Language selection

Search

2020 Recipients — Teaching Excellence in STEM

Certificate of Excellence

Manitoba

Jenna Forslund

Jenna Forslund

Project-based learning draws student into the sciences. Students built a 3D model of a city, while researching ways to make cities and homes sustainable, and calculated the number and size of booms needed to contain an oil spill, while developing a plan to clean it up. Girls get excited about science, taking part in a two-week summer field experience, studying arctic science on a research ship and contributing to polar bear research.

Ontario

Alexandre (Sacha) Noukhovitch

Alexandre (Sacha) Noukhovitch

This influential educator pushes students to take action and initiative, to step out of their comfort zones and risk doing things differently. All-female teams do high-level computational research. Grade 11s and 12s from marginalized communities are paired with top researchers to gain exposure to science and technology careers. First Nations youth take part in a big data inquiry and experiential summer program on climate change and its impact on water quality.

Certificate of Achievement

Alberta

Colin Christensen Krista McLean

Colin Christensen and Krista McLean

This teaching team focuses on enhancing collaboration among students and teachers at all levels. Grade 5s work together to build an arcade game that incorporates aspects of the curriculum, such as explorers, and help younger students understand and use technology. The educator duo also coaches their fellow teachers—in their school and elsewhere in the board—in the use of new technologies, such as virtual-reality hardware.

British Columbia

Derek Shrubsole

Derek Shrubsole

Inspired by his son, who is on the autism spectrum, and his own master's level studies, this teacher make his classes accessible to the widest possible range of learners and engages students not drawn to science. He supports students with a stream of notes, labs and review materials, which he uploads to the website for each of his courses. Students also work to bring salmon back to a polluted river and travel to the Netherlands to research local ecology and biology.

Manitoba

William Burton

William Burton

Students with a tenuous interest in school grow in confidence under this teacher's guidance. They intern with scientists and politicians, cook meals for 120 people, take water samples on rivers and lakes, and even self-published a book. Grade 12s studied climate change and refugees, participated in the Global Climate Strike and presented a 45-minute workshop at a conference their teacher organized.

New Brunswick

Michelle Lang Standring

Michelle Lang Standring

High school students know that by the end a course, they will be able to say "I can …" in relation to each task they've studied. They synthesize peer-reviewed journal articles and then give a talk about the research. They study symptoms to determine what sort of pathogen is causing a fictitious patient's disease, and work collaboratively to solve and open puzzle boxes.

Angela Murphy

Angela Murphy

A small town high school now has a extensive makerspace for entrepreneurial classes and project-based learning after this resourceful educator retrofitted a science lab with equipment for 3D printing, soldering, sewing, button-making, virtual reality programming, vinyl cutting, heat pressing and coding. She also secured a grant to create a school garden, with students and community members building a greenhouse, sheds, garden beds and a water catchment system.

Newfoundland and Labrador

Paul King

Paul King

Thanks to this teacher's extensive extra-curricular underwater robotics program, students have participated in provincial and national competitions. As a result, they've used the remote operated vehicle they've designed—and rebuild each year—to help retrieve aircraft wreckage, inspect dams, collect earthquake data, and study the environmental impact of oil extraction in the Gulf of Mexico and the effect of climate change on coral reefs.

Nova Scotia

Shannon Kennedy

Shannon Kennedy

Refusing to let students' idea that they're "bad at math" define them as learners, this caring educator helps them develop a growth mindset, celebrate their other skills and talents, and develop new strategies to succeed in math and other subjects. Students flock to her school's problem-solving program to work on puzzles, solve problems over lunch and take part in math competitions. Weekly emails help parents reinforce concepts at home.

Sean Merrett

Sean Merrett

Wishing to challenge students to stretch themselves, academically and personally, this teacher fosters wilderness confidence, introduces them to hydroponic gardening and is creating an advanced diploma program in silviculture and forestry management, the first in the province. He worked with a history teacher to design a sandbox archaeological dig, and also helps teachers develop their skills, knowledge and comfort level to work in natural settings.

Ontario

Leonard Aylward

Leonard Aylward

This STEM specialist helps supports students and teachers in 79 schools across an entire school board. Hundreds of students benefit from the flexible seating, whiteboard and well-stocked workshop in his high school design centre. Hundreds more learn to design, build and program robots through the Lego Robotics Challenge he leads. Teachers grow confident in their use of technology under his guidance.

