SP 450 MHz — Spectrum Utilization Policy for the Frequency Bands 450-451 MHz and 455-456 MHz and also Part of the 150 MHz Band Used in Support of Broadcasting Operations and the Frequency Band 409-410 MHz and 420-421 MHz Used by the Mobile Radio Service

May 1986

Table of Contents

  1. Intent
  2. Bands 450–451 MHz and 455–456 MHz and Parts of the 150 MHz Band
  3. Bands 409–410 MHz and 420–421 MHz
  4. Implementation

1. Intent

The purpose of this document is to specify the spectrum utilization policy for the frequency bands 450–451 MHz and 455–456 MHz and also parts of the 150 MHz band used in support of broadcasting operations and the Frequency bands in the 409–410 MHz and 420–421 MHz used by the Mobile Radio Service.

2. Bands 450–451 MHz and 455–456 MHz and Parts of the 150 MHz Band

2.1 Introduction

The Department of Communications issued Gazette Notice DGTP-010-84/TRS-028-84, dated November 13, 1984 proposing a change to the spectrum utilization policy for the frequency bands, 450–451 MHz and 455–456 MHz. These bands have been used for Studio Transmitter Links (STL's) for AM broadcast stations, broadcast pickup and mobile operations associated with broadcasting undertakings.

In an earlier proceeding, the Department provided for experimental implementation and testing of AM stereophonic broadcasting systems in Canada in Gazette Notice DGTN 004-82/DGTR 013-82 over the period September 1, 1982 to March 1, 1984. This test period was extended in subsequent Gazette Notices. It is expected that this trial will lead to the eventual conversion of AM broadcast stations from monaural to stereo format which will, in turn, require studio transmitter links with the capacity to carry stereo programming.

The bandwidth requirements for stereo Studio Transmitter Links are larger than could be reasonably accommodated in the 150 MHz and 450 MHz bands. In addition, there is a continuing overall demand for spectrum to meet the requirements for mobile operations, including those associated with Broadcast Undertakings. While needs for the fixed service can be met at higher frequencies, for technical reasons demand for mobile spectrum must be met today in the VHF/UHF portions of the radio frequency spectrum.

Consequently, the Department proposed in November, 1984 that all new and existing AM broadcast stations proposing to broadcast in stereo utilize Studio Transmitter Links in higher frequency bands, thus leaving the remaining spectrum for mobile and other broadcasting auxiliary operations. However, certain flexibility was proposed for dealing with STL's in geographic areas where the use of the radio frequency spectrum is low.

2.2 Policy

2.2.1 General

The general principle of restricting the fixed service usage of bands below 1 GHz particularly in areas of intensive frequency use wherever and whenever possible in favour of usage for mobile services, will be followed.

Similarly, the general principle of encouraging the use of non-radio alternatives wherever and whenever they are practical and particularly in areas of intensive frequency use will be pursued.

Where use of radio is warranted, STL's for new AM (and FM) broadcast stations, whether they operate in monaural or stereo format, should be authorized in higher frequency bands. The 1.7 GHz band, as defined in SP 301.7, is the preferred band for AM and FM monaural and stereo STL's. Under special circumstances the spectrum in the band 956–960 MHz as defined in SP 300.89 can also be used for STLs.

2.2.2 Existing STLs - Monaural

Existing AM and FM broadcast stations which choose to continue to broadcast monaural programming may, if they are currently assigned a Studio Transmitter Link in the bands 450–451 and 455–456 MHz continue to use that link on a standard basis. Those using STL's in the 150 MHz band for this purpose may also continue but are designed non-standard on the effective date of this policy.

2.2.3 Existing STL's Converting to Stereo and New STLs

Existing monaural broadcast stations converting to broadcast in stereo and wishing to use a STL will normally relinquish any existing 150 MHz or 450 MHz STL assigned to them and replace it with an assignment in one of the higher frequency bands designated for this purpose, except as noted in 2.2.4 below. On application by the licensee, and at the discretion of the appropriate Regional Director, a short term dual STL operation for up to two years can be authorized. In such an arrangement, an STL operating in a higher frequency band would transmit the stereo service and the existing 150 MHz or 450 MHz STL would provide a monaural backup service. New STLs will be assigned in higher bands except as noted in 2.2.4.

