TB-1 — Information Relating to the Regulation of Radio Apparatus Capable of Receiving Television Broadcasting

Issue 4,
Posted on Industry Canada website: March 12, 2015

Preface

The contents of this bulletin are an expression of Industry Canada’s practices, procedures and policies regarding BETS-7 — Technical Standards and Requirements for Radio Apparatus Capable of Receiving Television Broadcasting. The Department reserves the right to modify its practices, procedures or policies at any time, without notice if, in the opinion of the Department, the circumstances or regulations affecting the management of this aspect of the radio frequency spectrum so warrant. Notice of such changes will be given in advance whenever possible. This bulletin is not intended to replace the regulations themselves, nor is it comprehensive in that it does not answer all possible questions. Therefore, the relevant regulations and amendments thereto should also be consulted for all purposes of complying with the law.

Daniel Duguay
Director General
Engineering, Planning and Standards Branch

1. Introduction

Industry Canada's requirements concerning radio apparatus capable of and intended for receiving television broadcasting are contained in Radiocommunication Regulations, Part III, under Category II equipment, and the standards that apply are defined in the broadcasting equipment technical standard BETS-7, Technical Standards and Requirements for Radio Apparatus Capable of Receiving Television Broadcasting.

BETS-7 pertains to three specific types of radio apparatus: digital television receiving apparatus, analog and digital television receiving apparatus, and cable-compatible analog and digital television receiving apparatus. These classifications apply to all radio apparatus capable of receiving television broadcasting, equipped with Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC) and/or National Television System Committee (NTSC) tuners, such as television sets, set-top-boxes for digital-to-analog conversion, and other interface devices such as videocassette recorders (VCRs), DVD recorders, digital video recorders (DVRs), intended for sale or resale to the public.

2. Purpose

The purpose of this bulletin is to clarify the application of BETS-7 through the following questions and answers, for the guidance of manufacturers and importers.

1.  Q.  What are the channel selection requirements for digital TV receivers?

A.  Digital TV receivers must be capable of receiving over-the-air ATSC-type signals on all very high frequency and ultra-high frequency channels.

2.  Q.  What are the channel selection requirements for analog TV receivers?

A.  Analog TV receivers must be capable of receiving over-the-air NTSC-type signals on all very high frequency and ultra high frequency channels. Additionally, those receiving apparatus able to connect to a cable TV distribution undertaking using a coaxial cable must be capable of receiving on all very high frequency channels, mid-band channels, super-band channels and ultra high frequency channels. Refer to BETS-7 for further information and definitions.

3.  Q.  What is considered to be a permanent label or marking?

A.  Any label or marking is considered permanent if it cannot be removed without the use of tools.

4.  Q.  Are there any regulations under the Radiocommunication Act, other than the Radiocommunication Regulations, Part III, which are applicable to technical requirements for TV receivers?

A.  Currently, the only other regulations dealing with technical requirements for TV receivers under the Radiocommunication Act are contained in Part VI of the Radiocommunication Regulations and concern interference, including interference-causing equipment.

5.  Q.  Is there an additional labelling requirement for TV receivers under Part VI of the Radiocommunication Regulations?

A.  There is no special requirement for a label to indicate compliance under that aspect only, as labelling is associated with meeting all of Industry Canada's BETS-7 requirements.

6.  Q.  Has the Minister of Industry approved any testing procedure as referred to in the Radiocommunication Regulations, Part III?

A.  References and guidance are provided throughout BETS-7, where applicable, with respect to TV receivers.

7.  Q.  Are TVs covered under BETS-7 limited to the reception of TV broadcasting signals?

A.  No. BETS-7 only addresses the TV broadcasting receiving capabilities of a TV receiver. Therefore, any additional features, such as sound broadcasting reception capability (e.g. AM, FM, mono or stereo and shortwave reception), or inputs/outputs for connecting auxiliary equipment or apparatus or connecting to a cable TV distribution undertaking, are allowed provided that all requirements of BETS-7 pertaining to television reception are met.

8.  Q.  Does BETS-7 preclude the sale of AM/FM receivers that are also capable of receiving the audio portion of a TV transmission?

A.  No. Multiband radios capable of receiving the audio portion of a TV transmission are not included in the Department's Regulations on radio apparatus capable of receiving television broadcasting.

9.  Q.  Does BETS-7 permit the use of numerical designators to identify mid-band and super-band channels?

A.  Yes. However, given that this matter is not in any particular manner related to spectrum management, it is not covered in BETS-7.

