Language selection

Search

2020 Recipients – Teaching Excellence

Certificate of Excellence

Alberta

Maureen Kelly-Gibson

Maureen Kelly-Gibson

Students with learning disabilities who are struggling to learn in the regular public system—and are often two or three grade levels behind—thrive as a result of this veteran teacher's care and commitment. She put the relationships she builds with her students and colleagues at the centre of everything she does.

British Columbia

Debbie Mar

Debbie Mar

A gift of 75 tulip bulbs led children to an in-depth study of Canada's Second World War link to Holland. Hands-on projects bring other aspects of real-world learning into the classroom, including studying the life cycle and the scientific method by raising salmon in the classroom—all to change young lives and teach them that they can make a difference.

Manitoba

Robert Esposito

Robert Esposito

With more than 15 years of experience in the information technology sector, this pioneer has been instrumental in developing the Sisler Cyber Academy, which is educating the next generation of Canada's cyber defenders. Students thrive in a learning environment that promotes cross-curricular connections, competitions to test their skills, and opportunities to lead and help others. Graduates often move into the cyber security field right after graduation.

New Brunswick

Stacey Stairs

Stacey Stairs

Through practical, relevant approaches to learning and evaluation, this optimistic and resourceful teacher seeks to maximize each individual's strengths and to support them in areas in which they need to improve. Students run a childcare centre, cook meals for the school and community, while integrating literacy and numeracy skills. Large grants support technology and extensive school breakfast and lunch programs.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Ashleigh Hudson

Ashleigh Hudson

This French-immersion teacher not only thinks outside the box, but also figures out how to make the box, why making the box is important and what else the box could be used for. This translates into multi-modal learning. Students created a scale model of a community of the future using coding, robots and 3D printing, learning about healthy eating, safety, community structure, and math concepts such as perimeter and area, too.

Northwest Territories

Kim Ivanko

Kim Ivanko

She is a grades 3 through 12 English teacher and a leader among her students and at her school. Her profound understanding of her students, her ability to listen and her constant search for new teaching methods make her an essential member of her environment. Involved in both educational projects and extra-curricular activities, she proceeds with generosity, energy and caring at the École Boréale.

Ontario

Richard Bernard

Richard Bernard

Character development, ethical decision making and global citizenship are as important to this committed educator as academic learning. Students connect deeply with the natural world and each other through photography. Classes research Louis Riel prior to reacting his trial, but without knowing the outcome. Grade 8s handle the day-to-day management of the school's breakfast and snack program.

Imran Mohamed

Imran Mohamed

Former students keep in touch with this role model and mentor, who provides all students with access to appropriate technology and engages them with hands-on solution-focused projects. Business students analyze, evaluate, interpret and synthesize industry information and then design inclusive business models. Through his Change Impacting Toronto's Youth program, students have raised more than $120,000 to address issues such as access to clean water, food insecurity and homelessness.

Neeru Sekhon

Neeru Sekhon

This beloved teacher, who was nominated by students for a Prime Minister's Award, nurtures students to be critical thinkers, exercise self-awareness and be attuned to peers' needs. Students created a stock photography platform of images of themselves and their many backgrounds and abilities. Other students, uncomfortable with the mispronunciation of their names, created an audio dictionary app with the names (and preferred pronouns) of all members of the school community.

Quebec

François-Henri Lafarge

François-Henri Lafarge

This teacher is passionate about the ICTs that are an everyday part of his teaching. Thanks to his innovative teaching methods and the many technological tools he uses, he enables his students to vary their learning methods, develop autonomy and achieve success every day on their own. A dedicated teacher, he makes sure to creates an environment that fosters success by considering the strengths and interests of each student.

Certificate of Achievement

Alberta

Michelle Haveroen

Michelle Haveroen

This inspiring educator champions her students who struggle with behavioural, attendance or learning challenges, and makes it possible for them to get a fresh start and to see a bright future for themselves. Focused on outcomes, she builds strong relationships, ensures students can access career opportunities and focuses on outcomes.

