Nadia Chicoine: 20 years of action and heart

Transcription – Nadia Chicoine, 2019 Prime Minister's Award recipient

[Black screen fades up to a white background, with the following words appearing, line by line: Prime Minister's Awards. Music playing. Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right and voice over: Lexie Biegun, Lexie's Little Bears Child Care, Victoria, British Columbia.]

[Fade to black and then up to photos with voice over. Photos: Lexie lying on the grass holding a daisy, surrounded by children; Lexie walking down a path out of the forest with three young children; Lexie and a young child reading a book, with the child point to a page; Lexie and a co-worker drawing on a pad of paper; Lexie sitting in a circle with four children reading a book; Lexie smiling at a child holding a rock; Lexie with five children dressed in outdoor clothes, playing in the dirt; Lexie sitting with children at a craft table in the art studio, while the children are playing with clay; Lexie sitting with children at snack time at a round table decorated with a white tablecloth and a bonsai in the middle; Lexie walking with a line of children holding hands in the forest.]

Using the environment as a third teacher, Lexie Biegun safely nurtures the children at her Little Bears Child Care centre in the fresh air. They freely create, explore and uncover the things that matter to them. They explore the untouched forest on the four-acre property, observe wildlife, improve their gross motor skills using raw and natural materials, plant a garden, run and play in the dirt, do yoga, and even read a book or nap outdoors. Lexie also built an art studio in two of her buildings and hired an artist-in-residence to work with children in small groups on creative projects.

[Fade to black and then up white and grey screen with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the left side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the right: Lexie Biegun, Lexie's Little Bears Child Care, Victoria, British Columbia. Voice over: Lexie Biegun.]

[Fade to white, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in black.]

Year: 2019 — Province: Quebec
Certificate of Excellence Recipient

Nadia Chicoine

C.P.E. Les Frimousses de la vallée, Les Petits Dyno Denis facility
Early Childhood Centre (18 months to 5 years)
St-Denis-sur-Richelieu, Quebec

"Nadia not only prepares children for school, but for life... the happiness we see in our daughter's eyes fills our hearts with joy."
— Parents

An educator at Les Petits Dyno Denis for 20 years, Nadia Chicoine's commitment and enthusiasm have only grown with time. Nothing can stop this woman who is devoted to the wellbeing of children and to the ongoing development of her profession. She is the first teacher to have supported a multi-age group and is always eager to meet new challenges.

Philosophy of care

Nadia promotes childhood development by planning educational activities based on the needs and interests she observes in the children. She has a background in physical education, an important resource in helping to develop the motor skills of young children.

Support of child development

  • Works with the physiotherapist and the occupational therapist to implement integration plans that promote children's motor development.
  • Helped develop Activités Frimousses en forme, a guide aimed at developing children's motor skills.
  • Helped develop a sensory room to better meet the children's needs.
  • Leads "active mornings," were the children gather in the great room to engage in physical activity early in the day.

Involvement with parents, families and the community

  • Communicates goals and challenges to parents so they can work together on ways to improve their child's development.
  • Chosen to lead the Ribambelles workshops established by the Commission scolaire des Patriotes: 10 Saturday mornings, parents and children (in daycare or not) find Nadia, who prepares them for the transition to school.
  • Fosters the success of the Les bacs à lire (reading bin) project, where parents and workers can enjoy activities, tips and tricks to better control diet, exercise, emotions, etc.
Transcription – Nadia Chicoine - 2019 Prime Minister's Award recipient Excellence in Early Childhood Education

[Black screen fades up to medium shot of woman in interview setting against a white background. Music playing.]

"Every day, when I get to work, it's easy because I like working with children. They bring so much to me and and I bring a lot to them.

[Fade to black and then up to white with medium shot of woman, smiling, on the right side of the screen, with the following words appearing, line by line, on the left: Nadia Chicoine, CPE Les Frimousses de la Vallée, Installation Les Petits Dyno-Denis, St-Denis-sur-Richelieu, (Québec). Voice over for a few words.]

"For me, the main factor that contributes …"

[Fade to black and then back to Nadia in the interview setting.]

"…to the success of children, I sincerely believe it is the bond they have with the person who cares for them—someone like me—in infancy. The children who come to the centre, I get to know them based to their interests, what they like, so I can create a link—what makes them much less anxious, more available for learning, so that they spend their best days there."

[Fade to black and then up to photos with voice over. Photos: Nadia and a little girl lying on boards with wheels; Nadia reading with a puppet to a small group of children sitting on the floor.]

"As for technology in early childhood education, we use it when a child asks us a question ... 'What is a wolf?' We have a tablet computer that is easily accessible, so we can quickly show the image of a wolf, describe what the child has asked. Or, we can take photo reminders of the stations they played at that day—action shots. And, when we ask children, 'What did you do today in your activity?,' if they reply, 'I don't know,' showing them the photo on the tablet helps improve communication. It goes much better after that."

