Archived—Angela Coldwell

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2008 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: Vegreville Composite High School
PO Box 1348
6426-55 Avenue
Vegreville Alberta
T9C 1S5

Principal: Roy Mills
School Telephone: 780-632-3341
School Fax: 780-632-3533
School Website: www.vegcomp.ca
Subjects and Grades Taught: Chemistry, forensics and physics in Grades 11 and 12

Teaching Approach:

  • Create lessons that involve students in their learning by presenting the curriculum in interesting and stimulating formats. When students are engaged in their learning, they place more value on what is taught and become higher achievers.
  • Use impromptu games and popular culture to explain abstract concepts. How much force is required to break the bonds in a game of Red Rover? Considering a different kind of "Bond," could the shark in You Only Live Twice really have followed its victim's blood spill the way it does in the movie?

Outstanding Achievements:

  • Arranges for police officers and firefighters to visit her forensics classroom to discuss their responsibilities and the technology they use to do their job. Similarly, university professors visit her physics class to do science demonstrations.
  • Her students outperform provincial standards at both the acceptable standard (a course mark of 50 percent or higher) and at the standard of excellence (a course mark of 80 percent or higher). In 2005-2006, more than half the students who completed Chemistry 30 achieved the standard of excellence. Her physics students also consistently perform above the provincial standard.

Rave Reviews:

"I would like to thank you for all your help through high school. You made a big difference in my schooling." Student

"Students respond very positively to Angela's kind and caring personality. They recognize that she has high standards for their achievements and they respond accordingly." Former Principal

Archivé — Angela Coldwell

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2008 – Province : Alberta

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : Vegreville Composite High School CP 1348
6426, 55e Avenue
Vegreville (Alberta)
T9C 1S5

Directeur : Roy Mills
Téléphone de l'école : 780-632-3341
Télécopieur de l'école : 780-632-3533
Site Web de l'école : www.vegcomp.ca
Années et matières : Chimie, médecine légale et physique à la 11e et 12e année

Méthode d'enseignement
  • Elle conçoit ses cours de manière à faire participer les élèves à leur apprentissage en présentant les matières de façons intéressantes et stimulantes. Les élèves qui s'engagent à apprendre attribuent plus de valeur à ce qu'on leur enseigne et réussissent mieux dans la vie.
  • Elle explique les notions abstraites en organisant de petits jeux et en évoquant des faits de culture populaire. En jouant à Red Rover dans la cour d'école, quelle force faut il pour briser un lien? Si l'on pense à un autre type de Bond ("lien", en anglais), est ce que le requin du film de James Bond On ne vit que deux fois aurait vraiment pu suivre l'épanchement de sang de sa victime comme on le prétend dans le film?

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • Elle invite des agents de police et des pompiers dans sa classe pour parler de leurs responsabilités et de la technologie dont ils se servent au travail. Elle invite aussi des professeurs d'université à venir faire des démonstrations scientifiques aux élèves de son cours de physique.
  • Ses élèves dépassent non seulement les normes provinciales acceptables (note de cours de 50 p. 100 ou plus), mais aussi les normes d'excellence (note de cours de 80 p. 100 ou plus). En 2005-2006, plus de la moitié des élèves qui ont réussi le cours de chimie 30 ont atteint la norme d'excellence. Ses élèves en physique dépassent aussi régulièrement la norme provinciale.

Commentaires élogieux :

"Je vous remercie de m'avoir tant aidé tout au long du secondaire. Vous avez transformé mon cheminement scolaire." Élève

"Les élèves aiment beaucoup Angela, qui est gentille et empreinte de compassion. Ils comprennent qu'elle attend beaucoup d'eux, et ils s'efforcent de la satisfaire." Ancien directeur de l'école