10.  Q.  What is the effective date of BETS-7?

A.  The publication date is the effective date.

The following timetable has been established in order to facilitate the transition concerning testing and labelling requirements for manufacturers and importers given that Issue 2 of BETS-7 has been replaced by Issue 3:

  • Any make and model/type number for which the notification to Industry Canada has already occurred or will occur on or before August 31, 2015, as per Section 3 of BETS-7, is considered to be compliant with Industry Canada's requirements, including labelling, as specified in Issue 2. Nevertheless, Industry Canada encourages manufacturers and importers to adopt Issue 3, if possible.
  • Any make and model/type number for which the notification to Industry Canada has not occurred on or before August 31, 2015, as per Section 3 of BETS-7, must fulfill  Industry Canada's requirements, including labelling, as specified in Issue 3.

11.  Q.  Does BETS-7 allow the sale of TV receivers without any antennas?

A.  Yes. It is expected though that any requirements be clearly and prominently communicated to potential consumers, so that they are made aware of any additional accessories to be acquired separately.

12.  Q.  What are the antenna terminal impedance requirements for TV receivers?

A.  For a TV receiver intended to be connected to a cable TV distribution undertaking, the signal input is through a 75-ohm impedance. Owners of antennas with 300 ohm leads only are expected to use a 300-ohm/75 ohm converting unit to connect the 75ohm coaxial cable to the TV receiver input terminal.

13.  Q.  What are the tuning requirements for TV receivers?

A.  TV receivers must have the appropriate tuning mechanism to adequately tune and display the channel selected.

14.  Q.  Does a manufacturer or importer require approval by Industry Canada before offering for sale radio apparatus capable of receiving television broadcasting?

A.  Departmental approval is not required prior to offering for sale radio apparatus that is capable of receiving television broadcasting, as referenced in Section 3 of BETS-7. However, the manufacturer or importer must use one of the following two options for indicating to the Department that it meets BETS-7 requirements:

  1. forward electronically to the Department, at the email address given in Section 3 of BETS-7, a notification attesting that the equipment meets BETS-7 requirements and giving the make/model number of each type of apparatus tested and keeping available, for a period of five years, the test data obtained as a result of the tests carried out and making it available to the Minister of Industry on demand; or
  2. send the documents mentioned in (1) above in paper format to the addressee mentioned in Section 3 of BETS-7 with the same requirements as to the test data.

By labelling the device as required in Section 3 of BETS-7, the manufacturer or importer is certifying that the Department's requirements have been met.

15.  Q.  Does BETS-7 apply to video monitors or computers with video monitors, or to TV sets which are designed for cable reception in hospitals or hotels?

A.  No, BETS-7 does not apply to video monitors, computers with video monitors or to TV receiving equipment intended for a purpose other than sale or resale to the public.

16.  Q.  Does the tuning capability of a TV receiver have to be simultaneously compatible when switched from the cable to the off-air mode?

A.  No. It is expected that the apparatus may require adjustment of the preset selection controls to change from the cable to the off-air mode or vice versa.

17.  Q.  Are TV sets that are capable of tuning channels below 120 MHz (commonly designated as A1, A2, etc.) permitted to be sold in Canada?

A.  Yes. However, cable television distribution undertakings in Canada that are authorized to use the bands 108-120 MHz and 328.6-335.4 MHz to carry TV broadcasting signals can do so under very strict conditions because of the shared use of these bands by other radiocommunication systems.

18.  Q.  Is it permissible to add baseband, RGB or other input and output terminals to TV receivers?

A.  Yes. There is no restriction on the addition of terminals for various other services and the Department encourages such additions.

Date modified:

BT-1 — Renseignements sur la réglementation des appareils radio pouvant recevoir des télédiffusions

4e édition

Préface

Le contenu du présent bulletin reflète les méthodes, lignes de conduite et politiques d’Industrie Canada relativement aux Normes et exigences techniques applicables aux appareils de radiocommunication pouvant recevoir des télédiffusions NTMR-7. Le Ministère se réserve le droit de les modifier en tout temps, et ce, sans préavis si les circonstances ou les règlements qui touchent la gestion de cette partie du spectre des radiofréquences le justifient. Dans la mesure du possible, ces modifications seront annoncées à l'avance. Le présent bulletin n'est pas destiné à remplacer les règlements eux-mêmes et il n'est pas exhaustif, en ce sens qu'il ne répond pas à toutes les questions pouvant surgir. Il faut donc consulter les règlements pertinents et les modifications qui s'y rapportent afin de respecter la loi en vigueur.

Daniel Duguay
Directeur général
Direction générale du génie, de la planification et des normes

1. Introduction

Les exigences d’Industrie Canada applicables aux appareils radio pouvant recevoir des télédiffusions et destinés à cette fin figurent à la partie III, matériel de catégorie II, du Règlement sur la radiocommunication. Les normes applicables à ces appareils figurent dans la norme technique de matériel de radiodiffusion (NTMR-7), intitulée, Normes et exigences techniques applicables aux appareils de radiocommunication pouvant recevoir des télédiffusions.

