Canada's Changing Retail Market

Consumer Trends Update - Summer 2013

3. Major actors within the Canadian Retail Marketplace

The Canadian retail market structure continued to change and evolve as foreign retailers increased their presence within the Canadian marketplace. In 2011, 53 percent (or 66) of the top 124 leading retail organizations in Canada were foreign owned and operated (Daniel and Hernandez, 2010). The 66 leading foreign retailers in Canada accounted for approximately 40% of total leading retail corporations' sales in Canada, an increase of five percent from 1996 (Simmons and Kamikihara, 1999), or approximately $85 billion of total retail sales (Aversa, Hernandez and Daniel, 2011). Of the foreign retailers operating in Canada, U.S.-based retailers maintained a significant presence in Canada's retail landscape, accounting for 95 percent of retail sales by foreign retailersFootnote 12 (Simmons and Kamikihara, 2011). And this presence is a significant one as of the top 20 retailers (by sales) in Canada 10 were American-based, with 4 of these companies being among the top 10 retailers operating in the country. For a list of Non-U.S. Based Foreign Leading Retailers in Canada, please see Table 5.

Conversely, Canadian retailers have not experienced the same level of success with expansion abroad, although a handful of organizations have had notable success in expanding their operation into United States, such as Aldo and Joe Fresh. In 2012, Aldo, for example, had over 1,500 storefronts in over 55 countries, whereas Joe Fresh signed a deal with J.C. Penny to open 700 shops within 1,100 of its locations in the United States (Strauss, 2012b)

Table 3: Top 20 Retail Companies in Canada, 2011
Rank Retailer Revenue
($mil)
% of total retail sales Employment Activity Nationality
Source: (Daniel and Hernandez, 2012)
1. Weston Group 31,705 10.61 137,163 Food Canadian
2. Wal-Mart Stores Inc. 23,551 7.89 90,000 Department Store American
3. Empire Company Ltd. 16,055 5.37 97,997 Food Canadian
4. Costco Canada Inc. 13, 867 4.65 21,764 Department Store American
5. Metro Inc. 11,431 3.82 65,000 Food Canadian
6. Shoppers Drug Mart Inc. 10,459 3.5 52,714 Pharmacy Canadian
7. Canadian Tire Corp. Ltd 8,437 2.83 73,199 Speciality Canadian
8. Rona Inc. 6,800 2.28 30,221 Speciality Canadian
9. Safeway Inc. 6,707 2.24 22,684 Specialty American
10. The Home Depot Inc. 6,426 2.15 26,621 Speciality American
11. Best Buy Co. 6,023 2.02 17,941 Specialty American
12. NRDC Equity Partners 5,763 1.93 50,699 Department Store American
13. Sears Holdings Corp. 5,717 1.91 47,412 Department Store American
14. The Katz Group Inc. 5,498 1.84 12,834 Pharmacy Canadian
15. Home Hardware Inc. 4,977 1.67 31,518 Speciality Canadian
16. Jean Coutu Group 4,002 1.34 19,811 Pharmacy Canadian
17. Jim Pattison Group 3,420 1.14 17,024 Food, Automotive Canadian
18. Staples Inc. 3,040 1.02 15,000 Specialty American
19. TJX Companies Inc. 2,651 0.89 17,111 Department Store American
20. McKesson Corp. 2,585 0.86 6,877 Pharmacy American

There also continued to be a significant level of corporate concentration at the highest tiers of retail in Canada. In 2011, the top 30 major retail companies in Canada controlled "approximately $196 billion in total retail sales", "equivalent to 66 percent of total non-automotive retail sales in Canada" (Daniel and Hernandez, 2012). In the same year, the three largest retailers (The Weston Group, Wal-Mart Stores Inc., and the Empire Company Ltd) controlled "23.9 percent of the non-automotive retail market, or $71.3 billion [in retail sales], with 3,148 retail locations between the three combined" (Daniel and Hernandez, 2012). And, the concentration ratios are high amongst the top four retailers in each sub-sector as five out of the nine retail sub-sectors

have concentration ratio levels higher than 55% (Daniel and Hernandez, 2012). For a list of Market Concentration Ratio Levels in Canada by Sub-Sector, please see Table 4.

