EMCAB-2 — Criteria for Resolution of Immunity Complaints Involving Fundamental Emissions of Radiocommunications Transmitters

Issue 1
June 1994

Spectrum Management
Electromagnetic Compatability Advisory Bulletin

Introduction

The Radiocommunication Act provides enabling powers to the Minister beyond those previously applicable under the Radio Act. Specifically, Section 5(1)(l) states, in part:

".... the Minister may, taking into account all matters that the Minister considers relevant for ensuring the orderly establishment or modification of radio stations and the orderly development and efficient operation of radiocommunication in Canada,... ...make determinations as to the existence of harmful interference and issue orders to persons in possession or control of radio apparatus, interference-causing equipment or radio-sensitive equipment that the Minister determines to be responsible for the harmful interference to cease or modify the operation of the apparatus or equipment until such time as it can be operated without causing or being affected by harmful interference"....

These powers permit the Minister to make determinations regarding immunity-related interference complaints involving both Radio Apparatus and Radio-Sensitive Equipment (RSE) and to issue orders to resolve them.

The purpose of this bulletin is to advise concerned parties of the purely technical criteria upon which such decisions will generally be based, should it be necessary for the Minister to intercede in the resolution of an immunity problem. It does not in any way limit the scope of the Minister's powers under the Act, nor should it be interpreted as restricting the extent of the "matters that the Minister considers relevant" to strictly technical matters. The technical criteria themselves represent an essential guideline for the Department's inspectors, vital to ensuring consistent treatment of immunity problems country-wide.

Background

The communication needs of Canada have seen a rapid increase in the last twenty years and as a result, the number of licensed radio stations has risen significantly. Because of this growth, the density of radio signal sources has increased notably, especially in urban areas. Moreover, the rapid introduction of personal portable radio transmitters has added a new dimension to the traditional pattern of electromagnetic fields. Where the fields of sufficient magnitude to cause concern were once characterized as being confined to relatively well defined, large areas surrounding high powered, fixed transmitters, that environment is now augmented by the fields from many low power portable transmitters. While these fields are both spatially small and fleeting, they have become much more numerous and are scattered throughout the urban areas where electronic equipment may be found. Furthermore, the current rapid rate of expansion of these services is expected to continue into the next decade.

During the same period, the electrical/electronic devices available in the market have also seen an explosive growth in their adoption and use by Canadians. Normally, these devices function effectively in a variety of applications ranging from simple diversion to the monitoring and control of life-sustaining systems. But, ironically, the characteristics of these devices which have made them economically and conveniently attractive to the public at large: low power usage and signal levels, light plastic cases, high speed digital microprocessor technology and even portability, have also contributed to their being susceptible to the effects of external electromagnetic fields. In addition, in their search for economy in building such devices, designers have often overlooked or ignored the electromagnetic environment in which the equipment may be expected to operate. As a result, when these devices are exposed to the electromagnetic signals in the vicinity of radio transmitters, they may malfunction.

Each of these technological developments is patently in the public interest, but when the systems involved share a common environment, and adequate preventive measures are not taken, a potential for incompatible operation occurs. When such cases of incompatibility arise, there is a need for some measure against which to judge the cause of the problem, which can be applied equitably and uniformly on a nation-wide basis.

There are two opposing perspectives on the nature of the immunity problem. To the owner of a piece of electronic equipment, whether radio or non-radio, it often appears that the problem only arises when a radio transmitter is turned on and, consequently, prohibiting such a transmission is the logical solution to the problem. On the other side is the opinion that any electronic device that is not the intended receiver for a radio transmission has no place responding to that transmission, and obviously should have been designed and built so as not to interact with the environment in which it is placed. Any effective resolution must be based upon a compromise between these two positions.

Interference criteria

As a start, it must be recognized that there are two classes of electronic equipment to be dealt with under the Radiocommunication Act. The first is RSE as defined in the Act: "radio-sensitive equipment means any device, machinery or equipment, other than radio apparatus, the use or functioning of which is or can be adversely affected by radiocommunication emissions". The second arises because the above definition excludes Radio Apparatus. Radio Apparatus can also suffer from a lack of immunity to radio signals falling outside of the band it is intended to receive. For signals in or near the passband of a radio receiver, interference problems are not viewed as an immunity issue, but rather as characteristics of the radio receiver's selectivity and sensitivity. As such these latter responses are treated as subject to any radio apparatus regulations and standards that may be applicable and problems resolved through frequency assignment processes. A sub-class of equipment requiring special treatment is conventional home entertainment audio and video devices. Although they are generally accepted to be included in the definition of RSE, they are almost invariably found in association with or, more commonly, plugged into, broadcast sound and television receivers. As a result, they have been treated in the international immunity standards as if they were radio apparatus, lumped in with broadcasting receivers. To avoid confusion arising from this inconsistency, they will be treated, for the purposes of this document, as a separate class of apparatus.

