Patricia Furman - Robertson Early Enrichment Program

Year: 2017 – Province: Manitoba

Transcript—Patricia Furman Video

[Patricia Furman speaks to camera, with the Parliament buildings as a backdrop behind her]

[Photos of Patricia and her students are displayed on screen throughout her interview]

[Upbeat music plays softly in the background]

My name is Pat Furman, and I'm the Executive Director to Robertson Early Enrichment Program.

[Text on screen: Patricia Furman, Manitoba]

I wanted to become an early childhood educator because I have always had a love for children, ever since I could remember. Often directors say that we kind of stumble upon this field. I don't think many of us grow up and think we're going to be a director of a child care program one day. But I think it's the love of learning and the love for children that really inspires us and lead us down this path.

My presentation was about the Reggio Emelia philosophy and how we incorporate some of those core principles into our daily work with our children, families, and fellow educators. We've incorporated many different types of best practices into both of my sites. I think building on that sense of community has been something very important. My original site is located in a school, so building those partnerships within the school, the community at large, the other administrative staff has always been something that's very important. My new site is located in Specialized Services for Children and Youth, otherwise known as SSCY, where I co-locate with 14 other organizations which all in some capacity work with children with additional support needs.

[Video footage of Pat receiving her award from Justin Trudeau is intercut]

I was just so honoured to be nominated. I wish my team could all be here. I have 40 educators between both my sites.

If I had one piece of advice for aspiring educator, it would be to follow your passion. Do what you love to do, and try to make a career out of it.

Student 1: Congratulations, Pat, for your award.

Student 2: Good job.

[Canada wordmark]

[Music ends]

Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Patricia Furman

Robertson Early Enrichment Program
1155 Notre Dame Avenue
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3E 3G1

Telephone: 204-258-6800
Email: pfurman@robertsoneep.ca
Website: www.robertsoneep.ca

Type of setting: Child care setting, children aged 12 weeks to 12 years

Patricia Furman has dedicated her career to working with children with special needs. Love and passion fuel her drive to build innovative and inclusive programs that benefit the child, their families and their peers.

Philosophy of care

With an extensive background working with children with special needs, Furman fosters a strong inclusion philosophy throughout her programming. She works cooperatively with families and the community to "learn and grow together".

Support of child development

  • Works and consults with physiotherapists, occupational therapists, speech and language pathologists to help develop curriculum for each individual child to build cognitive, language and motor skills.
  • Has obtained close to $100,000 in grants from various funders that have been used for inclusion supports, art and literacy, nutritional food programs and projects like the Reading and Creating with Illustrators Project.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Developed the Reading and Creating with Illustrators Project that partnered students with illustrators to study books, included field trips to the art gallery, fringe festival and library. Students participated in Claymation and puppet-making workshops, and had their work displayed at an art show.
  • Furman's business proposal was selected to co-locate her childcare centre to a new specialized facility that enables organizations to work together and includes a child rehabilitation centre, a family services department and a child development clinic, among others.

Rave reviews

Pat is very involved in our community. She encourages parents' participation and plays a part in organizing meetings where parents, children and educators come together as a family."

Colleague

"Pat has a very real love and passion for what she does. (…) She strives to reach out and work in community areas that have challenges and build connections with children and families."

Nominator and former colleague
Date modified:

Patricia Furman - Robertson Early Enrichment Program

Année : 2017 – Province : Manitoba

Transcription—Patricia Furman - Vidéo

[Patricia Furman parle, face à la caméra; en arrière-plan : les édifices du Parlement.]

[Photos de Patricia et de ses étudiants apparaissent à l'écran tout au long de l'entrevue.]

[Fond de musique entraînante en sourdines.]

Je m'appelle Pat Furman, et je suis la directrice administrative du programme Robertson d'éveil précoce.

[Texte à l'écran : Pat Furman, Manitoba]

Je voulais devenir une éducatrice de la petite enfance, car j'ai toujours aimé les enfants. Les directeurs disent souvent qu'on arrive par accident dans ce domaine. Je ne crois pas qu'un grand nombre d'entre nous planifie faire carrière en tant que directeur de garderie. Mais c'est la passion de l'apprentissage et l'amour des enfants qui nous inspirent et nous incitent à suivre cette voie.

