Canada's Changing Retail Market

Consumer Trends Update - Summer 2013

4. Transformation of Retail Products

The economic climate and changing consumer attitudes have had a palpable influence on businesses' operations, and hence on consumer purchasing behaviours. Voinea and Filip (2011) reveal that the global economic downturn has changed consumers' attitudes and buying habits towards being "more economical, more responsible and more demanding" towards retailers. More so, the shift in consumer purchasing behaviour is further supported by a research report by LoyaltyOne and the Retail Council of Canada. The survey results revealed that following the recession, in 2011, 80 percent of consumers in Canada stock up on sale items, 77 percent pay closer attention to prices, and 68 percent have cut back on impulse purchases all together (Cameron, 2011). As such, retailers have had to adapt and evolve to Canadian consumers' shifting behaviour and purchasing habits in order to remain competitive within the retail marketplace.

i) Product and Pricing Strategies:

Retailers have undertaken a variety of strategies to maintain attractive prices for day-to-day consumer goods. One such strategy employed by food retailers, in collaboration with manufacturers, is reducing the food quantities provided and, consequently, adjusting the size of packaging accordingly (Schmidt, 2011; Clifford, 2010). Companies are flattening containers, thinning boxes, and heightening and thinning jars to maintain consistent prices of their consumer goods. Companies have been noted to employ package reduction practices as "consumers generally prefer a slight adjustment to packaging size over a price increase" (Schmidt, 2011).

The modification and reduction of product sizes is not a new practice, and has been a common occurrence since the late 1980s "when coffee companies began reducing tins from 1 pound to 13 ounces" (Rampell, 2011).Footnote 14 Generally, retailers have the ability to determine the package sizes and costs of their products. However, some consumer product containers in Canada are regulated to be a certain size, including frozen and canned fruits and vegetables, baby food, pre-packaged bacon and sandwich meats.

Some stores have been proactive in responding to consumers' shifting behaviour and cash-flow concerns during the recession and beyond. Dollar stores, for example, have "capitalized on the downmarket trend" by expanding their merchandise into household necessities and maintaining lower costs for day-to-day consumer products (Clifford, 2010). As some shoppers are unable to afford regular-sized products, such as detergent, dollar stores have "worked with manufacturers to create smaller packages that cost less" (Clifford, 2010). Although the price per unit may be higher with these consumer products, they are a more attractive option for consumers living on lower incomes and managing pay cheque to pay cheque. Well-known manufacturers of brands, such as Hanes, Quaker Oats and Nabisco, as well as major retailers, such as Wal-Mart, have taken note and are changing their pricing and product strategies to include more attractive, smaller-packaged products (Clifford, 2010).

Some fashion retailers have also flourished on the premise of offering current, high-end fashion styles at cheaper and more attractive prices. Also known as cheap chic fashion, retailers such as Joe Fresh, H&M and Zara have established a successful retail formula that "hinges on the quick conversion of styles from the fashion runway to the store front" (Shaw, 2012). With this, high-end fashion items that would normally cost hundreds–if not thousands—of dollars can be purchased at dramatically reduced prices. Moreover, cheap chic retailers are prospering from this formula as they are experiencing higher growth rates than their high-end counterparts.

ii) Private Label Products versus Branded Label Products

Globally, consumers are increasingly opting for private label products or store label productsFootnote 15 over branded label productsFootnote 16 to cut costs (KPMG, 2009). A global study by Ipsos Marketing found that 80 percent of global consumers consider private label brands comparable to national brands available in terms of quality (Powell, 2011). The initial perception of private label brands being a low-cost alternative has evolved towards these labels being perceived as products of lower cost, but of comparable quality to national brands.

"Consumers are turning their back on brand names in the food, drinking and consumer goods sector, creating a quandary for manufacturers and a tricky position for mainstream retailers, whose relationships with suppliers are rapidly being rewritten" (KPMG, 2011).