Therefore, for the application of criteria for the determination of cause, three categories of electronic equipment will be considered. One will consist of equipment for the reception of broadcast sound and television signals. The second will include associated equipment such as audio and video recorders and playback devices, amplifiers and the like (see the Annex for a more complete list of devices.). The third will incorporate all other non-radio electronic equipment. These categories will be referred to as Broadcast Receivers, Associated Equipment and Radio-Sensitive Equipment (RSE), respectively.

The criterion selected for the determination of cause is based upon the principle of minimum overall impact for the users of both radio transmitters and electronic equipment. The method used to do this was to arrive at a limiting value of field strength which balanced the existing characteristics of the electromagnetic environment against reasonably attainable immunity characteristics of electronic equipment. A variety of sources were referenced in arriving at the values chosen, including the results of both immunity and environmental measurements, and the immunity standards currently in force in other countriesFootnote reference 1 and in the international arena. In the end, the criteria cited in this document were based directly upon the limits for radiated immunity prescribed by the immunity standards currently in effect or under development in the International Electrotechnical Commission,Footnote reference 2 Footnote reference 3 the competent international standards-writing body.

It should be noted that the mechanism for coupling of electromagnetic fields with RSE is not normally by direct pickup of the radiation by the device's circuitry. At the frequencies in question, the most common form of ingress is through conduction along the signal, control and power leads which act as antennas to conduct the radio signals into the equipment. As a result, the most effective means to resolve immunity problems is often the introduction of filtering at the input ports of the affected device. It may be argued therefore, that an immunity criterion should be based upon the voltage level at the terminals of the device. However, the coupling between the equipment leads and the ambient electric field is critically dependent upon the configuration of the leads themselves, and this configuration is beyond the influence of the transmitter operator, but may be altered at will by the owner of the affected equipment. As it would appear unreasonable to establish a criterion which could place an onus upon one of the parties to a dispute which was subject to adjustment by the other party at any time, this approach has been dismissed. Nevertheless, the extent of the filtering required is directly proportional to the level of the electric field to which the device, and hence its connecting wires, is exposed. As a result, a field strength criterion remains an effective measure of the radio transmitter's contribution to the problem, while providing a stable framework within which each party to a dispute can make adjustments without affront to the other.

The Minister's determination of cause will be based upon the values of field strength shown in the table below. Departmental staff will be provided with a standard procedure laying out the measurement methods and instrumentation to be used in performing field strength measurements.

TYPE OF EQUIPMENT FIELD STRENGTH CRITERION
dBµV/m V/m
Broadcasting Receivers 125 1.83
Associated Equipment 125 1.83
Radio-Sensitive Equipment 130 3.16

If the level of the transmitted signal exceeds the applicable field strength value on the premises of the affected equipment, it will be deemed that the transmission is the cause of the problem. If the field strength is less than the applicable value, the affected equipment's lack of immunity will be judged the cause.

These criteria are not applicable to incidents involving the transmissions of AM, FM or TV broadcasting transmitters. Those occurrences are subject to the provisions incorporated in the Broadcast Regulations and Procedures.

Issued under the authority of Industry Canada

S.N. Ahmed
Director General
Engineering Programs Branch

top of page

Annex

Associated Equipment

Associated Equipment means radio sensitive equipment which is often, or sometimes exclusively, used in association with radio apparatus, typically forming part of a multipurpose home entertainment system. Because this equipment, although not radio apparatus in its own right, is usually connected to radio apparatus components, such as broadcasting tuners or receivers, or may incorporate a tuner as one aspect of its function, it is usually afforded, in immunity standards, the same treatment as the broadcasting receivers with which it is associated. For this reason, the criterion which has been applied to it for the purpose of resolving immunity problems is identical to that applied to broadcasting receivers. However, because it is defined under the Radiocommunications Act as Radio Sensitive Equipment, rather than Radio Apparatus, it has been treated here as a separate category for the purposes of clarity.

