Archived — Canadian synthetic resins industry

Introduction

The synthetic resin industry converts or "polymerizes" petrochemicals like ethylene, vinyl chloride, propylene and styrene into a variety of resins or polymers. Resins are used by downstream industries such as those manufacturing plastic products, paints, and adhesives. Also included in the synthetic resin industry are compounders that blend basic resins with additives to produce concentrates and compounds for use by these same downstream industries.

Resins can be broadly subdivided into two categories — thermoplastics and thermosets.

Thermoplastics are the most commonly used materials in plastics processing. Examples include polyethylene, polypropylene, polystyrene, polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polyamide (nylon), and polyethylene terephthalate (PET). These materials soften on the application of heat and solidify when cooled. This ability to soften and solidify is reversible, making the recycling of thermoplastics relatively straightforward.

Thermosets are also used in some forms of plastics processing, including fibre-reinforced composites, and are the most common resins in formulated products like paints, adhesives, and inks. Examples include phenol formaldehyde, urea formaldehyde, epoxy, polyurethane, unsaturated polyester, alkyd, and silicone. These resins are cured via a chemical reaction which is generally not reversible. Whereas thermoplastics soften and can be reprocessed using heat, thermosets generally undergo decomposition when heated. For this reason, recycling of thermosets is difficult.

Relative levels of production by resin type are shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1: Industry Output by Resin Type (percentage of total)

Figure 1: Industry Output by Resin Type (percentage of total) (the link to the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 1
Figure 1: Industry Output by Resin Type (percentage of total)
Resin Type Output
Source: Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada estimates
PE 3,282
PS    30
PVC   250
Nylon   152
MF/UF/PF 1,252
Rubber   150

Another way to characterize resins is by the price versus performance relationship. Commodity resins are produced in high volumes and command a relatively low price per unit volume. Engineering or specialty resins offer higher performance in attributes like heat resistance, flame retardancy, mechanical strength or electrical properties, are produced in smaller quantities, and command a higher unit price.

Structure and Performance of the Industry

The Canadian synthetic resins industry had shipments of $6.2 billion in 2010, and employed about 4,520 people at 144 establishments. See the table entitled Principal Statistics on the NAICS 32521 Synthetic Resins and Rubbers page for more information. Following a decline in output caused by the recession, the industry showed small growth in 2010.

The majority of larger firms operating in Canada are owned by U.S. and European multinational firms that operate subsidiary or joint venture operations around the world.

The Canadian industry is concentrated in three provinces — Alberta, Ontario and Quebec. Figure 2 shows the geographic distribution based on number of establishments. Plants based in Alberta produce commodity-grade thermoplastic resins from raw materials derived mainly from natural gas. The plants in Ontario and Quebec produce both thermoplastic and thermoset resins using raw materials derived from both crude oil and natural gas.

Figure 2: Regional Distribution of Establishments, 2009 (percentage of total)

Figure 2: Regional Distribution of Establishments, 2009 (percentage of total) (the link to the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 2
Figure 2: Regional Distribution of Establishments, 2009 (percentage of total)
Province Percentage of Total
Source: Statistics Canada
Quebec 27.8
Ontario 43.8
Alberta 14.6

The synthetic resins industry is capital- and technology-intensive, resulting in high levels of output per employee compared to manufacturing overall (Figure 3).

Figure 3: Shipments per Employee (thousands of constant 2002 dollars)

Figure 3: Shipments per Employee (thousands of constant 2002 dollars) (the link to the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 3
Figure 3: Shipments per Employee (thousands of constant 2002 dollars)
Year All Manufacturing Resins
Source: Statistics Canada
2000 288.0   928.9
2001 278.0   884.7
2002 282.0   961.7
2003 294.0   952.9
2004 320.0 1,174.8
2005 330.0 1,315.3
2006 339.0 1,391.3
2007 349.0 1,436.3
2008 363.0 1,292.6
2009 336.0 1,085.6
2010 371.0 1,233.4

Salaries in the industry are also significantly higher than all-manufacturing averages reflecting the need for highly trained workers capable of using the sophisticated technology employed in these plants (Figure 4).

