Archived—Gazette Notice DGTP-013-04

Department of Industry

Telecommunications Act

Notice No. DGTP-013-04: Additional Petition to the Governor in Council regarding Telecom Decision CRTC 2004-35, Review of Telemarketing Rules

Notice is hereby given that a petition from The Responsive Marketing Group, Univision Marketing Group and Xentel DM Incorporated has been received by the Governor in Council (GIC) under section 12 of the Telecommunications Act in regard to the following decision issued by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC): Telecom Decision CRTC 2004-35, Review of Telemarketing Rules. The petitioners request, among other things, that the GIC grant a stay of Telecom Decision 2004-35. The requests are based on several reasons included in the petitions.

In Telecom Decision CRTC 2004-35, the CRTC implemented changes to the regulation of telemarketers with more specific identification procedures, constraints on the use of predictive dialing devices and mandatory reinforcement of Do Not Call lists for all telemarketers. The Commission also requires the tracking and reporting of complaints and establishes an awareness program for both consumers and telemarketers. The Commission has also suggested the creation of a National Do Not Call registry is contingent on expanded powers being provided through legislative change.

Industry Canada issued Gazette Notice DGTP-011-04 on September 11, 2004, regarding two other petitions addressing Telecom Decision 2004-35. Submissions regarding the petitions should be addressed to, Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet, Langevin Block, 80 Wellington Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0A3.

A copy of all submissions should also be sent to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, preferably in electronic format, (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF or ASCII TXT) to the following e-mail address: telecom@ic.gc.ca., along with a note specifying the software, version number and operating system used. Written copies can be sent to the Director General, Telecommunications Policy Branch, 16th Floor, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8.

All submissions should cite the Canada Gazette, Part I, the publication date, title, and notice reference number (DGTP-011-04).

Obtaining Copies

Copies of all relevant petitions and submissions received in response may be obtained electronically on the Spectrum Management and Telecommunications Web site at: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum under Gazette Notices and Petitions. Mail order or over the counter copies are available from ByPress Printing and Copy Centre Inc. , 300 Slater Street, Unit 101A, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 6A6, 613-234-8826, sales@bypressprinting.ca. Reasonable costs of duplication will be charged. It is the responsibility of interested parties to check the public record from time to time to keep abreast of submissions received.

Official printed copies of gazette notices can be obtained from the Canada Gazette Web site at: www.gazette.gc.ca/index-eng.html or by calling the sales counter of Canadian Government Publishing at 819-941-5995 or 1-800-635-7943.

September 15, 2004

Larry Shaw
Director General
Telecommunications Policy

Date modified:

Archivé — Avis de la Gazette DGTP-013-04

Informations archivées

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

Ministère de l'Industrie

Loi sur les Télécommunications

Avis no DGTP-013-04: Requête additionnelle à la gouverneure en conseil concernant à la Décision de télécom CRTC 2004-35, Examen des règles de télémarketing

Avis est par les présentes donné qu'une requête a été présentée par The Responsive Marketing Group, Univision Marketing Group et Xentel DM Incorporated à la gouverneure en conseil (GC) en vertu de l'article 12 de la Loi sur les télécommunications concernant la décision rendue par le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) : Décision de télécom CRTC 2004-35, Examen des règles de télémarketing. Les requérants demandent notamment que le GC accepte de suspendre la décision de télécom 2004-35. Les demandes se fondent sur plusieurs raisons mentionnées dans les requêtes.

Dans la décision de télécom CRTC 2004-35, le CRTC modifie la réglementation des télévendeurs de manière à prévoir des procédures d'identification plus précises, des restrictions à l'utilisation des dispositifs de composition prédictive ainsi que le renforcement obligatoire des listes de numéros à ne plus appeler pour tous les télévendeurs. Le Conseil exige également le suivi et la déclaration des plaintes et établit un programme de sensibilisation à l'intention des consommateurs et des télévendeurs. Le Conseil a également suggéré que la création d'un registre national de numéros à ne plus appeler dépend des pouvoirs élargis accordés par des modifications législatives.

Le 11 septembre 2004, Industrie Canada a publié l'avis de la Gazette no DGTP-011-04 à la suite de deux autres requêtes concernant la Décision de télécom 2004-35. Les observations portant sur les requêtes susmentionnées doivent être adressées au greffier du Conseil privé et secrétaire du Cabinet, Édifice Langevin, 80, rue Wellington, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0A3.

Une copie de chaque observation devrait aussi être envoyée au directeur général, Politique des télécommunications sous forme électronique (WordPerfect, Microsoft Word, Adobe PDF ou ASCII TXT) à l'adresse suivante : telecom@ic.gc.ca. Les documents doivent être accompagnés d'une note précisant le logiciel, la version du logiciel et le système d'exploitation utilisés. Les copies sur papier doivent être adressés au directeur général, Politique des télécommunications, 16e étage, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario), K1A 0C8.

Tous les commentaires doivent citer la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, la date de publication, le titre et le numéro de référence de l'avis (DGTP-011-04).

Pour obtenir des copies

On peut se procurer une copie de toutes les requêtes ou de tout mémoire présenté en réponse à celles-ci, par voie électronique sur le site Web Gestion du spectre et télécommunication à l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectre sous la rubrique Avis de la Gazette et demandes. On peut aussi se procurer, à peu de frais, une copie de ces documents par la poste ou en personne, en se présentant au comptoir du ByPress Printing and Copy Centre Inc. , 300, rue Slater, pièce 101A, Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 6A6, 613-234-8826, sales@bypressprinting.ca. Il incombe aux parties intéressées de consulter les dossiers publics de temps à autre dans le but de se tenir au courant des observations reçues.

La version imprimée officielle des avis de la Gazette est disponible sur le site Web de la Gazette du Canada à : www.gazette.gc.ca/index-fra.html ou en communiquant avec le comptoir des ventes des Éditions du gouvernement du Canada au 819-941-5995 ou 1-800-635-7943.

Le 15 septembre 2004

Le directeur général
Politique des télécommunications,



Larry Shaw