Amandine Falette-Galiussi: Playing and learning in nature

Transcription – Amandine Falette-Galiussi, 2019 Prime Minister's Award recipient

[Black screen fades up to a white background, with the following words appearing, line by line: Prime Minister's Awards. Music playing. Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right and voice over: Amandine Falette-Galiussi, La Garderie Plein Soleil, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories.]

[Fade to black and then up to photos with voice over. Photos: A group of children in coats with backpacks and toques walking on a path in the forest; A child bending over looking at his snowshoes; A group of children in coats in a circle playing in the dirt; a group of children in coats with backpacks and toques bending over as if they were all looking at something on the ground; children dressed in snowsuits in a line snowshoeing through the forest in the snow; a child in a snowsuit moving between blocks of ice; children from behind, sitting in the snow, looking at a vast landscape.]

Amandine Falette-Galiussi firmly believes in the value of outdoor physical activity to promote optimal childhood development ... even in Canada's North! She organizes many outdoor activities to teach young kids about mutual support, patience, self-confidence and respect for others and for nature. She never hesitates to use community resources to arrange visits to farms or festival sites, to see sick children, or to connect with Aboriginal Elders. With Amandine, Yellowknife children learn what's right early on!

[Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right: Amandine Falette-Galiussi, La Garderie Plein Soleil, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories. Voice over: Amandine Falette-Galiussi.]

[Fade to white, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in black.]

Year: 2019 — Territory: Northwest Territories
Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Amandine Falette-Galiussi

Daycare Plein Soleil
Daycare (10 months to 4 years)
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

"Her methods and her philosophy should be shared widely across Canada."
— Parent

After leaving France to discover the Canadian North, Amandine Falette quickly put her tireless energy to work for the Yellowknife community. Her innovative ideas, her commitment, her insatiable interest in early childhood, her leadership and her love of the outdoors make her an exceptional educator.

Philosophy of care

Amandine understands that an active child is a child who is more attentive and more open to learning. Physical activity in nature is the cornerstone of her work. She also favours a learning-through-practical problem-solving -style approach to develop the children's motor, intellectual, emotional and social skills.

Support of child development

  • Takes the children out on quasi-daily walks in the woods to give them a taste for physical activity, the outdoors and respect for nature, while teaching them about mutual support, patience and respect for others and promoting controlled risk-taking and self-confidence.
  • Develops age-appropriate themes based on the seasons or daily life, providing the children with interactive learning games related to each theme.
  • Shows initiative and creativity in organizing activities that affect many aspects of the children's lives: visiting farms, visiting sick children in the hospital, participating in cultural activities with Aboriginal Elders, etc.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Includes parent-child activities in the program for the year, such as building bird feeders from recycled materials at home and then installing them in the woods near the daycare.
  • Got the parents and the community involved in collecting toys for children in the paediatric wing of the hospital in Yellowknife to teach young children about sharing.
  • Often uses parent volunteers to accompany her group on extracurricular activities so parents can feel committed and see their children interact within the group.
Transcription – Amandine Falette-Galiussi - 2019 Prime Minister's Award for Excellence in Early Childhood Education

[Black screen fades up to medium shot of woman in interview setting against a white background. Music playing.]

"Have fun. Get messy. Get messy with the kids. Ride in the mud with the kids. Jump in the puddles with the children. Have fun with them."

[Fade to black and then up to white with close-up shot of woman, smiling, on the right side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the left: Amandine Falette-Galiussi, La Garderie Plein Soleil, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories. Voice over for a few words.]

"Always guide the children. Always show them that ..."

[La photo se transforme en vidéo d'Amandine en situation d'entrevue.]

"…we are there for them, that they are not alone—that, whatever their life, easy or difficult, we are there for them and we will always be."

[Fade to black and then back to Amandine in the interview setting.]

"Go off the beaten track. Don't stay in the yard. Go beyond it to explore the forest and the environment. In Yellowknife, we are very lucky to have such a beautiful and natural environment."

[Fade to black and then back to Amandine in the interview setting.]

"Always have this passion, because working with children requires passion. It's like a lot of work. This job, we do it with love."

[Fade to black and then back to close-up of Amandine in the interview setting.]

"Just to see all the reference letters ..."

[Fade to black and then up to photos with voice over. Photos: Amandine with Paul Thompson, Associate Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development, having received her Prime Minister's Award pin; Amandine pointing to something in a picture on screen during her presentation to fellow recipients on best practices in her centre; Amandine and two other recipients looking at drawings on a large piece of paper during a best practices session; Amandine and two other recipients looking at a book; Amandine posing with the other recipients of the Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Early Childhood Education and a Mountie on Parliament Hill.]

"I was lucky to see all the letters of reference that the parents wrote. And it is the most beautiful recognition. Just to see all those beautiful words ... these things they thought about me that I did not know. It is a gift to me ... beautiful, beautiful."

