Frequently asked questions

Here you will find answers to questions that are frequently asked by users of the Financial Performance Data. If after reading the frequently asked questions you require further assistance, please use Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada's contact us feature.


How can Financial Performance Data help my business?

Financial Performance Data can help both new and existing businesses to better understand how competing firms operate in their chosen industry.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q1
How Financial Performance Data can help new businesses?

When starting a new business, one of the most important activities you can undertake is the preparation of your business plan.

Financial Performance Data can help you to complete the financial component of your business plan by providing an accurate sense of the cost structure of similar businesses in your industry.

By examining the differences in expense categories for businesses within different revenue levels you can get a more accurate reading of expected costs for firms that match your anticipated revenue level. Furthermore, you can project how the cost structure for your business may change as your business grows and revenue levels increase.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q2
How Financial Performance Data can help existing businesses?

Business plans are not just for start-ups. Revisiting and updating your business plan frequently can help you to ensure that your business is performing optimally - staying on top changing business conditions, keeping tabs on the competition and injecting fresh ideas into your operations.

Whether you are putting together a formal business plan or seeking to make an operational decision, Financial Performance Data can provide insight on the operations of similar small and medium-sized businesses in your industry - from amounts spent in specific expense categories to the general health of the firms in operation.

Financial Performance Data also offers you the option of entering data from your business - annual revenue and expense data and assets/liabilities - which can be used to benchmark your small or medium sized business against relevant industry averages.

Benchmarking using Financial Performance Data can identify areas in which your business deviates from the relevant industry average, identifying opportunities to make changes to your cost structure that may help you to grow your business.

For example, if other businesses in your revenue quartile spend 8% of their revenue on Advertising and promotion and your business spends 4%, you may consider boosting spending for your business in this area.

No matter how you choose to use the data in the Financial Performance Data, it can provide you with needed perspective to help you steer your business in the right direction.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q3
Where does the Financial Performance Data come from?

Financial Performance Data generates reports using data created by Statistics Canada using a sample of Revenue Canada tax returns for both incorporated and unincorporated businesses operating in Canada. The reports provide selected revenue, expense, profit and balance sheet items as well as financial ratios on small business in Canada.

For the unincorporated businesses, the data from the business income statement schedules, attached to the T1 e-file tax return, are used. For the incorporated businesses operating in Canada, the balance sheet and income statements of the General Index of Financial Information (GIFI) schedules, attached to the tax return (T2), are used.

More information on the Data Sources and Methods used to create Financial Performance Data is available from Statistics Canada.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q4
What kind of data are available in the Financial Performance Data reports?

There are four distinct sections that can be displayed in the Financial Performance Data reports:

  • selected revenue/expense items;
  • balance sheet;
  • financial ratios;
  • profitable vs. non-profitable businesses.

The selected revenue/expense items include total revenue, total expenses, net profit/loss and 15 or 17 individual expense items. These data are available in two formats – as a percent of total revenue or as thousands of dollars.

The balance sheet items include total assets, total liabilities and total equities, with sub-categories for current assets and liabilities.

The financial ratios section includes up to 12 different financial ratios, including the current ratio, debt ratio and gross margin.

The profitable vs. non-profitable businesses section provides the percentage of businesses that are profitable in the selected industry. It also provides total revenue, total expenses and net profit/loss data for the profitable businesses and non-profitable businesses.

Definitions of all data items contained in Financial Performance Data reports can be found in the Glossary of Terms.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q5
How do I create a Financial Performance Data report?

The How to Use Financial Performance Data section provides illustrated step-by-step instructions on how to create a report using the Financial Performance Data interface.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q6
How can I find the right industry code for my business?

In the Financial Performance Data, industries are classified according to the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).

Within the report generation module of the Financial Performance Data, two tools exist to help you to find the NAICS code for your business if it is not already known:

A hierarchical browse list that allows you to "drill down" to the desired level

A keyword search feature

For a complete list of the NAICS codes available, Statistics Canada offers the entire NAICS 2012 classification on its website.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q7
Where can I find my company data to enter into the Financial Performance Data reports?

If your business is incorporated, the data that is requested in the Financial Performance Data reports is normally found in the balance sheet and income statement of the General Index of Financial Information (GIFI) schedules, attached to your Revenue Canada tax return (T2).

