Research products

Research products before you buy – especially big ticket items. Compare prices, service and warranties.

Research by looking through sale advertisements, consumer magazines or online forums. You can also contact Your Provincial or Territorial Consumer Affairs Office if you have a specific question. Government offices do not compare the prices of products and services however they may be able to help you with other items. For example, they may be able to help explain something you do not understand about a product or to help you understand how a specific type of product, service or industry is regulated.

  • For information about warranties, visit the Warranties section of the Canadian Consumer Handbook.

Price Accuracy

You may have been at the store and noticed that you have been charged the wrong price for an item. There are many possible reasons for this. For example, the wrong price may have been posted near the item, the correct price has not been registered in the scanner or you may simply have misread the sign. It is important to know your rights and responsibilities about price accuracy before you go shopping. The links below will provide some helpful information.

You may also want to learn about the Scanner Price Accuracy Voluntary Code. This is a code that many retailers have voluntarily agreed to follow when an item is scanned incorrectly. This Code is endorsed by the Competition Bureau.

Faites une recherche sur les produits

Renseignez-vous au sujet des produits avant de les acheter, en particulier ceux dont le prix est élevé. Comparez les prix, le service après-vente et les garanties.

Consultez les annonces publicitaires, les magasines d'intérêt général ou les groupes de discussion. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le Bureau d'information aux consommateurs de votre province ou territoire si vous avez une question spécifique. Les bureaux gouvernementaux ne comparent pas les prix des produits ni ceux des services; toutefois, ils pourraient vous aider autrement. À titre d'exemple, ils pourraient vous expliquer des choses que vous ne comprenez pas au sujet d'un produit ou encore comment est règlementé un type de produit, service ou industrie spécifique.

  • Pour obtenir plus d'information au sujet des garanties, consultez la rubrique Garanties du Guide du consommateur canadien.

Exactitude des prix

Il vous est peut-être déjà arrivé de constater que l'on vous a facturé le mauvais prix pour un article dans un magasin et ce, pour de nombreuses raisons possibles. À titre d'exemple, le mauvais prix a pu être affiché près de l'article, le prix exact n'a pas été enregistré dans le lecteur optique ou vous avez tout simplement mal lu l'écriteau. Il est important de connaître vos droits et responsabilités quant à l'exactitude des prix avant de magasiner. Les liens suivants vous mèneront à de l'information utile.

Vous voudrez peut-être en savoir davantage au sujet du Code volontaire sur la lecture optique des prix. Il s'agit d'un code que de nombreux détaillants ont accepté volontairement de respecter lorsque le prix d'un produit affiché par le lecteur optique est incorrect. Le Code est avalisé par le Bureau de la concurrence.