[Fade to black and then back to Amandine in the interview setting.]

"I have always wanted to work with children. Always."

[Fade to black and then up to photos with voice over. Photos: A group of children in coats with backpacks and toques in a circle bending over as if they were all looking at something on the ground; children from behind, sitting in the snow, looking at a vast landscape; a child in a snowsuit moving between blocks of ice.]

"I think the child is 100% pure, 100% innocent. It's love in its pure state. And ... I think that's why I wanted to be an educator ..."

[Fade to black and then back to medium shot of Amandine in the interview setting.]

"…and grow with children. Because, even if you are an adult, you grow with children. Children teach you so much about yourself, even things you might not be aware of ..."

[Fade to black and then back to Amandine in the interview setting.]

"Continue the adventure. Keep jumping in the puddles, even when you're in school. Keep laughing. Continue to respect the forest. Keep being who you are."

[Fade to black, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in white.]

Get in touch!

Garderie Plein Soleil
48 Taylor Road
Yellowknife, NT X1A 3X2

867-873-9570
garderiepleinsoleil@gmail.com
Facebook: @Garderie Plein Soleil

Date modified:

Amandine Falette-Galiussi : Jouer et apprendre dans la nature

Transcription – Amandine Falette-Galiussi, Lauréate du Prix du premier ministre 2019

[L'écran noir s'ouvre sur un fond blanc et les mots suivants apparaissent, ligne par ligne : Prix du premier ministre (PPM) Son de musique perceptible. Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite et voix hors champ : Amandine Falette-Galiussi, La Garderie Plein Soleil, Yellowknife (Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest).]

[Extrait en photos avec voix hors champ. Photos : Un groupe d'enfants en manteaux avec des sacs à dos et des tuques marchant sur un sentier dans la forêt; un enfant se penchant pour regarder ses raquettes; un groupe d'enfants en manteaux jouant en cercle dans la terre; un groupe d'enfants en manteaux avec des sacs à dos et des tuques se penchant pour regarder quelque chose sur le sol; des enfants vêtus d'une combinaison de neige en raquette à travers la forêt dans la neige; un enfant en combinaison de neige se déplaçant entre des blocs de glace; des enfants par derrière, assis dans la neige, regardant un vaste paysage.]

Amandine Falette-Galiussi croit fermement en la valeur de l'activité physique en nature pour le développement optimal des enfants… même dans le Grand Nord canadien ! À travers de nombreuses activités de plein air, elle apprend aux tout-petits à développer l'entraide, la patience, la confiance en soi et le respect des autres et de la nature. Elle n'hésite pas à mettre à profit les ressources de la communauté pour organiser des visites — fermes, site de festivals, enfants malades — ou établir des liens avec les aînés autochtones. Avec Amandine, les enfants de Yellowknife entrent dans la vie du bon pied !

[Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite : Amandine Falette-Galiussi, La Garderie Plein Soleil, Yellowknife (Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest). Voix hors champ : Amandine Falette-Galiussi.]

[L'écran redevient blanc, avec le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque (PCIM) du gouvernement du Canada, puis le mot-symbole Canada apparaissant en noir.]

Amandine Falette-Galiussi : Jouer et apprendre dans la nature

Année : 2019 — Territoire : Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Amandine Falette-Galiussi

La Garderie Plein Soleil
Garderie (10 mois à 4 ans)
Yellowknife (Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest)

« Ses méthodes et sa philosophie devraient être largement partagées au Canada. »
— Parent

Partie de France pour découvrir le Grand Nord canadien, Amandine Falette a vite mis son énergie inépuisable au service de la communauté de Yellowknife. Ses idées novatrices, son engagement, son intérêt insatiable pour la petite enfance, son leadership et son amour du plein air en font une éducatrice d'exception.

Philosophie de garde

Amandine a très bien compris qu'un enfant qui bouge est un enfant plus attentif et ouvert à l'apprentissage. L'activité physique en nature est au cœur de son intervention. Elle privilégie aussi un apprentissage similaire à l'approche par problèmes pratiques afin de développer les habiletés motrices, intellectuelles, émotionnelles ou sociales des enfants.