If your business is not incorporated, you can obtain the data from the business income statement schedules, attached to your T1 tax return, or from business accounting records or retained invoices and receipts.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q8
What reference years are available in Financial Performance Data?

The Financial Performance Data application only provides data for one year. You can find previous years of data on the open data website starting in 2012.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q9
How reliable are the statistics that are found in the reports?

The Data Sources and Methods page for Financial Performance Data provided by Statistics Canada provides detailed information on the sampling, editing and estimation procedures used to produce the Financial Performance Data, as well as information on the reliability of the statistics.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q10
Why are there different revenue groupings available?

Businesses earning lower levels of revenue can display very different financial characteristics than businesses earning higher levels of revenue. For this reason, the reports contain financial data for the entire revenue range as well as various groupings within that range (when these groupings are selected for display).

These groupings make up the columns of the report. All reports feature the sample of businesses as one group, the whole industry. If selected, two other grouping types can be displayed on the report. The grouping type divides the sample into four parts, the quartiles.

These groupings divide the industry into segments so that comparisons between businesses with different total annual revenue levels can be made. The revenue boundary for each grouping is indicated by the low and high values appearing at the top of each column. The last column shows the percentage of businesses in the sample that reported each expense item on their tax form.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q11
What do quartiles in Financial Performance Data reports refer to?

Quartiles

The quartiles divide all of the small and medium sized businesses that operate within the selected industry into four groups (quartiles) of the same size based on levels of revenue generated.

All of the businesses in the selected industry are ranked according to annual revenue generated.

The Bottom Quartile consists of the 25% of businesses with the lowest reported operating revenue.

The Lower Middle consists of the 25% of businesses with reported operating revenue above the cut-off for the Bottom Quartile and below the median revenue level.

The Upper Middle consists of the 25% of businesses with reported operating revenue above the median revenue level and below the cut-off for the Top Quartile.

The Top Quartile consists of the 25% of businesses with the highest reported operating revenue.

You can use the quartile that best reflects the revenue level your business generates to obtain a more relevant benchmark. Businesses with high levels of revenue can have very different cost structures than those with low levels of revenue, even within the same industry.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q12
Why is my report missing some of the sections available?

Some sections of the Financial Performance Data reports are only available for particular Business Types. The Business Type you select in the report generation process will determine which sections appear in your report.

There are four different sections that can be displayed in the Financial Performance Data reports:

selected revenue/expense items;

balance sheet items;

financial ratios; and

profitable vs. non-profitable businesses.

Different information is available from the Financial Performance Data depending upon the type of business you have selected to display: unincorporated (T1), incorporated (T2) and all businesses (T1+T2).

Because unincorporated (T1) businesses do not submit balance sheet information on their T1 tax returns, the balance sheet report section will not be displayed.

The financial ratios are generated using the revenue, expense and balance sheet data. The full set of 12 ratios is available only for the T2 businesses, since T1 businesses are not required to submit a balance sheet to Canada Revenue Agency. However, a subset of two ratios is available for both the T1 and T1+T2 breakdowns.

The profitable vs. non-profitable business comparison is only made at the all businesses (T1+T2) level. Businesses are first grouped as profitable (net profit is zero or positive) or non-profitable. The percentage of businesses that are profitable, along with total revenue, total expenses and net profit/loss for both groups, can then be shown.

The table below presents a summary of the sections available by business type selected:

Type of information
Type of Information Unincorporated (T1)Incorporated (T2)All (T1 + T2)
Selected expense YesYesYes
Balance sheet NoYesNo
Financial ratios Yes, but 2 onlyYes, allYes, but 2 only
Profitable vs. Non-Profitable businesses NoNoYes
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q13
What are the Quality indicators?

Quality indicators are available to provide data users with information on the accuracy of the published estimates. Although, as a census, estimates contained in the small business profiles are not subject to sampling error, the quality of displayed values are still subject to other factors, including imputation. Imputation is a process whereby records with missing data are assigned values based on the data of records with more complete data. This is performed in two cases, when a data point reported by a business is judged to fall outside the limits of statistically coherent values or when a business fails to itemize all or part of the required information. Imputation methods used by Statistics Canada include, but are not limited to, historical imputation, donor imputation, and generic-to-detail allocation. The quality indicators below are a measure of the amount of imputation contributing towards a given value.

