Program information codes for radio broadcasting stations


The Technical Advisory Committee on Broadcasting (B-TAC) has decided on a standardized way for broadcasters to use program information (PI) codes as part of their transmission of RDS/RBDS (Radio (Broadcast) Data System) services.

In order to ensure proper operation of RBDS FM receivers and other devices that make use of RBDS signals, stations must transmit a unique PI code. The PI code allows suitable receivers to identify the programming being received. ThePI code structure contains 16 bits, with 4 bits exclusively allocated for country identification. All codes are in hexadecimal format.

The NRSC-4 standard outlines an algorithm in which PI codes are determined in the United States using the existing 4-letter station call sign. Current PI code assignments allocated for Canada by the NRSC-4 standard are C000-CFFF (with certain exceptions) and B_02 to B_09 for Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) network stations.

Current Status:

The current state of PI codes in Canada may fall into one of the categories below:

  1. Some stations may be transmitting PI codes that do not fall into the accepted format
  2. Some stations may be transmitting a default PI code that came pre-programmed with the RBDS encoders
  3. Some stations may not be transmitting a PI code at all.

The CBC has created a spreadsheet tool using Microsoft Excel that allows a user to select a call sign (using drop-down letter combinations), and then outputs the corresponding PI code. The CBC has allowed Industry Canada to post this online so users may access the tool to generate a PI code for a given station.

Instructions on using spreadsheet:

  1. Download the below file onto your computer.
  2. Open the '*.zip' file and extract the file entitled "RBDS PI Code Algorith v1.xls". Save this file on your computer as well.
  3. Upon opening the Excel file, the first three columns at the top left indicate the call sign to be entered. Select the desired call sign using the drop-down letter options. Three and four-letter call signs may be chosen.
  4. Once the desired call sign is entered, the appropriate hexadecimal PI code will be output on the far right of the spreadsheet (under the 'Conversion DEC => HEXA' header).

PI Codes in Canada (Zip File, 444 KB)
Updated: October 26, 2007

Date modified:

Codes d'identification du programme (P) pour les stations de radiodiffusion

Contexte :

Le Comité consultatif technique sur la radiodiffusion (CCTR) s'est entendu sur la normalisation de l'utilisation des codes PI par les radiodiffuseurs dans le cadre de la transmission des systèmes RDS/RBDS, (systèmes de radiodiffusion des données).

Afin d'assurer le bon fonctionnement des récepteurs FM RBDS ainsi que d'autres dispositifs qui utilisent les signaux RBDS, les stations doivent émettre un code PI unique. Ce code permet aux récepteurs adéquats d'identifier la programmation en cours de réception. La structure du code PI est composée de 16 bits, dont 4 bits réservés exclusivement à l'identification du pays. Tous les codes sont en format hexadécimal.

La norme NRSC-4 définit un algorithme utilisé aux États-Unis pour déterminer les codes PI en utilisant l'indicatif de 4 lettres des stations. La norme NRSC-4 alloue actuellement au Canada les codes PI de C000 à CFFF (avec certaines exceptions) et B_02 à B_09 pour les stations de la Société Radio-Canada (SRC).

Situation actuelle :

Au Canada, les codes PI relèvent présentement d'une des catégories suivantes :

  1. Certaines stations émettent des codes PI qui ne sont pas dans le format accepté.
  2. Certaines stations émettent un code PI par défaut qui a été préprogrammé dans les codeurs RBDS.
  3. Certaines stations n'émettent aucun code PI.

La SRC a créé une feuille de calcul Microsoft Excel qui permet à l'utilisateur de sélectionner un indicatif (à l'aide des combinaisons de listes de lettres déroulantes). La feuille de calcul produit ensuite le code PI correspondant. La SRC a autorisé Industrie Canada à afficher cette feuille de calcul en ligne pour que les utilisateurs puissent accéder à l'outil et générer un code PI correspondant à leur(s) station(s).

Instructions pour l'utilisation de la feuille de calcul

  1. Téléchargez le fichier ci-dessous.
  2. Ouvrez le fichier « *.zip » et décomprimez la feuille « RBDS PI Code Algorith v1.xls ». La sauve garder.
  3. Lorsqu'on ouvre le fichier Excel, les trois premières colonnes dans la partie supérieure gauche correspondent à l'indicatif qui doit être saisi. Sélectionnez l'indicatif voulu au moyen des listes déroulantes de lettres. On peut choisir des indicatifs de trois ou de quatre lettres.
  4. Lorsque l'indicatif voulu est entré, le code PI hexadécimal approprié est affiché dans la partie droite de la feuille de calcul (sous le titre «Conversion DEC => HEXA »).

Co de PI au Canada (Zip file, 444 Ko)
Mise à jour : le 26 octobre 2007