Figure 4: Average Salaries (thousands of constant 2002 dollars)

Figure 4: Average Salaries (thousands of constant 2002 dollars) (the link to the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 4
Figure 4: Average Salaries (thousands of constant 2002 dollars)
Year All Manufacturing Resins
Source: Statistics Canada
2000 42.3 66.2
2001 41.9 61.9
2002 41.8 61.2
2003 42.8 60.6
2004 43.9 64.5
2005 44.0 66.5
2006 44.1 68.0
2007 43.6 65.3
2008 43.4 66.4
2009 43.1 65.8

Trade

Trends in trade orientation are shown in Figure 5. In 2010, exports totalled $5.5 billion and imports were valued at $6.0 billion. Canadian exports of synthetic resins have grown from 38 percent of total shipments in 1990 to 89 percent in 2010. Imports of resins have also increased significantly during this period and by 2010 accounted for 90 percent of total domestic consumption. Trade with the United States predominates with 82 percent of exports going there and 87 percent of imports originating there in 2010. This growth in two way trade reflects rationalization and specialization of the resins industry on a North American basis, and the increasing use of complex, higher-performance engineering resins that are mostly not manufactured in Canada.

Figure 5: Trade (percentages)

Figure 5: Trade (percentages) (the link to the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 5
Figure 5: Trade (percentages)
Year Imports as Percentage of Domestic Market Exports as Percentage of Shipment Ratio of Trade Balance to Shipments
Source: Statistics Canada
2000 77.2 76.4 -3.4
2001 84.3 84.4  0.4
2002 76.7 75.5 -5.5
2003 72.8 72.2 -2.4
2004 61.2 62.0  2.1
2005 66.6 67.4  2.2
2006 69.2 70.8  5.5
2007 68.9 71.2  7.3
2008 71.8 73.8  6.9
2009 78.3 77.6 -3.4
2010 89.9 89.1 -8.2

Tariffs on synthetic resins traded between Canada and the United States were completely eliminated on January 1, 1993. Under NAFTA, tariffs on resins between Canada and Mexico were completely eliminated by January 1, 2003.

On a broader front, many countries participated in the Uruguay Round of multilateral trade negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. Canadian Most Favoured Nation import tariffs on resins will be harmonized at 6.5 percent, once fully implemented. Export tariffs from Canada into other countries are highly variable. For countries, like Canada, that have signed on to the Chemical Tariff Harmonization Agreement, tariffs will drop to 6.5 percent once fully implemented.

Non-tariff barriers are most commonly encountered when exporting to Asian countries. Vertically integrated market structures in Korea and Japan limit the prospects for Canadian exporters. Trigger price mechanisms have been used in some ASEAN economies. Access to China is always uncertain due to factors like inconsistent customs administration and assessment of import fees for import of new products.

Technology

Access to technology is not an issue in the industry. For the most part, both the process and product technologies utilized in Canada are up-to-date and are licensed from parent companies or other foreign chemical companies. Much of the new capacity that was recently built was designed using state-of-the-art technology. Dow Chemical's new plant in Fort Saskatchewan uses its metallocene technology. NOVA's new plant in Joffre represents the first commercialization of its Advanced Sclairtech technology, which was developed in Canada. There is very little production of engineering resins in Canada. Such plants were not built prior to the FTA, even though import tariffs from the United States existed, because the domestic market in Canada was insufficient to make the economics attractive. In today's environment, investment in commodity resins is attracted to Canada, primarily Alberta, due to the raw material advantage that can be realized. This same advantage is much less critical in deciding where to locate an engineering resin plant, and companies have tended to supply Canadian markets from U.S. or off-shore sites.

Environmental Challenges

The environmental challenges within the industry, summarized below, are being addressed in a manner consistent with the Responsible Care ethic.

The main environmental challenges are:

Solid Waste

Solid waste reduction was first focussed on packaging, although it has been extended to other areas like automotive shredder residue and construction products. Progress in reducing packaging waste is measured against the targets of the National Packaging Protocol. The Protocol called for a 50 percent reduction, from 1988 levels, in the amount of solid waste going to landfill by the year 2000. In fact, this target was achieved by the end of 1996 — four years ahead of schedule. Industry and governments continue to develop practices for minimizing the amount of packaging and other materials destined for landfill.