Table 4: Market Concentration in Canada by Retail Sub-Sector
Retail Sub-Sectors 2011 Sales (millions) Market Concentration Ratios (percent) Top Four Retailers in each sub-sector
Source: (Daniel and Hernandez, 2012)
Furniture and Home Furnishing $15,028 35.2% 1. Sears (10.7%); 2. The Brick (10.2%); 3. IKEA (8.5%); 4. Leon's (5.9%)
Electronics and Appliances $14,982 55.2% 1. Best Buy (40.2%); 2. Apple (4.7%); 3. BCE (3.7%); 4. GameStop (3.6%)
Home Improvement $27,037 74.6% 1. Rona (23.9%); 2. Home Depot (23.8%); 3. Home Hardware (17.6%); 4. Tim-Br Marts (9.4%)
Grocery/Food $104,134 61.9% 1. Weston Group (30.0%); 2. Empire Company (15.1%); 3. Metro (10.4%); 4. Safeway (6.4%)
Pharmacy and Personal Care $32,848 68.6% 1. Shoppers Drug Mart (31.8%); 2. Katz Group (16.7%); 3. Jean Coutu (12.2%); 4. McKesson (7.9%)
Clothing and Accessory $26,049 18.9% 1. TJX Companies (7.7%); 2. Reitman Group (3.9%); 3. Canadian Tire (3.8); 4. Gap (3.5%)
Hobby Store $11,155 35.0% 1. Canadian Tire (15.1%); 2. Indigo Books (8.3%); 3. Toys 'R' Us (7.2%); 4. Golf Town (4.4%)
General Merchandise $56,770 85.7% 1. Wal-Mart (41.5%); 2. Costco (24.4%); 3. Canadian Tire (10.2%); 4. NRDC (9.6%)
Miscellaneous $10,696 34.8% 1. Staples (28.4%); 2. Petsmart (2.9%); 3. Roark Capital (2.3%); 4. Hallmark Cards (1.2%)

American retailers have had a "profound impact" on the Canadian retail landscape as many of these retailers are "capturing the lion's share of retail sales across many sectors" (Aversa, Hernandez and Daniel, 2011). American retailers now dominate significant segments of the Canadian market, including the general merchandise category (e.g. Wal-Mart and Costco) and the electronic and appliance sectors (e.g. Best Buy and Future Shop). However, as revealed in table 2, Canadian-based retailers still dominate the grocery (e.g. Weston Group, Empire Company and Metro) and pharmaceutical (Shoppers Drug Mart, Katz Group and Jean Coutu) segments of the retail sector.

Table 5: Non-U.S. Based Foreign Leading Retailers in Canada, 2011
Corporate Ownership Nationality Dominant Chains Controlled Retail Sales
($ millions)

Source: Daniel and Hernandez (2012)

IKEA AB Sweden Ikea 1,270
Seven-Eleven Japan Co. Ltd. Japan 7-Eleven Food Stores 759
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB Sweden H & M 423
Hilco UK U.K. HMV Canada 326
Billabong International Limited Australia West 49, Amnesia, D-Tox 205
LVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton SA France Louis Vuitton, Sephora 170
Goldfish Trust Italy Birks 168
Inditex Group Spain Zara 167
Sony Corporation Japan The Sony Store 147
Luxottica Group S.p.A. Italy Sunglass Hut, LensCrafters 114
L'Oréal International France The Body Shop 80
French Connection Group plc U.K FCUK 21
Edizione Holding SPA Italy United Colors of Benetton 6

i) Renewed Influx of Foreign Retailers in Canada

The recession may indeed have contributed to a recent jump in U.S. and foreign interest in the Canadian retail marketplace as global retailers consider Canada as a relatively safe and attractive market for expansion. The global recession has made it increasingly difficult for foreign retailers to achieve their desired growth levels in the U.S. market and abroad. As a result, focus has turned to Canada as foreign retailers survey potential opportunities to increase their growth opportunities and customer base in a highly-competitive global marketplace.

