Take Charge of Your Debt

Welcome to your online one-stop shop on how to better manage your debt

This online tool from the Government of Canada will help you fully understand your debt problems and some options that are available to you, regardless of your level of debt and to whom you are indebted. You will also find information on making a budget and budget counselling, collection agencies, credit and credit repair. Finally, if you wish to further increase your knowledge in any of these subject areas, a list of relevant publications is provided for your reference.

The Office of Consumer Affairs would like to thank all of its collaborators for their valuable help in this project: The Association coopérative d'économie familiale de l'Outaouais staff, Dr. Ruth E. Berry (Manitoba Association of Home Economists), Rob Boulanger (Credit Counselling Services of Atlantic Canada, Inc.), Jocelyne Lévesque (Université Laval), the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy and Fran Smith (Credit Counselling Services of Alberta Ltd.).

Disclaimer
When businesses or consumers cannot pay their debts, they may file for bankruptcy or make a proposal (a payment arrangement with their creditors to prevent bankruptcy). These are legal proceedings carried out under the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and must be registered with the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.

"Take Charge of Your Debts" may not be relevant for people involved in either process.

Important — the content of this information product does not constitute legal advice and should not be relied upon as such. If you need legal advice on a specific matter, please consult your legal advisor (or your lawyer).

Prenez vos dettes en main

Bienvenue à votre guichet unique d'information en ligne pour mieux gérer vos dettes

Cet outil en ligne, produit par le gouvernement du Canada, vous permet de bien comprendre vos problèmes liés à l'endettement ainsi que certaines options disponibles, peu importe votre niveau d'endettement ou encore vos créanciers. Vous y trouverez également de l'information relative au budget et à la consultation budgétaire. De plus, vous pourrez vous informer au sujet des agences de recouvrement, du crédit et du rétablissement du crédit. Finalement, il vous sera possible de consulter une liste de publications portant sur les finances personnelles et l'endettement si vous voulez en savoir encore davantage.

Le Bureau de la consommation tient à remercier ses collaborateurs pour leur précieuse contribution à ce projet : Le personnel de l'Association coopérative d'économie familiale de l'Outaouais, Dr. Ruth E. Berry (Manitoba Association of Home Economists), Rob Boulanger (Credit Counselling Services of Atlantic Canada, Inc.), le Bureau du surintendant des faillites, Jocelyne Lévesque (Université Laval) et Fran Smith (Credit Counselling Services of Alberta Ltd.).

Avertissement
Lorsque les entreprises ou les consommateurs ne peuvent acquitter leurs dettes, ils peuvent déclarer faillite ou faire une proposition (de paiement à leurs créanciers pour éviter la faillite). Il s'agit de procédures judiciaires administrées en vertu de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité et elles doivent être enregistrées auprès du Bureau du surintendant des faillites.

« Prenez vos dettes en main » pourrait ne pas convenir aux personnes engagées dans l'une ou l'autre de ces procédures.

Important — le contenu de ce produit d'information ne constitue pas un avis légal et ne devrait pas être considéré comme tel. Si vous avez besoin d'un avis légal sur une question spécifique, nous vous suggérons de consulter votre conseiller juridique (ou votre avocat).