Archived—Eric Munshaw

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2008 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: Mount Slesse Middle School
5871 Tyson Road
Sardis, British Columbia
V2R 3N9

Principal: Dan Heisler
School Telephone: 604-824-7481
School Fax: 604-824-7328
School Website: www.slesse.ca
Subjects and Grades Taught: Technology education in Grades 7 to 9

Teaching Approach:

  • The nature of Technology Education is to introduce students to a process that will empower them to use their creativity and knowledge to solve problems. Each hands-on activity is carefully balanced with theory and research to ensure that students can complete problem-solving processes successfully and feel rewarded by their efforts.
  • Unlike most technology courses, which begin with either wood-based or metal-based construction, Mr. Munshaw immediately introduces a wide variety of materials and technologies to students.

Outstanding Achievements:

  • His students designed and manufactured a one-person electric car and took part in competitions in which their opponents were often university students. Other projects included building a solar-powered bicycle, robotic submarines, carbon dioxide powered race cars and water powered rockets.
  • From April to October 2007, Mr. Munshaw organized and then ran the British Columbia Technology Education Association Conference. He was the driving force behind the conference, recruiting the schools, organizers and supporters who made the event a success.

Rave Reviews:

"What impresses me about Mr. Munshaw, apart from his commitment to students, is his ability to challenge his students to undertake creative, challenging and worthwhile ventures." School superintendent

"His programs have been innovative and engaging for the students. Students were required to use higher-level thinking and problem-solving skills." President, Technology Education Association

Archivé — Eric Munshaw

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2008 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : Mount Slesse Middle School
5871, chemin Tyson
Sardis (Colombie-Britannique)
V2R 3N9

Directeur : Dan Heisler
Téléphone de l'école : 604-824-7481
Télécopieur de l'école : 604-824-7328
Site Web de l'école : www.slesse.ca
Années et matières : Étude de la technologie de la 7e à la 9e année

Méthode d'enseignement

  • Le cours d'Étude de la technologie vise à présenter aux élèves un processus qui les habilitera à se servir de leur créativité et de leurs connaissances pour résoudre des problèmes. Chaque activité pratique est soigneusement contrebalancée par de la théorie pour que les élèves réussissent à suivre tout le processus de résolution de problèmes et qu'ils se sentent fiers de leurs efforts.
  • À l'encontre de la plupart des cours de technologie, qui commencent par la construction d'un objet en bois ou en métal, celui de M. Munshaw commence tout de suite par la présentation d'une grande variété de matériaux et de technologies aux élèves.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • Ses élèves on conçu et fabriqué une voiture électrique pour un occupant et ont pris part à des compétitions contre, bien souvent, des étudiants universitaires. Ils ont aussi fabriqué un vélo à moteur solaire, des sous marins robotiques, des voitures de course activées au dioxyde de carbone ainsi que des fusées propulsées à l'eau.
  • D'avril à octobre 2007, M. Munshaw a organisé et dirigé le congrès de la British Columbia Technology Education Association (association de l'enseignement de la technologie de la C.-B.). Il était la force motrice du congrès en recrutant des écoles, des organisateurs et des commanditaires qui ont assuré le succès de cet événement.

Commentaires élogieux :

"Ce qui m'impressionne chez M. Munshaw, à part son engagement envers les élèves, c'est sa capacité de défier ses élèves d'entreprendre des activités créatrices, difficiles et enrichissantes." Surintendant scolaire

"Ses programmes sont novateurs et intéressent les élèves. Ceux ci étaient obligés de réfléchir intensément et de bien développer leurs aptitudes à la résolution de problèmes." Président, Technology Education Association (association de l'enseignement de la technologie)