RIC-16 — Professional Radio Operator Certificates

Preface

Comments and suggestions may be directed to the following address:

Industry Canada
c/o Spectrum Management Operations Branch
235 Queen Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H5

Attention: DOS-P

E-mail: ic.spectrumpublications-publicationsduspectre.ic@canada.ca

All Spectrum Management and Telecommunications publications are available on the following website: http://www.ic.gc.ca/spectrum.

1. Intent

This document outlines procedures for obtaining any of the four professional radio operator certificates currently issued by Industry Canada.

2. Background

Canada issued its first professional radio operator certificate in 1912. Since then, a number of different radio operator certificates have been established in order to ensure that radio operators possess the level of expertise required. It should be noted that Canada does not currently have any reciprocal agreements with other foreign administrations which provide for an exchange of equivalent radio operator certificates.

To ensure proficiency in marine communication, the International Maritime Organization (IMO) has identified 4 levels of radio operator certification. However, in accordance with Canada’s mandatory equipment carriage regulations for commercial vessels, only 2 of these levels of radio operator certification are required in Canada.

3. General Information

Successful candidates are required to complete application form IC2382, Application for a Radio Operator’s Certificate. The information provided is used by the Department to produce the appropriate certificate and maintain certificate records. Examiners must be duly authorized by the Department and hold an equivalent or higher certificate than the certificate examination being administered.

4. Current Certificates

Currently, Industry Canada issues the following Professional Radio Operator Certificates:

4.1 Restricted Operator Certificate ─ Maritime (ROC-M)

This certificate is mainly intended for pleasure boaters, as they do not fall within the scope of Transport Canada’s Ship Station (Radio) Regulations, 1999. As of September 1, 2000, Industry Canada delegated the examination and administration of the ROC-M certification program to Canadian Power and Sail Squadrons (CPS). Courses for this certificate are developed and delivered by private examiners and/or instructors associated with CPS. Application for this certificate can be obtained from CPS, and certificates are issued by CPS. Certificates are valid for life and there is no renewal requirement. No photograph of the holder is required, and there is no age or nationality restriction.

Additional information concerning this certificate can be obtained by telephoning CPS at 1-888-CPS-BOAT (1-888-277-2628) or by visiting its website at www.cps-ecp.ca.

4.2 Restricted Operator Certificate ─ Maritime Commercial (ROC-MC)

The Restricted Operator Certificate ─ Maritime Commercial (ROC-MC) is intended for mariners, serving on compulsorily fitted commercial ships within the North American A1 Sea Area, as defined in Radio Aids to Marine Navigation. The ROC-MC is modeled on the International Convention on Standards of Training, Certification and Watchkeeping for Seafarers, 1978, as amended (STCW 95 Regulation IV/2).

4.2.1 Accreditation

Industry Canada accredits maritime organizations and training institutes to provide training and assessment for the ROC-MC in accordance with Radiocommunication Information Circular RIC-25, Syllabus for the Restricted Operator’s Certificate — Maritime Commercial (ROC-MC), and Client Procedures Circular CPC-2-7-04, Accreditation of Institutes for Instruction of the ROC-MC and the GOC.

For an accredited body in your area, please consult the list in Annex A of RIC-25.

4.2.2 Application

Application form IC2382 will be supplied by the accredited bodies.

4.2.3 Training and Examination

In accordance with the procedures outlined in RIC-25, the accredited body can offer a challenge exam, a 14-hour abridged course (10 hours of training and 4 hours of review and examination) and a complete 24-hour course (over 3 or 4  days, involving 20 hours of training and 4 hours of review and examination).

4.2.4 Eligibility

Candidates must be 18 years of age or older. There is no nationality restriction for this certificate.

4.2.5 Validation

The ROC-MC certificate is issued by Industry Canada once the accredited body submits the application form IC2382 confirming that a candidate has successfully completed the approved education and training. No photograph is required in order to obtain this certificate, which is good for life.

4.3 General Operator Certificate (GOC)

The GOC is Canada’s highest level of radio operator certificate for operators of the Global Maritime Distress and Safety System (GMDSS). This certificate is mainly intended for personnel operating radio equipment while working on board compulsorily fitted vessels that sail in international sea areas and that are fitted with radio equipment in accordance with Transport Canada’s carriage requirements for these vessels and voyages.