Blair Fitzsimons

Blair Fitzsimons

Even without technology, this creative educator introduced the students at his small school to STEM, getting them to act as living robots and navigate a maze based on their peers' scripted commands. Next, he used LEGO bricks to teach STEM concepts. Now, children build a robotic Easter bunny and illustrate math principles with stop-motion animation. His FIRST LEGO league team created an edible plastic hay-bale twine, now patented, that solved a pollution problem.

Lise Gravelle

Lise Gravelle

Lise Gravelle imparts her passion for the STEM subjects to her students and colleagues alike. With her, everyone can develop their knowledge and live fully in our constantly changing digital world. She uses her creativity and knowledge to guide her students in experiential learning, allowing them to grow and preparing them to continue their development.

Deanna Pecaski McLennan

Deanna Pecaski McLennan

This social media-savvy teacher gets her Kindergarteners to follow up on their questions and solve problems as soon as they arise. They invented and tested fruit-fly traps to respond to a classroom infestation and built a barrier to protect a duck's nest they found in the schoolyard. She shares what she knows about working with young learners with thousands of other educators via Facebook, Twitter and her blog.

Lisa Tatum

Lisa Tatum

With her classroom walls covered with motivational posters, and discussions often starting with stories about ground-breaking scientists, mathematicians and inventors, this rock-solid educator works to build capacity and a positive mindset in all her students. In turn, they collaborate to solve the "problem of the day," take on STEM challenges such as designing an elastic-powered car or launching a bottle rocket, and enter math and robotics contests.

Natalie Vera

Natalie Vera

Putting her relationships at the centre of her teaching practice—in fact, she even co-authored a book about the topic—this educator finds out each student's strengths and learning style, and then helps them make the best learning choices. In the first science unit of the year, they receive minimal basic materials with which to build a device to clean oceans, rivers and lakes.

Quebec

Isabelle Champagne

Isabelle Champagne

Isabelle Champagne is a teacher whose contribution dazzles both in the classroom and her school, as well as in the community. Nothing is spared to make days in class exciting for the youngsters whose curiosity she encourages with every tool available. Her integrated, stimulating STEM approach is dynamic and enables the students to appropriate new knowledge and skills.

View all recipients

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Lauréats de 2020 — Excellence dans l'enseignement des STIM

Certificat d'excellence

Manitoba

Jenna Forslund

Jenna Forslund

L'apprentissage fondé sur les projets permet d'intéresser les élèves aux sciences. Les élèves ont construit des modèles en trois dimensions d'une ville tout en effectuant des recherches sur des moyens de rendre les villes et les maisons durables et écologiques. Ils ont calculé le nombre et la taille des barrages nécessaires pour contenir un déversement de pétrole, en plus d'élaborer un plan pour le nettoyer. Les filles s'intéressent à la science, en prenant notamment part à une expérience sur le terrain de deux semaines à l'été, en étudiant les sciences de l'arctique sur un navire canadien de recherche et en participant à une étude sur les ours polaires.

Ontario

Alexandre (Sacha) Noukhovitch

Alexandre (Sacha) Noukhovitch

Cet enseignant influent incite les élèves à agir et à prendre l'initiative, à sortir de leur zone de confort et à faire les choses différemment. Des équipes entièrement composées de filles effectuent des recherches informatiques de haut niveau. Des élèves de 11e et 12e année de collectivités marginalisées sont jumelés avec des chercheurs renommés pour les exposer à des carrières en sciences et technologies. Des jeunes des Premières Nations prennent part à une enquête sur les mégadonnées et à un programme estival de deux semaines axé sur les changements climatiques et leurs effets sur la qualité de l'eau.

Certificat d'honneur

Alberta

Colin Christensen Krista McLean

Colin Christensen and Krista McLean

Cette équipe d'enseignants s'attache à accroître la collaboration entre les élèves et les enseignants à tous les niveaux. Les élèves de 5e année travaillent ensemble pour construire un jeu d'arcade qui intègre des aspects du programme scolaire, comme les explorateurs, et aident les plus jeunes à comprendre et à utiliser la technologie. Le duo d'enseignants encadre également ses collègues, à l'école et dans l'ensemble du conseil scolaire, dans l'utilisation des nouvelles technologies, comme le matériel de réalité virtuelle.