Polyvinyl Chloride

All industrial chlorine-based activity is currently under scrutiny by environmental groups such as Greenpeace. In the resin industry, PVC is the material under most scrutiny since its production is the largest single consumer of chlorine.

The PVC debate is also occurring in other parts of the world. As with most environmental issues, there is a need to monitor events internationally so that scientifically valid environmental goals can be achieved without taking any actions that would place Canadian companies at a competitive disadvantage.

Endocrine Disruptors

A broad range of chemicals is being investigated to determine whether they disrupt the normal hormone balance of living things. Some researchers have drawn links between the presence of these so-called endocrine disruptors in the environment and a variety of health problems in humans and animals, including:

  • increased rates of testicular cancer and declining sperm count and quality in men
  • increased rates of breast cancer in women
  • population decreases and increased rates of deformity in wildlife.

From the perspective of the plastics industry, the following commercially important chemicals are among those being studied:

  • bisphenol A, which is used in the manufacture of polycarbonate and is present in some epoxies that are used to coat the inside of food cans
  • phthalates, which are used as plasticizers in PVC
  • nonylphenol, which is an additive in polymers like polystyrene and PVC.

New Substances Notification

As part of the "cradle to grave" management approach to toxic substances, regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act are intended to ensure that no new substance is introduced into the Canadian marketplace before it has been assessed for risks to human health and the environment. The new substances program includes identification criteria, an assessment mechanism and powers to implement special controls.

Canada–U.S. Comparison

Average salaries in the United States (converted to constant Canadian dollars) had consistently been higher than those in Canada (Figure 6) until recently. The level of output per employee was also higher in the United States until the last few years (Figure 7). The recent rise in Canadian output per employee reflects the impact of major new capacity additions that have occurred.

Figure 6: Comparison of Average Salaries, Canada and U.S. (in thousands of 2002 constant Canadian dollars)

Figure 6: Comparison of Average Salaries, Canada and U.S. (in thousands of 2002 constant Canadian dollars) (the link to the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 6
Figure 6: Comparison of Average Salaries, Canada and U.S. (in thousands of 2002 constant Canadian dollars)
Year Canada U.S.
Source: Statistics Canada and U.S. Department of Commerce
2000 66.2 87.6
2001 61.9 91.0
2002 61.2 88.5
2003 61.6 79.5
2004 64.5 77.0
2005 66.5 73.1
2006 68.0 68.8
2007 65.3 58.3
2008 66.4 57.5
2009 65.8 63.5

Figure 7: Comparison of Shipments per Employee, Canada and U.S. (in thousands of 2002 constant Canadian dollars)

Comparison of Shipments per Employee, Canada and U.S. (in thousands of 2002 constant Canadian dollars) (the link to the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 7
Figure 7: Comparison of Shipments per Employee, Canada and U.S. (in thousands of 2002 constant Canadian dollars)
Year Canada U.S.
Source: Statistics Canada and U.S. Department of Commerce
2000   928.9 1,075.0
2001   884.7 1,138.1
2002   961.7 1,069.6
2003   952.9   980.7
2004 1,174.8 1,046.7
2005 1,315.3 1,006.4
2006 1,391.3 1,016.5
2007 1,436.3   816.5
2008 1,292.6   764.6
2009 1,085.5   755.0

Gross margins — defined as (value added production wages and salaries)/shipments — are used as a crude measure of profitability for the resin industry in the two countries in Figure 8. Whereas Canada lagged the United States during the early 1990s, by 2002 the gap had been closed, but it has reappeared in recent years.

Figure 8: Comparison of Gross Margins, Canada and U.S. (percentages)

Figure 8: Comparison of Gross Margins, Canada and U.S. (percentages) (the link to the long description is located below the image)
Description of Figure 8
Figure 8: Comparison of Gross Margins, Canada and U.S. (percentages)
Year Canada U.S.
Source: Statistics Canada and U.S. Department of Commerce
2000 27.5 31.6
2001 23.0 28.7
2002 31.2 31.4
2003 25.1 31.9
2004 24.4 35.2
2005 20.0 34.5
2006 15.2 35.2
2007 16.0 30.7
2008 15.8 23.3
2009 23.8 35.0

Prospects for the Future

The outlook for the Canadian resin industry must be viewed in two distinct parts.