2.2.4 Application of Policy

In areas of Canada where the demands for mobile services is defined as light, the Regional Director may choose to license monaural STL's and with sufficient justification, stereo STL's in the 450 MHz band to support the operation of new and existing AM broadcast stations. These areas of light mobile use are defined in the DOC Radio Systems Policy, RP-004. However the Regional Director may wish to vary these definitions due to local needs and circumstances, and license STL's on a non-standard, or in exceptional cases, on even a standard basis. No further 150 MHz STL assignments will be made.

2.2.5 Provisions for Non-Standard STLs

Providing the demand for mobile assignments in a particular geographic area in the 150 MHz or 450 MHz range is not high, STLs licensed on a non-standard basis may continue to operate in those bands on that basis indefinitely. In the event the frequencies are required at some time in the future to meet a mobile requirement, the general provisions for the rearrangement or modification of non-standard systems would apply (i.e. as specified in SP GEN, the non-standard STL operation would receive up to a 2 year notice dependent on local circumstances, at the discretion of the appropriate Regional Director, to vacate the frequency at which time they could then apply to establish a new STL in other bands that are available for that purpose).

2.2.6 Mobile Operations in Support of Broadcasting

Frequency requirements for mobile operations used in support of broadcasting operations will continue to be met in the bands 450–451 and 455–456 MHz, but assignments will be made at the lower end of each of these two 450 MHz subbands, to the extent possible. This is to permit the eventual introduction of new technology mobile systems in the vacated spectrum. Except for mobile operations used in support of broadcasting operations, no new mobile assignments for other purposes will be made in those bands pending the result of a future policy review.

3. Bands 409–410 MHz and 420–421 MHz

3.1 Introduction

In the same Gazette Notice DGTP-010-84/TRS-028-84, dated November 13, 1984 the Department proposed a reallocated use for the bands 409–410 MHz and 420–421 MHz currently designated solely for medium capacity mobile radiotelephone systems since there were no apparent plans to develop radiotelephone systems in this band in several areas of the country while demand for mobile radio dispatch systems remained high in many of these same areas. The proposal also included provisions for continuance and expansion of any existing radiotelephone systems within the operating territory of the particular licensee.

3.2 Policy

As a principle, the Department will act to ensure use of spectrum in an efficient and effective manner to meet the varying demands of users across Canada. While the bands 409–410 MHz and 420–421 MHz have been used for the implementation of a mobile radiotelephone system in some areas, there is no apparent interest in other areas to implement such systems in these bands at this time - particularly with the recent introduction of 800 MHz, North American compatible, cellular radiotelephone systems and the allocation by the Department of 40 MHz of mobile spectrum for this purpose.

The Department is, therefore, allocating these particular bands for use by dispatch mobile radio services in addition to their currently allocated use for mobile radiotelephone services. This newly allocated use will share these bands geographically with the mobile radiotelephone use on an either/or basis. That is to say that any mobile radiotelephone systems already licensed will be allowed to grow to their design potential and to extend to the boundaries of the licensee's operating territory. The Department will not assign any dispatch mobile radio systems that would compromise full mobile radiotelephone system development in these areas. At the discretion of the Regional Director, the use of radio operating in these bands as a means of local loop replacement for telephone companies may be authorized in areas of light mobile use.

In those areas where mobile radiotelephone systems have not yet been licensed in the bands 409–410 and 420–421 MHz, the radiotelephone use will be retained as a standard use until April 30, 1987. Until the end of this period, letters-of-intent could be accepted from telephone companies for new applications for mobile radiotelephone systems provided the need for a third mobile radiotelephone system were justified. (The first two common mobile radiotelephone systems are the VHF General Land Mobile Radio Service and the 800 MHz Cellular Mobile Radiotelephone Service).

The use of these bands for dispatch mobile radio systems may be limited by each Regional Director to certain types of new mobile systems (e.g. - trunked systems only). During the period until April 30, 1987 the Department may also license applicants for dispatch mobile radio systems in these bands if they can satisfy the Regional Director why other 400 MHz bands could not accommodate their proposed mobile usage. The need and extent of this justification would be at the discretion of the Regional Director and will be waived after April 30, 1987.

In geographical areas where duplex mobile operations cannot be utilized due to radio astronomy observations in the band 406.1-410 MHz (see Annex 1), the Department will accept applications for simplex operations in the band 420–421 MHz.

Due to the use of the band 420–421 MHz in border areas by the Radiolocation Service in the U.S.A., mobile systems in certain areas of Canada may be disrupted during periods of emergency. For this reason, safety service users which could not tolerate such disruptions should not plan to use the band 420–421 MHz on a simplex basis or on a duplex basis with the band 409–410 MHz.