Stephanie Krammer

Stephanie Krammer

Whether she is helping a Mennonite student in rural Alberta to finish high school, a student with asthma to succeed in physical education, online psychology students to analyze Indigenous issues, or teachers in brick-and-mortar schools to embrace online learning, this educator in an online high school uses technology to build bridges.

British Columbia

Ryan Parker

Ryan Parker

With infectious enthusiasm, this active teacher models how to balance the arts, academics and sports. In his extensive filmmaking program, students gain the skills and connections—to people and jobs—to succeed (sometimes even before graduation) in Vancouver's thriving film industry. The school's drama program has expanded in popularity during his tenure, with two new teachers needed.

Dianna Rai

Dianna Rai

Sign language, movement and simple pictures—a total physical response—engage students eyes, hands and bodies as they develop oral fluency the Nisga'a language, which is nearing extinction. After-school programs, summer camps and free evening classes for high school students extend language learning beyond the class. Elders are moved to tears to hear young people speaking their language.

Robyn Robinson

Robyn Robinson

A strong believer in the importance of team spirit, this lifelong athlete has energetically nurtured a cohesive learning community at her school. She recognizes and adapts her approach so all students can succeed, supports parents so they can support their children and creates a supportive classroom atmosphere so students with learning challenges feel safe and are willing to take risks.

Carmen Woo

Carmen Woo

Students use their strengths to support others while pushing themselves out of their own comfort zones. They learn about democracy, digital literacy and Indigenous cultures in an inclusive environment. Through this teacher's French/English tutoring program, high schoolers tutor her students who, in turn, help their peers. The program also builds inter-school community.

Manitoba

Jennifer Wiebe

Jennifer Wiebe

This empathetic teacher works to engage her students—and colleagues—in local and global issues. She uses her English language arts curriculum as a springboard to explore issues of equity and fairness in society. In her required truth and reconciliation course, Grade 7s research Indigenous topics and Grade 8s complete community projects focused on the 94 Calls to Action.

New Brunswick

David Gopee Mark Noel

David Gopee, Mark Noel and Tyson Theriault

Inspired by a professional development conference, these veteran teachers completely rebuilt their classes, combined them into a student-centered humanities program just two days before the start of a new semester. Students pursue their interests, working together on projects related to global issues, and showcase products they have made and discuss local issues with members of the public.

Northwest Territories

Carolyn Matthews

Carolyn Matthews

A champion of Indigenous and French-Canadian cultures and languages, this globetrotter leads world issues discussions and social responsibility activities at her school. Students learn how to solve problems effectively, working on real-world scenarios, and engage with gaming and design challenges and other creative activities that integrate modern skills education and Indigenous traditions.

Nova Scotia

Kelly Slade

Kelly Slade

Music is a great connector for this East Coast teacher. Students focus on patterns, symbols, counting and representing, which are common to both music and math. Indigenous Elders taught students how to build a Mi'kmaq drum. Junior band members practise collaborating by forming ensembles, and critique and compliment each other on their performances.

Ontario

Tyler Boyle

Tyler Boyle

This artist and dancer immerses students in the curriculum through the arts: costumes and props engage them in history units on Egypt and New France; movie trailers build interest in math; dance parties help students learn literacy and math concepts such as fractions and angles. Through his leadership and stewardship program, students volunteer at an animal shelter, collect litter and donate money to a hospital.

Greg Chomut

Greg Chomut

This compassionate educator builds multiple bridges between his Indigenous students and the wider community, and helps those students find their voices. Their artworks were the backdrop for journalist and author Tanya Talaga's Massey Lectures. Some students become so proficient with digital tools that they earn a college credit for their work. Others perform alongside Indigenous and non-Indigenous musical acts at a large music festival their teacher founded.

James Cook

James Cook

In the equity and social justice course this inspiring teacher created, students research topics that engage them, such as climate change, pay equity, mental health and electoral reform. In weekly community-building circles, students discuss nuanced social issues, complex curriculum concepts, short stories, and values, all helping them develop empathy, communication skills and collaboration techniques. The school's Model United Nations team has won multiple awards.

