Back to main page

Warning Signs of Debt | Ways to Reduce Your Debt | "Last Resort" Options | Information on Collection Agencies | Credit and Credit Repair | Loans and Co-signing | Special Debts | Additional Resources on Personal Finances and Debt | Glossary of Terms

Consultez les « pros » – Les services de consultation budgétaire

Consultez les « pros » — Les services de consultation budgétaire

Vous éprouvez des difficultés financières et vous pensez avoir besoin d'aide? Il serait peut-être avantageux de rencontrer un conseiller budgétaire.

Qu'est-ce que c'est?

La consultation budgétaire vous permet de prendre en main votre situation financière avec l'aide d'un conseiller budgétaire. Ce service, avec l'aide de conseillers formés et expérimentés, vous permet de déterminer la cause de votre endettement et de trouver des moyens afin de régler ce type de situation.

À qui cette option convient-elle?

Tout le monde peut avoir recours à la consultation budgétaire. La consultation permet d'établir un plan de travail réaliste afin de contrôler sa situation financière. Le conseiller budgétaire peut aussi vous aider à trouver d'autres options si l'établissement d'un budget comme tel ne permet pas de régler vos difficultés financières.

Vous pouvez avoir recours au service de consultation budgétaire même si vous n'éprouvez actuellement aucun problème d'endettement. De tels organismes existent pour vous aider à adopter différentes stratégies financières vous permettant d'améliorer votre situation financière actuelle et d'éviter d'avoir des difficultés à l'avenir. N'attendez pas qu'il soit trop tard pour les consulter.

Combien ça coûte?

Le service offert par les organismes communautaires est généralement gratuit. Dans d'autres cas, si certains services comportent des frais, les organismes à but non lucratif tentent généralement d'offrir leurs services à moindres coûts. Les entreprises privées peuvent aussi offrir ce genre de service moyennant des frais. Avant de prendre rendez-vous, informez-vous des frais exigés par l'organisme que vous comptez consulter.

Avantages et inconvénients de la consultation budgétaire

  • Ce service est confidentiel, vous n'avez donc pas à craindre que votre banque ou vos créanciers ne soient informés de votre démarche ni de votre situation financière.
  • Ce service permet de déterminer ce qui, dans vos habitudes de consommation, vous cause des problèmes et a des conséquences graves sur votre mode de vie.
  • Il n'y a aucun désavantage à utiliser le service de consultation budgétaire. Toutefois, comme certains de ces services sont offerts gratuitement, il se peut que vous deviez attendre avant d'obtenir un rendez-vous. Et plus vous attendez, plus il sera difficile de vous aider si vos paiements sont très en retard ou si vous êtes déjà menacé d'une poursuite ou d'une coupure de service.

À faire et à retenir…

  1. Pour obtenir des conseils en matière de budget ou de crédit, il faut prendre rendez-vous avec un organisme qui offre de tels services. Plusieurs consultations peuvent être nécessaires pour préparer votre budget et repartir du bon pied.
  2. Ne tardez pas, il se peut qu'il y ait une longue période d'attente avant d'obtenir un rendez-vous avec les organismes offrant des services gratuits. Pendant ce temps, votre situation financière pourrait se détériorer.
  3. Il n'en tient qu'à vous de travailler avec votre conseiller afin d'élaborer un plan solide vous permettant de bien gérer vos finances personnelles. Une fois le plan établi, il faudra être discipliné et vous y tenir. Toutefois, si vous constatez que votre situation ne s'améliore pas et que vous avez besoin d'un suivi, il est habituellement possible de prendre d'autres rendez-vous avec votre conseiller.

Avant de prendre rendez-vous avec un conseiller…

Sachez qu'il a des gens qui semblent vouloir vous offrir leur aide mais qui finalement profiteront de votre vulnérabilité. Assurez-vous de tout bien vérifier avant de signer quoi que ce soit et n'hésitez pas à poser des questions, en particulier en ce qui a trait aux frais :

  • La première consultation est-elle gratuite?
  • Quels sont les coûts des consultations subséquentes?

