Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Early Childhood Education —
2012 Recipients List

2012 Recipients List
Province/ Territory Setting community Educator community Name of setting Name of educator Type of setting Highlights
Alberta
Certificate of Excellence
Drayton Valley Drayton Valley Drayton Valley Early Childhood Development Centre Bernice Taylor Childcare centre for children ages 13 months to 9 years Educator mobilizes myriad of local resources to build a magical Eco-Park for all to enjoy.
Alberta
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton Edmonton Genesis Early Learning Centre Corine Gannon 100 Voices Preschool Outreach Program for children ages 2.5 to 6 years It's all about the environment: educator maintains carefully manicured classrooms that are cozy, stimulating and intentionally designed to look like an extension of home.
British Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby Port Moody Simon Fraser University Childcare Society Pat Frouws Childcare centre for children ages 3 months to 13 years A living building for living people: educator seizes opportunity to design a new facility, inspires and guides funders to build a place that every child deserves.
British Columbia
Certificate of Achievement
Comox Comox Tigger Too Preschool – Comox Valley Children's Daycare Society Charlene Gray Preschool for children ages 30 months to 5 years Tireless advocate for children everywhere believes in a world where children should be seen and heard.
British Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Coquitlam Coquitlam Childgarden Preschool Susan Woodward Preschool for children ages 3 to 5 years A daycare fairy tale: educator and children discover enchanted forests, magical creeks and mystical little creatures, which become the stepping stones to learning about the world that surrounds them. 
British Columbia
Certificate of Achievement
Golden Golden Little Chimps Preschool / Golden StrongStart Shelley Zajsek Licensed Preschool and StrongStart BC Program Intuitive, creative and patient, educator knows exactly when to tease and joke, and when to offer a hug.
British Columbia
Certificate of Achievement
Langley Langley Douglas Park Community Preschool and Childcare Dawn Adamson Preschool for children ages 3 to 5 years Nature lover follows dream and provides outdoors-based inclusive program where children can learn and explore at their own speed.
British Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Port Hardy Coal Harbour Stepping Stones Childcare Centre Jan Prowse Childcare centre for children up to the age of 12 Like a little elf with a heart of gold, educator works tirelessly behind the scenes, quietly doing good deeds, building playhouses, making healthy food, or distributing clothes.
British Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey Surrey A Place to Grow Childcare Centre Danielle Denise Jimeno Group childcare for children ages 6 months to 5 years Educator makes sure that the village actually does raise the child, secures partnerships and gets students involved in projects and programs that are supportive and nurturing.
British Columbia
Certificate of Achievement
Vancouver Vancouver Creative Minds Early Learning Centre Kathleen McCabe Childcare for children ages 2 years to school age Educator guides inquisitive young learners through an exploration of the world both inside the classroom and all around them.
British Columbia
Certificate of Achievement
Vancouver Burnaby Lilliput at UBC Childcare Services Ingrid Keen Childcare centre for children ages 18 months to 3 years Kind and caring educator takes time to pay attention to details, gets to know each child and their dreams, and relies on local current events to inspire programming.
British Columbia
Certificate of Achievement
Vancouver Vancouver Marpole-Oakridge Community Centre Preschool Linda Murdoch Community centre for children ages 3 to 4 years Educator experiments with new activities to expand minds. One day they're watching little baby eagles hatch, the next they're building papier-mâché eagles and nests.
British Columbia
Certificate of Achievement
Victoria Victoria Nightingale Preschool and Junior Kindergarten Limited Catriona Brown Preschool and junior kindergarten for children ages 2.5 to 5.5 years Imagination and education take centre stage: childcare centre undergoes transformation as children read a book – from snacks, to the role-play area, to props and costumes.
Manitoba Certificate of Achievement Morden Darlingford Morden Community Childcare Centre Shuana Richards Childcare centre for children ages 3 months to 12 years "Inclusion for all" philosophy guides educator to create memorable environment gets people moving and be happy doing it.