Stacey Falconer

Stacey Falconer

Through her TechDudes program, this special education teach helps children with learning disabilities develop advanced executive functioning and use technology. Students can choose from more than 40 tools to make notes, access tips, share information and collaborate. They then share their successes by presenting at teachers' conferences and narrating videos about their breakthroughs. Many students reintegrate into regular classrooms or go on to post-secondary education.

Mark Gaynik

Mark Gaynik

This environmental and civics educator revamped his school's outdoor education leadership class. The full-day, full-semester, interdisciplinary program now features multiple field trips and immerses students in real-world issues. Students push their physical, mental and intellectual limits, while designing sustainable "future homes," developing an app to help a conservation centre track invasive insects and researching waste-reduction measures for a paper company.

Rachel Luke

Rachel Luke

This teacher's global experiences and connections help her help students engage with the world beyond the classroom. Students explore Shakespeare through their own poetry and modern slang, and learn about the Holocaust through virtual reality and meetings with local survivor and education groups. At-risk students benefit from clubs, guidance on financial literacy and being able to earn community service hours with the school basketball team.

Deidre Macpherson

Deidre Macpherson

This active educator's holistic sports program—which she built from scratch—focuses on learning, inclusion, mutual respect, self-improvement and enjoyment. Students learn to take risks, try new activities, develop lifelong fitness habits and study accessibility, gender diversity and equal pay. Students lead middle school teams and organize field trips. Teams succeed on the field and participation is wide, due to a policy of no try-outs, no cuts and no captains.

Jessica Neilson Jennifer Schaefer

Jessica Neilson and Jennifer Schaefer

This teaching team builds confident, digitally literate global citizens. Their students Skype with children in Yellowknife, ship a teapot to Singapore, visit seniors, fundraise for charity and collaborate with a university. Using design thinking, software and 3D printers, they designed and built prototypes for a dental mouth guard that a woman with arthritis could still use and an improved school portable.

Ginette Perreault

Ginette Perreault

Although she is near retirement, this teacher willingly took on a new challenge by changing schools and learning about the STEAM approach – Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics. In the kindergarten setting, she works with her very young pupils to equip them to deal with the demands awaiting them in their schooling. The children that go through her class develop their creativity, curiosity, technology skills and sensitivity to the major issues of our time. 

Jennifer Warren

Jennifer Warren

Believing everyone is capable of thinking deeply and creatively, this English teacher treats each class like a think tank, giving students the chance to collaborate to solve-real world problems and learn to be flexible thinkers who are willing to learn from others. At a year-long leadership camp, students plan and implement "pay it forward" activities to gain leadership experience.

Quebec

Maxime Boudreault

Maxime Boudreault

This teacher stresses the importance of forming bonds with his students in order ensure that everyone participates. The innovative activities that he puts in place provide each student the opportunity to go further and aspire to success. With discipline and humour, his teaching increases their confidence so that they are ready to go on to secondary school without difficulty.

Angela Morra

Angela Morra

By choosing to teach students presenting with learning problems or disabilities, this teacher has made it her challenge to offer each student the opportunity to succeed. Passionate about her work, she endlessly develops new tools that will enable her students to become more independent in acquiring knowledge and skills throughout their education. Involved in both the classroom and the community, she is a model of dedication and enthusiasm.

Jean-Philippe Payer

Jean-Philippe Payer

Through his innovative projects, particularly his Class-Museum, this teacher motivates both his students and the entire educational community of his school, Francophonie and even the world. His participatory teaching approach enables him to bring together as many as possible around the activities that he proposes and to expand the learning spectrum of his students in the fields of history, technology and citizenship.

Saskatchewan

Kalyn Heisler

Kalyn Heisler

Commuting 60 km each way from her home to her First Nations school for the last decade, this dedicated teacher is generous with her time and attention, and unfazed by a lack of budget, equipment and other resources. Students flock to her classes, so they can work with live animals and learn math and science concepts using chocolate bars and cookies. Her automotive technology course gives students practical, workplace skills.