4. Implementation

This Spectrum Utilization Policy is effective on its release.

V. Hill
Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch

Figure B-1 Canadian Protection Zones For The Algonquin Radioastronomy Observatory (ARO)

Date modified:

PS 450 MHz — Politique d'utilisation du spectre dans les bandes de fréquences 450-451 MHz et 455-456 MHz et certaines parties de la bande 150 MHz utilisées à l'appui des services de radiodiffusion, et les bandes de fréquence 409-410 MHz et 420-421 MHz utilisées par le service radio mobile

mai 1986

Table de matières

  1. Objet
  2. Bandes 450–451 MHz et 455–456 MHz et certaines parties de la bande 150 MHz
  3. Bandes 409–410 MHz et 420–421 MHz
  4. Mise en oeuvre

1. Objet

Le présent document a pour objet d'exposer la politique d'utilisation du spectre dans les bandes de fréquences 450–451 MHz et 455–456 MHz et certaines parties de la bande 150 MHz utilisées à l'appui des services de radiodiffusion, et les bandes de fréquences 409-410 MHz et 420–421 MHz utilisées par le service radio mobile.

2. Bandes 450–451 MHz et 455–456 MHz et certaines parties de la bande 150 MHz

2.1 Introduction

Le 13 novembre 1984, le Ministère a publié dans la Gazette du Canada l'avis DGTP-010-84/TRS-028-84, qui proposait une modification de la politique d'utilisation des bandes de fréquences 450–451 MHz et 455–456 MHz. Ces bandes ont jusqu'à maintenant été utilisées pour fournir des liaisons studio-émetteur (LSE) aux stations de radiodiffusion AM, aux récepteurs de radiodiffusion et aux stations mobiles associées à des entreprises de radiodiffusion.

Dans l'avis DGTN 004-82/DGTR 013-82 publié dans la Gazette du Canada, le Ministère a autorisé la mise en oeuvre à titre expérimental et la mise à l'essai au Canada de systèmes de radiodiffusion AM fonctionnant en stéréophonie, pour une période allant du 1er septembre 1982 au 1er mars 1984. Dans des avis postérieurs cette période a été prolongée. On s'attend que l'expérience mène à la conversion éventuelle à la stéréophonie d'un nombre considérable de stations radio AM monophoniques, ce qui nécessitera alors l'établissement de liaisons studio-émetteur capables de transmettre des émissions stéréophoniques.

Les largeurs de bande nécessaires pour les liaisons studio-émetteur en stéréophonie sont supérieures à ce qui pourrait raisonnablement être assuré dans les bandes 150 MHz et 450 MHz. De plus, on est en présence d'une demande constante de fréquences pour répondre aux besoins du service mobile, y compris ceux qui sont liés aux entreprises de radiodiffusion. Si l'on peut satisfaire les besoins du service fixe au moyen des fréquences plus élevées, pour des raisons techniques, il faut s'en tenir à l'heure actuelle aux bandes VHF et UHF du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques afin de répondre aux besoins du service mobile.

En conséquence, en novembre 1984 le Ministère a proposé d'assigner des liaisons studio-émetteur dans les bandes de fréquences supérieures, à toutes les stations de radiodiffusion AM nouvelles et existantes qui projettent de diffuser en stéréophonie, de manière à libérer le reste des fréquences du spectre pour les stations du service mobile et autres stations auxiliaires de radiodiffusion. Toutefois, certaines exceptions sont prévues dans le cas des LSE exploitées dans des régions géographiques où l'utilisation du spectre des fréquences radioélectriques est faible.

2.2 Politique

2.2.1 Généralités

Dans la mesure du possible, on respectera le principe consistant à restreindre l'utilisation des bandes inférieures à l GHz par le service fixe, en particulier dans les zones de forte utilisation, afin de favoriser l'utilisation de ces bandes par les services mobiles.

De même, en règle générale, on continuera d'encourager l'utilisation d'autres moyens que les liaisons radio dans tous les cas où ces solutions s'avéreront pratiques, en particulier dans les zones à forte utilisation.

