Eugene Jenks

Year: 2016 – Province: Northwest Territories

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Eugene Jenks

East Three Secondary School
116 Kingmingya Road
Inuvik, Northwest Territories  X0E 0T0

Principal: Deborah Reid
School telephone: 867-777-3030
School email: deborah_rei@bdec.learnnet.nt.ca
School website: http://eastthreesecondary.com/

Subjects and grades taught: English Language Arts, Northern Studies, grades 10 to 12

Eugene Jenks reaches out to students across the vast Beaufort Delta in the Northwest Territories, using technology to build rapport with individual learners and creating a sense of community among his far-flung classes.

Teaching approach

Mr. Jenks embraces the physical distance between his students as an advantage and an opportunity, supporting and enabling students to connect their learning to a sense of place and apply what they are learning in meaningful ways in those locations.

Outstanding achievements

  • Connects students in Canada's high arctic through eLearning and videoconferencing: teaches a high school Language Arts course to five classrooms at once; facilitated a debate—with excellent student participation—among students in six isolated communities, all north of 60˚; organized a performance of Macbeth with students in three locations.
  • Created a paperless classroom using the learning management system Moodle: students have access to course materials for a variety of courses no matter where they are located in the North; they get electronic feedback on assignments and may resubmit them, leading to improved performance; parents appreciate the transparency that comes from having access to the online record of communications between the teacher and their children.
  • Recognized as a leading teacher for curriculum development: designed curriculum for English Language Arts courses in use territory-wide; piloted the residential schools module of the Grade 10 student-enquiry-based Northern Studies course; member of teachers' association curriculum committee.
  • Organizes annual candlelight Remembrance Day ceremony, working with Grade 12 students outside class time to create a meaningful tribute for the whole school.

Rave reviews

"Even though he is far away in distance, Mr. Jenks does a wonderful job at keeping my parents and I informed on my grades. English is now my favourite subject."

Distance learning student

"Gene is the type of teacher with whom students want to engage, colleagues wish to emulate, and parents wish to have in their children's lives."

Superintendent of Schools
Date modified:

Eugene Jenks

Année : 2016 – Province : Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest

Lauréat d'un Certificat d'honneur

Eugene Jenks

East Three Secondary School
116, Kingmingya Road
Inuvik (Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest)  X0E 0T0

Directrice : Deborah Reid
Téléphone de l'école : 867-777-3030
Courriel de l'école : deborah_rei@bdec.learnnet.nt.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://eastthreesecondary.com/

Années et matières : Anglais et études nordiques de la 10e à la 12e année

Eugene Jenks rejoint les élèves de la vaste région de Beaufort-Delta des Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest et utilise la technologie pour tisser des liens avec chaque apprenant et créer dans ses classes éloignées un sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté.

Méthode d'enseignement

M. Jenks accueille la distance physique entre ses élèves comme un avantage et une occasion, en aidant et en habilitant les élèves à faire le lien entre leur apprentissage et l'appartenance à un lieu et à appliquer ce qu'ils apprennent de manière judicieuse dans ces lieux.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Met en contact les élèves du Grand Nord du Canada grâce à un répertoire de cours en ligne et par vidéoconférence. En effet, il donne un cours d'anglais à cinq classes simultanément. Il a animé un débat — qui a affiché un excellent taux de participation étudiante — entre des élèves de six collectivités éloignées, toutes au nord du 60e parallèle et il a organisé une prestation de Macbeth avec des élèves de trois endroits différents.
  • A crée une classe sans papier au moyen du système de gestion de l'apprentissage Moodle. Les élèves ont accès au matériel de plusieurs cours, peu importe où ils se trouvent dans le Nord. Ils reçoivent des commentaires électroniques sur leurs travaux et peuvent les resoumettre, ce qui contribue à améliorer les résultats. Les parents sont heureux de la transparence que leur confère l'accès au relevé en ligne des communications entre l'enseignant et leur enfant.
  • Est reconnu comme un maître à penser de l'élaboration du programme. Il a co-créé les cours d'anglais utilisés à l'échelle du territoire, a testé le module des pensionnats de la 10e année et le cours du programme d'études nordiques fondé sur la recherche. Il est membre du comité du programme d'études de l'association des enseignants.
  • Organise la cérémonie à la chandelle annuelle du jour du Souvenir en travaillant de concert avec des élèves de 12e année en dehors des heures de cours pour créer un hommage significatif au nom de toute l'école.

Commentaires élogieux

« Malgré la distance, M. Jenks fait un travail formidable pour nous tenir informés, mes parents et moi, de mes notes. L'anglais est devenu ma matière préférée. »

Un élève à distance

« Gene est le genre d'enseignant avec qui les élèves veulent étudier, de qui les collègues veulent s'inspirer et que les parents veulent dans la vie de leurs enfants. »

Le surintendant des écoles
Date de modification :