Christa Walton

Christa Walton

Connecting STEM to literacy and creating a scope and sequence for technology in each grade, this leader helps students and fellow teachers harness new learning and teaching approaches to foster deeper learning for all. Multifaceted student projects focus on everything from carbon-capture technologies, learning and sharing seniors' life stories, and developing and pitching business ideas.

View all recipients

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Lauréats de 2020 – Excellence dans l’enseignement

Certificat d'excellence

Alberta

Maureen Kelly-Gibson

Maureen Kelly-Gibson

Les élèves ayant des troubles d'apprentissage, qui ont de la difficulté à apprendre au sein du système public régulier et qui ont souvent doublé plus d'une fois réussissent grâce aux soins et au dévouement de cette enseignante chevronnée. Les relations qu'elle crée avec ses élèves et ses collègues sont au cœur de tout ce qu'elle fait.

Colombie-britannique

Debbie Mar

Debbie Mar

Un cadeau de 75 tulipes a permis aux élèves d'étudier en profondeur le lien du Canada avec les Pays-Bas pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Grâce à des projets concrets, les élèves font des apprentissages sur le monde réel en salle de classe, en étudiant notamment le cycle de vie et la méthode scientifique associés à l'élevage du saumon dans leur salle de classe, ce qui permet de changer la vie des élèves et de leur enseigner qu'ils peuvent faire une différence.

Manitoba

Robert Esposito

Robert Esposito

Fort de plus de 15 ans d'expérience professionnelle dans le secteur des technologies de l'information, ce pionnier a contribué à développer la Sisler Cyber Academy, qui éduque la prochaine génération de défenseurs de la cybersécurité au Canada. Les élèves s'épanouissent dans un milieu d'apprentissage qui favorise les liens entre les disciplines, les concours pour tester leurs compétences et les occasions de diriger et d'aider les autres. Les diplômés décident souvent d'opter pour le secteur de la cybersécurité après leurs études.

Nouveau Brunswick

Stacey Stairs

Stacey Stairs

Grâce à des approches pratiques et pertinentes en matière d'apprentissage et d'évaluation, cette enseignante optimiste et débrouillarde chercher à optimiser les forces de chaque personne et à l'appuyer à des fins d'amélioration. Les élèves exploitent une garderie et cuisinent des repas pour l'école et la collectivité, tout en intégrant des compétences en littératie et en numératie. De grosses subventions permettent de mettre en œuvre des programmes technologiques et de petits déjeuners et dîners à l'école.

Ontario

Richard Bernard

Richard Bernard

Le développement de la personnalité, la prise de décisions éthiques et la citoyenneté mondiale sont aussi importants pour cet enseignant dévoué que l'apprentissage scolaire. Les élèves établissent des liens plus profonds avec le monde naturel et les autres au moyen de la photographie. Les élèves effectuent des recherches sur Louis Riel avant de réagir à son procès, mais sans en connaître l'issue. Les élèves de 8e année se chargent de la gestion quotidienne du programme de petits déjeuners et de collations.  

Imran Mohamed

Imran Mohamed

D'anciens élèves gardent encore contact avec leur modèle et mentor, qui offre à tous les élèves un accès à des technologies appropriées et les fait participer à des projets pratiques axés sur des solutions. Les élèves en commerce analysent, évaluent, interprètent et résument des renseignements de l'industrie et conçoivent ensuite des modèles d'affaires inclusifs. Grâce à au programme Change Impacting Toronto's Youth qu'il a créé, les élèves ont amassé plus de 120 000 $ pour s'attaquer à des enjeux comme l'accès à de l'eau potable, l'insécurité alimentaire et l'itinérance.