Et si un plan ou un programme de consolidation ou de gestion de dettes vous est proposé, vérifiez deux fois plutôt qu'une avant de vous engager :

  • Quels seront les coûts totaux (ils pourraient être intégrés à votre paiement mensuel global)?
  • Quelle est la durée du programme auquel vous vous engagez et quelles en sont les conditions (par exemple, si vous souhaitez vous en retirer)?
  • Méfiez-vous également d'un conseiller qui vous presserait de vous engager dans un tel plan ou programme sans même prendre le temps d'évaluer entièrement votre situation et de discuter des options.
  • Assurez-vous de bien comprendre tous les aspects du plan ou du programme (par exemple, quels sont vos rôles et responsabilités, si et comment les créanciers seront avisés, quelles sont les répercussions sur votre dossier de crédit, pouvez-vous utiliser des cartes de crédit, êtes-vous protégé de certaines poursuites, quel est le calendrier des paiements, etc.)

Où trouver ce service?

Ce genre de service est offert par divers types d'organismes partout au Canada : les gouvernements provinciaux, les organismes à but non lucratif et à but lucratif.

Services gouvernementaux

Nouvelle-Écosse

Debtor Assistance Program
Ce programme est offert par Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations.

Service Nova Scotia and Municipal Relations
Tél. : 902-424-5200
Sans frais : 1-800-670-4357
Site Web du Debtor Assistance Program de la Nouvelle-Écosse
(en Anglais seulement)

Saskatchewan

Provincial Mediation Board
Offert par le ministère de la Justice de la Saskatchewan, ce Conseil offre des services-conseils budgétaires.

Regina
Tél. : 306-787-5387
Sans frais : 1-877-787-5408
Téléc. : 306-787-5574

Saskatoon
Tél. : 306-933-6520
Sans frais : 1-888-215-2222
Téléc. : 306-933-7030
http://www.justice.gov.sk.ca/pmb

Organismes sans but lucratif

Ontario

Ontario Association of Credit Counselling Services (OACCS)
L'OACCS est un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui représente un réseau d'agences de services-conseils en matière de crédit à but non lucratif.

Tél. : 1-888-7-IN DEBT
Site Web de L'OACCS
(en Anglais seulement)

Québec

Union des consommateurs
L'Union est un organisme de défense des consommateurs qui regroupe 10 ACEF (Association coopérative d'économie familiale).

Tél. : 514-521-6820
À l'extérieur de Montréal : 1-888-521-6820
Site Web de l'Union des consommateurs

Coalition des associations de consommateurs du Québec
La CACQ est un groupe d'associations de consommateurs à l'échelle nationale, dont 22 d'entre elles offrent des services-conseils.

Tél. : 514-362-8623
Site Web de la Coalition des associations de consommateurs du Québec

Pour toutes les autres provinces et autres territoires

Conseil de crédit du Canada (CCC)

Le CCC est une association nationale d'agences de services-conseils à but non lucratif, qui comprend des membres qui desservent toutes les provinces et tous les territoires. Pour trouver une agence près de chez vous, veuillez visiter le site du Conseil de crédit du Canada

Autres organismes

Vous pouvez trouver les coordonnées d'autres organismes à but non lucratif et d'entreprises à but lucratif qui fournissent des services-conseils en matière de crédit dans les annuaires téléphoniques de votre région.

Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec l'association de protection du consommateur, le ministère qui supervise la protection du consommateur dans votre province ou territoire ou le Bureau d'éthique commerciale pour savoir si des plaintes ont été déposées contre une personne ou une entreprise avec qui vous prévoyez faire affaire.

Page suivante – Consolider vos dettes
Retour — « Avant d'aller plus loin »

pile de monnaie
Retour au menu principal