Lorsque l'utilisation de liaisons radio sera justifiée, l'exploitation de LSE par de nouvelles stations de radiodiffusion AM (et FM), en monophonie ou en stéréophonie, devrait être autorisée dans les bandes de fréquences plus élevées. La bande de 1,7 GHz, telle que définie dans la PS 301,7, est celle qui convient le mieux pour les LSE AM et FM en monophonie et en stéréophonie. Dans des cas spéciaux, les LSE pourront également être exploitées dans la bande 956–960 MHz, telle que dans la PS 300,89.

2.2.2 LSE existantes - Monophonie

Les exploitants de stations de radiodiffusion AM et FM existantes qui choisiront de continuer de diffuser des émissions en monophonie pourront, si une LSE leur est actuellement assignée dans les bandes 450-451 et 455–456 MHz, continuer d'exploiter cette liaison à titre normalisé. Quant à ceux qui utilisent des LSE dans la bande 150 MHz, à cette fin, ils pourront continuer de le faire, mais ils seront désignés non normalisés à la date d'entrée en vigueur de la présente politique.

2.2.3 LSE existantes converties à la stéréophonie et nouvelle LSE

Les stations de radiodiffusion en monophonie existantes qui adopteront la radiodiffusion en stéréophonie et désireront utiliser une LSE, devront normalement cesser d'utiliser les liaisons studio-émetteur qui leur sont actuellement assignées dans les bandes 150 MHz ou 450 MHz et les remplacer par des assignations dans l'une des bandes de fréquences plus élevées, désignées à cette fin, sauf dans les cas expliqués en 2.2.4 ci-dessous. Sur présentation d'une demande par le titulaire, et à la discrétion du directeur général, on pourra autoriser à court terme l'exploitation simultanée de deux LSE pour une période maximum de deux ans. En l'occurrence, une LSE fonctionnant dans une bande plus élevée assurerait le service stéréophonique, et la LSE existante à 150 MHz ou à 450 MHz, un service monophonique de secours. Les nouvelles LSE seront assignées dans les bandes plus élevées, sauf dans les cas expliqués en 2.2.4.

2.2.4 Application de la politique

Dans les régions du Canada où la demande de services mobiles est définie comme étant faible, le directeur régional pourra choisir d'autoriser sous licence l'exploitation de LSE monophoniques et, dans les cas justifiés, de LSE stéréophoniques dans la bande 450 MHz, pour les besoins des stations de radiodiffusion AM nouvelles et existantes. Ces régions à faible utilisation du service mobile sont définies dans la Politique des systèmes radio nE 004. Cependant, le directeur régional pourra modifier ces définitions pour tenir compte des besoins et des circonstances particulières à l'échelle locale, et délivrer des licences pour des LSE à titre de liaisons non normalisées, ou même, dans des cas exceptionnels, à titre de liaisons normalisées. On n'assignera plus de fréquences à des LSE dans la bande 150 MHz.

2.2.5 Dispositions concernant les LSE non normalisées

Pourvu qu'il n'y ait pas une forte demande d'assignations dans la gamme 150 MHz ou 450 MHz pour le service mobile dans une région géographique particulière, les LSE qui auront été autorisées sous licence à titre de LSE non normalisées pourront continuer d'être exploitées dans ces bandes à ce titre, indéfiniment. Si ces fréquences sont ultérieurement requises pour répondre aux besoins du service mobile, on appliquera alors les dispositions générales régissant la réorganisation ou la modification des systèmes non normalisés (c'est-à-dire que, comme le précise la PS GEN, dans le cas des LSE non normalisées un préavis maximum de 2 ans pourra être donné, à la discrétion du directeur régional, pour libérer la fréquence, après quoi les exploitants pourront présenter une demande afin d'établir une nouvelle LSE dans les autres bandes de fréquences prévues à cette fin).

2.2.6 Stations mobiles utilisées à l'appui des services de radiodiffusion

Pour les besoins des stations mobiles utilisée à l'appui des services de radiodiffusion, on continuera d'assigner des fréquences des bandes 450–451 MHz et 455–456 MHz mais, dans la mesure du possible, ces fréquences seront choisies dans la partie inférieure de chacune de ces deux sous-bandes de la gamme 450 MHz. Ces mesures visent à permettre l'assignation éventuelle des fréquences libres à des systèmes mobiles utilisant de nouvelles techniques. À l'exception des stations mobiles utilisées à l'appui des services de radiodiffusion, on n'assignera pas de fréquences de ces bandes pour d'autre fins, avant de connaître les résultats d'un futur examen de la politique.