Neeru Sekhon

Neeru Sekhon

Cette enseignante adorée, dont la candidature à un prix du premier ministre a été proposée par des élèves, encourage ses élèves à penser de manière critique, à développer une conscience de soi et à être à l'écoute des besoins de leurs pairs. Les élèves ont créé une plateforme scolaire de photos d'eux-mêmes et de leurs divers milieux et habiletés. D'autres, qui ne se sentaient pas à l'aise avec la mauvaise prononciation de leur nom à l'école, ont créé une application contenant un dictionnaire audio des noms (et des pronoms à privilégier) de tous les membres de la communauté scolaire.

Québec

François-Henri Lafarge

François-Henri Lafarge

Cet enseignant est un passionné des TIC qu'il intègre quotidiennement à son enseignement. Grâce à ses méthodes pédagogiques novatrices et aux nombreux outils technologiques qu'il utilise, il permet à ses élèves de varier leurs modes d'apprentissage, de développer leur autonomie et d'accéder à des succès quotidiens à leur mesure. Enseignant dévoué, il s'assure de créer un environnement favorable à la réussite en prenant en compte les forces et les intérêts de chacun.

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

Ashleigh Hudson

Ashleigh Hudson

Pour cette enseignante en immersion française, l'enseignement ne se résume pas à sortir des sentiers battus. Il faut aussi comprendre comment se tracer un sentier, pourquoi il est important de s'en faire un et à quelles autres fins il peut être utilisé. L'apprentissage se fait donc de plusieurs façons. Les élèves créent un modèle à l'échelle d'une collectivité de l'avenir en utilisant le codage, des robots et une imprimante 3D, tout en se renseignant sur une saine alimentation, la sécurité, la structure communautaire et les concepts de mathématiques comme le périmètre et l'aire.

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Kim Ivanko

Kim Ivanko

Enseignante d'anglais de la 3e à la 12e année et leader au sein de ses élèves et de son école, sa connaissance intime des élèves, sa facilité d'écoute et sa recherche constante de nouvelles méthodes d'enseignement font d'elle une personnalité incontournable de son milieu. Engagée tant dans les projets pédagogiques que parascolaires, elle évolue avec générosité, énergie et bienveillance au sein de l'école Boréale.

Certificat d'honneur

Alberta

Michelle Haveroen

Michelle Haveroen

Cette enseignante inspirante aide les élèves qui ont des problèmes de comportement, d'absentéisme ou d'apprentissage et leur donne l'occasion de recommencer et d'envisager un brillant avenir pour eux. Axée sur les résultats, elle bâtit des relations solides et s'assure que les élèves peuvent accéder à des occasions professionnelles.

Stephanie Krammer

Stephanie Krammer

Que ce soit en aidant un élève mennonite dans un milieu rural d'Alberta à terminer ses études secondaires, un élève souffrant d'asthme à réussir son cours d'éducation physique, des élèves de psychologie en ligne à analyser des enjeux autochtones, ou des enseignants dans de véritables écoles à adopter l'apprentissage en ligne, cette enseignante dans une école secondaire en ligne se sert de la technologie pour bâtir des ponts.

Colombie-Britannique

Ryan Parker

Ryan Parker

Grâce à son enthousiasme contagieux, cet enseignant actif adopte un mode de vie qui combine les arts, les études universitaires et le sport. Dans le cadre de son important programme de production cinématographique, les élèves développent les compétences et les liens—aux gens et aux emplois—dont ils ont besoin pour réussir (parfois même avant d'obtenir leur diplôme) dans l'industrie florissante du cinéma de Vancouver. Le programme d'arts dramatiques de l'école est devenu plus populaire depuis son arrivée à l'école et deux nouveaux enseignants ont été embauchés. 

Dianna Rai

Dianna Rai

Langage des signes, mouvements et simples images, soit une réponse physique totale, font appel aux yeux, aux mains et aux corps des élèves alors qu'ils apprennent à parler la langue nisga'a, qui est en voie de disparaître. Des programmes parascolaires, des camps d'été et des cours du soir gratuits pour les élèves du secondaire permettent aux élèves d'apprendre la langue en dehors de la salle de classe. Les aînés sont émus aux larmes lorsqu'ils entendent les jeunes parler leur langue.