4.3.1 Accreditation

Industry Canada accredits maritime organizations or institutes to provide training and assessment for the GOC certificate in accordance with Radiocommunication Information Circular RIC-26, Syllabus for the General Operator Certificate (GOC), and CPC-2-7-04.

For an accredited body in your area, please consult the list in Annex A of RIC-26.

4.3.2 Application

Application formIC2382 will be supplied by the accredited bodies.

4.3.3 Training and Examination

The accredited body can offer the complete 10-day training and assessment course in accordance with RIC-26.

4.3.4 Eligibility

Candidates must be 18 years of age or older. There is no nationality restriction for this certificate.

4.3.5 Validation

This certificate is issued by Industry Canada once the accredited body submits the application form IC2382 confirming that a candidate has successfully completed the approved education and training. This certificate is valid for 5 years following the issue date and requires 2 identical photographs taken within the last 6 months showing head and shoulders, measuring 2.54 cm × 3.18 cm (1 inch × 1¼ inches). The applicant must sign the back of the photographs. The photographs must be clear, well defined and taken against a plain white or light-coloured background. The applicant’s face must be square to the camera with a neutral expression. Non-tinted prescription glasses can be worn as long as the eyes are clearly visible and the frame does not cover any part of the eyes. Sunglasses are not acceptable. If a head covering must be worn for religious reasons, applicants must ensure that their full facial features are not obscured.

4.3.6 Reissue of GOCs

Renewal of the GOC must be done before the certificate expires and it must be renewed every 5 years in order to be considered valid. The onus is on the operator to demonstrate professional competency in order to qualify for reissuance of the certificate.

Operators must demonstrate that they meet one of the following criteria:

  • (1) seagoing service as an operator, master or mate in charge of the deck watch for a period of at least 1 year in total during the preceding 5 years on board a GMDSS vessel equipped as required by the IMO’s and Transport Canada’s regulations for operation within sea areas A2, A3 or A4; or
  • (2) at least 3 months of sea service as an operator, master or mate in charge of the deck watch on board a GMDSS vessel equipped as required by the IMO’s and Transport Canada’s regulations for operation within sea areas A2, A3 or A4 within the last 12 months immediately before the certificate expires; or
  • (3) twenty-four (24) months of service performing radiocommunication-related functions similar to any of the following marine-related positions as:
    • (I) a shore captain, marine superintendent or operations manager, who is in the employ of a ship owner / ship agent;
    • (II) a ship’s pilot or pilot superintendent, who is licenced by a pilotage authority;
    • (III) a marine surveyor engaged in duties related to the survey or inspection of ships or ships’ equipment or cargoes;
    • (IV) a harbour master, dock master, berth master, deputy harbour master, deputy dock master or deputy berth master;
    • (V) an operator, watchkeeper or supervisor of port operations, port traffic, or a search and rescue centre;
    • (VI) an operator, watchkeeper or supervisor of a coastal station GMDSS-equipped for communication with vessels sailing within A2, A3, or A4 sea areas;
    • (VII) a hydrographic surveyor;
    • (VIII) an instructor, training officer or examiner engaged in the training of GMDSS/GOC Operators for an accredited institution;
    • (IX) an examiner of masters and mates;
    • (X) a casualty investigator engaged in investigating marine casualties;
    • (XI) a person engaged in marine emergency planning and operations;
    • (XII) a radio technician engaged in the maintenance of modern GMDSS radio apparatus;
    • (XIII) an Industry Canada Radio Inspector engaged in the delivery of the radio operator certification program; or
    • (XIV) someone who has successfully completed a refresher course or re-qualification examination through an accredited institution.

For the reissue of a GOC, there is a requirement for 2 identical photographs taken within the last 6 months showing the applicant’s head and shoulders, measuring 2.54 cm × 3.18 cm (1 inch × 1¼ inches). The applicant must sign the back of the photographs. The photographs must be clear, well-defined and taken against a plain white or light-coloured background. The applicant’s face must be square to the camera with a neutral expression. Non-tinted prescription glasses can be worn as long as the eyes are clearly visible and the frame does not cover any part of the eyes. Sunglasses are not acceptable. If a head covering must be worn for religious reasons, applicants must ensure that their full facial features are not obscured.

