Compliance and enforcement

Overview

The radiofrequency spectrum is a valuable and scarce resource. Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) is responsible for developing policies for how this resource may be used and ensuring its effective management for the benefit of all Canadians. When providing access to spectrum and regulating its use, ISED seeks to maximize the economic and social benefits that Canadians derive from the use of this resource.

To ensure that spectrum is available and can be used reliably, ISED establishes technical and non-technical requirements in licences, standards, and operating certificates. These requirements also ensure that wireless devices in Canada are safe and support a competitive wireless market.

Where these requirements are not being met, most cases are inadvertent, often accidental, and are usually resolved by communicating and working with the party to identify solutions and ensure compliance. In some cases, written notices may be issued advising the party of the need to come into compliance with the requirements set by ISED.

Administrative monetary penalties

In cases where ISED’s spectrum requirements are not being met through voluntary compliance, several different actions may be taken. These include imposing an administrative monetary penalty (AMP) which are financial penalties intended to encourage compliance with regulatory requirements. AMPs allow for a measured and proportionate response to range of violations under the Radiocommunication Act.

When ISED has identified a violation and imposes an AMP, it will issue a notice of violation, which will outline the violation that has occurred, the penalty that has been imposed and options available to the violator.

Information on AMPs that have been imposed will be posted on Public Notices of Enforcement Actions.

If you have been issued a notice of violation and would like to know more about your options, please consult CPC-3-24-01Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMPs) Under the Radiocommunication Act — Guidance to Stakeholders.

The Frequently Asked Questions include additional information.

Other compliance and enforcement measures

The imposition of AMPs is one of several different actions that may be taken by ISED to enforce its requirements and to ensure compliance with the Act. Other possible actions include: issuing tickets, which include small fines; issuing orders to take specific measures to come into compliance where radio interference is being caused; seizing devices that do not meet technical standards or are prohibited, such as jammers; and prosecution of regulatory offences.

Public Notices of Enforcement Actions

Public Notices of Enforcement Actions - Administrative Monetary Penalties (AMP)
Reference no. Name of violator Violation Description of the violation Other information
2017-AC-01 Radio Montmagny inc. Installation, operation, or possession of any radio apparatus in contravention of any term or condition of a spectrum licence or, when used for broadcasting, in contravention of any term or condition of a broadcasting certificate. Radio Montmagny inc. has not ensured that their radio installation at the CIQI-FM transmission site meets Health Canada's Safety Code 6 at all times, contrary to the General licence condition that applies to its broadcasting certificate. In particular, the site exceeded the RF exposure limits for uncontrolled environments and Radio Montmagny inc. failed to take corrective measures required to ensure compliance.

An undertaking was negotiated pursuant to subsection 15.13(1) of the Radiocommunication Act between Radio Montmagny inc. and Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED).

The conditions of this undertaking include:

  • Upkeep of the permanent fence at the CIQI-FM transmission site at all times in order to block access to the site by the public.
  • A monetary payment of $1,000.

The undertaking notes that the certificate holder became compliant with respect to the acts and omissions that were the subject of the undertaking and Notice of Violation 2017-AC-01.

Date modified:

Conformité et mise en application de la loi

Vue d’ensemble

Le spectre des radiofréquences est une ressource précieuse et limitée. Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) est tenu d’élaborer les politiques concernant l’utilisation de cette ressource et de veiller à sa gestion efficace dans l’intérêt de tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes. Quand ISDE donne accès au spectre et réglemente son utilisation, il cherche à optimiser les avantages économiques et sociaux que la population canadienne peut retirer de l’utilisation de cette ressource.

Pour s’assurer que le spectre est disponible et peut être utilisé de manière fiable, ISDE établit des exigences techniques et non techniques par le biais de licences, normes et certificats d’opérateur radio. Ces exigences permettent que les dispositifs sans fil au Canada soient sécuritaires et favorisent un marché du sans-fil concurrentiel.

Lorsque ces exigences ne sont pas respectées, la plupart des cas sont involontaires et même souvent accidentels, et ils sont habituellement résolus en communiquant et en travaillant avec la partie concernée afin de trouver des solutions et d’assurer le respect de la conformité. Dans certains cas, des avis écrits peuvent être envoyés pour informer le contrevenant de la nécessité de se conformer aux exigences établies par ISDE.

Sanctions administratives pécuniaires

Dans les cas où les exigences relatives au spectre ne sont pas respectées par une conformité volontaire, il est possible d’imposer une sanction administrative pécuniaire (SAP) qui est une sanction financière qui encourage la conformité aux exigences réglementaires. Les SAP permettent une réponse mesurée et proportionnée à diverses violations de la Loi sur la radiocommunication.

Lorsqu'ISDE a identifié une violation et impose une SAP, un procès-verbal sera dressé qui décrira la violation commise, la pénalité imposée et les options offertes au contrevenant.

Les renseignements sur les SAP imposées seront affichés sous la rubrique Avis public des mesures d'application de la loi.

Si vous avez reçu un procès-verbal et que vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur les options à votre disposition, veuillez consulter la Circulaire des procédures CPC-3-24-01, Sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP) en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication — Directives à l'intention des intervenants.

La foire aux questions fournit aussi des renseignements additionnels.

Autres mesures de conformité et d’application de la loi

L’imposition de SAP constitue l’une des nombreuses mesures différentes qui peuvent être prises par ISDE pour faire appliquer ses exigences et pour assurer la conformité à la Loi. Parmi les autres mesures possibles, citons : les contraventions, qui incluent de petites amendes; la délivrance d’avis de prendre des mesures précises visant l’application de la conformité lorsque du brouillage radio est commis; la saisie des dispositifs qui ne respectent pas les normes techniques ou qui sont interdits, comme les brouilleurs; et les poursuites judiciaires pour des infractions aux règlements.

Avis public des mesures d'application de la loi

Avis public des mesures d'application de la loi - Sanctions administratives pécuniaires (SAP)
No de référence Auteur de la violation Violation Description de la violation Autres renseignements
2017-AC-01 Radio Montmagny inc. Installation, exploitation ou possession de tout appareil radio à l’encontre de toute condition d’utilisation d’une licence de spectre ou, si l’appareil est utilisé pour la radiodiffusion, à l’encontre de toute condition du certificat de radiodiffusion. Radio Montmagny inc. n’a pas veillé à ce que ses installations de radiodiffusion sur le site de CIQI-FM respectent en tout temps le Code de sécurité 6 de Santé Canada, contrairement à la condition de licence générale qui s’applique à son certificat de radiodiffusion. En particulier, le site dépassait les limites d'exposition aux radiofréquences relatives aux environnements non contrôlés, et Radio Montmagny inc. a omis de prendre les mesures correctrices requises pour assurer la conformité.

Un engagement a été négocié en vertu du paragraphe 15.13(1) de la Loi sur la radiocommunication entre Radio Montmagny inc. et Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE).

Les conditions de cet engagement prévoient :

  • le maintien en bon état de la clôture permanente sur le site de transmission de CIQI-FM et ce, en tout temps, afin de bloquer l'accès public au site.
  • un paiement monétaire de 1 000 $.

L'engagement précise que le titulaire du certificat s'est conformé par rapport aux actes et aux omissions qui ont fait l'objet de l'engagement et du procès-verbal 2017-AC-01.

Date de modification :