In particular, Canada has garnered much attention by foreign retailers due to the strong Canadian dollar and high levels of sales per square foot of retail space (Cooper, 2011). In addition, Canada experienced a relatively mild recession compared to other industrialized countries as the "housing markets have remained robust", "household wealth relative to disposable income is near record high," and the unemployment rate has remained relatively low (Cooper, 2011; Harrison, 2011).

The heavy American presence in Canada, beyond the favourable environment, noted above, is also attributable to the close proximity of the two countries, a common language, and a shared popular cultureFootnote 13 (Aversa, Hernandez and Daniel, 2011). This aids American retailers in transitioning their retail concepts and store formats smoothly and effectively into the Canadian retail marketplace. Notable American retailers that have expanded their operations into Canada include: the Apple Store, J. Crew, Lowe's, Marshall's, Nordstrom and Target, among others. Although European and Asian retailers are also becoming more prevalent in the Canadian retail marketplace over the last decade (e.g. H & M from Sweden, Sephora from France and the Sony Store from Japan), American retailers are still the dominant actors amongst foreign retailers operating in Canada.

ii) What does it mean for consumers?

The increased presence of foreign, especially U.S.-based, retailers is expected to benefit Canadian consumers, providing important advantages such as a wider variety of products, more convenient store locations and formats, and the potential for a more competitive pricing environment (Harrison, 2011; CI, 2011).

However, Kyle Murray, Associate Professor of Marketing at the University of Alberta's School of Retailing, warns:

"consumers expecting the transplants to offer the same shopping experience they receive south of the border may be disappointed…as stores may charge higher prices than their U.S. counterparts" (Mah, 2011).

A case in point was the opening of J. Crew's first store in Toronto in August 2011, where consumers were met with prices 15 percent higher than those at the company's U.S. outlets (Strauss, 2011b). Even with the strong Canadian dollar, American products are often priced approximately 20% higher in Canada than the U.S. (Cooper, 2011). During the recession, the total retail spending in Canada increased by 5 percent from 2009 to 2010 without retailers resorting to price-cutting strategies to maintain sales volumes (Collier International, 2011a). Given the relative robustness of the Canadian retail market, some foreign retailers may recognize the opportunity to price their merchandise at the full Canadian sticker price, rather than implement discounted prices similar to those found in the U.S., thus reducing any competitive price advantage for consumers in Canada.

A second factor of relevance to Canadian consumers is location. The majority of foreign-owned retailers are heavily concentrated in a handful of major urban markets (i.e. Calgary, Edmonton, Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver), with certain geographic regions being less favoured by foreign retailers. In particular, the province of Quebec, with nearly 23 percent of the nation's population, is home to only 13.5 percent of all foreign-owned retail organizations in Canada (CI, 2011a).

The location choices are not surprising – approximately 70 percent of the Canadian population lives in concentrated areas within 100 kilometres from the U.S. border. For example, Toronto and the surrounding area (i.e. the Greater Toronto Area) has a population of 5.8 million, or 16.8 percent of the Canadian population (Collier International, 2011a). Other major Canadian cities, such as Vancouver, Ottawa and Montreal, also, fall within 100 kilometres of the U.S. border. Locating just across the border allows American retailers to use their existing supply chains to service their Canadian retail outlets, reducing the investment and risk of entering Canada (CI, 2011a). Although some of the major foreign retailers do expand outside of major Canadian markets (e.g. Wal-Mart and Costco), many Canadian consumers living in smaller markets are relatively untouched by the positive convenience and product variety effects attributable to the expansion of foreign operations into Canada.

