Shelley Neal

Year: 2015 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Shelley Neal

Bloorview School Authority
150 Kilgour Road
Toronto, Ontario  M4G 1R8

Principal: Wendy Howes
School telephone: 416-424-3831
School email: school@hollandbloorview.ca
School website: http://www.bloorviewschool.ca

Subjects and grades taught: Teacher-librarian, Junior Kindergarten to Grade 12

Shelley Neal shares her passion for learning with young children receiving physical therapy and medical care in conjunction with their schooling, as well as students in all grades in rehabilitation following surgery or trauma.

Teaching approach

Mrs. Neal sees the children she teaches as valuable members of society with valuable gifts to offer, and strives to help each student succeed, regardless of how that success is measured. As teacher-librarian, Mrs. Neal works to creatively complement and extend what children are learning in the classroom.

Outstanding achievements

  • Champions widespread technology use: investigates and tests leading-edge hardware and software to see how it might help students with various disabilities; employs technology in the classroom to provide and enhance student access to the curriculum; trains all staff on a variety of standard and specialized software.
  • Transformed the school library from a cold and uninviting location to showcase technology to an inviting location for student-centred learning that can take place on the floor and in specially designed furniture.
  • Spearheads social outreach projects, such as Sleeping Children, providing beds for children in Africa, and garners enthusiastic participation from children facing considerable challenges themselves.
  • Designed a literacy program in collaboration with the Brain Injury Rehabilitation Team at the Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital: works weekly with students and their parents on basic writing and research skills, as part of the transition back to the regular school system.

Rave reviews

"I not only trust Shelley with my child but treasure the time she spends with him. … I trust that she will expose him to many different, interesting, and rich tasks that will hopefully foster in him the same attributes of his wonderful teacher."

Parent and Special Education Teacher

"Nothing is ever too much for her to offer to help. If a colleague speaks of a need, even in passing, you can be sure Shelley's response will be, 'How can I help? Let's make it so.'"

Nominator
Date modified:

Shelley Neal

Année : 2016 – Province : Ontario

Lauréate d'un Certificat d'honneur

Shelley Neal

Bloorview School Authority
150, chemin Kilgour
Toronto (Ontario)  M4G 1R8

Directrice : Wendy Howes
Téléphone de l'école : 416-424-3831
Courriel de l'école : school@hollandbloorview.ca
Site Web de l'école : http://www.bloorviewschool.ca

Matières et années : enseignante-bibliothécaire, de la prématernelle à la 12e année

Shelley Neal partage sa passion de l'apprentissage avec les jeunes enfants recevant des soins thérapeutiques et physiques en même temps que leur formation scolaire, ainsi qu'avec les élèves de toutes les années en réadaptation à la suite d'une chirurgie ou d'un trauma.

Méthode d'enseignement

Mme Neal considère les enfants à qui elle enseigne comme de précieux membres de la société ayant des cadeaux de grande valeur à offrir, et s'efforce d'aider tous les élèves à réussir, quelle que soit la façon dont cette réussite est mesurée. En tant qu'enseignante-bibliothécaire, Mme Neal travaille à compléter et à parfaire de façon créative ce que les enfants apprennent dans la classe.

Réalisations exceptionnelles

  • Favorise l'utilisation généralisée des technologies : examine et met à l'essai le matériel et les logiciels de pointe pour déterminer comment ils peuvent aider les élèves ayant divers handicaps; utilise les technologies dans la classe pour fournir et améliorer l'accès des élèves au programme d'études; forme tout le personnel quant à divers logiciels types et spécialisés.
  • A transformé la bibliothèque de l'école d'un lieu froid et rébarbatif pour faire connaître les technologies dans un endroit accueillant pour l'apprentissage axé sur les élèves qui peut avoir lieu par terre et à l'aide de meubles spécialement conçus.
  • Mène des projets d'initiatives sociales, notamment « Sleeping Children », la fourniture de lits à des enfants en Afrique, et obtient la participation enthousiaste d'enfants confrontés à d'importantes difficultés.
  • A conçu un programme d'alphabétisation en collaboration avec l'équipe d'intervention auprès des victimes de traumatismes crâniens du Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital : travaille chaque semaine avec des élèves et leurs parents en vue de parfaire leurs connaissances de base en écriture et en recherche, afin qu'ils puissent intégrer le système scolaire ordinaire.

Commentaires élogieux

« Non seulement je confie en toute confiance mon enfant à Shelley mais je chéris le temps qu'elle lui consacre.  … Je sais qu'elle Iui présentera de nombreuses taches riches et intéressantes qui, souhaitons-le, feront naître en lui les mêmes qualités de cette grande enseignante. »

Un parent et une enseignante spécialisée

« Il n'y a rien qui l'arrête quand vient le temps d'offrir son aide. Si un collègue mentionne un besoin, même de façon allusive, vous pouvez être assuré que la réponse de Shelley sera : Comment puis-je aider? Oui, c'est possible! »

Auteur de la mise en candidature
Date de modification :