Quality indicators
A Excellent
B Very Good
C Good
D Acceptable
E Use with caution
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/eng/00005.html#q14
Date modified:

Foire aux questions

Vous trouverez sur cette page des réponses aux questions que les utilisateurs Données sur la performance financière posent fréquemment. Si vous avez encore besoin d’aide après la lecture de la foire aux questions, veuillez vous reporter à la section Contactez-nous du site d'Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.


Comment Données sur la performance financière peut-il aider mon entreprise?

Données sur la performance financière peut aider autant les entreprises nouvelles que celles déjà établies à mieux connaître les activités des concurrents de leur secteur.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q1
Comment Données sur la performance financière peut-il aider les nouvelles entreprises?

L’une des étapes les plus importantes du démarrage d’une entreprise est l’élaboration d’un plan d’affaires.

Données sur la performance financière peut vous aider dans la partie financière de cette tâche en vous donnant un portrait juste de la structure de coûts d’entreprises comparables dans votre secteur.

En examinant les différences dans les éléments de dépenses d’entreprises de diverses catégories de recettes, vous aurez une meilleure idée des coûts prévisionnels de celles dont les recettes se situent dans la catégorie que vous prévoyez atteindre. De plus, vous pouvez anticiper la manière dont la structure de coûts de votre entreprise changera au fur et à mesure de sa croissance et de l’augmentation de ses recettes.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q2
Comment Données sur la performance financière peut-il aider les entreprises déjà établies?

Les plans d’affaires ne concernent pas uniquement les entreprises en démarrage. Réviser et mettre à jour fréquemment votre plan d’affaires peut vous aider à vous assurer que votre entreprise obtient le meilleur rendement possible, qu’elle se maintient en périodes de changements et qu’elle réussit à suivre la concurrence, ainsi qu’à apporter de la nouveauté dans vos activités d’exploitation.

Que vous mettiez au point un plan d’affaires officiel ou que vous vouliez prendre une décision d’ordre opérationnel, Données sur la performance financière peut vous donner un aperçu des activités de petites et moyennes entreprises semblables dans votre secteur, depuis les montants consacrés à des éléments de dépenses précis jusqu’à la situation financière des entreprises en exploitation.

Données sur la performance financière vous donne aussi la possibilité de saisir les postes de recettes, de dépenses, d’actif et de passif de votre entreprise, ce qui vous permet de comparer les chiffres de votre petite ou moyenne entreprise aux moyennes dans votre secteur.

Si vous effectuez des comparaisons au moyen sur Données sur la performance financière, vous serez en mesure de mettre le doigt sur les domaines dans lesquels votre entreprise diverge par rapport à la moyenne du secteur et de cerner les occasions d’apporter des changements dans votre structure de coûts, ce qui pourrait contribuer à la croissance de votre entreprise.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q3
D’où Données sur la performance financière proviennent-elles?

Les rapports Données sur la performance financière sont générés à partir des données que Statistique Canada a créées au moyen d’un échantillon, fourni par Revenu Canada, de déclarations de revenus d’entreprises constituées en société ou non et en exploitation au Canada.

Dans le cas des entreprises non constituées en société, Statistique Canada utilise les données de l’état des résultats joint à la déclaration de revenus T1 produites par voie électronique. Dans le cas des entreprises constituées en société en exploitation au Canada, l’organisme se sert plutôt des données de bilan et d’état des résultats de l’Index général des renseignements financiers (IGRF), jointes aux feuillets T2.

Vous trouverez davantage de renseignements sur les sources de données et les méthodes utilisées pour créer les Données sur la performance financière sur le site de Statistique Canada.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q4
Quels sont les éléments d’information contenus dans les rapports Données sur la performance financière?

Les rapports Données sur la performance financière peuvent comporter jusqu’à quatre sections différentes :

  • données sur les recettes et les dépenses;
  • bilan;
  • ratios financiers;
  • entreprises rentables c. entreprises non rentables.

La section des recettes et des dépenses comprend les recettes totales, les dépenses totales et le bénéfice net ou la perte nette, de même que 15 ou 17 postes de dépenses. Vous pouvez visualiser ces données dans deux formats différents, soit en pourcentage des recettes totales ou en milliers de dollars.

Le bilan comprend l’actif total, le passif total et l’avoir des actionnaires en valeur totale, ainsi que différents postes d’actif et de passif à court terme.