Through the 1990s, companies invested heavily in new resin capacity in Alberta due to a feedstock price advantage compared to other North American locations. Prospects for renewed investment in Alberta will depend on the future stability of natural gas prices and the availability of sufficient volumes of natural gas, possibly resulting from development of the northern gas reserves from Alaska and the Mackenzie Delta. Another option being explored is to use byproduct streams from the upgrading of oil sands as feedstock to support new investment in resin capacity.

The situation is different in Ontario and Quebec. Plants in these provinces are well located with respect to proximity to large markets. However, most suffer from the fact that these plants were built prior to the FTA, and were designed to satisfy Canadian demand and do not approach world-scale capacity, which presents a competitive obstacle. These plants have developed strategies of supplying niche products to compensate for their lack of economies of scale.


Major Firms
Company Head Office Location Resins Location of Plant
Polymer abbreviations used in this table:
  • ABS = acrylonitrile butadiene styrene
  • EVA = ethylene vinyl acetate
  • MF = melamine formaldehyde
  • PA = polyamide
  • PE = polyethylene
  • PF = phenol formaldehyde
  • PS = polystyrene
  • PU = polyurethane
  • PVC = polyvinyl chloride
  • UF = urea formaldehyde
  • UP = unsaturated polyester
Alpha/Owens Corning U.S. UP Guelph, Ontario
Arclin Canada UF, PF, MF North Bay, Ontario
Thunder Bay, Ontario
Kamloops, B.C.
Sainte-Thérèse, Quebec
Dow Chemical U.S. PE, PS, PE Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta
Hexion Specialty Chemical U.S. UF, PF Edmonton, Alberta
Laval, Quebec
North Bay, Ontario
Imperial Oil U.S. PE Sarnia, Ontario
NOVA Chemicals Canada PE, PS Joffre, Alberta
Corunna, Ontario
Sarnia, Ontario
Nylene U.S. PA Arnprior, Ontario
Oxy Vinyls U.S. PVC Niagara Falls, Ontario
Date modified:

Archivé — Industrie canadienne des résines synthétiques

Introduction

L'industrie des résines synthétiques convertit ou « polymérise « des composés pétrochimiques de base comme l'éthylène, le chlorure de vinyle, le propylène et le styrène pour obtenir toute une variété de résines ou de polymères. Les résines de base sont employées généralement dans les industries en aval telles que celles qui fabriquent des produits en matières plastiques, de la peinture et des adhésifs. Également les formulateurs qui mélangent aux résines de base des additifs, afin de produire des concentrés et des composés qui seront utilisés par diverses industries en aval, font également parti de l'industrie des résines synthétiques.

Les résines peuvent être subdivisées en deux catégories : les résines thermoplastiques et les résines thermodurcissables.

Les résines thermoplastiques sont les plus largement utilisées en plasturgie. Par exemple, on y retrouve les polyéthylènes, le polypropylène, le polystyrène, le chlorure de polyvinyle (PVC), le polyamide (nylon) et le polytéréphtalate d'éthylène-glycol (PET). Ces matériaux s'amollissent sous l'effet de la chaleur et durcissent au froid. Cette capacité de ramollissement et de durcissement est réversible, ce qui permet au recyclage des résines thermoplastiques d'être relativement simple.

Les résines thermodurcissables sont également utilisées sous une forme ou une autre en plasturgie, incluant les composés renforcés de fibres et sont très utilisées dans les préparations telles que les peintures, les adhésifs et les encres. Dans cette catégorie, on y retrouve le phénol-formaldéhyde, l'urée-formaldéhyde, la résine époxyde, la polyuréthane, le polyester non saturé, la résine alkyde et le silicone. Ces résines sont polymérisées par une réaction chimique qui est, en général, non réversible. Alors que les résines thermoplastiques s'amollissent et peuvent être travaillées de nouveau sous l'action de la chaleur, les résines thermodurcissables en général se décomposent lorsqu'elles sont chauffées. Pour cette raison, le recyclage de ces dernières est très difficile.

Les niveaux relatifs de production par genre de résines principal sont illustrés à la figure 1.