Robyn Robinson

Robyn Robinson

Croyant fermement à l'importance de l'esprit d'équipe, cette athlète de longue date a encouragé avec ferveur une communauté d'apprentissage unie à son école. Elle reconnaît et adapte son approche pour permettre à tous les élèves de réussir, appuie les parents pour qu'ils puissent soutenir leurs enfants et crée un milieu favorable en salle de classe pour que les élèves ayant des défis d'apprentissage se sentent en sécurité et prêts à prendre des risques.  

Carmen Woo

Carmen Woo

Les élèves utilisent leurs forces pour appuyer d'autres personnes tout en sortant de leur propre zone de confort. Ils se renseignent sur la démocratie, la littératie numérique et les cultures autochtones dans un milieu inclusif. Grâce au programme de tutorat français et anglais de cette enseignante, les élèves du secondaire offrent du tutorat à ses élèves qui, à leur tour, aident leurs pairs. Le programme contribue également à nouer des liens entre les écoles.

Manitoba

Jennifer Wiebe

Jennifer Wiebe

Cette enseignante empathique s'attache à intéresser ses élèves—et ses collègues—aux enjeux locaux et mondiaux. Elle se sert du curriculum d'anglais comme d'un tremplin pour explorer des questions d'équité et de justice dans la société. Dans son cours sur la vérité et la réconciliation, les élèves de 7e année font des recherches sur des thèmes autochtones et les élèves de 8e année réalisent des projets communautaires axés sur les 94 appels à l'action. 

Nouveau Brunswick

David Gopee Mark Noel

David Gopee, Mark Noel and Tyson Theriault

Inspirés par une conférence de perfectionnement professionnel, ces enseignants d'expérience ont complètement rebâti leurs salles de classe et les ont combinées en un programme d'études sociales centré sur les élèves seulement deux jours avant le début du nouveau semestre. Les élèves suivent leurs intérêts, travaillent ensemble sur des projets liés aux enjeux mondiaux, montrent des produits qu'ils ont fabriqués et discutent d'enjeux locaux avec des membres du public. 

Nouvelle-Écosse

Kelly Slade

Kelly Slade

Pour cette enseignante des Maritimes, la musique est un bon moyen de créer des liens. Les élèves se concentrent sur les motifs, les symboles, le calcul et la représentation, qui sont communs à la musique et aux mathématiques. Des aînés autochtones ont enseigné aux élèves comment fabriquer un tambour mi'kmaq. Les membres de l'orchestre junior mettent en pratique la collaboration en formant des ensembles, en critiquant et en complimentant le travail de chacun.

Ontario

Tyler Boyle

Tyler Boyle

Cet artiste et danseur plonge les élèves dans le curriculum grâce aux arts : les costumes et les accessoires les initient à des unités d'histoire sur l'Égypte et la Nouvelle-France; des bandes-annonces de films suscitent l'intérêt pour les mathématiques; les danses aident les élèves à apprendre la littératie et les concepts de mathématiques comme les fractions et les angles. Dans le contexte de son programme de leadership et d'intendance, les élèves font du bénévolat à un refuge pour animaux, ramassent des détritus et versent des dons en argent à un hôpital. 

Greg Chomut

Greg Chomut

Cet enseignant compatissant bâtit plusieurs ponts entre les élèves autochtones et la communauté plus vaste et il aide ces élèves à trouver leur voix. Leurs œuvres ont servi de toile de fond pour les lectures Massey de la journaliste et autrice Tanya Talaga. Certains élèves deviennent tellement habiles avec des outils numériques qu'ils peuvent obtenir un crédit collégial pour leurs travaux. D'autres se produisent sur scène avec des artistes autochtones et non autochtones, dans un grand festival fondé par leur enseignant.

