Archived—Anita Drossis

Archived Information

Archived information is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year: 2008 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

School: Vaughan Secondary School
1401 Clark Avenue West
Thornhill, Ontario
L4J 7R4

Principal: Christos Sarellas
School Telephone: 905-660-1397
School Fax: 905-660-0318
School Email: ecolenda@csap.ednet.ns.ca
School Website: www.vaughan.ss.yrdsb.edu.on.ca
Subjects and Grades Taught: Science, University Physics, AP Physics and mathematics in Grades 9, 11 and 12

Teaching Approach

  • Give students the skills they will need in university and the workforce; increasingly, this means giving them appropriate skills for working with information and communications technology.
  • Provide a blended learning environment by supplementing the classroom with extensive online resources.

Outstanding Achievements

  • In recent years, 96 percent of her students that wrote the AP Physics B exam achieved at least a level three (out of five), with 71 percent of those students achieving level four or five. Students consistently achieve in the 80th to 90th percentile in contests such as the Ontario Association of Physics Teachers Grade 11 contest, Sir Isaac Newton Contest, Canadian Association of Physics Contest and the University of Toronto Da Vinci Contest.
  • Created an online course management system with course outlines, homework, handouts, lab sheets, videos for review, discussion forums, a calendar for due dates, a glossary and a Wiki for student projects.

Rave Reviews

"Anita is a very dedicated teacher and the success of her students is paramount. In undertaking any task, she always asks, ' How will the students benefit?' As such, Anita is always willing to take that extra step and try something new." Colleague

"Mrs. Drossis' classrooms have a very competitive atmosphere, enabling us to try and do our very best." Former student

Archivé — Anita Drossis

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Année : 2008 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

École : Vaughan Secondary School 1401, avenue Clark ouest
Thornhill (Ontario)
L4J 7R4

Directeur de l'école : Christos Sarellas
Téléphone de l'école : 905-660-1397
Télécopieur de l'école : 905-660-0318
Courriel de l'école : ecolenda@csap.ednet.ns.ca
Site Web de l'école : www.vaughan.ss.yrdsb.edu.on.ca
Années et matières : Sciences, cours universitaire de physique, cours d'équivalence en physique et mathématiques à la 9e, 11e et 12e année

Méthode d'enseignement

  • Elle transmet aux élèves les compétences dont ils auront besoin à l'université et dans le milieu du travail; elle doit pour cela de plus en plus leur inculquer les compétences nécessaires pour travailler avec des technologies d'information et de communication.
  • Elle fournit un milieu d'apprentissage mixte en complétant ses cours à l'aide de multiples ressources Internet.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Ces dernières années, 96 pour cent de ses élèves se sont classés au moins au niveau trois (sur cinq) à l'examen d'équivalence en physique B, et71 de ces élèves se sont classés au niveau quatre, ou cinq. Ses élèves se placent toujours dans le 80e ou le 90e pourcentile lorsqu'ils prennent part à des concours tels que celui de l'Ontario Association of Physics Teachers pour la 11e année, le Sir Isaac Newton Contest, le concours de l'Association canadienne de physique et le concours Da Vinci de l'Université de Toronto.
  • Elle a créé un système de gestion des cours en ligne où elle affiche des résumés de cours, les devoirs, les fiches de laboratoire, des vidéos pour révision, des tribunes de discussion, un calendrier des dates de remise des devoirs, un glossaire et un Wiki pour les projets des élèves.

Commentaires élogieux

"Anita est une enseignante très dévouée. Elle se préoccupe avant toute chose de la réussite de ses élèves. Avant d'entreprendre une tâche, elle se demande toujours : 'Qu'est-ce que cela va rapporter aux élèves?' Anita est donc toujours prête à aller plus loin et à essayer quelque chose de nouveau." Collègue

"Les cours de Madame Drossis sont très compétitifs et nous poussent à nous lancer et à faire de notre mieux. Ancien élève