Footnotes

Footnote 12

Five percent of foreign retailers operating in Canada are concentrated amongst retailers from France, Italy, the United Kingdom, Sweden, Spain, Netherlands and Japan (Simmons and Kamikihara, 2011)

Return to footnote 12 referrer

Footnote 13

Canada also receives high levels of American advertising and marketing courtesy of American cable television networks broadcasting in Canada as well as U.S. periodicals and publications distributed in Canada both in terms of subscriptions and news stand sales.

Return to footnote 13 referrer

L'évolution du marché de détail au Canada

Mise à jour sur les tendances en consommation - Été 2013

3. Principaux acteurs du marché de détail canadien

La structure du marché de détail canadien poursuit son évolution au fur et à mesure que les détaillants étrangers continuent d'accroître leur présence sur le marché canadien. En 2011, 53 % (ou 66) des 124 principales entreprises de détail du pays étaient détenues et exploitées par des étrangers (Daniel et Hernandez, 2010). Les 66 principaux détaillants étrangers présents au Canada réalisaient environ 40 % des ventes totales des principales entreprises de détail du pays; c'est une augmentation de 5 % depuis 1996 (Simmons et Kamikihara, 1999) ou environ 85 G$ des ventes au détail totales (Aversa, Hernandez et Daniel, 2011). Parmi les détaillants étrangers qui exercent leurs activités au Canada, les détaillants américains étaient très présents dans le paysage du commerce de détail canadien; ils représentaient en effet 95 % des ventes au détail réalisées par les détaillants étrangersNote de bas de page 12 (Simmons et Kamikihara, 2011). Il s'agit d'une présence importante puisque parmi les 20 principaux détaillants (selon les ventes) au Canada, 10 avaient leur siège aux États-Unis, dont 4 de ces entreprises américaines figuraient parmi les 10 principaux détaillants au pays. Le tableau 5 donne la liste des principaux détaillants étrangers non américains présents au Canada.

En revanche, les détaillants canadiens qui ont essayé de prendre de l'expansion à l'étranger n'ont pas obtenu autant de succès, bien que quelques entreprises, comme Aldo et Joe Fresh, ont réussi à tirer leur épingle du jeu aux États-Unis. En 2012, Aldo, par exemple, comptait 1 500 magasins dans plus de 55 pays, alors que Joe Fresh a conclu avec J.C. Penny une entente portant sur l'ouverture de 700 boutiques dans 1 100 magasins J.C. Penny aux États-Unis (Strauss, 2012b).

Tableau 3 – Les 20 principales entreprises de détail au Canada, 2011
Rang Détaillant Revenu
(en millions)
% des ventes
au
détail totales
Employés Secteur d'activité Pays d'attache
Source: (Daniel et Hernandez, 2012)
1. Groupe George Weston 31 705 10,61 137 163 Alimentation Canada
2. Wal-Mart Stores Inc. 23 551 7,89 90 000 Grands magasins États Unis
3. Empire Company Ltd. 16 055 5,37 97 997 Alimentation Canada
4. Costco Canada Inc. 13 867 4,65 21 764 Grands magasins États Unis
5. Metro Inc. 11 431 3,82 65 000 Alimentation Canada
6. Shoppers Drug Mart Inc. 10 459 3,5 52 714 Pharmacie Canada
7. Société Canadian Tire Limitée 8 437 2,83 73 199 Spécialisé Canada
8. Rona Inc. 6 800 2,28 30 221 Spécialisé Canada
9. Safeway Inc. 6 707 2,24 22 684 Spécialisé États Unis
10. The Home Depot Inc. 6 426 2,15 26 621 Spécialisé États Unis
11. Best Buy Co. 6 023 2,02 17 941 Spécialisé États Unis
12. NRDC Equity Partners 5 763 1,93 50 699 Grands magasins États Unis
13. Sears Holdings Corp. 5 717 1,91 47 412 Grands magasins États Unis
14. The Katz Group Inc. 5 498 1,84 12 834 Pharmacie Canada
15. Home Hardware Inc. 4 977 1,67 31 518 Spécialisé Canada
16. Groupe Jean Coutu 4 002 1,34 19 811 Pharmacie Canada
17. Jim Pattison Group 3 420 1,14 17 024 Alimentation, automobile Canada
18. Staples Inc. 3 040 1,02 15 000 Spécialisé États Unis
19. TJX Companies Inc. 2 651 0,89 17 111 Grands magasins États Unis
20. McKesson Corp. 2 585 0,86 6 877 Pharmacie États Unis

