Language selection

Search

Contracts

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

A contract is a written or spoken agreement between two or more parties, intended to be enforceable by law. Contract law is a complex topic and can be confusing for both consumers and businesses alike.

Generally, a contract is binding when the following is true:

Always read over a contract carefully and do not agree to it unless you are confident that you understand it completely. When possible, have a lawyer or another trusted person review anything that you intend to sign.

Cooling-off period

In some provinces and territories, there is an automatic cancellation (cooling-off) period for contracts, such as health club memberships, credit cards and door-to-door sales. The cooling-off period is defined as a specific period of time in which you may reconsider your decision and cancel the contract—for any reason. Remember this applies only to certain kinds of contracts, and the rules may vary by province and territory.

Unless the contract is subject to an automatic cooling-off period, remember that it might be difficult or impossible to cancel. Don't sign unless you are positive you want the product or service.

Contact your provincial or territorial consumer affairs office to learn more about the cooling-off period.

A collection of federal, provincial and territorial flags that symbolically represent a collaboration between governments on consumer issues.

Trusted consumer information

Published by the Consumer Measures Committee, a working group of federal, provincial and territorial governments, that helps educate and inform Canadian consumers.

Date modified:

Contrats

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Un contrat est une convention écrite ou verbale entre deux ou plusieurs parties qui s'attendent à ce qu'elle soit exécutoire au sens de la loi. Le droit contractuel est très complexe et peut dérouter autant les consommateurs que les entreprises.

En règle générale, un contrat est conclu si les conditions suivantes s'appliquent :

Lisez toujours un contrat attentivement et ne le signez pas avant de le comprendre en entier. Lorsque c'est possible, demandez à un juriste ou à une personne de confiance d'examiner tout ce que vous devez signer.

Période de réflexion

Dans certaines provinces et certains territoires, il existe une période d'annulation automatique (période de réflexion) des contrats de crédit, des centres de conditionnement physique et d'achat d'un vendeur itinérant. Une période de réflexion est une durée précise au cours de laquelle vous pouvez revenir sur votre décision et annuler le contrat, peu importe la raison. N'oubliez toutefois pas que l'annulation ne s'applique pas à tous les types de contrats et les conditions varient selon le produit et la province ou le territoire.

À moins que le contrat ne soit assujetti à une période de réflexion automatique, rappelez-vous qu'il peut être difficile voire impossible de l'annuler. Ne signez rien avant d'être certain de vouloir le produit ou le service.

Communiquez avec le bureau d'information aux consommateurs de votre province ou territoire pour en savoir plus sur la période de réflexion.

Une collection de drapeaux fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux qui représentent symboliquement une collaboration entre gouvernements sur les questions de consommation.

Renseignements fiables en consommation

Publié par le Comité des mesures en matière de consommation, un groupe de travail des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux qui aide à éduquer et à informer les
consommateurs canadiens.

Date de modification :