Archived—Cheryl Hickey

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2008 – Province: Alberta

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: St. Gabriel School
585 Signal Road
Fort McMurray Alberta
T9H 4V3

Principal: Virgilio Espejo
School Telephone: 780-799-5745
School Fax: 780-799-5749
School Email: kirby.coleen@ic.gc.ca
School Website: www.fmcsd.ab.ca/stgabriel
Subjects and Grades Taught: Grade 6

Teaching Approach:

  • Every student can and will learn. "Both in the classroom and on the playground, Mrs. Hickey constantly encourages children to think about what they are doing and to consider how they might improve it."
  • Every visitor presents a teachable moment, whether the visitor is a high school graduate paying a return visit or a parent coming to volunteer. The guest is treated as a special person from whom the students can learn something.

Outstanding Achievements:

  • Encourages students to enter writing contests, many of which her students have won. Examples include a Remembrance Day writing contest organized by a local veteran, the Knights of Columbus "Keeping Christ in Christmas" contest, the Staples Writing Competition and the Young Authors' Writing Contest.
  • Organized events such as the Halloween Penny Arcade and Candy Cane-deer that allow students to show entrepreneurial spirit through creative projects and to sell the products they create.

Rave Reviews:

"She is a kind and caring teacher who will go the extra mile to help her students succeed. She treats students equally and brings her own life experiences into the classroom to help her students solve their everyday problems." Parent

"She believes that everyone should have a good education no matter what the circumstances. Mrs. Hickey gives everyone an equal chance." Student

Archivé — Cheryl Hickey

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2008 – Province : Alberta

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : St. Gabriel School
585, chemin Signal
Fort McMurray (Alberta)
T9H 4V3

Directeur : Virgilio Espejo
Téléphone de l'école : 780-799-5745
Télécopieur de l'école : 780-799-5749
Courriel de l'école : kirby.coleen@ic.gc.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.fmcsd.ab.ca/stgabriel
Années et matières : 6e année

Méthode d'enseignement
  • Tous les élèves peuvent apprendre, sans exception. "En classe comme dans la cour d'école, Madame Hickey encourage constamment les enfants à penser à ce qu'ils font et à trouver comment améliorer leur façon de faire."
  • Tous les visiteurs peuvent enseigner quelque chose, qu'il s'agisse d'un diplômé du secondaire qui vient dire bonjour à son ancienne prof, ou d'un parent bénévole. Elle traite ces invités comme des personnes particulièrement douées : les élèves peuvent apprendre quelque chose de ces visiteurs.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • Elle encourage ses élèves à se mesurer à des concours de rédaction : ses élèves en ont gagné un grand nombre. Par exemple, il y a eu un concours de rédaction sur le Jour du souvenir qu'avait organisé un ancien combattant de l'endroit, celui des Chevaliers de Colomb intitulé Keeping Christ in Christmas (maintenir l'esprit chrétien à Noël), le concours de rédaction Stales Staples Writing Competition et le Young Authors' Writing Contest (concours de jeunes auteurs).
  • Elle a organisé des événements tels que le Halloween Penny Arcade et le Candy Cane-deer, offrant l'occasion aux élèves de démontrer leurs qualités d'entrepreneurs en mettant sur pied des projets créatifs et en vendant les produits qu'ils avaient créés.

Commentaires élogieux :

"C'est une enseignante gentille et empreinte de compassion qui fait tout son possible pour aider ses élèves à réussir. Elle traite tous ses élèves sur un pied d'égalité et présente ses propres expériences en classe pour aider ses élèves à résoudre leurs problèmes de la vie quotidienne." Parent

"Elle est convaincue que tout le monde a droit à recevoir un bon enseignement, quelles que soient les circonstances. Madame Hickey offre les mêmes chances de réussir à tous ses élèves." Élève