Examples of equipment which fall into this category are:

  • Video Recorders
  • Audio Tape Recorders
  • Record Players
  • Cable Television Broadcasting Converters
  • Audio Amplifiers
  • Compact Disc Players

Footnotes

back to footnote reference 1 European Committee For Electrotechnical Standardization (CENELEC) -- Standard EN 50082-1: Generic residential equipment, Standard EN 55020: Broadcasting receivers and associated equipment.

back to footnote reference 2 International Electrotechnical Commission -- International Special Committee on Radio Interference (CISPR) Publication 20 -- Limits and methods of measurement of immunity characteristics of sound and television receivers and associated equipment.

back to footnote reference 3 International Electrotechnical Commission -- Technical Committee 77 -- Committee Draft 77(Secretariat)141 -- Generic immunity standard for the residential, commercial and light-industrial environments.

ACEM-2 — Critères applicables à la résolution de plaintes reliées à l'immunité des appareils et mettant en jeu les émissions fondamentales d'émetteurs de radiocommunications

1ère édition
Juin 1994

Avis sur la compatibilité électromagnétique

Introduction

La Loi sur la radiocommunication donne au Ministre des pouvoirs plus étendus que ceux qui étaient prévus dans la Loi sur la radio. Notamment, l'alinéa 5(1)l) stipule que :

« ... le ministre peut, compte tenu des questions qu'il juge pertinentes afin d'assurer la constitution ou les modifications ordonnées de stations de radiocommunication ainsi que le développement ordonné et l'exploitation efficace de la radiocommunication au Canada... décider de l'existence de tout brouillage préjudiciable et donner l'ordre aux personnes qui possèdent ou contrôlent tout appareil radio, matériel brouilleur ou matériel radiosensible qu'il juge responsable du brouillage, de cesser ou de modifier l'exploitation de cet appareil ou de ce matériel jusqu'à ce qu'il puisse fonctionner sans causer de brouillage préjudiciable ou sans en être contrarié; ... »

En vertu de ces pouvoirs, le Ministre peut statuer sur les plaintes de brouillage afférent à la sensibilité d'appareils radio ou de matériel radiosensible (MRS), et donner des ordres en vue de leur règlement.

Le présent avis a pour but d'informer les intéressés des critères purement techniques sur lesquels seront généralement fondées de telles décisions quand le Ministre devra intervenir afin de régler un problème de brouillage. Il ne limite aucunement la portée des pouvoirs conférés au Ministre en vertu de la Loi, et ne doit pas être interprété comme limitant l'étendue « des questions que le Ministre juge pertinentes » aux seules questions techniques. Les critères techniques eux-mêmes constituent une ligne directrice essentielle pour les inspecteurs du Ministère : ils sont indispensables au traitement uniforme des problèmes d'immunité partout au pays.

Contexte

La croissance rapide des besoins en communications du Canada au cours des vingt dernières années a entraîné une augmentation considérable du nombre de stations radio autorisées. En conséquence, la densité de sources de signaux radioélectriques s'est accrue de façon notable, surtout dans les zones urbaines. En outre, la mise en service rapide d'émetteurs radio portatifs personnels a modifié la répartition traditionnelle des champs électromagnétiques. Autrefois, les champs suffisamment intenses pour produire des problèmes de brouillage étaient restreints à de grandes zones assez bien définies, situées dans le voisinage d'émetteurs fixes à grande puissance. Aujourd'hui, il faut tenir compte des champs produits par de nombreux émetteurs portatifs de faible puissance. Bien que ces champs ont une faible portée et sont de courte durée, ils sont devenus très nombreux et sont répartis dans les zones urbaines, où l'on peut trouver du matériel électronique. En outre, on prévoit que l'expansion rapide actuelle de ces services se poursuivra dans la prochaine décennie.

Parallèlement à la croissance des services de radiocommunications, il y a eu une croissance phénoménale de la popularité et de l'utilisation des dispositifs électriques et électroniques offerts sur le marché canadien. En règle générale, ces dispositifs assurent efficacement une vaste gamme d'applications, du simple divertissement à la surveillance et à la régulation de systèmes essentiels au maintien de la vie. Ironiquement, les caractéristiques (faible consommation d'énergie, faible intensité des signaux, boîtier léger en plastique, microprocesseurs numériques à grande vitesse et portabilité) qui rendent ces dispositifs pratiques et économiques et qui ont contribué à les populariser, contribuent également à leur sensibilité aux champs électromagnétiques externes. De plus, en cherchant à réduire les coûts de fabrication de ces dispositifs, leurs concepteurs ont souvent oublié ou négligé de tenir compte de l'environnement électromagnétique dans lequel le matériel pourrait être utilisé. En conséquence, ces dispositifs peuvent mal fonctionner quand ils sont exposés aux rayonnements électromagnétiques que l'on trouve dans le voisinage des émetteurs radioélectriques.