James Cook

James Cook

Dans le cours sur l'équité et la justice sociale qu'il a créé, cet enseignant inspirant permet aux élèves de choisir des sujets de recherche qui les intéressent, comme les changements climatiques, l'équité salariale, la santé mentale et la réforme électorale. Dans le contexte de cercles de renforcement de la communauté organisés chaque semaine, les élèves discutent des nuances des enjeux sociaux, des concepts complexes dans le curriculum, des récits et des valeurs, ce qui les aide à développer de l'empathie, des habiletés de communication et des techniques de collaboration. L'équipe du modèle des Nations Unies de l'école a remporté plusieurs prix.

Stacey Falconer

Stacey Falconer

Grâce à son programme TechDudes, cette enseignante d'éducation spéciale aide les enfants ayant des troubles d'apprentissage à développer des fonctions exécutives avancées et à se servir des technologies. Les élèves peuvent choisir entre plus de 40 technologies pour prendre des notes, obtenir des conseils, partager de l'information et collaborer. Elle donne aux élèves l'occasion de faire part de leurs réussites en présentant des exposés à des conférences pour enseignants et en faisant la narration de vidéos concernant leurs percées. Plusieurs élèves réintègrent des classes régulières ou poursuivent des études postsecondaires.

Mark Gaynik

Mark Gaynik

Cet enseignant d'études environnementales et civiques a modernisé le cours de leadership en plein air de l'école. Ce programme interdisciplinaire à temps plein pendant tout un semestre comprend dorénavant plusieurs sorties et plonge les élèves dans des enjeux réels. Les élèves repoussent leurs limites physiques, mentales et intellectuelles en concevant leurs « futures résidences » durables, en développant une application pour aider un centre de conservation à suivre les insectes envahissants et en effectuant des recherches sur des mesures visant à réduire les déchets pour une entreprise de papier.

Rachel Luke

Rachel Luke

Les expériences et les liens dans le monde de cette enseignante lui permettent d'aider les élèves à participer au monde au-delà de la salle de classe. Les élèves explorent Shakespeare par l'entremise de leur propre poésie et du slang moderne et se renseignent sur l'Holocauste grâce à la réalité virtuelle et à des rencontres avec des groupes locaux de survivants et de sensibilisation. Des élèves à risque participent à des clubs, reçoivent des conseils sur la littératie financière et sont en mesure d'obtenir des heures de service communautaire pour l'équipe de basketball de l'école.

Deidre Macpherson

Deidre Macpherson

Le programme holistique de sports de cette enseignante active, qu'elle a monté de toutes pièces, est axé sur l'apprentissage, l'inclusion, le respect mutuel, l'amélioration de soi et le plaisir. Les élèves apprennent à prendre des risques, essaient de nouvelles activités, développent des habitudes permanentes pour la mise en forme et étudient l'accessibilité, la diversité des genres et l'équité salariale. Les élèves dirigent des équipes d'écoles intermédiaires et organisent des voyages. Les équipes remportent les honneurs et on compte une grande participation, en raison d'une politique qui élimine les essais, les éliminations et les capitaines.

Jessica Neilson Jennifer Schaefer

Jessica Neilson and Jennifer Schaefer

Grâce à cette équipe d'enseignantes, les élèves deviennent des citoyens du monde, confiants et compétents sur le plan numérique. Les élèves communiquent par Skype avec des enfants à Yellowknife, expédient une théière à Singapour, visitent des personnes âgées, amassent des fonds pour des organismes de bienfaisance et collaborent avec une université. En utilisant le design thinking, des logiciels et des imprimantes 3D, les élèves ont conçu et produit des prototypes pour un protecteur buccal pouvant être utilisé par une femme souffrant d'arthrite et ont amélioré l'école portative.

Ginette Perreault

Ginette Perreault

Bien que sa retraite approchait, cette enseignante n'a pas hésité à relever un nouveau défi en changeant d'école et en s'initiant à l'approche MATIS—mathématiques, arts intégrés, technologie, ingénierie et sciences. En classe préparatoire, elle travaille avec ses très jeunes élèves afin de les outiller à faire face aux exigences du parcours scolaire qui les attend. Les enfants qui passent par sa classe développent leur créativité, leur curiosité, leurs habiletés technologiques et leur sensibilité aux grandes questions de notre temps.