Appui au développement de l'enfant

  • La marche en forêt quasi quotidienne permet à Amandine de donner aux enfants le goût de l'activité physique, du plein air et du respect de la nature, tout en leur enseignant l'entraide, la patience et le respect des autres, et en favorisant la prise de risque contrôlée et la confiance en soi.
  • Amandine développe des thèmes adaptés à l'âge et basés sur les saisons ou le quotidien, offrant aux enfants des jeux d'apprentissage interactifs liés à chaque thème.
  • Elle fait preuve d'initiative et de créativité dans l'organisation d'activités qui touchent de nombreux aspects de la vie des enfants : visites de fermes, d'enfants malades à l'hôpital, activités culturelles avec les aînés autochtones.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la communauté

  • Amandine intègre des activités parent-enfant dans le programme de l'année, comme la construction de mangeoires pour oiseaux en matériaux recyclés construites à la maison et ensuite installées dans la forêt près de la garderie.
  • Elle a impliqué les parents et la communauté dans la collecte de jouets pour les enfants du département de pédiatrie de l'hôpital de Yellowknife afin de sensibiliser les tout-petits au partage.
  • Amandine a souvent recours à des parents bénévoles pour accompagner son groupe dans ses aventures extérieures, ce qui permet aux parents de se sentir engagés et de voir leurs enfants interagir au sein du groupe.
Transcription – Amandine Falette-Galiussi-Prix du Premier ministre- l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance

[Écran noir s'estompe vers un gros plan d'une femme en situation d'entrevue, sur fond blanc. Musique de fond.]

« Amusez-vous. Salissez-vous. Salissez-vous avec les enfants. Roulez-vous dans la boue avec les enfants. Sautez dans les flaques d'eau avec les enfants. Ayez surtout du plaisir avec eux. »

[Écran noir de transition, puis retour à l'écran blanc avec un plan moyen d'une femme souriante, à la droite de l'écran. À gauche, les mots suivants apparaissent, une ligne à la fois : Amandine Falette-Galiussi, La Garderie Plein Soleil, Yellowknife, (Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest). Voix hors-champ d'Amandine pendant l'apparition des mots.]

« Toujours guider l'enfant. Toujours lui montrer que… »

[La photo se transforme en vidéo d'Amandine en situation d'entrevue.]

« … on est là pour lui, qu'il est pas seul. Que, quel que soit ce qu'il vit, facile ou difficile, on est là pour lui et on sera toujours là pour lui. »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Amandine en situation d'entrevue.]

« Sortir des sentiers battus. Pas rester dans la cour. Aller au-delà. Explorer la forêt. Explorer notre environnement. À Yellowknife, on est très chanceux d'avoir un environnement aussi beau et aussi naturel. »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Amandine en situation d'entrevue.]

« Ayez toujours cette passion en vous. Parce que travailler avec des enfants, il faut avoir une passion en nous. C'est comme beaucoup de métier. Ce métier-là, on le fait avec amour. »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Amandine en situation d'entrevue.]

« Juste voir toutes les lettres de référence qu'on vous donne… »

[Voix hors-champs d'Amandine pendant une transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Amandine pose avec Paul Thompson, sous-ministre adjoint, Innovation, Science et Développement économique, après avoir reçu son épinglette des Prix du Premier ministre ; Amandine pointe quelque chose sur une photo à l'écran pendant sa présentation sur les pratiques exemplaires dans sa classe ; Amandine et deux autres lauréats regardent des dessins sur une grande feuille de papier pendant la séance sur les pratiques exemplaires ; Amandine et deux autres lauréates regarde un livre ; Amandine  pose avec d'autres lauréates des Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance et un membre de la GRC en tunique rouge.]

« J'ai été chanceuse de voir toutes les lettres de référence que les parents ont écrites. Et c'est la plus belle reconnaissance. Juste voir tous ces beaux mots… ces façons de penser, finalement, que je ne me rendais pas compte. C'est un de mes cadeaux, comme… magnifiques, magnifiques. »
[Écran noir de transition et retour à Amandine en situation d'entrevue.]

« J'ai toujours voulu travailler avec les enfants. Toujours. »

[Voix hors-champs d'Amandine pendant une transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Un groupe d'enfants en manteaux avec des sacs à dos et des tuques sont en rond, penchés comme s'ils regardaient tous quelque chose par terre ; des enfants de dos, assis dans la neige, regardent un vaste paysage ; une enfant en habit de neige circule entre des blocs de glace bien taillés.]

« Je pense que l'enfant, c'est 100 % pur. C'est 100 % innocent. C'est l'amour à l'état pur. Et… je trouve que c'est pour ça que j'ai voulu être éducatrice… »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Amandine en situation d'entrevue.]

« … et grandir avec les enfants. Parce que, même si vous êtes adulte, vous grandissez avec les enfants. Les enfants vous apprennent tellement sur vous, même des choses dont vous ne vous rendriez pas compte… »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Amandine en situation d'entrevue.]

« Continuez votre aventure. Continuez à sauter dans les flaques d'eau, même quand vous serez à l'école. Continuez à rire. Continuez à respecter la forêt comme vous le faites déjà. Continuez à être qui vous êtes. »

[Transition vers un écran noir avec le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada, suivi du mot-symbole Canada en blanc.]

Communiquez avec nous !

La Garderie Plein Soleil
48, chemin Taylor
Yellowknife, (Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest) X1A 3X2

867-873-9570
garderiepleinsoleil@gmail.com
Facebook : @Garderie Plein Soleil

Date de modification :