[Fade to black and then up to photos with voice over. Photos: The recipients of the Prime Minister's Awards in front of the Canada Science and Technology Museum; Nadia with Paul Thompson, Associate Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development, after receiving her Prime Minister's Award pin; Nadia speaking while holding a dragon puppet in one hand during her presentation to fellow recipients on best practices in her centre; Nadia and two other recipients listen to another recipient's presentation; Nadia posing with the other recipients of the Prime Minister's Awards for Excellence in Early Childhood Education and a Mountie on Parliament Hill.]

"The relationship with people is one of the most important things about my choice of career. The world of children fascinates me. I love them very much. I want to take them further, because they are the adults of tomorrow."

[Fade to black and then back to  close-up of Nadia in the interview setting.]

"I love them all, and I really hope to have made a difference in their lives, that I'm still a resource person for them if they ever need to come and see me. I've been doing this for 20 years, so I've seen a lot of children in my centre. I'm always happy to see them again, and I hope I had an impact on them."

[Fade to black, with the Government of Canada FIP and then the Canada Wordmark appearing in white.]

Get in touch!

C.P.E. Les Frimousses de la vallée, Les Petits Dyno Denis facility
276, College
St-Denis-sur-Richelieu, QC J0H 1K0

450-787-3513 frimousses@cpelesfrimousses.com
www.cpelesfrimousses.com
Facebook: @CPE Les Frimousses de la Vallée

Date modified:

Nadia Chicoine : 20 ans d'action et de cœur

Transcription – Nadia Chicoine, Lauréate du Prix du premier ministre 2019

[L'écran noir s'ouvre sur un fond blanc et les mots suivants apparaissent, ligne par ligne : Prix du premier ministre (PPM) Son de musique perceptible. Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite et voix hors champ : Nadia Chicoine, Centre de la petite enfance Les Frimousses de la Vallée, installation Les Petits Dyno-Denis, St-Denis-sur-Richelieu (Québec).]

[Extrait en photos avec voix hors champ. Photos : Nadia posant devant la garderie; Nadia et une petite fille allongée sur des planches à roulettes; Nadia lance un ballon d'un côté et de l'autre avec deux jeunes enfants; Nadia s'asseyant à une table avec un collègue; Nadia lisant avec un jeune garçon; Nadia lisant avec une marionnette à un petit groupe d'enfants assis par terre Nadia serrant un jeune garçon dans ses bras; Nadia aidant un jeune garçon à laver ses mains dans le lavabo; Nadia fait une collation de fruits avec deux jeunes garçons; Nadia et de jeunes enfants assis par terre souriant.]

Avec ses 20 ans d'expérience, Nadia Chicoine est un pilier du Centre de la petite enfance Les Petits Dyno-Denis et continue inlassablement à s'engager dans de nombreuses initiatives auprès des enfants et de leurs familles. Elle a ainsi mis en place un programme d'activités motrices et elle anime des ateliers de transition vers l'école, les samedis, auprès des enfants et des parents. Nadia fait toujours preuve de la même passion pour son métier et du même désir de voir ses petits protégés atteindre leur plein potentiel.

[Transition vers un écran blanc et gris, avec un plan moyen de la femme, souriante, sur le côté gauche de l'écran, avec les mots suivants apparaissant, ligne par ligne, à droite : Nadia Chicoine, Centre de la petite enfance Les Frimousses de la Vallée, installation Les Petits Dyno-Denis, St-Denis-sur-Richelieu (Québec). Voix hors champ : Nadia Chicoine.]

[L'écran redevient blanc, avec le Programme de coordination de l'image de marque (PCIM) du gouvernement du Canada, puis le mot-symbole Canada apparaissant en noir.]

Année : 2019 — Province : Québec
Lauréate d'un Certificat d'excellence

Nadia Chicoine

Centre de la petite enfance Les Frimousses de la Vallée, installation Les Petits Dyno-Denis
Centre de la petite enfance (18 mois à 5 ans)
St-Denis-sur-Richelieu (Québec)

« Nadia prépare les enfants à l'école, mais aussi à la vie… le bonheur dans les yeux de notre fille remplit notre cœur de parents. »
— Parents

Éducatrice aux Petits Dyno-Denis depuis 20 ans, l'engagement et l'enthousiasme de Nadia Chicoine ne se sont pas taris au fil du temps. Rien n'arrête cette femme dévouée au mieux-être des enfants et à l'évolution continue de sa profession. Première éducatrice à prendre en charge un groupe multiâge, elle est toujours prête à relever de nouveaux défis.

Philosophie de garde

Nadia contribue au développement des enfants en planifiant des actions éducatives basées sur les besoins et intérêts qu'elle observe chez eux. Formée en éducation physique, elle est une ressource importante dans le développement moteur des tout-petits.

Appui au développement de l'enfant

  • Nadia collabore avec la physiothérapeute et l'ergothérapeute à l'application de plans d'intégration qui font évoluer les enfants sur le plan moteur.
  • Elle a participé à l'élaboration du guide d'Activités Frimousses en forme, qui permet de développer la motricité globale des enfants.
  • Elle a travaillé à l'aménagement d'une salle sensorielle pour mieux répondre aux besoins des enfants.
  • Nadia est maître d'œuvre des matins actifs qui permettent à tous les enfants, rassembler dans la grande salle, de bouger dès le début de la journée.