La NTMR-7 vise trois types particuliers d’appareils radio : les appareils de réception de télévision numérique, les appareils de réception de télévision analogique et numérique, et les appareils de réception de télévision analogique et numérique câblocompatibles. Ces types s’appliquent à tous les appareils de radiocommunication munis de syntoniseurs du Comité de systèmes de télévision évolués (Advanced Television Systems Committee [ATSC]) ou du Comité du système de télévision national (National television System committee [NTSC]) (ou les deux) qui peuvent recevoir des télédiffusions (téléviseurs, boîtiers décodeurs de conversion numérique-analogique, magnétoscopes à cassettes, enregistreurs de DVD, enregistreurs vidéo numériques, etc.) et qui sont destinés à la vente ou à la revente au grand public.

2. Objet

En répondant aux questions ci-dessous, le présent bulletin vise à clarifier l’application de la NTMR-7 pour la gouverne des fabricants et des importateurs.

1. Q. Quelles sont les exigences en matière de sélection de canal applicables aux récepteurs de télévision numérique ?

R. Les récepteurs de télévision numérique doivent pouvoir recevoir des signaux de type ATSC en direct dans tous les canaux à ondes métriques (VHF) et à ondes décimétriques (UHF).

2. Q. Quelles sont les exigences en matière de sélection de canal applicables aux récepteurs de télévision analogique ?

R. Les récepteurs de télévision analogique doivent pouvoir recevoir des signaux de type NTSC en direct dans tous les canaux VHF et UHF. En plus de respecter cette exigence, les récepteurs qui peuvent être connectés à un câblodistributeur à l’aide d’un câble coaxial doivent pouvoir recevoir des signaux dans tous les canaux des bandes moyenne et supérieure. Veuillez consulter la NTMR-7 pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et avoir accès aux définitions.

3. Q. En quoi une étiquette ou une marque permanente consiste-t-elle ?

R. En une étiquette ou une marque qui ne peut être retirée sans l’aide d’outils.

4. Q. Outre la partie III du Règlement sur la radiocommunication, existe-t-il des règlements afférents à la Loi sur la radiocommunication qui s’appliquent aux exigences techniques liées aux récepteurs de télévision ?

R. À ce jour, les seuls règlements afférents à la Loi sur la radiocommunication qui s’appliquent à ces exigences figurent à la partie VI du Règlement sur la radiocommunication et portent sur le brouillage, notamment le matériel brouilleur.

5. Q. La partie VI du Règlement sur la radiocommunication comporte-t-elle une exigence supplémentaire applicable à l’étiquetage des récepteurs de télévision ?

R. Il n’existe aucune exigence spéciale applicable à l’étiquetage uniquement pour les récepteurs de télévision, puisque l’étiquetage doit respecter toutes les exigences de la NTMR 7 d’Industrie Canada.

6. Q. Le ministre de l’Industrie at-il approuvé une procédure d’essai, au sens de la partie III du Règlement sur la radiocommunication ?

R. La NTMR-7 comporte, le cas échéant, les références et les lignes directrices liées aux récepteurs de télévision.

7. Q. Les téléviseurs visés par la NTMR-7 ne doivent-ils recevoir que des signaux de télédiffusion ?

R. Non. La NTMR-7 ne traite que des capacités de télédiffusion d’un récepteur de télévision. Toute fonction supplémentaire est permise, comme la réception de radiodiffusion sonore (AM, FM, mono, stéréo, réception à ondes courtes, etc.) et les entrées et sorties nécessaires à la connexion d’équipement auxiliaire ou à un câblodistributeur, à condition que les exigences de la NTMR-7 visant la réception de télédiffusions soient respectées.

8. Q. La NTMR-7 interdit-elle la vente de récepteurs AM-FM conçus pour également recevoir la portion audio d’une transmission de télévision ?

R. Non. Les radios à multibandes pouvant recevoir la portion audio d’une transmission de télévision ne sont pas visés par les règlements du Ministère qui s’appliquent aux appareils radio pouvant recevoir des télédiffusions.

9. Q. La NTMR-7 permet-elle l’utilisation de désignateurs numériques pour indiquer les canaux des bandes moyenne et supérieure ?

R. Oui. La NTMR-7 ne traite cependant pas de ce sujet, car celui-ci n’est pas lié d’une quelconque façon à la gestion du spectre.