Figure 1 : Production par genre de résine (en pourcentage de total)

Figure 1 : Production par genre de résine (en pourcentage de total) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 1
Figure 1 : Production par résine (en pourcentage de total)
Genre de résine Production
Source : Estimations de l'Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
PE 3 282
PS    30
PVC   250
Nylon   152
MF/UF/PF 1 252
Caoutchouc   150

Une autre façon de caractériser les résines est la relation de la valeur par rapport à la performance. Les résines commerciales sont produites en gros volume et leur prix par unité de volume est relativement faible. Les résines industrielles ou spéciales qui possèdent des qualités de haut rendement telles que la résistance à la chaleur, inflammabilité, la résistance mécanique ou des propriétés électriques, sont produites en petites quantité et leur prix unitaire est plus élevé.

Structure et performance de l'industrie

En 2010, la valeur des expéditions de résines synthétiques des entreprises canadiennes s'est élevée à 6,2 milliards de dollars et l'industrie employait 4 520 personnes dans environ 144 établissements. Voir le tableau intitulé Statistiques principales sur la page SCIAN 32521 Fabrication de résines et de caoutchouc synthétique pour d'autre information. Suite à une baisse de la production causée par la récession, l'industrie a montré une peu de croissance en 2010.

La majorité des grandes entreprises en opération au Canada appartiennent à des multinationales américaines et européennes qui exploitent des filiales ou des coentreprises dans la plupart des pays au monde.

L'industrie canadienne se situe principalement dans trois provinces : l'Alberta, l'Ontario et le Québec. La figure 2 montre la distribution géographique selon la nombre des établissements. Les usines de l'Alberta produisent des résines thermoplastiques de qualité commerciale à l'aide de matières premières dérivées en grande partie du gaz naturel. Les entreprises de l'Ontario et du Québec produisent des résines commerciales thermoplastiques ainsi que des résines thermodurcissables à partir de matières premières dérivées du pétrole brut et du gaz naturel.

Figure 2 : Distribution régionale des établissements, 2009 (en pourcentage de total)

Figure 2 : Distribution régionale des établissements, 2009 (en pourcentage de total) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 2
Figure 2 : Distribution régionale des établissements, 2009 (en pourcentage de total)
Province Pourcentage du total
Source : Statistique Canada
Québec 27,8
Ontario 43,8
Alberta 14,6

L'industrie des résines synthétiques est à haute intensité de capital et de technologie. Pour ces raisons, le rendement par employé(e) est d'un échelon plus élevé que celui de l'industrie manufacturière en général (Figure 3). Les salaires de l'industrie sont également beaucoup plus élevés que ceux de la moyenne de l'industrie manufacturière en général, ce qui témoigne le besoin de professionnels capable d'utiliser les technologies d'avant-garde de ces usines (Figure 4).

Figure 3 : Livraisons par employé (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002)

Figure 3 : Livraisons par employé (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 3
Figure 3 : Livraisons par employé (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002)
Année Ensemble du secteur manufacturier Résines
Source : Statistique Canada
2000 288,0  928,9
2001 278,0   884,7
2002 282,0   961,7
2003 294,0   952,9
2004 320,0 1 174,8
2005 330,0 1 315,3
2006 339,0 1 391,3
2007 349,0 1 436,3
2008 363,0 1 292,6
2009 336,0 1 085,6
2010 371,0 1 233,4

Figure 4 : Salaires moyens (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002)

Figure 4 : Salaires moyens (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 4
Figure 4 : Salaires moyens (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002)
Année Ensemble du secteur manufacturier Résines
Source : Statistique Canada
2000 42,3 66,2
2001 41,9 61,9
2002 41,8 61,2
2003 42,8 60,6
2004 43,9 64,5
2005 44,0 66,5
2006 44,1 68,0
2007 43,6 65,3
2008 43,4 66,4
2009 43,1 65,8

Commerce

La figure 5 montre les tendances commerciales. En 2010, les exportations se sont élevées à 5,5 milliards de dollars et des importations ont été évaluées à 6,0 milliards de dollars. Les échanges commerciaux se font principalement avec les États-Unis. En 2010, 87 p. 100 des importations provenaient des États-Unis, alors que 82 p. 100 des exportations leurs étaient destinées. Les exportations canadiennes de résines synthétiques ont augmenté d'une façon impressionnante pendant les années 1990, pour passer de 38 p. 100 du montant des expéditions totales en 1990 à 89 p. 100 en 2010. Les importations canadiennes de résines ont également considérablement augmenté pendant cette période et en 2010 elles représentaient 90 p. 100 du total de la consommation canadienne. Cette croissance commerciale dans les deux sens reflète la rationalisation et la spécialisation de l'industrie nord-américaine des résines ainsi que l'utilisation croissante de résines industrielles complexes de haute performance qui ne sont pas fabriquées au Canada.