Engagement auprès des parents, des familles et de la communauté

  • Nadia communique les objectifs et défis aux parents afin de collaborer pour trouver des moyens de faire évoluer les enfants dans leur développement.
  • Elle a été choisie pour animer les ateliers Ribambelles, mis sur pied par la Commission scolaire des Patriotes : 10 samedis matin, parents et enfants (en service de garde ou non) retrouvent Nadia qui les prépare à la transition vers l'école.
  • Nadia collabore au projet de réussite éducative Les bacs à lire qui permettent aux parents et intervenants de découvrir des activités, trucs et astuces pour mieux gérer l'alimentation, l'exercice physique, le contrôle des émotions, etc.
Transcription – Nadia Chicoine - Prix du Premier ministre 2019 pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance

[Écran noir s'estompe vers un gros plan d'une femme en situation d'entrevue, sur fond blanc. Musique de fond.]

« Chaque jour, quand je rentre travailler, moi c'est… c'est facile pour moi parce que j'aime travailler avec eux, puis ils m'apportent à moi puis je leur apporte beaucoup à eux, ça fait que… »

[Écran noir de transition, puis retour à l'écran blanc avec un plan moyen d'une femme souriante, à la droite de l'écran. À gauche, les mots suivants apparaissent, une ligne à la fois : Nadia Chicoine, CPE Les Frimousses de la Vallée, Installation Les Petits Dyno-Denis, St-Denis-sur-Richelieu, (Québec). Voix hors-champ de Nadia pendant l'apparition des derniers mots.]

« Pour moi, le facteur principal qui contribue… »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Nadia en situation d'entrevue.]

« … au succès de l'enfant, je crois sincèrement que c'est le lien d'attachement qu'il a avec la personne qui s'occupe lui, comme moi, en petite enfance. Les enfants qui arrivent, j'apprends à les connaître selon leurs intérêts, ce qu'ils aiment, pour être capable de créer un lien. Ce qui fait en eux qu'ils sont beaucoup moins anxieux, plus disponibles pour l'apprentissage, qu'ils passent des meilleures journées. »

[Voix hors-champs de Nadia pendant une transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Nadia et une petite fille couchées sur des planches sur roulettes ; Nadia fait la lecture avec une marionnette à un petit groupe d'enfants assis par terre.]

« Au niveau de la technologie, en petite enfance, on l'utilise quand un enfant nous pose une question… 'Qu'est-ce qu'un loup ?', exemple. Un loup, bien on a la tablette qui est facilement accessible, puis on peut montrer rapidement l'image d'un loup, décrire ce que l'enfant nous demande avec cet outil-là, puis eh… Ou faire des retours d'atelier, aussi. C'est intéressant de les prendre en photo en action. Et quand l'enfant on lui demande 'Qu'est-ce que tu as fait aujourd'hui dans ton activité ?', puis qu'il nous répond 'Je le sais pas.', bien avec la prise de photo, on lui montre sur la tablette, puis là, on dirait qu'au niveau de la communication, ça va beaucoup mieux par la suite. »

[Voix hors-champs de Nadia pendant une transition vers une série de photos, comme suit : Le groupe des lauréates et lauréats des Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence en enseignement devant le Musée des sciences et de la technologie du Canada ; Nadia pose avec Paul Thompson, sous-ministre adjoint, Innovation, Science et Développement économique, après avoir reçu son épinglette des Prix du Premier ministre ; Nadia parle en tenant une marionnette dragon dans une main pendant sa présentation sur les pratiques exemplaires dans sa classe ; Nadia et deux autres lauréats écoutent la présentation d'un collègue ; Nadia pose avec d'autres lauréates des Prix du Premier ministre pour l'excellence en éducation de la petite enfance et un membre de la GRC en tunique rouge.]

« La relation avec les humains, pour moi, c'est une de mes priorités dans mes choix de travail, et puis le monde des enfants me fascine beaucoup, je les aime beaucoup. J'ai le désir de les amener plus loin parce que c'est nos adultes de demain. »

[Écran noir de transition et retour à Nadia en situation d'entrevue.]

« Je les aime tous, puis j'espère vraiment avoir fait une différence dans leur vie, puis que je suis toujours pour eux une personne de référence si jamais ils ont besoin de venir me voir… Ça fait toujours bien 20 ans que je fais ça, donc j'en ai vu beaucoup passer dans mon CPE, puis je suis toujours contente de les revoir, puis j'espère que je les ai marqués. »

[Transition vers un écran noir avec le PCIM du gouvernement du Canada, suivi du mot-symbole Canada en blanc.]

Communiquez avec nous !

Centre de la petite enfance Les Frimousses de la Vallée, installation Les Petits Dyno-Denis
276, du Collège
St-Denis-sur-Richelieu, (Québec) J0H 1K0

450-787-3513 frimousses@cpelesfrimousses.com
www.cpelesfrimousses.com
Facebook : @CPE Les Frimousses de la Vallée

Date de modification :