Canadian grocers have noted a similar trend in their stores as customers are "trading down" and "opting for cheaper alternatives" (Strauss, 2011c). With this, consumers are "defending value in terms of price" as they make more "deliberate choices over where to shop and what to buy, trading down to outlets that offer higher value for money and [favouring] private and store labels over many national brands" (KPMG, 2009). Popular private label brands in Canada include: President's Choice by Loblaws, Great Value by Wal-Mart, Kirklands Signature by Costco, Master Choice by Metro, as well as MasterCraft and Blue Planet by Canadian Tire.

Consumers' cost-cutting switch to private-label brands has reportedly encouraged major consumer product manufacturers in the U.S. to adopt more aggressive market-share strategies by "cutting prices, accelerating product launches and spending more on advertising" (Byron, 2010). From a business management perspective, these pricing strategies are said to present the risk for the manufacturer of getting trapped by across-the-board discounts: "deep discounts devalue a product or service, limiting companies' ability to raise prices as the economy improves" (Mohammed, 2011). A business' ability to recover from the recession is thus seen as linked to the use of a creative and constantly evolving array of pricing strategies (see textbox).

Adaptive pricing strategies

Some businesses have been recognized for their ability to adapt their marketing strategies in ways that allowed them to weather the recession, without permanent profit-cutting effects. For example, financing packages linked to job loss guarantee programs were launched by some car manufacturers, to try to alleviate consumers' hesitation in making a big purchase (Roseman, 2009). These programs were designed to protect consumers in the event of a job loss when making a major purchase, such as those offered by car manufacturers. In the case of involuntary unemployment in the first year of ownership, vehicles could be returned without penalty.

iii) Price Discrepancy between Canada and the U.S.:

The Canadian dollar experienced a significant appreciation in recent years, rising more than 30 percent since 2009 (Porter, 2011). Although consumers and retailers would expect to benefit from a strengthened Canadian dollar in terms of purchasing power (Blackwell, 2011; Tencer, 2011), Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) data reveals the 2011 Canadian dollar (equivalent to approximately US$1) is on par with the 2002 Canadian dollar (equivalent to US$0.62) at approximately $1.23 per U.S. dollar (Tencer, 2011; OECD, 2012). In other words, the strong Canadian dollar has not translated into the lower pricing of goods and services in Canada as Canadians still pay approximately 20 percent more than their American counterparts for similar goods and servicesFootnote 17 (Porter, 2011).

Table 6: Price Comparison between Canada and the United States, 2011
Item Canadian Price
(Canadian dollar)
U.S. Price
(U.S. Dollar)
U.S. PriceFootnote *
(Canadian dollar terms)
Gap
(%)

Source: Porter (2011)

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page *

using C$0.98/US$ exchange rate

Retour à l'appel de note *

Magazine 6.64 5.66 5.54 20
Book "Moonwalking with Einstein" 16.75 14.82 14.52 15
Blu-ray Movie "The King's Speech" 24.99 19.99 19.59 28
W-S Double Mezzaluna Chopper 50.00 38.00 37.24 34
Crate & Barrel Appetizer Plates (12) 24.95 22.95 22.49 11
Gap Cargo Shorts 44.50 39.50 38.71 15
Running Shoes 147.99 101.99 99.95 48
Titleist ProV1 Golf Balls 49.99 45.99 45.07 11
Canon Rebel T1i Camera 749.99 749.99 734.99 2
iPod Touch 8GB 249.99 204.99 200.89 24
Cars (sample 5) 37,349 32,988 32,328 16
Average 20.4

The price gap between Canada and the United States is most evident in the pricing schemes for books and magazines, as those products list the prices of both currencies. It also tends to be visible on big ticket items, such as high-end automobiles (e.g. Cadillac, BMW, Lincoln, Lexus), where the percent difference translates into large absolute sums of money. Yet some retailers are taking notice of these gaps and are adjusting their price accordingly to best represent market conditions. For example, in July 2011, Apple introduced their new MacBook Air laptop with both their Canadian and American stores posting the same introductory price (Deveau, 2011). However, this practice is still relatively rare.