4.4 Restricted Operator Certificate ─ Aeronautical (ROC-A)

Industry Canada has accredited examiners for the delivery of this certification. Examiners for this type of certificate are mainly flight training school instructors, airport personnel and airline staff. The ROC-A is intended for aircraft pilots, airport radio operators and ground staff working on, or in proximity to, landing strips (e.g. airline ground dispatchers, landing strip snow removers, fuel supply truck staff, airport firefighters, etc.). This certificate allows for the operation of radios utilizing frequencies in the aeronautical band on board aircraft, land vehicles or in base stations.

Application form IC2382 will be supplied by the examiner (departmental or accredited) at the time of the examination. Training courses and examinations for the ROC-A certificate are delivered by examiners accredited by Industry Canada, in accordance with Radiocommunication Information Circular RIC-21, Study Guide for the Restricted Operator Certificate With Aeronautical Qualification. Industry Canada issues this certificate upon notification from the accredited examiner of the successful candidate. This certificate is good for life and no renewal is required. No photo is required and there is no age or nationality restriction.

5. Radiocommunication Operator General Certificate Maritime (RGMC)

The GMDSS was adopted on February 1, 1999. Under the GMDSS, all ocean-going passenger ships and cargo ships of 300 gross tonnage must be equipped with radio apparatus that conforms to international standards. Likewise, radio operators on these vessels must also hold the appropriate radio operator certification compliant with standards adopted by the IMO. Previously existing maritime radio operator certificates, such as the RGMC, are not GMDSS-compliant and are therefore no longer acceptable for operation on board vessels regulated by Canada’s Ship Station (Radio) Regulations, 1999.

Not all countries are members of the IMO and, as a result, Industry Canada offices occasionally receive requests from holders of an RGMC for reissuance (validation) or replacement. Although the RGMC is no longer recognized as a valid certificate for operation of radiocommunication equipment on board compulsorily fitted Canadian ships, Industry Canada will consider reissuance (validation) or replacement of this certificate to a bonafide holder.

The request for reissuance (validation) or replacement must be accompanied by 2 identical photographs taken within the last 6 months showing the applicant’s head and shoulders, measuring 2.54 cm × 3.18 cm (1 inch × 1¼ inches). The applicant must sign the back of the photographs. The photographs must be clear, well-defined and taken against a plain white or light-coloured background. The applicant’s face must be square to the camera with a neutral expression. Non-tinted prescription glasses can be worn as long as the eyes are clearly visible and the frame does not cover any part of the eyes. Sunglasses are not acceptable. If a head covering must be worn for religious reasons, applicants must ensure that their full facial features are not obscured.

The certificate is valid for 5 years following the reissue date. Under no circumstances will Industry Canada consider individuals holding an RGMC for an exchange of certification to a GMDSS-compliant radio operator certificate, such as the GOC or ROC-MC.

6. Summary of Current Radio Operator Certificates

Summary of Current Radio Operator Certificates
Certificate Name Acronym Status Photo Required Age Validity
Issue Validation Replace
Restricted Operator Certificate ─ Aeronautical ROC-A Y N Y N N Lifetime
Restricted Operator Certificate ─ Maritime ROC-M Y N Y N N Lifetime
Restricted Operator Certificate – Maritime Commercial ROC-MC Y N Y N 18 Lifetime
General Operator Certificate GOC Y Y Y Y 18 5 Years
Radiocommunication Operator General Certificate ─ Maritime RGMC N Y Y Y 18 5 Years

7. Certificates No Longer Issued

The following certificates are no longer relevant, supported, issued or reissued (validated):

Certificate of Proficiency in Radio First Class

FIRST CLASS

Certificate of Proficiency in Radio Second Class

SECOND CLASS

Radiotelephone Operator’s General Certificate (Maritime)

ROG(M)

Radiotelephone Operator’s General Certificate (Aeronautical)

ROG(A)

Radiotelephone Operator’s General Certificate (Land)

ROG(L)

Radiotelephone Operator’s Restricted Certificate (Maritime)

ROR(M)

Radiotelephone Operator’s Restricted Certificate (Land)

ROR(L)

Coast Guard Radiotelephone Operator’s Certificate

CGRO R/T

Coast Guard Radiotelegraph Operator’s Certificate

CGRO W/T

Radiotelephone Operator’s Restricted Certificate (Compulsory)

ROR(C)

Radiotelephone Operator’s Restricted Certificate (Voluntary)

ROR(V)

Date modified:

CIR-16 — Certificats professionnels d'opérateur radio

Préface

Les intéressés désireux de faire parvenir leurs observations et leurs suggestions peuvent le faire en les adressant à :

Industrie Canada
a/s de la Direction générale des opérations de la gestion du spectre
(TJEN, salle 1583D)
235, rue Queen
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5

À l’attention de la DOS-P

Par courriel : spectrum_pubs@ic.gc.ca

Toutes les publications de la Gestion du spectre et télécommunications sont disponibles sur le site Web suivant : http://ic.gc.ca/spectre.