La concentration des entreprises dans le tiers supérieur du marché de détail demeure élevée au Canada. En 2011, les 30 principales entreprises de détail canadiennes effectuaient environ 196 G$ des ventes au détail totales, soit l'équivalent de 66 % des ventes au détail hors automobile totales au Canada (Daniel et Hernandez, 2012). La même année, les trois plus grands détaillants (le groupe George Weston, Wal-Mart Stores Inc. et Empire Company Ltd.) contrôlaient 23,9 % du marché de détail hors automobile ou 71,3 G$ des ventes au détail et exploitaient ensemble 3 148 magasins de détail (Daniel et Hernandez, 2012). Par ailleurs, les ratios de concentration parmi les quatre principaux détaillants de chaque sous-secteur sont élevés, 5 des 9 sous-secteurs de détail affichant un ratio de concentration supérieur à 55 % (Daniel et Hernandez, 2012). Le tableau 4 donne les ratios de concentration du marché au Canada, par sous-secteur.

Tableau 4 – Concentration du marché au Canada par sous-secteur de détail
Sous-secteur de détail Ventes en 2011
(en millions)
Ratios de
concentration
du marché
(pourcentage)
Quatre premiers détaillants en importance dans le sous-secteur
Source: (Daniel et Hernandez, 2012)
Meubles et accessoires de maison 15 028 $ 35,2 % 1. Sears (10,7 %); 2. The Brick (10,2 %); 3. IKEA (8,5 %); 4. Leon's (5,9 %)
Appareils électroniques et ménagers 14 982 $ 55,2 % 1. Best Buy (40,2 %); 2. Apple (4,7 %); 3. BCE (3,7 %); 4. GameStop (3,6 %)
Rénovation 27 037 $ 74,6 % 1. Rona (23,9 %); 2. Home Depot (23,8 %); 3. Home Hardware (17,6 %); 4. Tim-Br Marts (9,4 %)
Épicerie et alimentation 104 134 $ 61,9 % 1. Groupe George Weston (30,0 %); 2. Empire Company (15,1 %); 3. Metro (10,4 %); 4. Safeway (6,4 %)
Pharmacie et soins personnels 32 848 $ 68,6 % 1. Shoppers Drug Mart (31,8 %); 2. Katz Group (16,7 %); 3. Jean Coutu (12,2 %); 4. McKesson (7,9 %)
Vêtements et accessoires 26 049 $ 18,9 % 1. TJX Companies (7,7 %); 2. Reitmans (3,9 %); 3. Canadian Tire (3,8 %); 4. Gap (3,5 %)
Articles de passe-temps 11 155 $ 35,0 % 1. Canadian Tire (15,1 %); 2. Indigo Books (8,3 %); 3. Toys 'R' Us (7,2 %); 4. Golf Town (4,4 %)
Fournitures de tout genre 56 770 $ 85,7 % 1. Wal-Mart (41,5 %); 2. Costco (24,4 %); 3. Canadian Tire (10,2 %); 4. NRDC (9,6 %)
Divers 10 696 $ 34,8 % 1. Staples (28,4 %); 2. Petsmart (2,9 %); 3. Roark Capital (2,3 %); 4. Hallmark Cards (1,2 %)

Les détaillants américains ont profondément marqué le paysage du commerce de détail canadien, bon nombre d'entre eux détenant la part du lion des ventes au détail dans bien des secteurs (Aversa, Hernandez et Daniel, 2011). Les détaillants américains dominent des sous-secteurs majeurs du marché de détail canadien, notamment celui des fournitures de tout genre (p. ex. Wal-Mart et Costco) et celui des appareils électroniques et ménagers (p. ex. Best Buy et Future Shop). Toutefois, comme le révèle le tableau 2, les détaillants canadiens continuent de dominer le secteur de l'épicerie (p. ex. groupe George Weston, Empire Company et Metro) et celui de la pharmacie (Shoppers Drug Mart, Katz Group et Jean Coutu).