Standing Senate Committee on National Finance Study on Price Discrepancy between Canada and the United States

In October 2011, the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance launched a study into the contributing factors for price discrepancies on certain products between Canada and the United States. Witness testimony of relevant stakeholders (e.g. retailers, manufacturers, consumer organizations) from across the industry revealed that price discrepancy of retail products between Canada and the United States is a sensitive matter with "many variables that contribute to the price of a product". Although the currencies have levelled out between both countries, factors such as market competition, regulations and costs arguably impact the higher prices in Canada.

In February 2013, the Committee released its study on price discrepancy between Canada and the Unites States. For more information on the Committee's report and recommendations, please see The Canada-USA Price Gap.

iv) What does it mean for consumers?

Retailers, along with consumer goods manufacturers, are modifying and adapting their corporate strategies to enhance their customer base and maintain a competitive advantage within the Canadian retail marketplace. For example, retailers expanding their operations into the private label market provide consumers with a product comparable to national brands at a lower price point. This not only provides savings for the consumer, but also allows the retailer to retain control of pricing, production, marketing, distribution and, most importantly, profits. However, transparency issues remain (e.g. retailers selling smaller quantities in packages that appear to be the same size as previously packaged goods) as companies do not advertise the modifications or reductions that are made to their product lines. Quality issues also arise as products, such as clothing offered by cheap chic retailers, may not offer the same quality and durability of a higher-end product and, therefore, may have a shorter life cycle.

It's important to note that corporate social responsibility challenges arise when retail organizations locate their operations abroad to cut their operating costs, including poor labour standards in terms of living wage, working conditions and healthy and safety standards. This was made evident with the tragedy in Bangladesh in April 2013, where a garment factory that included the cheap chic retailer Joe Fresh collapsed killing over 1100 workers (O'Connor, 2013). Retailers' failure to address corporate social responsibility-related risks can negatively affect firm reputation, brand and competitiveness amongst consumers.

The entrance of new U.S. retail chains into Canada such as Target, the United States' second largest retail discounter, is expected to have a significant impact on the Canadian retail marketplace. For example, in 2011, Target acquired the leases of 220 Zellers stores from Canada's Hudson's Bay CompanyFootnote 18, with plans to open 124 locations across Canada from 2013 onwards (Postmedia News, 2012; Magazine, 2013). Target's unprecedented expansion into Canada is the largest to ever take place, outpacing Wal-Mart's initial expansion of 122 stores in 1994 when it entered the Canadian marketplace (Magazine, 2013). Consumers are expected to benefit from Target's competitive pricing strategies as it spurs retail competition and applies pressure on other major retailers operating in Canada, such as Sears, the Hudson's Bay Company, Canadian Tire and Wal-Mart, to lower their prices to remain competitive with Target (CTV News, 2013). More so, due to cross-border shopping, Target is well known amongst Canadian consumers; it is estimated that already 30,000 Canadians hold Red Cards and over three million Canadians had shopped at a Target in the US within the past year, providing Target with a strong awareness amongst a large portion of the Canadian population (Magazine, 2013).

Footnotes

Footnote 14

In Canada, notable examples of package size reductions of consumer products include: i) Scott's toilet paper reducing the sheet size from 4.1 inches by 3.7 inches, instead of 4.5 inches by 3.7 inches; ii) Classico and President's Choice repackaging their pasta sauces in taller, thinner glass jars and reducing the quantity of sauce from 700 millilitres to 650 millilitres; and iii) SunChips reducing the bag sizes of their products from 240 grams to 225 grams (Schmidt, 2011).

Return to footnote 14 referrer

Footnote 15

Private label describes products manufactured/produced for sale under a specific retailer's brand.

Return to footnote 15 referrer

Footnote 16

Branded label describes products manufactured/produced by one company for sale by other companies.

Return to footnote 16 referrer

Footnote 17

The Consumers' Association of Canada notes that the price gap between the United States and Canada is actually higher than revealed by Porter, reaching levels of nearly 30 percent (Strauss and Tavia, 2011).

Return to footnote 17 referrer

Footnote 18

In July 2008, Hudson Bay Company, a Canadian commercial corporation at the time, was acquired by an American private equity firm, NRDC Equity Partners, and, now, is currently foreign-controlled.