Manitoba Certificate of Achievement Shilo Brandon/
Wawanesa
Shilo Military Family Resource Centre Janine Guenter, Hailey Kusche and Dana Lynn Thompson Resource Centre /
Occasional childcare program for children ages 3 months to 12 years
Daycare trio tailors programs to meet military families' needs and quickly become valued resources for households that rely on a single parent for short to long periods of time.
New Brunswick Certificate of Achievement Saint John Saint John Saint John Y Early Learning Centre Janet Towers Childcare program for children aged 2 With pages worth of qualifications, experience and workshops, educator always seems to know what's happening in a child's world.
Newfoundland and Labrador Certificate of Achievement Lewisporte Appleton New Fun Land III (3) Gaye Roberts Childcare centre for children ages 2 to 12 years Energetic educator recognizes need for affordable and accessible childcare in rural Newfoundland, and caters to over 400 families.
Ontario Certificate of Achievement Hagersville Waterford Ekwaamjigenang Children's Centre Patricia Barber Childcare centre for children ages 0 to 5 years Up-to-date and informed, educator always on the lookout for new ways to improve activities, create partnerships and offer resources to parents and colleagues.
Ontario Certificate of Achievement London London Arbour Glen Day Nursery Charlene Moss Childcare centre for children ages 3 to 6 years If play is the work of all children this educator is their professional developer: she turns each encounter into a lesson and has a knack for tapping into connections and resources.
Ontario Certificate of Achievement Ottawa Osgoode Acorn Early Learning Centre Joanne Saunders Childcare centre for children ages 18 months to 10 years Innovative and above all compassionate, educator helps students save a turtle, writes book, and organizes fundraisers.
Ontario Certificate of Excellence Ottawa Almonte Algonquin College Early Learning Centre Lisa Lamarre Demonstration Full Day Learning Centre Putting words into action: with years of experience in challenging situations, educator seamlessly runs an incredibly respected demonstration program in the Ottawa community.
Prince Edward Island Certificate of Excellence Charlottetown Charlottetown Little Wonders Child Care Centre Elizabeth Jeffery Childcare centre for children up to the age of 5 Educator finds learning possibilities in any material, object or situation and creates environment where students feel motivated to think differently, push further and do better.
Quebec Certificate of Excellence Montréal Laval McGill Childcare Centre Lisa Gallagher Childcare centre for children ages 4 months to 5 years Grace under pressure: executive director of a childcare centre almost doomed to close down, always has time to lend an ear and make you feel like you're the most important person in the world.
Saskatchewan Certificate of Excellence Canora Canora Canora Junior Elementary School Christine Danyluk Pre-kindergarten to grade 4 elementary school Educator creates colourful world that changes seamlessly with the seasons and where children have endless opportunities to be creative explorers.
Saskatchewan Certificate of Achievement Regina Regina Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology (SIAST)Children's Day Care Centre Melanie Bacon Childcare centre for children ages 18 months to 5 years Ooey gooey and messy: yes please! Educator lets children be messy and builds on concept that play and exploration are central to a child's development.

Archivé — Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance —
Liste des lauréats 2012


Liste des lauréats 2012
Province/ Territoire Collectivité de l'établissement Collectivité de l'éducateur Nom de l'établissement Nom de l'éducateur Type d'établissement Points saillants
Alberta Certificat d'excellence Drayton Valley Drayton Valley Drayton Valley Early Childhood Development Centre Bernice Taylor Centre de services de garde pour les enfants âgés de 13 mois à 9 ans L'éducatrice mobilise les ressources locales pour aménager un écoparc magique afin que tous puissent en profiter.