Colombie-Britannique

Derek Shrubsole

Derek Shrubsole

Inspiré par son fils autiste et ses propres études à la maîtrise, cet enseignant rend ses cours accessibles au plus grand éventail possible d'apprenants et suscite l'intérêt des élèves qui ne sont pas naturellement attirés par les sciences. Il appuie les élèves avec des notes, des laboratoires et des documents de révision, qu'il télécharge dans le site Web pour chacun de ses cours. Les élèves travaillent également à ramener le saumon dans une rivière polluée et se rendent aux Pays-Bas pour effectuer des recherches sur l'écologie et la biologie locales. 

Manitoba

William Burton

William Burton

Les élèves ayant un faible intérêt pour l'école deviennent plus confiants grâce à cet enseignant. Ils font des stages avec des scientifiques et des politiciens, préparent des repas pour 120 personnes, prélèvent des échantillons d'eau de rivières et de lacs et ont publié eux-mêmes un livre. Les élèves de 12e année ont étudié les changements climatiques et les réfugiés, ont participé à la grève mondiale pour le climat et ont présenté un atelier de 45 minutes à une conférence organisée par leur enseignant. 

Nouveau-Brunswick

Michelle Lang Standring

Michelle Lang Standring

Les élèves du secondaire savent qu'à la fin du cours, ils pourront dire « Je peux… » pour ce qui est des tâches étudiées. Ils résument des articles parus dans des journaux revus par des pairs, puis donnent un exposé au sujet des  recherches. Ils étudient les symptômes pour déterminer le type de pathogène qui cause la maladie d'un patient fictif et travaillent en collaboration pour résoudre et ouvrir des boîtes d'énigmes. 

Angela Murphy

Angela Murphy

Cette école secondaire d'une petite ville possède maintenant un grand local de métiers pour les classes d'entrepreneuriat et l'apprentissage fondé sur les projets après que cette enseignante débrouillarde ait modernisé un laboratoire de sciences avec de l'équipement pour l'impression en 3D, la soudure, la couture, la fabrication de boutons, la programmation de la réalité virtuelle, la coupe de vinyle, le pressage à chaud et le codage. Elle a également obtenu une subvention pour créer un jardin à l'école; les élèves et des membres de la collectivité ont bâti une serre, des cabanons, des plates-bandes et un système de captage des eaux.

Nouvelle-Écosse

Shannon Kennedy

Shannon Kennedy

Refusant que la perception des élèves d'être « mauvais en mathématiques » les définisse comme apprenants, cette enseignante bienveillante les aide à développer un esprit de croissance, à célébrer leurs autres habiletés et talents et à développer de nouvelles stratégies pour réussir en mathématiques et dans d'autres matières. Les élèves s'inscrivent en grand nombre au programme scolaire de résolution de problèmes pour travailler sur des casse-tête, résoudre des problèmes à l'heure du dîner et participer à des concours de mathématiques. Des courriels sont envoyés toutes les semaines aux parents pour les aider à renforcer des concepts à la maison.

Sean Merrett

Sean Merrett

Désirant inciter les élèves à repousser leurs limites, à la fois sur les plans scolaire et personnel, cet enseignant favorise la confiance dans la nature, les initie au jardinage hydroponique et met au point un programme de diplôme avancé en sylviculture et en gestion des forêts, le premier du genre dans la province. Il a travaillé avec un enseignant d'histoire pour concevoir un carré de sable de fouilles archéologiques et il aide également les enseignants à développer leurs compétences, leurs connaissances et leur niveau de confort pour travailler dans des milieux naturels.

Ontario

Leonard Aylward

Leonard Aylward

Ce spécialiste des STIM aide à soutenir les élèves et les enseignants de 79 écoles dans l'ensemble du conseil scolaire. Des centaines d'élèves ont accès à divers types de places assises, des tableaux blancs ainsi qu'un atelier bien fourni dans le centre de design de l'école secondaire. Des centaines d'autres apprennent à concevoir, à fabriquer et à programmer des robots grâce au défi de robotique Lego qu'il dirige. Grâce à ses conseils, les enseignants deviennent plus à l'aise d'utiliser la technologie.