Return to footnote 18 referrer

L'évolution du marché de détail au Canada

Mise à jour sur les tendances en consommation - Été 2013

4. Transformation des produits de détail

Le contexte économique et la nouvelle attitude des consommateurs ont eu une influence tangible sur les activités des entreprises et, par là même, sur les comportements d'achat des consommateurs. L'étude de Voinea et Filip (2011) révèle que la récession économique mondiale a changé l'attitude et les habitudes d'achat des consommateurs; en effet, ceux-ci sont maintenant plus soucieux des prix, font des achats plus responsables et sont plus exigeants envers les détaillants. Par ailleurs, ce changement de comportement est étayé par une enquête réalisée par LoyaltyOne et le Conseil canadien du commerce de détail. Les résultats de l'enquête révèlent qu'en 2011, à la suite de la récession, 80 % des consommateurs canadiens ont constitué des stocks d'articles vendus à rabais, 77 % accordaient une plus grande attention aux prix et 68 % ont également cessé les achats spontanés (Cameron, 2011). Les détaillants ont donc dû s'adapter au nouveau comportement et aux nouvelles habitudes d'achat des consommateurs canadiens pour demeurer compétitifs sur le marché de détail.

i) Stratégies relatives aux produits et aux prix

Les détaillants ont mis en place différentes stratégies pour maintenir les biens de consommation courants à des prix attrayants. Par exemple, les détaillants en alimentation, en collaboration avec les fabricants, réduisent les quantités d'aliments fournies, et ils ajustent ensuite la taille des emballages en conséquence (Schmidt, 2011; Clifford, 2010). Les entreprises aplanissent les contenants, amincissent les boîtes et utilisent des bocaux plus hauts et plus étroits pour maintenir les prix constants de leurs biens de consommation. Les entreprises ont adopté des pratiques de réduction des emballages, étant donné que les consommateurs préfèrent en général une légère modification de la taille de l'emballage à une hausse de prix (Schmidt, 2011).

La modification et la réduction de la taille des produits n'ont rien de nouveau : c'est une pratique courante depuis la fin des années 1980, quand les entreprises de production de café ont commencé à ramener à 13 onces les boîtes métalliques de 16 onces (Rampell, 2011)Note de bas de page 14. En général, les détaillants peuvent déterminer la taille de l'emballage et le coût de leurs produits. Toutefois, la réglementation canadienne dicte la taille de certains contenants de produits de consommation, notamment les fruits et légumes surgelés et en conserve, les aliments pour bébés ainsi que le bacon et les viandes froides préemballés.

Certains magasins ont pris les devants durant la récession et par la suite pour s'adapter au changement de comportement et aux problèmes de liquidités des consommateurs. Les magasins à un dollar, par exemple, ont exploité la tendance au bas de gamme en élargissant leur offre pour y inclure des articles ménagers et en maintenant des bas prix pour les produits de consommation courants (Clifford, 2010). Comme certains consommateurs n'ont pas les moyens d'acheter certains produits, tels que les détergents, en format ordinaire, les magasins à un dollar ont demandé aux fabricants de créer des emballages plus petits vendus moins cher (Clifford, 2010). Le prix unitaire de ces produits est peut-être plus élevé, mais c'est une solution attrayante pour les consommateurs à faible revenu qui peinent à joindre les deux bouts. Des fabricants bien connus de marques comme Hanes, Quaker Oats et Nabisco, ainsi que des détaillants importants comme Wal-Mart ont pris acte de la tendance et modifient leurs stratégies en matière de prix et de produits pour inclure dans leur offre des emballages plus petits et attrayantes.

Certains détaillants de mode ont également fait leur marque en offrant des vêtements et accessoires mode haut de gamme à des prix plus bas, et plus attrayants. C'est ce qu'on appelle la mode chic bon marché. Les détaillants comme Joe Fresh, H&M et Zara ont instauré avec succès une formule de détail qui mise sur l'offre rapide en magasin des styles aperçus dans les défilés de mode (Shaw, 2012). Ainsi, des articles mode haut de gamme qui coûteraient normalement des centaines voire des milliers de dollars se vendent à des prix beaucoup plus bas. Par ailleurs, les détaillants de mode chic bon marché prospèrent grâce à cette formule, car ils enregistrent des taux de croissance plus élevés que leurs homologues qui vendent des vêtements et accessoires haut de gamme.