La section des ratios financiers compte jusqu’à 12 ratios différents, y compris le ratio de la liquidité générale, le ratio d’endettement passif-actif et la marge bénéficiaire brute.

La section des entreprises rentables et non rentables donne le pourcentage d’entreprises qui sont rentables pour l’industrie choisie. Vous y trouverez également les recettes totales, les dépenses totales et le bénéfice net ou la perte nette pour le groupe des entreprises rentables et pour celui des entreprises non rentables.

Vous trouverez les définitions de tous les éléments d’information contenus dans les rapports Données sur la performance financière dans la section Glossaire.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q5
Comment faut-il procéder pour créer un rapport dans Données sur la performance financière?

La section Comment utiliser Données sur la perfomance financière comporte des instructions sur les étapes à suivre pour créer un rapport au moyen dans Données sur la performance financière.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q6
Comment puis-je trouver le bon code d’industrie pour mon entreprise?

Données sur la performance financière utilise les catégories du Système de classification des industries de l’Amérique du Nord (SCIAN) pour classer les industries (secteurs).

Le module dans Données sur la performance financière qui permet de générer un rapport propose deux outils pour vous aider à trouver le code SCIAN de votre entreprise, si vous ne le connaissez pas déjà :

un menu déroulant qui vous permet de faire une recherche hiérarchique;

une fonction de recherche par mot-clé.

Si vous voulez obtenir la liste complète des codes SCIAN, rendez-vous sur le site Web de Statistique Canada, où vous trouverez le SCIAN 2012.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q7
Où puis-je trouver les données de mon entreprise pour les insérer dans les rapports dans Données sur la performance financière?

Si votre entreprise est constituée en société, les données nécessaires pour générer un rapport dans Données sur la performance financière se trouvent habituellement au bilan et à l’état des résultats de l’Index général des renseignements financiers (IGRF), joints au feuillet T2 de votre déclaration de revenus.

Si votre entreprise n’est pas constituée en société, vous trouverez les données nécessaires à l’état des résultats joint au feuillet T1 de votre déclaration de revenus, ou encore dans les registres comptables ou les factures et reçus de votre entreprise.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q8
Quelles sont les années de référence pour les rapports dans Données sur la performance financière?

Données sur la performance financière n’offre toutefois des données que pour une année. Vous pouvez trouver d'autres années de données commencant en 2012 sur le site données-ouvertes.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q9
À quel point les statistiques des rapports sont-elles sûres?

La page Sources de données et méthodes des Données sur la performance financière de Statistique Canada contient des renseignements détaillés sur les méthodes d’échantillonnage, de traitement des données et des procédures d’estimation utilisées pour produire les Données sur la performance financière, ainsi que l’information sur la fiabilité des statistiques.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q10
Pourquoi différentes catégories de recettes sont-elles accessibles?

Il se peut que les caractéristiques financières des entreprises des catégories de recettes inférieures soient très différentes de celles des entreprises des catégories supérieures. C’est pourquoi les rapports contiennent des données financières non seulement pour toute la tranche de recettes prédéterminée, mais également pour différentes sous-tranches (si vous avez sélectionné cette option).

Ces sous-tranches constituent les colonnes du rapport. Tous les rapports comportent un échantillon d’entreprises traité comme un tout, qui correspond à toute l’industrie. Deux autres possibilités s’offrent à vous si vous les avez sélectionnées : l’échantillon total peut être divisé en une moitié inférieure et une moitié supérieure, ou encore en quatre parties appelées quarts.

Cette façon de faire permet de comparer les données d’entreprises de différentes catégories de recettes annuelles. Les limites inférieure et supérieure de chaque catégorie apparaissent au-dessus de chaque colonne. La dernière colonne présente le pourcentage d’entreprises de l’échantillon ayant déclaré tous les postes de dépenses dans leur déclaration de revenus.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q11
À quoi les quarts font-ils référence dans Données sur la performance financière?

Quarts

Les quarts correspondent à la division de toutes les petites et moyennes entreprises en exploitation dans une industrie donnée en quatre groupes égaux (quarts) en fonction des recettes générées.

Toutes les entreprises d’une industrie donnée sont classées selon les recettes annuelles qu’elles génèrent.

Le quart inférieur est composé du 25 % des entreprises de l’échantillon total qui ont les revenus d’exploitation les plus faibles.