1. Intention

Le présent document résume les procédures requises pour l’obtention de chacun des quatre certificats professionnels d’opérateur radio présentement délivrés par Industrie Canada.

2. Contexte

Le Canada a délivré son premier certificat d’opérateur radio professionnel en 1912. Depuis, un nombre de certificats d’opérateur radio différents a été établi pour s’assurer que les opérateurs radio possèdent le niveau d’expertise requis. Il est à noter que le Canada n’a, présentement, aucune entente réciproque avec d’autres administrations étrangères pour bénéficier d’un échange de certificats d’opérateur radio équivalents.

Afin d’assurer la compétence en communications maritimes, l’Organisation maritime internationale (OMI) a établi quatre niveaux de certificat d’opérateur radio. Toutefois, conformément aux dispositions réglementaires du Canada relatives au matériel obligatoire à bord des navires commerciaux, seuls deux de ces niveaux de certificat d’opérateur radio sont nécessaires.

3. Renseignements généraux

Les candidats retenus doivent remplir le formulaire de demande IC2382, Demande concernant le certificat d’opérateur radio. Les renseignements fournis au Ministère servent à la production d’un certificat pertinent et à la tenue d’un registre des certificats. Les examinateurs doivent être dûment autorisés par le Ministère et détenir un certificat de niveau équivalent ou supérieur au certificat d’examen auquel on procède.

4. Certificats actuels

Aujourd’hui, Industrie Canada délivre notamment les certificats professionnels d’opérateur radio suivants :

4.1 Certificat restreint d’opérateur — service maritime (CRO-M)

Le certificat s’adresse essentiellement aux plaisanciers, puisqu’ils ne sont pas sous la juridiction du Règlement de 1999 sur les stations de navires (radio) de Transports Canada. Le 1er septembre 2000, Industrie Canada a délégué l’examen et l’administration du programme de certification CRO-M aux Escadrilles canadiennes de plaisance (ECP). Des cours pour l’obtention du certificat sont préparés et dispensés par des examinateurs privés ou des instructeurs associés aux ECP. Les formulaires de demande de certificat peuvent être obtenus auprès des ECP qui procèdent à la délivrance des certificats par ailleurs valides à vie et sans aucune exigence de renouvellement. On ne demande pas de photographie du détenteur, et il n’y a aucune restriction d’âge ou de nationalité.

Des renseignements supplémentaires sur le certificat peuvent être obtenus auprès des ECP au numéro de téléphone 1-888-CPS-BOAT (1-888-277-2628) ou par Internet à l’adresse suivante : http://www.cps-ecp.ca/public_fr/.

4.2 Certificat restreint d’opérateur — commercial maritime (CRO-CM)

Le certificat restreint d’opérateur — commercial maritime (CRO-CM) s’adresse aux navigateurs, en service sur des navires commerciaux obligatoirement munis d’installations radio, navires exploités dans la zone océanique A1 en Amérique du Nord, comme il est précisé dans les Aides radio à la navigation maritime. Le CRO-CM a été élaboré conformément à la Convention internationale sur les normes de formation des gens de mer, de délivrance des brevets et de veille, 1978, tel que modifié en 1995 (STCW 95 Règle IV/2).

4.2.1 Accréditation

Industrie Canada accrédite des organismes maritimes et des instituts de formation pour assurer la formation et l’évaluation en vue de l’obtention du certificat CRO-CM, conformément à la Circulaire d’information sur les radiocommunications 25, Programme pour l’obtention du certificat restreint d’opérateur radio — commercial maritime (CRO-CM) (CIR-25), et à la Circulaire des procédures concernant les clients CPC-2-7-04, Accréditation d’instituts donnant l’enseignement en vue d’obtenir le CRO-CM et le CGO.