Figure 5 : Commerce (en pourcentage de total)

Figure 5 : Commerce (en pourcentage de total) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 5
Figure 5 : Commerce (en pourcentage de total)
Année Importations en tant que du marché intérieur Exportations en tant que pourcentage des livraisons Propotion de la balance commerciale par rapport aux livraisons
Source : Statistique Canada
2000 77,2 76,4 -3,4
2001 84,3 84,4  0,4
2002 76,7 75,5 -5,5
2003 72,8 72,2 -2,4
2004 61,2 62,0  2,1
2005 66,6 67,4  2,2
2006 69,2 70,8  5,5
2007 68,9 71,2  7,3
2008 71,8 73,8  6,9
2009 78,3 77,6 -3,4
2010 89,9  89,1 -8,2

Les tarifs canadiens et américains sur les résines synthétiques ont été complètement éliminé le 1e janvier 1993. Sous l'ALÉNA, les tarifs entre le Canada et le Mexique ont été complètement éliminé d'ici le 1e janvier 2003.

Dans un contexte plus vaste, de nombreux pays ont participé aux négociations multilatérales sur le commerce lors de « l'Uruguay Round », dans le cadre de l'Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce. Les tarifs canadiens sur les importations de résines des nations les plus favorisées seront harmonisés au taux de 6,5 p. 100 une fois qu'ils seront totalement mis en place. Les tarifs d'exportation pour les produits canadiens varient beaucoup selon les pays. Pour les pays, tels que le Canada, qui ont signé l'accord tarifaire harmonisé des produits chimiques, les tarifs baisseront à 6,5 p. 100 une fois qu'ils seront totalement mis en place.

Les exportations vers les pays asiatiques sont en général assujetties à des mesures non tarifaires. Les structures des marchés à intégration verticale de la Corée et du Japon limitent les possibilités des exportateurs canadiens. Des mécanismes de prix d'intervention ont été utilisés par certains pays de l'ANASE. L'accès aux marchés de la Chine est toujours incertain en raison de facteurs tels une administration incohérente des douanes et une approximation des droits pour l'importation de nouveaux produits.

Technologie

L'accès à la technologie ne pose pas de problème dans cette industrie. La plupart des technologies utilisées au Canada pour les procédés et les produits sont récentes et ont été obtenues sous licence des compagnies mères ou d'autres sociétés chimiques étrangères. La grande majorité des nouvelles usines utilisent des technologies de pointe. La nouvelle usine de Dow Chemical à Fort Saskatchewan utilise sa technologie métallocène. La nouvelle usine de NOVA à Joffre est la première à mettre en marché sa technologie « Advanced Sclairtech » (développée au Canada). Le Canada produit très peu de résines industrielles. De telles usines n'existaient pas avant l'ALE, bien que des tarifs sur les importations américaines étaient en vigueur, parce que le marché canadien intérieur était trop petit pour être rentable. De nos jours, l'industrie canadienne des résines commerciales attire les investissements étrangers, principalement en Alberta, en raison de la proximité des matières premières. Cet avantage est moins critique lors de la prise de décision sur l'emplacement d'installations d'ingénierie et les Sociétés de l'industrie ont tendance à fournir les marchés canadiens à partir d'installations situées aux États-Unis ou en outre-mer.

Défis concernant l'environnement

Les défis environnementaux de l'industrie récapitulés ci-dessous sont en quelque sorte parallèles à l'éthique de « Gestion responsable ».