Tableau 5 : Principaux détaillants étrangers non américains présents au Canada, 2011
Propriété des sociétés Pays d'attache Chaînes de magasins dominantes contrôlées Ventes au détail
(en millions de $)
Source: Daniel et Hernandez (2012)
IKEA AB Suède Ikea 1 270
Seven-Eleven Japan Co. Ltd. Japon Dépanneurs 7-Eleven 759
H & M Hennes & Mauritz AB Suède H & M 423
Hilco UK Royaume-Uni HMV Canada 326
Billabong International Limited Australie West 49, Amnesia, D-Tox 205
LVMH Moët Hennessy Louis Vuitton SA France Louis Vuitton, Sephora 170
Goldfish Trust Italie Birks 168
Inditex Group Espagne Zara 167
Sony Corporation Japon Magasin Sony 147
Luxottica Group S.p.A. Italie Sunglass Hut, LensCrafters 114
L'Oréal International France The Body Shop 80
French Connection Group plc Royaume-Uni FCUK 21
Edizione Holding SPA Italie United Colors of Benetton 6

i) Nouvel afflux de détaillants étrangers au Canada

Il se pourrait fort bien que la récession ait contribué au regain d'intérêt récent des Américains et des étrangers à l'égard du marché de détail canadien du fait que les détaillants mondiaux considèrent que le Canada est un marché intéressant et relativement sûr pour élargir leurs activités. Depuis la récession mondiale, il est de plus en plus difficile pour les détaillants étrangers d'atteindre le niveau de croissance souhaité dans le marché américain ou à l'étranger. Le Canada retient donc l'attention des détaillants étrangers qui sont à l'affût de débouchés pour accroître leurs possibilités de croissance et leur clientèle dans un marché mondial hautement concurrentiel.

Le Canada retient tout particulièrement l'attention des détaillants étrangers en raison de l'appréciation du dollar canadien et du niveau des ventes par pied carré (Cooper, 2011). En outre, par rapport aux autres pays industrialisés, le Canada a connu une récession relativement modérée; en effet, le marché de l'habitation est demeuré vigoureux, la richesse des ménages mesurée en fonction du revenu disponible atteint presque un sommet et le taux de chômage est demeuré relativement faible (Cooper, 2011; Harrison, 2011).

La forte présence des détaillants américains au Canada, au-delà de l'environnement propice décrit ci-dessus, est également attribuable à la grande proximité des deux pays, à l'usage d'une langue commune et au partage d'une même culture populaireNote de bas de page 13 (Aversa, Hernandez et Daniel, 2011). Les détaillants américains peuvent ainsi implanter leurs concepts de vente au détail et leurs formats de magasin de façon efficace et sans heurts sur le marché de détail canadien. Entre autres détaillants américains bien connus qui ont élargi leurs activités au Canada, mentionnons les magasins Apple, J. Crew, Lowe's, Marshall's, Nordstrom et Target. Les détaillants européens et asiatiques ont également accru leur présence sur le marché canadien au cours des dix dernières années (p. ex. H & M de Suède, Sephora de France et les magasins Sony du Japon), mais les détaillants américains dominent toujours parmi les détaillants étrangers qui exercent leurs activités au Canada.

ii) Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour les consommateurs?

