Language selection

Search

Federal consumer protection legislation in Canada

From: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

The Government of Canada has an important role in consumer awareness and protection.

Federal agencies and departments are responsible for enforcing legislation related to various issues, including:

Below you will find links to some of the most relevant areas where federal departments and agencies regulate consumer issues:

Consumer product safety: The Canada Consumer Product Safety Act (CCPSA) regulates the safety of a wide variety of consumer products, with the exception of motor vehicles, food, drugs and animals. The CCPSA is administered by Health Canada.

Anti-competitive practices in the marketplace, such as price fixing and misleading advertising: The Competition Act contains both criminal and civil provisions aimed at preventing anti-competitive practices in the marketplace. The Act is administered by the Competition Bureau.

Packaging, labelling, sale, importation and advertising of prepackaged products: The Consumer Packaging and Labelling Act requires that prepackaged consumer products bear accurate and meaningful labelling information to help consumers make informed purchasing decisions. The Act is administered by the Competition Bureau.

Textile labelling and advertising: The Textile Labelling Act requires that textile articles bear accurate and meaningful labelling information to help consumers make informed purchasing decisions. The Act is administered by the Competition Bureau.

Vehicle safety: The Motor Vehicle Safety Act regulates the manufacture and importation of motor vehicles and motor vehicle equipment to reduce the risk of death, injury and damage to property and the environment. The Act is administered by Transport Canada.

Food, meat and fish inspection, agricultural products, seeds, fertilizers, and animal feed and health: Food Safety and Inspection related Acts are administered by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.

Safety and nutritional quality of all foods: The Food and Drugs Act establishes standards for the safety and nutritional quality of all foods sold in Canada and is administered by Health Canada.

Federally regulated financial institutions (banks, retail associations and federal trust, loan and insurance companies): Oversight of consumer issues in the federally regulated financial sector are administered by the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.

Wireless services: The Wireless Code explains your rights and responsibilities as a consumer of wireless services. It establishes standards that all wireless service providers must follow. The Wireless Code applies to all wireless contracts. The Wireless Code was created by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC).

Privacy: The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada oversees compliance with the Privacy Act and the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act.

Accuracy of measuring devices and accuracy of electricity and gas meters: The accuracy of these devices are regulated by the Weights and Measures Act and the Electricity and Gas Inspection Act which are administered by Measurement Canada.

If you suspect that you have received an inaccurate measurement as part of a purchase or financial transaction, you may file a complaint with Measurement Canada.

Pollution and environmental protection concerns: The Canadian Environmental Protection Act is an Act respecting pollution prevention and the protection of the environment and human health, and is administered by Environment Canada.

Quality and marking requirements of precious metals: The Precious Metals Marking Act provides for the uniform description and quality marking of articles made with gold, silver, platinum or palladium to help consumers make informed purchasing decisions. The Act is administered by the Competition Bureau.

Date modified:

Législation fédérale sur la protection des consommateurs au Canada

De : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada joue un rôle important en matière de sensibilisation et de protection des consommateurs.

Les organismes et ministères fédéraux sont responsables d’appliquer les lois relatives à divers domaines, notamment :

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des liens relatifs à certains des domaines les plus pertinents en matière de consommation que les organismes et ministères fédéraux traitent.

Sécurité des produits de consommation : La Loi canadienne sur la sécurité des produits de consommation (LCSPC) régit la sécurité d’une grande variété de produits de consommation, à l’exception des véhicules motorisés, des produits alimentaires, des médicaments et des animaux. Santé Canada est responsable de l’application de la LCSPC.

Pratiques anticoncurrentielles sur le marché, telles que la fixation des prix et la publicité mensongère : La Loi sur la concurrence contient des dispositions civiles et criminelles visant à empêcher les pratiques anticoncurrentielles sur le marché. Le Bureau de la concurrence est responsable de l’application de cette loi.

Emballage, étiquetage, vente, importation et publicité de produits préconditionnés : La Loi sur l’emballage et l’étiquetage des produits de consommation exige que l’étiquetage apposé sur un produit de consommation préemballé présente des renseignements exacts et suffisamment explicites pour permettre aux consommateurs de prendre des décisions d’achat éclairées. Le Bureau de la concurrence est responsable de l’application de cette loi.

Étiquetage et publicité relativement aux textiles : La Loi sur l’étiquetage des textiles exige que l’étiquetage apposé sur un article textile présente des renseignements exacts et suffisamment explicites pour permettre aux consommateurs de prendre des décisions d’achat éclairées. Le Bureau de la concurrence est responsable de l’application de cette loi.

Sécurité automobile : La Loi sur la sécurité automobile régit la fabrication et l’importation des véhicules motorisés et équipements automobiles en vue de limiter les risques de décès et de dommages corporels, matériels et environnementaux. Transports Canada est responsable de l’application de cette loi.

Inspection des aliments, des viandes et du poisson, produits agricoles, semences, engrais ainsi qu’aliments et santé des animaux : L’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments est responsable de l’application des lois relatives à la salubrité et à l’inspection des aliments.

Salubrité et qualité nutritionnelle de tous les aliments : La Loi sur les aliments et drogues établit des normes de sécurité et de qualité nutritionnelle pour tous les aliments vendus au Canada; Santé Canada est responsable de l’application de cette loi.

Institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale (banques, associations de vente au détail et fiducie fédérale, sociétés de prêt et compagnies d’assurance) : L’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada veille à ce que les institutions financières fédérales au Canada se conforment aux lois relatives à la protection du consommateur.

Services sans fil : Le Code sur les services sans fil explique vos droits et responsabilités en tant que consommateur de services sans fil. Il établit des normes que tous les fournisseurs de services sans fil doivent respecter. Le Code sur les services sans fil s’applique à tous les contrats de service sans fil. Il a été créé par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC).

Respect de la vie privée : Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée veille au respect de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques.

Exactitude des appareils de mesure et des compteurs d’électricité et de gaz : L’exactitude de ces appareils est régie par la Loi sur les poids et mesures et la Loi sur l’inspection de l’électricité et du gaz; Mesures Canada est responsable de l’application de ces lois.

Si vous pensez avoir reçu une mesure inexacte dans le cadre d’un achat ou d’une opération financière, vous pouvez déposer une plainte auprès de Mesures Canada.

Préoccupations relatives à la pollution et à la protection de l’environnement : La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement vise la prévention de la pollution et la protection de l’environnement et de la santé humaine en vue de contribuer au développement durable; Environnement Canada est responsable de l’application de cette loi.

Qualité et poinçonnage des métaux précieux : La Loi sur le poinçonnage des métaux précieux vise à assurer l’uniformité des descriptions et des marques attestant la qualité des articles en or, en argent, en platine ou en palladium, afin de permettre aux consommateurs de prendre des décisions d’achat éclairées. Le Bureau de la concurrence est responsable de l’application de cette loi.

Date de modification :