Archived — Melanie Bacon

Year: 2012 — Province: Saskatchewan

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology (SIAST) Children's Day Care Centre
4500 Wascana Parkway, P.O Box 556
Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 3A3

Contact Info:
Phone: 306-798-1261
Email: Melanie Bacon

Type of setting: Childcare centre for children ages 18 months to 5 years

Philosophy of care

Ooey gooey and messy: yes please! The messier the better in Melanie Bacon's daycare. Building on the concept that play and exploration are central to a child's individual development, Bacon encourages each child to be creative and build on their own interests.

Support of child development

  • Bacon has incorporated an art program into the centre. Drawing on the skills of an educator who is especially adept in the arts, Bacon makes sure that the children are exposed to making art and learning about famous artists.
  • Bacon led her centre in the organization of an afternoon art exhibit and sale that showcased the children's art. A variety of media was displayed and sold with proceeds going toward new playground equipment.
  • Bacon regularly draws on the teachings and resources of the Ooey Gooey lady (www.ooeygooey.com), and encourages the children to indulge in mostly messy, interesting and tactile activities and learning opportunities.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Recognizing the multicultural nature of the centre, Bacon shifted the yearly Christmas concert to a winter festival to allow all the families to play a role.
  • Bacon has developed a partnership with other programs at the Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology (SIAST). As a result her students visit some of the facilities on campus, like the carpentry program where they learn about glue, nails and benches. Dental hygiene students also visit the centre to teach the children about oral hygiene. Children have even ridden in an ambulance!
  • Through her partnership with other programs at SIAST, Bacon bridges the gap between the centre and parents – most of whom attend classes at the college. Children learn about what their parents are learning and parents are invited into the centre to talk about their own classes.

Rave reviews

Melanie is an early childhood educator who values every child, parent and staff member. She supports their need to grow and develop to their potential. She has transformed a very adult-centred environment to one that is child-centred, embracing inclusion and diversity through play.

Board Member

I have learned so much from Melanie in the last two years and I know that I will continue to. I call her my sensei, my mentor. (…) Melanie has a big heart and at the end of the day all she wants to do is play and be with the children.

Colleague

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Archivé — Melanie Bacon

Année : 2012 — Province : Saskatchewan

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology (SIAST) Children's Day Care Centre
4500, promenade Wascana, C. P. 556
Regina (Saskatchewan) S4P 3A3

Coordonnées : 
Téléphone : 306-798-1261
Courriel : Melanie Bacon

Type d'établissement : Centre de la petite enfance pour les enfants âgés de 18 mois à 5 ans

Démarche éducative

Ouach, youpi et salissant : oui! Plus c'est salissant et mieux on se porte dans le centre de Melanie Bacon. S'inspirant du concept voulant que le jeu et l'exploration soient des éléments essentiels du développement individuel d'un enfant, Madame Bacon encourage chacun d'eux à faire preuve de créativité et à miser sur ses propres intérêts.

Soutien au développement de l'enfant

  • Madame Bacon a intégré un programme d'art dans le centre. Profitant des aptitudes d'un éducateur qui est tout spécialement doué pour les arts, elle fait en sorte que les enfants soient exposés à la pratique des arts et qu'ils entendent parler d'artistes de renom.
  • Madame Bacon a dirigé son centre lors de l'organisation d'une exposition et d'une vente d'œuvres d'art en après-midi où les œuvres des enfants étaient à l'honneur. Une grande diversité de médiums ont été présentés et vendus, et le produit a servi à acheter du nouveau matériel pour le terrain de jeux.
  • Madame Bacon s'inspire régulièrement des enseignements et des ressources de l'Ooey Gooey Lady (www.ooeygooey.com (anglais seulement)) et incite les enfants à se laisser aller à des possibilités d'apprentissage et des activités tactiles, intéressantes mais, surtout, salissantes.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Consciente de la nature multiculturelle du centre, Madame Bacon a converti le concert annuel de Noël en festival hivernal pour que toutes les familles puissent y jouer un rôle.
  • Madame Bacon a créé un partenariat avec d'autres programmes du Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology (SIAST). Par conséquent, ses élèves visitent certaines installations du campus, comme le programme d'ébénisterie, où ils en apprennent sur la colle, les clous et les bancs. Des étudiants en hygiène dentaire se rendent également au centre pour parler aux enfants de l'hygiène buccale. Ces derniers sont même montés dans une ambulance!
  • Grâce à son partenariat avec d'autres programmes du SIAST, Madame Bacon comble l'écart entre le centre et les parents, dont la plupart fréquentent le collège. Les enfants apprennent ce que leurs parents étudient et les parents sont invités au centre pour parler de leurs cours.

Commentaires élogieux

Melanie est une éducatrice de la petite enfance qui a à cœur chaque enfant, parent et membre du personnel. Elle appuie leur besoin de croître et de se développer à leur plein potentiel. Elle a transformé un milieu très centré sur les adultes pour en faire un endroit qui est axé sur l'enfant, qui favorise l'inclusion et la diversité par le jeu.

Un membre du conseil d'administration

J'ai tellement appris de Melanie ces deux dernières années et je sais que je vais continuer à le faire. Je lui dis qu'elle est mon sensei, mon mentor. (…) Melanie a un grand cœur et, à la fin de la journée, tout ce qu'elle souhaite faire, c'est jouer et être avec les enfants.

Un collègue

Date de modification :