Les principaux défis sont les suivants :

Déchets solides

Le programme de réduction des déchets solides s'est concentré, la première fois, sur les emballages, bien que celui-ci se soit étendu à d'autres secteurs tels que les résidus de véhicules à moteur et les matériaux de construction. Le progrès pour la réduction des emballages non recyclés est mesuré par rapport au Protocole national sur l'emballage. Le Protocole demande que le montant de déchets solides allant aux sites de décharge soit réduit de 50 p. 100 par rapport aux niveaux de 1988, d'ici l'an 2000. En fait, vers la fin de 1996 cet objectif avait déjà été atteint — soit quatre ans en avance. L'industrie et les gouvernements continuent de développer des pratiques pour réduire au minimum la quantité de matériaux d'emballage et autres matériaux destinés aux sites de décharge.

Chlorure de polyvinyle

Toutes les activités industrielles à base de chlore sont actuellement minutieusement examinées par les groupes environnementaux tels que « Greenpeace ». Dans l'industrie des résines, le PVC est le produit le plus sérieusement examiné puisqu'il est le plus grand consommateur de chlore industriel.

Le débat au sujet des PVC se produit également dans d'autres régions du monde. Comme dans la plupart des cas concernant les questions environnementales, les activités ont besoin d'être contrôlées sur le plan international pour que des objectifs scientifiques valides puissent être atteints avant qu'aucune mesure ne soit prise qui pourrait donner aux entreprises canadiennes un désavantage concurrentiel.

Perturbateurs endocriniens

Une grande variété de produits chimiques sont actuellement examinés pour déterminer s'ils perturbent le niveau hormonal normal des espèces vivantes. Certains scientifiques ont fait le rapprochement entre ce que l'on peut appeler des perturbateurs endocriniens dans l'environnement et un nombre de problèmes de santé chez les êtres humains et les animaux, et plus précisément les suivants :

  • une augmentation du taux de cancer des testicules et une baisse du nombre de spermatozoïdes et de leurs qualités chez les hommes
  • une augmentation du nombre de cancers du sein chez les femmes
  • une diminution de la population et une augmentation du taux de difformité de la faune.

Du côté de l'industrie des matières plastiques, les principaux produits chimiques commerciaux suivants sont actuellement examinés :

  • le bisphénol A, qui est utilisé dans la fabrication de polycarbonates et que l'on retrouve dans certaines résines époxydes utilisées comme revêtement interne des boîtes de conserves alimentaires
  • les phtalates qui sont utilisés comme plastifiants dans les PVC
  • le nonylphénol qui est un additif aux polymères tels que le polystyrène et les PVC.

Renseignements concernant les nouvelles substances

L'intégral système de gestion des substances toxiques, réglementé par la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement a pour but de s'assurer qu'aucune nouvelle substance est mise sur le marché au Canada avant qu'elle ne soit approuvée et qu'elle ne présente aucun risque pour la santé humaine et l'environnement. Le programme des nouvelles substances inclut les critères d'identification, un système d'évaluation et les pouvoirs de mettre en œuvre des mécanismes spéciaux de contrôle.

Comparaison entre le Canada et les États-Unis

La moyenne des salaires aux États-Unis (convertie en dollars canadiens constants) a toujours été plus élevée que celle du Canada (figure 6) jusqu'au récemment. Le niveau de rendement par employé(e) a aussi été plus élevé aux États-Unis jusqu'au récemment (figure 7). L'élévation récente du rendement canadien par employé reflète l'impact des nouvelles additions principales de capacité qui se sont produites.

Figure 6 : Comparaison des salaires moyens, Canada et É.-U. (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002)

Figure 6 : Comparaison des salaires moyens, Canada et É.-U. (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 6
Figure 6 : Comparaison des salaires moyens, Canada et É.-U. (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002)
Année Canada É.-U.
Source : Statistique Canada et le département du commerce américain
2000 66,2 87,6
2001 61,9 91,0
2002 61,2 88,5
2003 61,6 79,5
2004 64,5 77,0
2005 66,5 73,1
2006 68,0 68,8
2007 65,3 58,3
2008 66,4 57,5
2009 65,8 63,5

Figure 7 : Comparaison des livraisons par employé, Canada et É.-U. (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002)

Figure 7 : Comparaison des livraisons par employé, Canada et É.-U. (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 7
Figure 7 : Comparaison des livraisons par employé, Canada et É.-U. (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002)
Année Canada É.-U.
Source : Statistique Canada et le département du commerce américain
2000   928,9 1 075,0
2001   884,7 1 138,1
2002   961,7 1 069,6
2003   952,9   980,7
2004 1 174,8 1 046,7
2005 1 315,3 1 006,4
2006 1 391,3 1 016,5
2007 1 436,3   816,5
2008 1 292,6   764,6
2009 1 085,5   755,0

