Natalie MacIsaac

Year: 2015 – Province: Nova Scotia

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Natalie MacIsaac

Horton High School
75 Greenwich Road South, RR#2
Wolfville, Nova Scotia  B4P 2R2

Principal: Brad Stokes
School telephone: 902-542-6060
School email: brad.stokes@avrsb.ca
School website: http://www.hortonhighschool.ca

Subjects and grades taught: English, Drama, Theatre Arts, African Heritage, grades 10 to 12

Through her natural effervescence and positive approach, Natalie MacIsaac supports and inspires an inclusive community of students and teachers, encouraging them to build their confidence and take on leadership roles.

Teaching approach

Ms. MacIsaac reaches out to students of all abilities and interests: teaching across the curriculum, incorporating dance and movement into her classes to invigorate students and offer opportunities for non-traditional assessment, and harnessing her community contacts to bring real-world perspectives into class.

Outstanding achievements

  • Produces the school's semi-annual musicals, contributing to the vibrant extra-curricular life at the school; organized student attendance at the provincial High School Drama Festival for a number of years.
  • Forges opportunities for students to grow as leaders: students work with local community theatre groups, both on stage and behind the scenes; others run the technical aspects (lighting and sound, for example) of student and community productions in the school's performance centre.
  • Coordinates the Creativity, Action, Service program to help academically gifted International Baccalaureate students balance school, fitness, rest and volunteering.
  • Developed English standardization expectations for teachers at the school, meshing them with Department of Education outcomes; was an integral member of a team that prepared and assessed the province-wide examinations for Grade 12 English; helped create the provincial African Heritage course.
  • Serves in a number of roles to support other educators: mentoring young teachers, both in teachers' college and the workforce, participating in the provincial educational drama association, being an active member of the teachers' union.

Rave reviews

"Ms. MacIsaac exemplifies the 4 E's: Enthusiastic, Energetic, Engaging and Encouraging! Always! Having her as a teacher and musical director helped me survive my high school years, and prepared me for college and life in general."

Former student

"A kind, caring individual with a wonderful sense of humour, Natalie works tirelessly for the betterment of her students, her colleagues and the school community."

Vice-Principal
Date modified:

Natalie MacIsaac

Année : 2016 – Province : Nouvelle-Écosse

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Natalie MacIsaac

Horton High School
75, Greenwich Road South, RR#2
Wolfville (Nouvelle-Écosse)  B4P 2R2

Directeur : Brad Stokes
Téléphone de l'école : 902-542-6060
Courriel de l'école : brad.stokes@avrsb.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://www.hortonhighschool.ca

Années et matières : Anglais, art dramatique, arts de la scène et patrimoine africain de la 10e à la 12e année

Grâce à son effervescence naturelle et à son attitude positive, Natalie MacIsaac soutient et inspire une communauté inclusive d'élèves et d'enseignants en les encourageant à développer leur confiance et à assumer des rôles de chefs.

Méthode d'enseignement

Mme MacIsaac s'adresse aux élèves de compétences et de centres d'intérêt différents. Elle s'inspire de tout le programme scolaire, intercale dans ses cours de la danse et du mouvement pour revigorer les élèves et offrir des occasions d'évaluation non traditionnelle et fait appel à ses contacts communautaires pour donner une dimension réelle à ses cours.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Produit les comédies musicales semestrielles de l'école qui animent la vie parascolaire trépidante de l'école. Elle a encouragé la participation des élèves au festival provincial de théâtre scolaire pendant plusieurs années.
  • Crée pour les élèves des occasions de devenir des chefs de file. Des élèves collaborent avec des groupes d'art dramatique communautaires de la région, sur scène et en coulisses, tandis que d'autres s'adonnent aux volets techniques (éclairage et son, p. ex.) de productions étudiantes et communautaires sur la scène de l'école.
  • Coordonne le programme créativité, action, service qui aide les élèves doués du baccalauréat international à conjuguer école, entraînement, repos et volontariat.
  • A développé pour les enseignants de l'école des normes concernant les attentes à l'égard de l'anglais qui reposent sur les résultats du ministère de l'Éducation. Elle a été membre à part entière d'une équipe qui a préparé et évalué les examens d'anglais provinciaux pour la 12e année et elle a participé au développement du cours provincial sur le patrimoine africain.
  • Occupe divers rôles en appui aux autres éducateurs : mentorat des jeunes enseignants, à l'institut pédagogique ou à la faculté, participation à l'association provinciale de théâtre éducatif et membre active du syndicat des enseignants.

Commentaires élogieux

« Mme  MacIsaac illustre les 4 E : enthousiaste, énergique, engageante et encourageante! En tout temps! Le fait de l'avoir eu comme enseignante et directrice musicale m'a aidée à passer au travers du secondaire et m'a préparée pour le collège et pour la vie en général. »

Une ancienne élève

« Bonne, attentionnée et armée d'un merveilleux sens de l'humour, Natalie travaille sans relâche à l'amélioration de ses élèves, de ses collègues et de la communauté scolaire. »

Le directeur adjoint
Date de modification :