ii) Produits de marque maison et produits de marque nationale

Globalement, de plus en plus de consommateurs choisissent les produits de marque maison ou de marque du magasinNote de bas de page 15 plutôt que les produits de marque nationaleNote de bas de page 16 pour réduire leurs coûts (KPMG, 2009). D'après les résultats d'une étude mondiale réalisée par Ipsos Marketing, 80 % des consommateurs considèrent que la qualité des produits de marque maison est comparable à celle des produits de marque nationale (Powell, 2011). Alors que les produits de marque maison étaient perçus initialement comme une solution de rechange à bas coût, la perception a évolué et les marques maison sont maintenant considérées comme des produits à prix moindre, dont la qualité est comparable à celles des marques nationales.

[Traduction]
Les consommateurs abandonnent les noms de marque dans le secteur de l'alimentation, des boissons et des biens de consommation, ce qui crée un dilemme pour les fabricants et une situation inconfortable pour les détaillants dominants, dont les rapports avec les fournisseurs se métamorphosent rapidement (KPMG, 2011).

Les épiciers canadiens ont constaté une tendance similaire dans leurs magasins; en effet, les clients « descendent dans la gamme » et optent pour des produits meilleur marché (Strauss, 2011c). Ainsi, les consommateurs se font les défenseurs de la valeur du point de vue des prix. Plus que jamais, ils font des choix délibérés quant à l'endroit où ils magasinent et aux produits qu'ils achètent et ils n'hésitent pas à se rendre aux points de vente qui leur offrent le meilleur rapport qualité-prix, préfèrent les marques maison et de distributeur à de nombreuses marques nationales (KPMG, 2009). Parmi les marques maison populaires au Canada, mentionnons le Choix du Président de Loblaws, Great Value de Wal-Mart, Kirklands Signature de Costco, Master Choice de Metro ainsi que MasterCraft et Blue Planet de Canadian Tire.

L'adoption des marques maison par les consommateurs soucieux de réduire leurs dépenses aurait favorisé la mise en place, par les principaux fabricants de produits de consommation américains, de stratégies plus dynamiques pour accroître les parts de marché, à savoir : réduire les prix, accélérer le lancement des nouveaux produits et investir davantage dans la publicité (Byron 2010). Du point de vue de la gestion opérationnelle, il semblerait que les fabricants qui adoptent ces stratégies de prix courent le risque que leurs rabais deviennent permanents. Les rabais considérables déprécient le produit ou le service, ce qui restreint ensuite la possibilité d'en hausser le prix quand l'économie se porte mieux (Mohammed, 2011). Ainsi, la capacité d'une entreprise à se remettre de la récession semble dépendre de l'adoption d'un ensemble de stratégies de prix créatives en constante évolution (voir l'encadré).

Stratégies de prix adaptatives

Certaines entreprises ont su adapter leurs stratégies de marketing d'une manière qui leur a permis de traverser la récession sans réduction permanente de leurs profits. Par exemple, certains constructeurs d'automobiles ont proposé des montages financiers liés à des programmes d'assurance en cas de perte d'emploi pour essayer de contrer l'hésitation des consommateurs devant un gros achat (Roseman, 2009). Ces programmes visaient à protéger les consommateurs en cas de perte d'emploi après un achat important, du genre de ceux que l'on fait chez un concessionnaire d'automobiles. L'acheteur qui se retrouvait involontairement au chômage dans la première année suivant l'achat d'un véhicule pouvait le retourner sans pénalité.

iii) Écarts de prix entre le Canada et les États-Unis

Le dollar canadien a connu une appréciation significative au cours des dernières années, augmentant de plus de 30 % depuis 2009 (Porter, 2011). Alors que les consommateurs et les détaillants pourraient s'attendre de bénéficier d'un meilleur pouvoir d'achat grâce au dollar canadien raffermi (Blackwell, 2011; Tencer, 2011), les données de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) révèlent que le dollar canadien de 2011 (taux de change d'environ 1 $ US) demeure comparable à celle du dollar canadien de 2002 (taux de change de 0,62 $ US), soit environ 1,23 $ par dollar US (Tencer, 2011; OCDE, 2012). Autrement dit, la force du dollar canadien ne se reflète pas dans le prix des produits et services vendus au Canada; les Canadiens continuent en effet de payer environ 20 % de plus que leurs homologues américains pour des produits et services similairesNote de bas de page 17 (Porter, 2011).