Blair Fitzsimons

Blair Fitzsimons

Même sans technologies, cet enseignant créatif a présenté les STIM aux élèves de cette petite école en leur demandant d'agir en tant que robots vivants et de s'orienter dans un labyrinthe en fonction des commandes écrites de leurs pairs.  Ensuite, il a utilisé des briques Lego pour enseigner des concepts de STIM. Maintenant, les enfants construisent un robot en forme de lapin de Pâques et illustrent des principes mathématiques au moyen de l'animation image par image. Sa première équipe de la ligue FIRST LEGO a créé une ficelle comestible pour les bottes de foin, dorénavant brevetée, qui a réglé un problème de pollution. 

Lise Gravelle

Lise Gravelle

Lise Gravelle transmet sa passion des STIM tant à ses élèves qu'à ses collègues. Avec elle, tout le monde peut développer ses connaissances et vivre pleinement dans notre monde numérique en constante transition. Elle met à profit sa créativité et son savoir pour guider ses élèves dans un apprentissage expérientiel dont ils ressortent grandis et outillés pour poursuivre leur développement.

Deanna Pecaski McLennan

Deanna Pecaski McLennan

Cette enseignante férue des médias sociaux fait en sorte que les élèves de maternelle obtiennent une réponse à leurs questions et résolvent des problèmes aussitôt qu'ils surviennent. Les élèves ont inventé et mis à l'essai des pièges de mouches à fruits afin de mettre fin à une infestation en salle de classe et ont bâti une barrière pour protéger le nid d'un canard qu'ils avaient trouvé dans la cour d'école. Elle partage ses connaissances au sujet de son travail avec les jeunes apprenants avec des milliers d'autres enseignants par l'entremise de Facebook, de Twitter et de son blogue.

Lisa Tatum

Lisa Tatum

Dans sa salle de classe dont les murs sont couverts d'affiches motivantes et où les discussions commencent souvent par des récits au sujet de scientifiques révolutionnaires, de mathématiciens et d'inventeurs, cette enseignante très compétente travaille à bâtir la capacité et à favoriser un esprit positif chez tous ses élèves. En revanche, ils collaborent pour résoudre le « problème du jour », relèvent des défis liés aux STIM comme la conception d'une auto fonctionnant au moyen d'élastiques ou le lancement d'une bouteille comme une fusée, et participent à des concours de mathématiques et de robotique. 

Natalie Vera

Natalie Vera

Plaçant les relations au cœur de sa pratique pédagogique—elle a même coécrit un manuel sur le sujet—cette enseignante détermine le type d'apprenant de l'élève et ses forces pour ensuite l'aider à faire les meilleurs choix pour favoriser son apprentissage. À la fois en salle de classe et par des activités parascolaires, elle aime apprendre à connaître ses élèves. Dans la première unité de sciences de l'année, qui portait sur la conservation énergétique, les élèves ont reçu des matériaux de base en quantité minimale pour concevoir un appareil visant à nettoyer les océans, les rivières, les ruisseaux et les lacs.

Québec

Isabelle Champagne

Isabelle Champagne

Isabelle Champagne est une enseignante dont la contribution éblouit tant en salle de classe que dans son école et dans sa communauté. Rien n'est épargné pour rendre les journées en classe excitante pour les jeunes qu'elle encourage à développer leur curiosité en faisant appel à tous les outils disponibles. Son approche des STIM est dynamique et permet aux élèves de s'approprier de nouvelles connaissances et compétences de façon intégrée et stimulante.

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Paul King

Paul King

Grâce au vaste programme parascolaire sur la robotique sous-marine de cet enseignant, les élèves ont participé à des concours aux niveaux provincial et national. Par conséquent, ils ont utilisé les engins télécommandés qu'ils ont conçus—et qu'ils construisent de nouveau chaque année—pour les aider à récupérer des débris d'avion, à inspecter des barrages, à recueillir des données sur les tremblements de terre et à étudier les effets environnementaux de l'extraction de pétrole dans le golfe du Mexique et les effets des changements climatiques sur les barrières de coraux. 

Voir tous les lauréats

Date de modification :