Ma présentation a porté sur l'approche pédagogique Reggio Emelia et sur la façon dont nous intégrons certains de ses principes à notre travail au quotidien avec les enfants, les familles et les éducateurs. Nous avons adopté de nombreuses pratiques exemplaires aux deux garderies. Je crois que le fait de miser sur l'esprit communautaire a joué un rôle très important. Ma première garderie se trouve dans une école. C'est pourquoi nos partenariats avec l'école, la communauté et divers administrateurs ont toujours été très importants. Ma nouvelle garderie se trouve au Centre des Services spécialisés pour enfants et jeunes, aussi appelé Centre SSCY, où se trouvent également 14 autres organismes qui offrent des services d'aide divers aux enfants qui en ont besoin.

Je suis très honorée d'avoir été nommée. J'aimerais que toute mon équipe soit ici. Au total, 40 éducateurs travaillent dans mes deux garderies.

Si je peux donner un conseil aux personnes qui aspirent à devenir éducateurs, c'est de faire confiance à votre passion. Faites ce que vous aimez faire, et faites-en une carrière.

Élève 1 : Félicitations Pat pour votre prix.

[Texte à l'écran : Félicitations pour votre prix, Pat.]

Élève 2 : Bon travail.

[Mot symbole « Canada »]

[Fin de la musique]

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'excellence

Patricia Furman

Robertson Early Enrichment Program
1155, avenue Notre Dame
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3E 3G1

Téléphone : 204-258-6800
Courriel : pfurman@robertsoneep.ca
Site Web : www.robertsoneep.ca (en anglais seulement)

Type d'établissement : Service de garde pour enfants de 12 semaines à 12 ans

Patricia Furman a consacré sa carrière à travailler avec les enfants ayant des besoins particuliers. L'amour et la passion la poussent à monter des programmes innovants et inclusifs dont bénéficient les enfants, leur famille et leurs pairs.

Philosophie de la garde

Ayant une vaste expérience du travail avec les enfants ayant des besoins particuliers, Madame Furman favorise une solide philosophie de l'inclusion tout au long de ses programmes. Elle collabore avec les familles et la collectivité pour « apprendre et s'épanouir ensemble ».

L'appui au développement de l'enfant

  • Elle travaille avec des physiothérapeutes, des ergothérapeutes, des orthophonistes et les consulte pour élaborer un curriculum pour chaque élève dans le but de bâtir des habiletés cognitives, langagières et motrices.
  • Elle a obtenu de différents bailleurs de fonds près de 100 000 $ de subventions qui ont servi à soutenir l'inclusion, les programmes d'art et d'alphabétisation et d'aliments nutritifs, et des projets comme le Projet lecture et création avec des illustrateurs.

L'engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la collectivité

  • Elle a élaboré le Projet lecture et création avec des illustrateurs qui appariait les étudiants à des illustrateurs pour étudier des livres, et comportait des excursions scolaires à la galerie d'art, au Festival Fringe et à la bibliothèque. Les étudiants participaient aux ateliers d'animation de marionnettes de pâte à modeler et de fabrication de marionnettes, et leur travail était exposé à une exposition d'art.
  • Le projet de garderie de Mme Furman a été choisi comme colocataire d'un nouvel établissement spécialisé qui permet aux organisations de travailler ensemble et comprend, entre autres, un centre de réadaptation pour enfants, des services d'aide aux familles et une clinique de développement de l'enfant.

Commentaires élogieux

« Pat est profondément engagée dans notre collectivité. Elle encourage les parents à jouer un rôle dans l'organisation des réunions pendant lesquelles les parents, les enfants et les éducateurs se rassemblent en famille. »

Un collègue

« Pat est vraiment passionnée par ce qu'elle fait. […] Elle tente de rejoindre et de travailler dans les secteurs de la collectivité qui ont des difficultés et forge des liens avec les enfants et les familles. »

Auteur d'une proposition de candidature et ancien collègue
Date de modification :