10. Q. Quelle est la date d’entrée en vigueur de la NTMR-7 ?

R. La date de publication.

En ce qui a trait aux différents numéros d’édition de la NTMR-7, la troisième édition remplaçant la deuxième, nous avons mis en place l’échéancier suivant pour faciliter la transition sur le plan des exigences liées aux essais et à l’étiquetage pour les fabricants et les importateurs :

  • Industrie Canada considérera comme conformes toute marque et tout numéro de modèle pour lesquels il a déjà reçu ou recevra une notification au plus tard le 31 août 2015 (conformément à la section 3 de la NTMR-7), y compris l’étiquetage, selon la 2e édition. Toutefois, le Ministère encourage les fabricants et les importateurs à adopter la 3e édition, dans la mesure du possible.
  • Toute marque et tout numéro de modèle pour lesquels Industrie Canada recevra la notification après le 31 août 2015 (conformément à la section 3 de la NTMR-7), devra satisfaire aux exigences, y compris l’étiquetage, selon la 3e édition.

11. Q. La NTMR-7 permet-elle la vente de récepteurs de télévision sans antenne ?

R. Oui. Toutefois, les exigences devront être clairement indiquées aux consommateurs, afin que ces derniers sachent qu’ils devront alors acheter séparément des accessoires supplémentaires.

12. Q. Quelles sont les exigences liées à l’impédance des bornes d’antennes applicables aux récepteurs de télévision ?

R. L’entrée du signal de tout récepteur de télévision conçu pour être connecté à un câblodistributeur doit être un connecteur d’une impédance de 75 ohms. Les propriétaires d’antennes munies de fils de 300 ohms seulement devraient utiliser un convertisseur de 300/75 ohms pour connecter le câble coaxial de 75 ohms à la borne d’entrée du récepteur de télévision.

13. Q. Quelles sont les exigences liées à la syntonisation applicables aux récepteurs de télévision ?

R. Les récepteurs de télévision doivent comporter le mécanisme de syntonisation nécessaire pour syntoniser et afficher correctement le canal sélectionné.

14. Q. Le fabricant ou l’importateur doit-il recevoir l’approbation d’Industrie Canada avant de mettre en vente un appareil de radiocommunication pouvant recevoir des télédiffusions ?

A. L’approbation du Ministère n’est pas requise (voir la section 3 de la NTMR-7). Toutefois, le fabricant ou l’importateur doit, de l’une des deux façons suivantes, attester de la conformité de l’appareil aux exigences de la NTMR-7.

  1. Envoyer à l’adresse courriel indiquée dans la section 3 de la NTMR-7 un avis attestant que l’appareil satisfait aux exigences établies dans la NTMR-7 et indiquant la marque et le numéro de modèle de chaque type d’appareil mis à l’essai. Le fabricant ou l’importateur est tenu de conserver pendant cinq ans tous les résultats des essais effectués et de mettre ceux-ci à la disposition du ministre de l’Industrie sur demande.
  2. Envoyer un exemplaire imprimé des documents susmentionnés à l’adresse qui figure dans la section 3 de la NTMR-7. Les exigences visant les résultats des essais, ci-dessus, s’appliquent aussi.

Par l’étiquette apposée sur le dispositif, conformément à la section 3 de la NTMR-7, le fabricant ou l’importateur certifie que les exigences du Ministère sont satisfaites.

15. Q. La NTMR-7 s’applique-t-elle aux moniteurs vidéo, aux ordinateurs munis d’un moniteur vidéo ou aux téléviseurs conçus pour la réception de câblodiffusions dans les hôpitaux et les hôtels ?

R. Non. La NTMR-7 ne s’applique pas aux appareils susmentionnés, ni aux appareils de réception de télévision n’étant pas destinés à la vente ou à la revente au grand public, mais à d’autres fins.

16. Q. La capacité de syntonisation d’un récepteur de télévision doit-elle être compatible simultanément lorsqu’elle passe du mode câblé au mode en direct ?

R. Non. On s’attend à ce que l’appareil nécessite un réglage des commandes présélectionnées pour passer d’un mode à l’autre.

17. Q. La vente des téléviseurs pouvant syntoniser des canaux inférieurs à 120 MHz (couramment désignés A1, A2, etc.) est-elle permise au Canada ?

R. Oui. Toutefois, les câblodistributeurs canadiens autorisés à exploiter les bandes de 108 à 120 MHz et de 328,6 à 335,4 MHz doivent respecter des conditions très strictes sur la transmission de signaux de télédiffusion dans ces bandes en raison de l’utilisation partagée avec d’autres systèmes de radiocommunication.

18. Q. Est-il permis d’ajouter aux récepteurs de télévision des bandes de base, telles l’affichage RVB ou d’autres bornes d’entrée et de sortie ?

R. Oui. Il n’existe aucune restriction quant à

Date de modification :