Archived—Remigio Vicente

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2008 – Province: British Columbia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: Richmond Secondary School
7171 Minorn Boulevard
Richmond, British Columbia
V6Y 1Z3

Principal: Jim McLeod
School Telephone: 604-668-6400
School Fax: 604-668-6405
School Email: kirby.coleen@ic.gc.ca
School Website: http://rhs.sd38.ca/site
Subjects and Grades Taught: Theory of Knowledge in Grades 11 and 12

Teaching Approach:

  • The mission of the education system is to support students to the best of their ability; therefore, students should have the opportunity to become true partners in their education and be encouraged to set high goals for themselves.

Outstanding Achievements:

  • Transformed the International Baccalaureate (IB) program from an elite program to one that is open to everyone. He teaches the gateway course for IB, Theory of Knowledge, and is the program coordinator.
  • Created a disciplinary program that is "disciplinary" in the finer sense of the word. Students learn to acknowledge what they have done, take responsibility for it, take steps to atone for their actions and accept appropriate consequences.

Rave Reviews:

"For the seven years that I've had the honour of knowing Mr. Vicente, he has stood by me as a pillar of wisdom and encouragement. He teaches with an honesty that is rarely found." Former student

"Remi has been instrumental in the inception, development and success of the IB program at Richmond. The program has grown to the point that we now have about 300 students enrolled in either the Certificate or Diploma option… . Remi is well-respected within the IB community and is frequently asked to share his experience and knowledge with other schools and teachers." Principal

Archivé — Remigio Vicente

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2008 – Province : Colombie-Britannique

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : Richmond Secondary School 7171, boulevard Minorn
Richmond (Colombie-Britannique)
V6Y 1Z3

Directeur : Jim McLeod
Téléphone de l'école : 604-668-6400
Télécopieur de l'école : 604-668-6405
Courriel de l'école : kirby.coleen@ic.gc.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://rhs.sd38.ca/site
Années et matières : Théorie du savoir à la 11e et à la 12e année

Méthode d'enseignement

  • Le système d'éducation a pour mission de soutenir les élèves de la meilleure façon possible; par conséquent, les élèves devraient avoir l'occasion de participer en partenaires à leur propre instruction, et l'on devrait les encourager à se fixer des objectifs ambitieux.

Réalisations exceptionnelles :

  • Il a transformé le programme de baccalauréat international (IB) d'un programme d'élite à un programme ouvert à tous. Il enseigne le cours d'admission au baccalauréat international, Théorie du savoir, et coordonne le programme.
  • Il a créé un programme "disciplinaire" dans le meilleur sens du mot. Ses élèves apprennent à reconnaître leurs actes, à en assumer la responsabilité, à prendre des mesures pour les corriger et à en accepter les conséquences.

Commentaires élogieux :

"Au cours des sept années où j'ai eu l'honneur de connaître M. Vicente, il a été pour moi un pilier de sagesse et d'encouragement. Il enseigne avec une honnêteté rare." Ancien élève

"Remi a joué un rôle crucial pour la conception, le développement et le succès du programme IB à Richmond. Ce programme s'est développé à un tel point que maintenant, nous avons 300 élèves inscrits aux options de certificat et de diplôme … La communauté IB respecte profondément Remi et lui demande souvent de faire part de son expérience et de ses connaissances à d'autres écoles et à d'autres enseignants." Directeur de l'école