Alberta Certificat d'excellence Edmonton Edmonton Genesis Early Learning Centre Corine Gannon Programme de sensibilisation préscolaire 100 Voices pour les enfants âgés de 2,5 à 6 ans L'important, c'est l'environnement : l'éducatrice s'assure d'entretenir soigneusement ses salles de classe qui sont chaleureuses et stimulantes et  seveulent un prolongement du milieu familial.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'excellence Burnaby Port Moody Simon Fraser University Childcare Society Pat Frouws Établissement de services de garde pour les enfants âgés de 3 mois à 13 ans Un immeuble vivant pour des gens vivants. L'éducatrice a saisi l'occasion de concevoir de nouvelles installations pour le centre et a inspiré et guidé les bailleurs de fonds afin qu'ils puissent ériger un lieu que chaque enfant mérite.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'honneur Comox Comox Tigger Too Preschool – Comox Valley Children's Daycare Society Charlene Gray Centre préscolaire pour enfants âgés de 30 mois à 5 ans Défenseure infatigable des enfants, où qu'ils soient, qui croit en un monde où les enfants devraient être vus et entendus.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'excellence Coquitlam Coquitlam Childgarden Preschool Susan Woodward Établissement préscolaire pour les enfants âgés de 3 à 5 ans Un conte de fées en garderie : l'éducatrice et les enfants découvrent des forêts enchantées, des ruisseaux magiques et des petites créatures mystiques qui deviennent les pierres de gué de leur apprentissage du monde qui les entoure.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'honneur Golden Golden Little Chimps Preschool / Golden StrongStart Shelley Zajsek Centre préscolaire autorisé et programme StrongStart BC Intuitive, créative et patiente, cette éducatrice sait exactement lorsque c'est le temps de taquiner, de plaisanter ou d'offrir un câlin.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'honneur Langley Langley Douglas Park Community Preschool and Childcare Dawn Adamson Centre préscolaire pour les enfants âgés de 3 à 5 ans L'amante de la nature poursuit son rêve et offre un programme complet axé sur le plein air où les enfants peuvent apprendre et explorer à leur propre rythme.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'excellence Port Hardy Coal Harbour Stepping Stones Childcare Centre Jan Prowse Centre de services de garde pour enfants âgés de 0 à 12 ans Tout comme une petite elfe avec un cœur en or,l'éducatrice s'affaire en coulisse, accomplissant silencieusement de bonnes actions, construisant des maisonnettes, cuisinant des aliments santé ou distribuant des vêtements.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'excellence Surrey Surrey A Place to Grow Childcare Centre Danielle Denise Jimeno Services de garde collectifs pour enfants âgés de 6 mois à 5 ans L'éducatrice s'assure que le village contribue concrètement à l'apprentissage des enfants; elle conclut des partenariats et invite les élèves à prendre part à des projets et des programmes accueillants et stimulants.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'honneur Vancouver Vancouver Creative Minds Early Learning Centre Kathleen McCabe Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 2 ans à l'âge scolaire Éducatrice qui guide les jeunes apprenants à l'esprit curieux à explorer le monde tant à l'intérieur de la classe qu'autour d'eux.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'honneur Vancouver Burnaby Lilliput at UBC Childcare Services Ingrid Keen Centre de la petite enfance pour les enfants âgés de 18 mois à 3 ans Éducatrice aimable et bienveillante qui prend le temps de porter une attention particulière aux détails, de bien connaître chaque enfant et leurs rêves,  et de s'inspirer des actualités locales pour établir les programmes.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'honneur Vancouver Vancouver Marpole-Oakridge Community Centre Preschool Linda Murdoch Centre communautaire pour enfants âgés de 3 et 4 ans Éducatrice qui met à l'essai de nouvelles activités pour élargir les horizons. Un jour, les élèves observent des aiglons éclore; le lendemain, ils confectionnent des aigles et des nids d'aigle en papier mâché.
Colombie-Britannique Certificat d'honneur Victoria Victoria Nightingale Preschool and Junior Kindergarten Limited Catriona Brown Centre préscolaire et maternelle pour les enfants de 2,5 à 5,5 ans L'imagination et l'éducation prennent l'avant-scène : le centre de la petite enfance se transforme lorsque les enfants lisent un livre, que ce soit au moment de la collation, des jeux de rôle avec accessoires ou costumes.
Manitoba Certificat d'honneur Morden Darlingford Morden Community childcare Centre Shuana Richards Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 3 mois à 12 ans La philosophie de « pleine intégration » guide cette éducatrice en vue de créer un milieu inoubliable qui donne le goût de bouger.