La multiplication des détaillants étrangers, en particulier des détaillants américains, sur le marché canadien, devrait apporter des avantages importants aux consommateurs, tels qu'un éventail élargi de produits, des emplacements et des formats de magasins plus pratiques et le potentiel pour un environnement de prix plus compétitifs (Harrison, 2011; Colliers International, 2011).

Kyle Murray, professeur agrégé de marketing à la School of Retailing de l'Université de l'Alberta, lance toutefois une mise en garde :

[Traduction]
Les consommateurs qui s'attendent à ce que les magasins transplantés offrent la même expérience de magasinage que celle qu'ils auraient connue au sud de la frontière pourraient être déçus… car il se pourrait que ces magasins pratiquent des prix plus élevés que leurs équivalents américains (Mah, 2011).

De fait, lors de l'ouverture du premier magasin J. Crew, à Toronto, en août 2011, les consommateurs ont été confrontés à des prix qui étaient supérieurs de 15 % à ceux pratiqués dans les points de vente américains de l'entreprise (Strauss, 2011b). Malgré la vigueur du dollar canadien, les prix des produits américains sont en général 20 % plus élevés environ au Canada (Cooper, 2011). Durant la récession, les dépenses de détail totales ont progressé de 5 % au Canada de 2009 à 2010 sans que les détaillants aient à recourir à des stratégies de réduction des prix pour maintenir le volume de ventes (Colliers International, 2011a). Compte tenu de la vigueur relative du marché de détail canadien, il se peut que certains détaillants étrangers y voient l'occasion de vendre leur marchandise au prix canadien étiqueté au lieu de pratiquer des prix à rabais comme aux États-Unis, et qu'ils réduisent ainsi l'avantage de prix compétitifs pour les consommateurs canadiens.

L'emplacement est un autre facteur pertinent pour les consommateurs canadiens. La majorité des détaillants étrangers sont fortement concentrés dans une poignée de marchés urbains importants (c.-à-d. Calgary, Edmonton, Montréal, Toronto et Vancouver) et sont moins enclins à s'installer dans certaines régions du pays. Le Québec, en particulier, qui compte près de 23 % de la population du pays, n'accueille que 13,5 % des entreprises de détail étrangères installées au Canada (Colliers International, 2011a).

Il n'y a rien d'étonnant aux emplacements choisis, car environ 70 % de la population canadienne est concentrée dans certaines régions situées à moins de 100 kilomètres de la frontière américaine. Par exemple, Toronto et la région périphérique (c.-à-d. la région du Grand Toronto) ont une population de 5,8 millions d'habitants, soit 16,8 % de la population canadienne (Colliers International, 2011a). Les autres grandes villes canadiennes comme Vancouver, Ottawa et Montréal se trouvent également à moins de 100 kilomètres de la frontière américaine. Le fait de s'installer à proximité de la frontière permet aux détaillants américains d'approvisionner leurs points de vente canadiens à partir de leurs chaînes d'approvisionnement existantes et de réduire ainsi l'investissement et le risque associés à leur venue au Canada (Colliers International, 2011a). Même si certains des principaux détaillants étrangers s'installent à l'extérieur des grands marchés canadiens (p. ex. Wal-Mart et Costco), de nombreux consommateurs qui habitent dans les marchés de plus petite taille sont relativement peu touchés par les effets positifs que confère l'implantation d'entreprises étrangères au Canada quant à la commodité et à l'éventail de produits offerts.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 12

Cinq p. cent des détaillants étrangers qui exercent leurs activités au Canada sont répartis entre des détaillants de la France, de l'Italie, du Royaume-Uni, de la Suède, de l'Espagne, des Pays-Bas et du Japon (Simmons et Kamikihara, 2011)

Retour à l'appel de note 12

Note de bas de page 13

Les consommateurs canadiens sont également très exposés aux publicités et promotions américaines par la voie des réseaux de câblodistribution américains qui diffusent au Canada, et aussi par la voie de magazines et d'autres publications américaines distribués au Canada aux abonnés et en kiosque.

Retour à l'appel de note 13