Ces développements technologiques servent manifestement l'intérêt public, mais quand des systèmes partagent un même environnement en l'absence de mesures préventives adéquates, il existe un risque d'incompatibilité de fonctionnement. Quand de telles situations d'incompatibilité se présentent, il faut recourir à des critères qui permettent d'établir la cause du problème et qui peuvent être utilisés de façon équitable et uniforme à travers le pays.

Il y a deux points de vue opposés concernant la nature du problème de la sensibilité au brouillage. Pour le propriétaire de matériel électronique, radio ou autre, il semble souvent que le problème ne surgit que lorsqu'un émetteur radio est mis en marche; en conséquence, celui-ci est d'avis que la solution logique du problème est l'interdiction de l'émission radio. À l'inverse, certains estiment qu'un appareil électronique qui n'est pas destiné à capter une émission radio n'est pas censé réagir à cette transmission; il faudrait évidemment donc, selon eux, qu'un tel appareil soit conçu et fabriqué de manière à ce qu'il soit insensible aux conditions radioélectriques ambiantes. De fait, toute solution efficace doit être fondée sur un compromis entre ces deux positions.

Critères applicables à la résolution de problèmes de brouillage

Il faut d'abord reconnaître que, en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, il existe deux catégories de matériel électronique. La première catégorie comprend le matériel radiosensible (MRS), que la Loi définit comme suit : « Dispositif, appareillage ou matériel autre qu'un appareil radio - dont l'utilisation ou le fonctionnement est contrarié par des émissions de radiocommunication ou peut l'être ». La seconde catégorie découle du fait que la définition précédente exclut les appareils radio. Les appareils radio peuvent également être brouillés par des signaux radio qui sont à l'extérieur des bandes qu'ils sont censés capter. Les problèmes de brouillage dus à des signaux dont la fréquence est dans la bande passante du récepteur radio ou voisine de celle-ci ne sont pas considérés comme des problèmes d'immunité, mais plutôt comme des problèmes découlant des caractéristiques de sélectivité et de sensibilité du récepteur radio. Dans ce cas, ces appareils sont régis par les règlements et normes sur les appareils radio pertinents, et les problèmes sont réglés par l'intermédiaire du processus d'assignation des fréquences. Il existe également une sous-catégorie d'appareils, les appareils audiovisuels domestiques, qui doit faire l'objet d'un traitement spécial. On reconnaît généralement qu'ils sont conformes à la définition du MRS, mais ils sont presque toujours associés ou, ordinairement, raccordés à des récepteurs de radiodiffusion ou de télédiffusion. En conséquence, les normes internationales d'immunité au brouillage les considèrent comme des appareils radio et les assimilent aux récepteurs de radiodiffusion. Pour éviter les problèmes découlant de cette disparité, ils seront traités, aux fins du présent document, comme une catégorie distincte d'appareils.

En conséquence, aux fins de l'application des critères utilisés pour établir la cause du brouillage, il y aura trois catégories d'appareils électroniques. La première catégorie comprend les appareils de réception des signaux de radiodiffusion sonore et télévisuelle. La seconde catégorie comprend les appareils connexes tels que les magnétophones, les magnétoscopes, les amplificateurs et les autres appareils similaires (une liste de ces dispositifs est présentée en annexe). La troisième catégorie comprend tous les appareils électroniques autres que radio. Les trois catégories seront respectivement nommées Récepteurs de radiodiffusion, Matériel connexe et Matériel radiosensible (MRS).

Le critère sur lequel sont fondées les décisions concernant les problèmes de brouillage s'appuie sur le principe que l'incidence globale doit être minimale tant sur ceux qui utilisent des émetteurs de radiocommunication que sur ceux qui se servent d'appareils électroniques. À cette fin, des valeurs limites de champ ont été fixées en tenant également compte des caractéristiques existantes de l'environnement électromagnétique et des caractéristiques d'immunité dont on peut raisonnablement doter le matériel électronique. Diverses sources ont été consultées lors du choix de ces valeurs, y compris les résultats de mesures d'immunité et de mesures environnementales et les normes d'immunité qui sont en vigueur dans d'autres paysNote 1 et sur la scène internationale. Les critères exposés dans le présent document sont fondés directement sur les limites d'immunité aux rayonnements prescrites dans les normes d'immunité, en vigueur ou en cours d'élaboration, de la Commission électrotechnique internationaleNote 2 Note 3, qui est l'organisme international de normalisation compétent.