Veuillez consulter la liste de l’annexe A de la CIR-25 pour connaître les organismes accrédités de votre région.

4.2.2 Application

Le formulaire IC2382 sera fourni par les organismes accrédités.

4.2.3 Formation et évaluation

Selon les procédures décrites dans la CIR-25, l’organisme accrédité peut offrir un examen basé sur l’expérience, un cours abrégé de 14  heures (10 heures de formation et 4 heures de révision et d’épreuves), ainsi qu’un cours complet de 24 heures (réparti sur 3 ou 4 jours, dont 20 heures de formation et 4 heures de révision et d’épreuves).

4.2.4 Admissibilité

Les candidats doivent être âgés d’au moins 18 ans. Il n’y a aucune restriction de nationalité pour obtenir ce certificat.

4.2.5 Validation

Le CRO-CM est délivré par Industrie Canada une fois que l’organisme accrédité a soumis le formulaire de demande IC2382 confirmant que le candidat a réussi la formation et l’évaluation. Comme le certificat est valide à vie, la revalidation ou le renouvellement n’est pas nécessaire. Aucune photo n’est requise pour obtenir ce certificat.

4.3 Certificat général d’opérateur (CGO)

Le CGO est le certificat canadien d’opérateur radio de premier niveau destiné aux opérateurs du Système mondial de détresse et de sécurité en mer (SMDSM). Il s’adresse principalement aux personnes exploitant du matériel radio dans le cadre de leur travail à bord de navires obligatoirement munis d’installations radio naviguant en eaux internationales et équipés de matériel radio conformément aux exigences de Transports Canada visant ces navires et ces voyages.

4.3.1 Accréditation

Industrie Canada accrédite des organismes maritimes ou des instituts pour assurer la formation et l’évaluation nécessaires à l’obtention d’un certificat CGO conforme à la Circulaire d’information sur les radiocommunications 26, Information relative au certificat général d'opérateur radio (CGO) (CIR-26), et à la CPI-2-7-04.

Veuillez consulter la liste de l’annexe A de la CIR-26 pour connaître les organismes accrédités de votre région.

4.3.2 Demande

Le formulaire de demande IC2382 sera fourni par les organismes accrédités.

4.3.3 Formation et évaluation

L’organisme accrédité peut offrir la formation complète de dix jours et un cours d’évaluation conformément à la CIR-26.

4.3.4 Admissibilité

Les candidats doivent être âgés d’au moins 18 ans. Il n’y a aucune restriction de nationalité pour obtenir ce certificat.

4.3.5 Validation

Le certificat est délivré par Industrie Canada une fois que l’organisme accrédité a soumis le formulaire de demande IC2382 confirmant que le candidat a réussi la formation et l’évaluation. Le certificat est valide pour une période de cinq ans à compter de la date de délivrance. Il nécessite l’envoi de deux photos identiques prises dans les six derniers mois, et montrant la tête et les épaules. Ces photos doivent mesurer 2,54 cm sur 3,18 cm ou 1 po sur 1¼ po. Le demandeur doit signer les photos à l’endos. Les photos doivent être claires et bien définies, prises contre un arrière-plan blanc uni ou de couleur claire. Le visage doit être bien droit face à l’appareil photo et l’expression doit être neutre. Il est possible de porter des verres correcteurs non teintés si les yeux sont clairement visibles et que la monture ne couvre aucune partie des yeux. Les lunettes de soleil ne sont pas acceptables. Si un couvre-chef doit être porté pour des motifs d’ordre religieux, le demandeur doit s’assurer que tous ses traits faciaux sont visibles.

4.3.6 Renouvellement des CGO

Le renouvellement des CGO doit être effectué avant l’expiration du certificat. Le certificat doit être renouvelé tous les cinq ans pour être considéré valide. Il incombe à l’exploitant de démontrer ses compétences professionnelles pour être admissible au renouvellement du certificat. L’exploitant doit démontrer qu’il satisfait à l’un des critères suivants :