Tableau 6 : Comparaison des prix au Canada et aux États-Unis, 2011
Article Prix canadien
(en dollars canadiens)
Prix américain
(en dollars US)
Prix américain*
(en dollars canadiens)
Écart
(en pourcentage)

Source : Porter (2011).
*Au taux de change de 0,98 $CAN/$US.

Magazine 6,64 5,66 5,54 20
Livre « Moonwalking with Einstein » 16,75 14,82 14,52 15
Film Blu-ray « Le discours du roi » 24,99 19,99 19,59 28
Hachoir berceuse double lame de William Sonoma 50,00 38,00 37,24 34
Plateaux de hors d'œuvres (12) de Crate & Barrel 24,95 22,95 22,49 11
Shorts Cargo de GAP 44,50 39,50 38,71 15
Espadrilles 147,99 101,99 99,95 48
Balles de golf Titleist ProV1 49,99 45,99 45,07 11
Caméra Rebel T1i de Canon 749,99 749,99 734,99 2
iPod Touch 8GB 249,99 204,99 200,89 24
Automobiles (échantillon de 5) 37 349 32 988 32 328 16
Moyenne 20,4

Les écarts de prix entre le Canada et les États-Unis sautent particulièrement aux yeux dans le cas des livres et des magazines, sur lesquels sont affichés les prix dans les deux devises. Ils sont aussi plutôt apparents en général pour les articles coûteux comme les automobiles haut de gamme (p. ex. Cadillac, BMW, Lincoln, Lexus), pour lesquels le pourcentage de différence équivaut à des sommes appréciables. Certains détaillants sont toutefois conscients de ces écarts et ajustent leurs prix pour qu'ils reflètent mieux les conditions du marché. Par exemple, en juillet 2011, Apple a introduit son nouvel ordinateur portatif MacBook Air à un prix de lancement identique dans les magasins canadiens et américains (Deveau, 2011). Cette pratique est toutefois relativement rare.

Étude du Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales sur l'écart de prix entre le Canada et les États-Unis

En octobre 2011, le Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales a lancé une étude sur les facteurs pouvant expliquer les écarts de prix observés pour certains articles vendus au Canada et aux États-Unis. Les témoignages d'intervenants pertinents (p. ex. détaillants, fabricants, organismes de défense des droits des consommateurs) de l'ensemble de l'industrie ont révélé que les écarts entre les prix au détail pratiqués au Canada et aux États-Unis sont une question sensible et que bien des variables jouent dans l'établissement du prix d'un produit. Bien que les écarts se soient aplanis entre les deux monnaies, il est certain que des facteurs comme la concurrence sur le marché, la réglementation et les coûts contribuent à des prix plus élevés au Canada.

En février 2013, le Comité a publié les résultats de son étude sur l'écart de prix entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le rapport et les recommandations du Comité, consulter Écart de prix entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

iv) Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour les consommateurs?

Les détaillants, ainsi que les fabricants de biens de consommation, modifient et adaptent leurs stratégies pour accroître leur clientèle et maintenir leur avantage concurrentiel sur le marché de détail canadien. Par exemple, les détaillants qui élargissent leurs activités sur le marché des marques maison offrent aux consommateurs des produits comparables à ceux des marques nationales, mais à des prix plus bas. En plus de permettre au consommateur de réaliser des économies, cette stratégie permet au détaillant de conserver le contrôle des prix, de la production, du marketing, de la distribution et, surtout, des profits. Des problèmes de transparence se posent toutefois (p. ex. les détaillants vendent des quantités moindres dans des emballages qui semblent avoir la même taille qu'auparavant), car les entreprises ne font pas état des modifications ou des réductions qu'elles apportent à leurs produits. Des problèmes de qualité se posent également, car les produits, comme les vêtements offerts par les détaillants de mode chic bon marché, n'offrent peut-être pas la qualité et la durabilité du produit haut de gamme et, par conséquent, ont peut-être un cycle de vie plus court.