Les marges bénéficiaires brutes —définie comme étant (la valeur ajoutée moins le total des salaires) divisée par le montant des expéditions —sont utilisées comme mesure de base pour mesurer le niveau de rentabilité de l'industrie des résines des deux pays tel qu'illustré à la figure 8. Bien que le Canada accusait du retard sur les États-Unis durant la fin des années 1990, en 2002 cet écart a été comblé mais après ça la situation canadienne est devenue plus faible.

Figure 8 : Comparaison des marges brutes, Canada et É.-U. (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002)

Figure 8 : Comparaison des marges brutes, Canada et É.-U. (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002) (la description détaillée se trouve sous l'image)
Description de la figure 8
Figure 8 : Comparaison des marges brutes, Canada et É.-U. (en milliers de dollars constants canadiens 2002)
Année Canada É.-U.
Source : Statistique Canada et le département du commerce américain
2000 27,5 31,6
2001 23,0 28,7
2002 31,2 31,4
2003 25,1 31,9
2004 24,4 35,2
2005 20,0 34,5
2006 15,2 35,2
2007 16,0 30,7
2008 15,8 23,3
2009 23,8 35,0

Perspectives d'avenir

Les perspectives de l'industrie canadienne des résines doivent être considérées sur deux fronts bien distincts.

Au cours des années 90, les entreprises ont fortement investi dans de nouvelles capacités de production de résine en Alberta en raison des prix moins élevés de la charge d'alimentation par rapport à d'autres régions nord-américaines. Les perspectives pour qu'un renouvellement de l'investissement se produise en Alberta dépendront de la stabilité future des prix du gaz naturel et de la disponibilité de volumes suffisants de gaz naturel, qui proviendra probablement du développement des réserves nordiques de gaz en Alaska et dans le delta du Mackenzie. Il y a aussi le potentiel de transformation à valeur ajoutée des hydrocarbures, et poursuivre le développement de l'industrie pétrochimique et de l'industrie des résines en Alberta fondé sur la valorisation des ressources en pétrole/sables bitumineux.

La situation est différente en Ontario et au Québec. Les usines dans ces provinces ont un emplacement idéal car elles sont proches de gros centres urbains. Cependant, la plupart des usines souffrent du fait que ces usines ont été construites avant l'ALE et qu'elles ont été conçues pour satisfaire la demande canadienne et n'est proche d'être d'envergure mondiale, ce qui est un obstacle sur le plan de la concurrence. Ces usines ont développées des stratégies pour fournir des marchés à créneaux afin de palier à leur manque d'économie d'échelle.

Entreprises principales
Entreprise Pays d'appartenance Résines Emplacement de l'établissement
Abbréviations des polymères :
  • ABS = acrylonitrile-butadiène-styrène
  • AVE = acétate de vinyle d'éthylène
  • MF = mélamine formaldéhyde
  • PA = polyamide
  • PE = polyéthylène
  • PF = phénol formaldéhyde
  • PS = polystyrène
  • PU = polyuréthane
  • PVC = chlorure de polyvinyle
  • UF = urée formaldéhyde
  • UP = polyester non saturé
Alpha/Owens Corning É.-U. UP Guelph (Ontario)
Arclin Canada UF, PF, MF North Bay (Ontario)
Thunder Bay (Ontario)
Kamloops (C.-B.)
Sainte-Thérèse (Québec)
Dow Chemical É.-U. PE, PS, PE Fort Saskatchewan (Alberta)
Hexion Specialty Chemical É.-U. UF, PF Edmonton (Alberta)
Laval, (Québec)
North Bay (Ontario)
Imperial Oil É.-U. PE Sarnia (Ontario)
NOVA Chemicals Canada PE, PS Joffre (Alberta)
Corunna (Ontario)
Sarnia (Ontario)
Nylene É.-U. PA Arnprior (Ontario)
Oxy Vinyls É.-U. PVC Niagara Falls (Ontario)
Date de modification :