Jennifer Warren

Jennifer Warren

Croyant que chaque personne est capable de penser de manière approfondie et créative, cette enseignante d'anglais traite chaque classe comme un organe de réflexion, en donnant aux élèves l'occasion de collaborer pour résoudre des problèmes réels et devenir des penseurs souples qui sont prêts à apprendre des autres. Dans le cadre d'un camp de leadership d'un an,  les élèves planifient et mettent en œuvre des activités de type « donner au suivant » pour acquérir une expérience de leadership.

Quebec

Maxime Boudreault

Maxime Boudreault

Cet enseignant insiste sur l'importance de tisser des liens avec les élèves afin de s'assurer de la participation de chacun. Grâce aux activités novatrices qu'il met en place, il offre à chaque élève la possibilité de se dépasser et d'aspirer à la réussite. Avec discipline et humour, son enseignement fait croître leur confiance afin qu'ils soient prêts à passer au secondaire sans difficulté.

Angela Morra

Angela Morra

En choisissant d'enseigner à des élèves présentant des difficultés ou des troubles d'apprentissage, cette enseignante s'est donné pour défi d'offrir à chacun la chance de réussir. Passionnée par son métier, elle ne cesse de mettre au point de nouveaux outils qui permettront à ses élèves de devenir plus autonomes dans l'acquisition de connaissances et de compétences tout au long de leur parcours scolaire. Engagée autant en classe, à l'école que dans la communauté, elle est un modèle de dévouement et de dynamisme.

Jean-Philippe Payer

Jean-Philippe Payer

À travers les projets novateurs qu'il met en place, particulièrement sa Classe-Musée, cet enseignant mobilise autant ses élèves que l'ensemble de la communauté scolaire de son école, de la Francophonie et même du monde. Son approche participative de la pédagogie lui permet de rassembler le plus grand nombre autour des activités qu'il propose et d'élargir le spectre des apprentissages de ses élèves, dans les domaines de l'histoire, de la technologie et de la citoyenneté.

Saskatchewan

Kalyn Heisler

Kalyn Heisler

Parcourant 60 km à l'aller et au retour pour se rendre à l'école de la Première Nation depuis une dizaine d'années, cette enseignante dévouée donne généreusement de son temps et de son attention et ne se soucie pas des insuffisances en matière de budget, d'équipement ou d'autres ressources. Les élèves inscrits à ses cours sont nombreux; ils veulent travailler avec des animaux vivants et apprendre des concepts de mathématiques et de sciences en utilisant des tablettes de chocolat et des biscuits. Son cours sur la technologie automobile permet aux élèves de développer des compétences pratiques qu'ils pourront utiliser en milieu de travail.

Christa Walton

Christa Walton

En établissant des liens entre les STIM et la littératie et en créant une portée et une séquence pour la technologie à chaque niveau scolaire, cette leader aide les élèves et les autres enseignants à exploiter de nouvelles approches en matière d'apprentissage et d'enseignement qui favorisent l'apprentissage profond pour tous. Des projets d'élèves à plusieurs facettes portent sur toutes sortes de thèmes, allant des technologies de captage de carbone, à apprendre et partager les récits de vie des personnes âgées et à développer et à proposer des idées d'entreprise.

Territoire du Nord-Ouest

Carolyn Matthews

Carolyn Matthews

Championne des cultures et langues autochtones et canadiennes-françaises, cette globe-trotter mène des discussions sur des enjeux mondiaux et organise des activités de responsabilité sociale à son école. Les élèves apprennent à résoudre efficacement des problèmes, à travailler sur des scénarios réels et à prendre part à des défis de jeu vidéo et de design ainsi qu'à d'autres activités de création qui intègrent les compétences modernes aux traditions autochtones.

Voir tous les lauréats

Date de modification :