Il est important de souligner que des enjeux relatifs à la responsabilité sociale se posent lorsque les entreprises de vente au détail implantent leurs activités à l'étranger afin de réduire leur frais d'exploitation, notamment au niveau de piètres normes de travail en termes de salaire de subsistance, de conditions de travail et de normes de santé et de sécurité au travail. Ce problème a d'ailleurs été mis en évidence lors de la tragédie au Bangladesh en avril 2013, alors qu'une fabrique de vêtements dont faisait partie le détaillant chic bon marché Joe Fresh s'est effondrée, tuant plus de 1 100 travailleurs (O'Connor, 2013). L'omission des détaillants d'aborder les risques associés à la responsabilité sociale des entreprises peut avoir un impact négatif sur la réputation, l'image de marque et la concurrence des entreprises auprès des consommateurs.

L'arrivée au Canada de nouvelles chaînes américaines de détaillants, comme Target, deuxième détaillant à rabais en importance aux États-Unis, devrait avoir un effet important sur le marché de détail canadien. Par exemple, en 2011, Target a acquis les baux de 220 magasins Zellers de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson du CanadaNote de bas de page 18 et prévoit d'ouvrir 124 magasins au pays à compter de 2013 (Postmedia News, 2012; Magazine, 2013). L'expansion de Target au Canada est d'une envergure sans précédent : elle dépasse en effet celle de Wal-Mart et de ses 122 premiers magasins en 1994, lorsqu'il est entré sur le marché canadien (Magazine, 2013). Les consommateurs devraient tirer parti des stratégies de prix concurrentiels de Target, qui intensifient la concurrence et pourraient obliger les autres grands détaillants qui exercent leurs activités au Canada, comme Sears, la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, Canadian Tire et Wal-Mart, à abaisser leurs prix pour maintenir leur compétitivité face à Target (CTV News, 2013). Par ailleurs, en raison du magasinage transfrontalier, les consommateurs canadiens connaissent bien Target. Selon les estimations, déjà 30 000 Canadiens sont titulaires d'une carte de crédit Target et plus de trois millions de Canadiens ont fait des achats dans un Target aux États-Unis au cours de la dernière année. L'enseigne Target est donc déjà bien connue d'une grande partie de la population canadienne (Magazine, 2013).

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 14

Voici un aperçu des exemples connus de réduction de la taille des emballages de produits de consommation au Canada : i) le papier hygiénique Scott – les dimensions de la feuille, qui étaient de 4,5 po sur 3,7 po sont maintenant de 4,1 po sur 3,7 po; ii) les sauces pour pâtes Classico et le Choix du Président – le produit est présenté dans des bocaux plus hauts et plus étroits et la quantité de sauce a été réduite de 700 millilitres à 650 millilitres; iii) les produits SunChips – la taille des sacs a été réduite de 240 grammes à 225 grammes (Schmidt, 2011).

Retour à l'appel de note 14

Note de bas de page 15

Les produits de marque maison sont les produits fabriqués ou produits aux fins de vente sous la marque d'un détaillant.

Retour à l'appel de note 15

Note de bas de page 16

Les produits de marque nationale sont les produits fabriqués ou produits par une entreprise aux fins de vente par d'autres entreprises.

Retour à l'appel de note 16

Note de bas de page 17

L'Association des consommateurs du Canada fait remarquer que l'écart de prix entre les États-Unis et le Canada est en réalité plus élevé que ce qu'indique l'étude de Porter; il se situe en effet à près de 30 % (Strauss et Tavia, 2011).

Retour à l'appel de note 17

Note de bas de page 18

En juillet 2008, la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, qui était une société commerciale canadienne à l'époque, a été acquise par la firme de capitaux privés américaine NRDC Equity Partners et est maintenant sous contrôle étranger.

Retour à l'appel de note 18

Date de modification :