Le deuxième quart est composé du 25 % des entreprises dont les revenus d’exploitation se situent entre la limite supérieure du quart inférieur et la médiane.

Le troisième quart est composé du 25 % des entreprises dont les revenus d’exploitation se situent entre la médiane et la limite inférieure du quart supérieur.

Le quart supérieur est composé du 25 % des entreprises de l’échantillon total qui ont les revenus d’exploitation les plus élevés.

Vous pouvez utiliser les données du quart reflétant le mieux les recettes générées par votre entreprise pour que l’analyse comparative soit plus pertinente. Les entreprises qui ont des recettes élevées ont des structures de coûts très différentes de celles des entreprises ayant de faibles recettes, même au sein d’une même industrie.

http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q12
Pourquoi manque-t-il certaines sections dans mon rapport?

Certaines sections des rapports dans Données sur la performance financière s’affichent uniquement pour des types d’entreprises particuliers. Les sections qui apparaîtront sur votre rapport dépendent du type d’entreprises que vous avez sélectionné.

Les rapports dans Données sur la performance financière peuvent comporter jusqu’à quatre sections différentes :

données sur les recettes et les dépenses;

bilan;

ratios financiers;

entreprises rentables c. entreprises non rentables.

Vous aurez accès à des renseignements différents si vous avez sélectionné « Non constituées en société » (T1), « Constituées en société » (T2) ou « Toutes les entreprises » (T1 et T2).

Étant donné que les entreprises non constituées en société (T1) n’incluent pas de bilan au feuillet T1 de leur déclaration de revenus, si vous sélectionnez cette option, la section du bilan n’apparaîtra pas sur le rapport.

Les ratios financiers sont générés à partir des données des postes de dépenses, de recettes et de bilan. La totalité des 12 ratios ne s’affiche que pour les entreprises constituées en société (T2) puisque les entreprises non constituées en société (T1) ne sont pas tenues de soumettre un bilan à l’ARC. Par contre, si vous avez sélectionné la catégorie T1 ou T1 et T2, deux ratios figureront sur votre rapport.

La comparaison entre les entreprises rentables et les entreprises non rentables est accessible uniquement pour la catégorie T1 et T2. D’abord, les entreprises rentables (un bénéfice net de 0 $ en montant) et non rentables sont séparées en deux groupes. Ensuite, le pourcentage d’entreprises rentables au sein de l’industrie choisie s’affiche, suivi des recettes totales, des dépenses totales et du bénéfice net ou de la perte nette des deux groupes.

Voici un sommaire des sections qui apparaissent sur les rapports selon le type d’entreprises sélectionné :

Type de données
Type de données Entreprises non constituées en société (T1)Entreprises constituées en société (T2)Toutes les entreprises (T1 et T2)
Dépenses OuiOuiOui
Postes de bilan NonOuiNon
Ratios financiers Oui, 2 seulementOui, ensembleOui, 2 seulement
Rentabilité ou non-rentabilité NonNonOui
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q13
Que sont les indicateurs de qualité?

Des indicateurs de la qualité sont disponibles afin de fournir aux utilisateurs des renseignements sur l’exactitude des estimations publiées. Bien que, comme pour un recensement, les estimations comprises dans les profils des petites entreprises ne donnent pas lieu à des erreurs d’échantillonnage, la qualité des valeurs affichées dépend toujours d’autres facteurs, y compris l’imputation. L’imputation est un processus selon lequel on attribue des valeurs aux enregistrements dans lesquels il manque des données à l’aide de données d’enregistrements plus complets. Elle est utilisée dans deux cas : lorsqu’une valeur déclarée par une entreprise est jugée comme étant en dehors des limites des valeurs statistiquement cohérentes ou lorsqu’une entreprise ne fournit pas la totalité de l’information requise ou une partie de celle-ci. Les méthodes d’imputation utilisées par Statistique Canada comprennent notamment l’imputation historique, l’imputation par donneur et le processus des données génériques aux données détaillées. Les indicateurs de la qualité ci-dessous constituent une mesure de l’ampleur de l’imputation qui contribue à une valeur donnée.

Indicateurs de qualité
A Excellent
B Très bonne
C Bonne
D Acceptable
E À utiliser avec prudence
http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/705.nsf/fra/00005.html#q14
Date de modification :