  • 1) Effectué un service en mer à titre d’exploitant, de capitaine ou d’officier chargé du quart sur la passerelle pendant une période d’au moins un an au cours des cinq dernières années à bord d’un navire SMDSM muni de l’équipement, exigé par les règlements de l’OMI et de Transports Canada, aux fins d’exploitation dans les zones de navigation A2, A3 ou A4.
  • 2) Effectué un service en mer pendant au moins trois mois à titre d’exploitant, de capitaine ou d’officier chargé du quart sur la passerelle à bord d’un navire SMDSM muni de l’équipement, exigé par les règlements de l’OMI et de Transports Canada, aux fins d’exploitation dans les zones de navigation A2, A3 ou A4 au cours des 12 derniers mois immédiatement avant l’expiration du certificat.
  • 3) Vingt-quatre mois de service dans des fonctions de radiocommunication similaire à celles de l’un des postes suivants de navigation :
    • I) capitaine à terre, surintendant maritime ou directeur d’exploitation, à l’emploi d’un armateur ou d’un agent maritime;
    • II) pilote de navire ou surintendant du pilote, autorisé par une administration de pilotage;
    • III) expert maritime ayant accompli des tâches liées à l’examen ou à l’inspection de navires, de matériel de navire ou de cargaison;
    • IV) capitaine de port, capitaine des docks, maître du poste de mouillage ou leur adjoint;
    • V) exploitant, homme de quart ou surveillant chargé des opérations portuaires, des services du trafic maritime ou d’un centre de rechercher et de sauvetage;
    • VI) exploitant, homme de quart ou surveillant d’une station côtière (SMDSM) munie de l’équipement pour communiquer avec les navires en circulation dans les zones de navigation A2, A3 ou A4;
    • VII) ingénieur hydrographe;
    • VIII) instructeur, agent de formation ou examinateur qui participe à la formation des exploitants du CGO/SMDSM d’un établissement agréé;
    • IX) examinateur de capitaines et d’officiers;
    • X) personne chargée d’effectuer des enquêtes sur les accidents maritimes;
    • XI) personne chargée de la planification et des opérations en lien avec les urgences maritimes;
    • XII) technicien radio chargé de l’entretien des appareils de radio modernes SMDSM;
    • XIII) inspecteur radio d’Industrie Canada qui participe à la prestation du Programme de certification des opérateurs radio;
    • XIV) la réussite d’un cours de recyclage ou d’un examen pour le renouvellement de la qualification par le truchement d’un établissement agréé.

Pour le renouvellement des CGO, le candidat doit envoyer deux photos identiques prises dans les six derniers mois et montrant la tête et les épaules. Ces photos doivent mesurer 2,54 cm sur 3,18 cm ou 1 po sur 1¼ po. Le demandeur doit signer les photos à l’endos. Les photos doivent être claires et bien définies, prises contre un arrière-plan blanc uni ou de couleur claire. Le visage du demandeur doit être bien droit face à l’appareil photo et l’expression doit être neutre. Il est possible de porter des verres correcteurs non teintés si les yeux sont clairement visibles et que la monture ne couvre aucune partie des yeux. Les lunettes de soleil ne sont pas acceptables. Si un couvre-chef doit être porté pour des motifs d’ordre religieux, le demandeur doit s’assurer que tous ses traits faciaux sont visibles.

4.4 Certificat restreint d’opérateur — service aéronautique (CRO-A)

Industrie Canada a accrédité des examinateurs pour la délivrance de ce certificat. La plupart d’entre eux sont des instructeurs travaillant à des écoles de formation au vol, des employés d’aéroport et de compagnie aérienne. Le CRO-A s’adresse aux pilotes d’aéronef, aux opérateurs radio d’aéroport et au personnel au sol travaillant sur des pistes d’atterrissage ou à proximité (p. ex., répartiteur au sol, personnel de déneigement des pistes, personnel de ravitaillement en carburant, pompier d’aéroport, etc.). Ce certificat permet l’exploitation d’équipements radio dans les bandes de fréquences du service aéronautique à bord d’aéronefs, de véhicules terrestres ou de stations de base.

Le formulaire IC2382 sera fourni par l’examinateur (ministériel ou accrédité) au moment de l’examen. Les cours de formation et d’évaluation du certificat CRO-A sont la responsabilité d’examinateurs accrédités par Industrie Canada conformément à la Circulaire d’information sur les radiocommunications 21, Guide d’étude du certificat restreint de radiotéléphoniste (service aéronautique) (CIR-21). Industrie Canada délivre le certificat lorsque l’examinateur accrédité du candidat reçu en fait la demande. Comme le certificat est valide à vie, son renouvellement n’est pas nécessaire. Aucune photographie n’est requise, et il n’y a aucune restriction d’âge ou de nationalité.

