Wireless Low Power Devices

Fact Sheet

Introduction

Wireless low power devices such as wireless microphones and cameras, talking signs, baby monitors, cordless telephones, etc., may either require a radio licence or be exempted from licensing. The frequency band in which the equipment is designed to operate and the operating power determine whether or not a radio licence is necessary. For more information on Industry Canada's policy and licensing procedures for wireless low power devices, please consult Client Procedures Circulars 2-1-11 (CPC-2-1-11), Low-power Licensed Radio Apparatus.

Operating Conditions for Wireless Low Power Devices

Wireless low power devices operate on a "non–interference non–protection" basis: they may not cause radio interference, and they cannot claim protection from interference to which they may be subjected. Interference to these wireless low power devices may cause them to malfunction or fail. Industry Canada recommends that under such conditions, operation of the affected device(s) be discontinued until the interference is addressed and rectified, particularly if the device is used for a safety of life application. Contact the supplier or manufacturer of the affected device for assistance.


June 24, 2009

Industry Canada has issued a Notice Regarding the Operation of Wireless Medical Telemetry Systems Devices in Canada.

Health Canada has issued a Medical Devices Alert (PDF, 31 KB) for users of certain medical telemetry devices, e.g., cardiac patient monitors, which operate on unoccupied television channels.

Equipment Specifications for Licence–Exempt Wireless Low Power Devices

Radio Standards Specification 210 (RSS–210), Low Power Licence–Exempt Radiocommunication Devices, sets out technical standards for the certification of wireless low power devices, as well as criteria and standards for certification exemption. All devices are exempt from licensing if they function according to prescribed standards.

Equipment Specifications for Wireless Low Power Devices

Radio Standards Specification 123 (RSS–123), Low Power Licensed Radiocommunication Devices, sets out the technical standards for the certification of wireless low power devices that are permitted to operate in the frequency bands listed in Table 1 thereof. For these devices, a Technical Acceptance Certificate (TAC) and a radio licence are required.

Additional Information

Importing Wireless Equipment into Canada
July 2011

For more information, you may contact the Industry Canada Spectrum Management Office nearest you.

Share this page

To share this page, just select the social network of your choice:
  • More

No endorsement of any products or services is expressed or implied.

Dispositifs sans fil de faible puissance

Fiche de renseignements

Introduction

Les dispositifs sans fil de faible puissance, tels que les microphones et caméras sans fil, les affiches parlantes, les moniteurs de surveillance pour bébés, les téléphones sans fil, etc. peuvent faire l'objet d'une licence radio ou être exemptés d'une licence. La bande de fréquence pour laquelle le matériel est conçu et la puissance d'exploitation déterminent si une licence radio est nécessaire. Afin d'obtenir plus d'information sur la politique et les procédures d'obtention d'une licence pour les dispositifs sans fil de faible puissance, prière de consulter la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients 2-1-11 (CPC-2-1-11), Appareils radio de faible puissance autorisés sous licence.

Conditions d'exploitation des dispositifs sans fil de faible puissance

Les dispositifs sans fil de faible puissance sont exploités sur une base de non–protection et de non–brouillage : ils ne peuvent pas causer de brouillage radio et ils ne peuvent faire l'objet d'aucune protection contre le brouillage auquel ils peuvent être soumis. Tout brouillage dont ces dispositifs sans fil de faible puissance peuvent faire l'objet peut causer le mauvais fonctionnement ou la défaillance de l'appareil. Dans ces conditions, Industrie Canada recommande de cesser l'exploitation du dispositif jusqu'à que le brouillage soit éliminé, spécialement si le dispositif est utilisé à des fins de protection de la vie humaine. Prière de communiquer avec le fournisseur ou le fabricant du dispositif pour obtenir de l'aide.


Le 24 juin 2009

Industrie Canada a diffusé un Avis sur l'utilisation des dispositifs de systèmes de télémesure médicale sans fil au Canada.

Santé Canada a diffusé une Alerte Matériels médicaux (PDF, 28 Ko) pour les utilisateurs de certains appareils médicaux de télémesure, p. ex., moniteurs cardiaques pour patient, qui fonctionnent sur des canaux de télévision inoccupés.

Normes pour les dispositifs sans fil de faible puissance exempts de licence

Le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques (CNR–210), Dispositifs de radiocommunications de faible puissance, exempts de licence, expose les normes techniques relatives à l'homologation de dispositifs sans fil de faible puissance ainsi que les critères et les normes de conformité applicables à certains dispositifs exempts d'homologation. Tous les dispositifs sont exempts de licence s'ils sont exploités selon les normes prescrites.

Normes pour les dispositifs sans fil de faible puissance

Le Cahier des charges sur les normes radioélectriques 123 (CNR–123), Dispositifs de radiocommunications de faible puissance, sujets à licence, expose les normes techniques relatives à l'homologation de dispositifs sans fil de faible puissance dont le fonctionnement est autorisé dans les bandes de fréquences indiquées au tableau 1. Pour ces dispositifs, un Certificat d'approbation technique (CAT) et une licence radio sont requis.

Importation d'appareils sans fil au Canada
Juillet 2011

Partagez cette page

Pour faire connaître cette page, cliquez sur le réseau social de votre choix :
  • Plus

Aucun appui n'est accordé, soit de façon expresse ou tacite, à aucun produit ou service.