Il faut souligner que le couplage des champs électromagnétiques au MRS ne se produit normalement pas par réception directe des rayonnements par les circuits du MRS. Aux fréquences en jeu, les rayonnements brouilleurs sont ordinairement captés par les câbles de raccordement, les câbles de commande et les cordons d'alimentation, qui font fonction d'antennes et qui les transmettent par conduction au matériel. En conséquence, la méthode la plus efficace de régler les problèmes d'immunité consiste souvent à poser des filtres aux entrées du dispositif brouillé. Il est donc possible de soutenir qu'un critère de résolution des problèmes d'immunité pourrait être fondé sur le niveau de tension aux bornes du dispositif. Cependant, la configuration des câbles d'entrée joue un rôle critique dans le couplage entre le champ électrique ambiant et les câbles d'entrée; l'exploitant de l'émetteur n'a aucune influence sur cette configuration, qui peut toutefois être modifiée à volonté par le propriétaire du matériel brouillé. Comme il semble déraisonnable d'établir un critère qui tiendrait une partie responsable du problème alors que l'autre partie pourrait y remédier en tout temps, cette solution a été rejetée. Toutefois, l'importance du filtrage nécessaire est directement proportionnelle à l'intensité du champ électrique auquel le dispositif et ses câbles d'entrée sont exposés. En conséquence, un critère fondé sur l'intensité de champ est une mesure efficace de la contribution de l'émetteur au problème, tout en fournissant un cadre stable en vue de la résolution du problème, sans affrontement entre les parties.

La détermination de la cause par le Ministre sera fondée sur les valeurs de champ exposées dans le tableau ci-dessous. Les employés du Ministère utiliseront une procédure normalisée qui définit les méthodes et les appareils utilisés aux fins de la mesure des champs.

VALEUR DE CHAMP
TYPE DE MATÉRIEL VALEUR DE CHAMP
dBµV/m V/m
Récepteurs de radiodiffusion 125 1,83
Matériel connexe 125 1,83
Matériel radiosensible 130 3,16

Si l'intensité du signal transmis excède, sur les lieux où se trouve le matériel touché, la valeur de champ applicable, la transmission sera considérée comme la cause du problème. Si l'intensité est inférieure à la valeur de champ applicable, le manque d'immunité du matériel touché sera considéré comme la cause.

Les critères ci-dessus ne s'appliquent pas aux problèmes de brouillage liés aux émissions des émetteurs AM, FM et TV. Ces problèmes relèvent des dispositions des Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion.

Publication autorisée par Industrie Canada

S.N. Ahmed
Le Directeur général des Programmes techniques

haut de la page

Annexe

Matériel connexe

Le matériel connexe est le matériel radiosensible qui est souvent ou exclusivement utilisé de concert avec du matériel radio pour généralement constituer un système audiovisuel domestique polyvalent. Étant donné que ce matériel, qui n'est pas du matériel radio en soi, est normalement raccordé à du matériel radio, par exemple à un syntonisateur ou à un récepteur de radiodiffusion, ou peut comporter un syntonisateur, les normes d'immunité l'assimilent normalement aux récepteurs de radiodiffusion auxquels il est associé et le traitent en conséquence. C'est pourquoi les critères applicables à la résolution de problèmes d'immunité sont les mêmes dans le cas du matériel connexe et des récepteurs de radiodiffusion. Cependant, étant donné que la Loi sur la radiocommunication définit le matériel connexe comme du matériel radiosensible et non comme du matériel radio, ils sont considérés, pour fins de clarté, comme appartenant à une catégorie distincte dans le présent document.

Exemples d'appareils de la catégorie du matériel connexe :

  • Magnétoscopes
  • Magnétophones
  • Platines tourne-disque
  • Câblosélecteurs
  • Amplificateurs audio
  • Lecteurs de disques compacts

Notes en bas de page

Retour à la référence de note en bas de page 1 Comité Européen de Normalisation Électrotechnique (CENELEC) -- Norme EN50082 1:Matériel résidentiel générique, Norme EN55020: Récepteurs de radiodiffusion et de télévision et équipements associés.

Retour à la référence de note en bas de page 2 Commission électrotechnique internationale -- Comité International Spécial sur les Perturbations Radioélectriques (CISPR) Publication 20 --Limites et méthodes de mesure des caractéristiques d'immunité des récepteurs de radiodiffusion et de télévision et équipements associés.

Retour à la référence de note en bas de page 3 Commission électrotechnique internationale --Comité d'Étude 77-- Projet de Comité 77 (Secrétariat)141 --Norme générique immunité pour les environnements industriels (sic), commerciaux et de l'industrie légère.

Date de modification :