5. Certificat général d’opérateur des radiocommunications — service maritime (CGRM)

Le SMDSM a été adopté le 1er février 1999. En vertu du SMDSM, tout paquebot océanique et tout navire de charge de 300 tonnes de jauge brute doivent être munis d’un appareil radio conforme aux normes internationales. Les opérateurs radio à bord de ces navires doivent également avoir un certificat en règle, conforme aux normes adoptées par l’Organisation maritime internationale (OMI). Les anciens certificats d’opérateur radio maritime, comme le CGRM, ne sont pas conformes au SMDSM, ni, par conséquent, acceptables pour l’exploitation d’appareils radio à bord de navires régis par le Règlement de 1999 sur les stations de navires (radio) de Transports Canada.

Ce ne sont toutefois pas tous les pays qui ont adhéré à l’OMI. Pour cette raison, les bureaux d’Industrie Canada reçoivent parfois des demandes de renouvellement (validation) ou de remplacement présentées par des détenteurs de CGRM. Même si le CGRM n’est plus reconnu comme certificat valide pour l’exploitation de matériel radio à bord de navires canadiens obligatoirement munis d’installations radio, Industrie Canada étudiera le renouvellement (validation) ou le remplacement du certificat des détenteurs de bonne foi.

La demande de renouvellement (validation) ou de remplacement doit être accompagnée de deux photos identiques prises dans les six derniers mois et montrant la tête et les épaules du demandeur. Ces photos doivent mesurer 2,54 cm sur 3,18 cm ou 1 po sur 1¼ po. Le demandeur doit signer les photos à l’endos. Les photos doivent être claires et bien définies, prises contre un arrière-plan blanc uni ou de couleur claire. Le visage doit être bien droit face à l’appareil photo et l’expression doit être neutre. Il est possible de porter des verres correcteurs non teintés si les yeux sont clairement visibles et que la monture ne couvre aucune partie des yeux. Les lunettes de soleil ne sont pas acceptables. Si un couvre-chef doit être porté pour des motifs d’ordre religieux, le demandeur doit s’assurer que tous ses traits faciaux sont visibles.

Ce certificat est valide pour une période de cinq ans à compter de la date de redélivrance. En aucun cas, Industrie Canada ne peut échanger un certificat d’opérateur radio conforme au SMDSM, tel que le CGO ou le CRO-CM, contre un CGRM.

6. Aperçu des certificats d’opérateur radio existants

Aperçu des certificats d’opérateur radio existants
Nom du certificat Acronyme État Photo requise Âge Validité
Délivré Validation Remplacement
Certificat restreint d’opérateur – service aéronautique CRO-A O N O N N À vie
Certificat restreint d’opérateur – service maritime CRO-M O N O N N À vie
Certificat restreint d’opérateur – commercial maritime CRO-CM O N O N 18 À vie
Certificat d’opérateur général CGO O O O O 18 5 ans
Certificat général d’opérateur des radiocommunications (service maritime) CGRM N O O O 18 5 ans

7. Certificats qui ne sont plus délivrés

Les certificats ci-après ne sont plus actuels, ni approuvés, ni délivrés ou renouvelés (validés) :

Certificat d’opérateur radio de première classe

PREMIÈRE CLASSE

Certificat d’opérateur radio de deuxième classe

DEUXIÈME CLASSE

Certificat général de radiotéléphoniste (service maritime)

CGR(M)

Certificat général de radiotéléphoniste (service aéronautique)

GCR(A)

Certificat général de radiotéléphoniste (service terrestre)

CGR(T)

Certificat restreint de radiotéléphoniste (service maritime)

CRR(M)

Certificat restreint de radiotéléphoniste (service terrestre)

CRR(T)

Certificat de radiotéléphoniste de la Garde côtière

CRGC/TÉL

Certificat de radiotélégraphiste de la Garde côtière

CRGC/TÉLÉGR

Certificat restreint de radiotéléphoniste (installation obligatoire)

CRR(O)

Certificat restreint de radiotéléphoniste (installation facultative)

CRR(F)

Fil RSS

Soyez informé lorsque nous affichons du nouveau contenu.

RSS Publication de nouveaux documents

Voir la liste de tous nos fils RSS.