Manitoba Certificat d'honneur Shilo Brandon/
Wawanesa
Shilo Military Family Resource Centre Janine Guenter, Hailey Kusche et Dana Lynn Thompson Centre de ressources/centre de la petite enfance occasionnel pour enfants âgés de 3 mois à 12 ans Le trio du centre de la petite enfance militaire conçoit des programmes sur mesure pour répondre aux besoins des familles et deviennent une ressource précieuse pour les ménages qui ne comptent qu'un parent pendant de courtes ou de longues périodes.
Nouveau-Brunswick Certificat d'honneur Saint John Saint John Saint John Y Early Learning Centre Janet Towers Programme de centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 2 ans Comptant de nombreuses compétences, expériences et tenues d'ateliers, cette éducatrice semble toujours au fait de tout ce qui touche le monde des enfants.
Terre-Neuve et Labrador Certificat d'honneur Lewisporte Appleton New Fun Land III (3) Gaye Roberts Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 2 à 12 ans Éducatrice dynamique qui reconnaît la nécessité d'un centre de la petite enfance abordable et accessible dans les régions rurales de Terre-Neuve, et répond aux besoins de plus de 400 familles.
Ontario Certificat d'honneur Hagersville Waterford Ekwaamjigenang Children's Centre Patricia Barber Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 0 à 5 ans Informée et au fait des nouveautés, cette éducatrice est toujours à la recherche de nouvelles façons d'améliorer les activités, de créer des partenariats et d'offrir des ressources aux parents et aux collègues de travail.
Ontario Certificat d'honneur London London Arbour Glen Day Nursery Charlene Moss Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 3 à 6 ans Si le jeu, c'est le travail des enfants, cette éducatrice est leur maître d'œuvre : elle transforme chaque rencontre en une leçon et a un talent naturel pour tisser des liens et puiser dans les ressources.
Ontario Certificat d'honneur Ottawa Osgoode Acorn Early Learning Centre Joanne Saunders Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 18 mois à 10 ans Innovatrice et possédant de grandes qualités humaines, cette éducatrice aide les élèves à sauver une tortue, rédige des livres et organise des activités de financement.
Ontario Certificat d'excellence Ottawa Almonte Algonquin College Early Learning Centre Lisa Lamarre Centre de démonstration et d'apprentissage de jour à plein temps Passer de la parole aux actes : comptant des années d'expérience dans des situations où les défis sont nombreux, l'éducatrice exploite de manière transparente un programme de démonstration incroyablement respecté dans la collectivité ottavienne.
Île-du-Prince-Édouard Certificat d'excellence Charlottetown Charlottetown Little Wonders Child Care Centre Elizabeth Jeffery Centre de services de garde pour enfants âgés de 0 à 5 ans L'éducatrice semble percevoir les milliers de possibilités d'apprentissage présentes dans tout matériaux, objet ou situation et crée un environnement où les élèves se sentent motivés à réfléchir autrement, à repousser les limites et à faire mieux.
Québec Certificat d'excellence Montréal Laval McGill Childcare Centre Lisa Gallagher Centre de services de garde pour les enfants âgés de 4 mois à 5 ans À l'aise sous la pression : cette directrice générale d'un centre de services de garde presque condamné à fermer est toujours à l'écoute des autres et vous fait sentir comme si vous étiez la personne la plus importante au monde.
Saskatchewan Certificat d'excellence Canora Canora Canora Junior Elementary School Christine Danyluk École élémentaire de la prématernelle à la 4e année L'éducatrice crée un monde coloré qui se transforme doucement au gré des saisons, où les enfants ont d'infinies possibilités d'être des explorateurs créatifs.
Saskatchewan Certificat d'honneur Regina Regina Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology (SIAST) Children's Day Care Centre Melanie Bacon Centre de la petite enfance pour enfants âgés de 18 mois à 5 ans Par ici les dégâts! Cette éducatrice laisse les enfants se salir et table sur le concept selon lequel le jeu et l'exploration sont essentiels au développement de l'enfant.
Date de modification :