3. Bandes 409–410 MHz et 420–421 MHz

3.1 Introduction

Dans le même avis DGTP-010-84/TRS-028-84 publié dans la Gazette du Canada le 13 novembre 1984, le Ministère proposait de réaffecter les bandes 409–410 MHz et 420-421 MHz actuellement désignées à l'usage exclusif des systèmes radiotéléphoniques mobiles à capacité moyenne, car on ne semble pas projeter d'exploiter des systèmes radiotéléphoniques dans cette bande dans plusieurs régions du pays, tandis que la demande de systèmes radio mobiles de type *dispatching+ est demeurée forte dans bon nombre de ces mêmes régions. En outre, la proposition comprenait des dispositions relatives au maintien et à l'expansion de tous les systèmes radiotéléphoniques fonctionnant dans le territoire d'exploitation du titulaire de licence.

3.2 Politique

En principe, le Ministère prendra les mesures voulues pour assurer l'utilisation efficiente et efficace du spectre, en réponse aux besoins diversifiés des utilisateurs de l'ensemble du Canada. Dans certaines régions, on a établi des systèmes radiotéléphoniques mobiles fonctionnant dans les bandes 409–410 MHz et 420–421 MHz, mais dans les autres régions, il ne semble pas y avoir pour le moment de projet d'exploiter des systèmes radiotéléphoniques dans ces bandes - en particulier depuis la récente introduction des systèmes radiotéléphoniques cellulaires fonctionnant dans la bande 800 MHz, compatibles à l'échelle nord-américaine, pour lesquels le Ministère a affecté une portion de 40 MHz du spectre des fréquences du service mobile.

Par conséquent, le Ministère affecte ces bandes aux services radio mobiles de télédépêche en plus des fréquences des services radiotéléphoniques mobiles, qui leur sont déjà affectées. Cette nouvelle affectation permettra le partage géographique de ces bandes avec le service radiotéléphonique. Ainsi, tous les systèmes radiotéléphoniques mobiles autorisés pourront être élargis autant que le permet leur conception, et être étendus jusqu'aux limites du territoire d'exploitation du titulaire de la licence. Le Ministère n'assignera pas de fréquences aux systèmes radio mobile de télédépêche lorsque ce faisant, il pourrait compromettre le développement intégral des systèmes radiotéléphoniques mobiles dans ces zones. À la discrétion du directeur régional, on pourra autoriser l'exploitation de liaisons radio dans ces bandes, dans les régions où l'utilisation du service mobile est faible, afin d'offrir aux compagnies de téléphone une solution de rechange aux circuits locaux.

Dans les régions où l'on n'a pas encore délivré de licence à des systèmes radiotéléphoniques mobiles fonctionnant dans les bandes 409–410 MHz et 420–421 MHz, l'utilisation du service radiotéléphonique demeurera normalisée jusqu'au 30 avril 1987. Jusqu'à cette date, on pourra accepter des lettres d'intention de compagnies de téléphone désireuses de présenter de nouvelles demandes visant l'établissement de systèmes radiotéléphoniques mobiles, pourvu que l'exploitation d'un troisième système radiotéléphonique mobile soit justifié. (Les deux premiers systèmes radiotéléphoniques mobiles communs sont le service radio mobile terrestre général VHF et le service radiotéléphonique mobile cellulaire fonctionnant à 800 MHz).

L'utilisation de ces bandes par les systèmes radio mobiles de télédépêche pourra être limitée par chaque directeur régional à certains types de nouveaux systèmes mobiles (par exemple, les systèmes à partage de plusieurs canaux seulement). Jusqu'au 30 avril 1987, le Ministère pourra également autoriser l'exploitation de systèmes radiotéléphoniques mobiles de télédépêche dans ces bandes, si les requérants peuvent prouver au directeur régional que les autres bandes de la gamme 400 MHz ne répondent pas à leurs besoins prévus. Il appartiendra au directeur régional de déterminer si ces justifications sont nécessaires et dans quelle mesure elles le sont; elles pourront être supprimées après le 30 avril 1987.

Pour ce qui est des régions géographiques où il est impossible d'utiliser des assignations en duplex, en raison d'observation radioastronomiques dans la bande 406,1-410 MHz (voir l'annexe 1), le Ministère acceptera les demandes d'assignation de fréquences en simplex dans la bande 420–421 MHz.

Étant donné que la bande 420–421 MHz est utilisée dans les zones frontalières par le service de radiolocalisation des États-Unis, il se peut que les fréquences exploitées par les systèmes mobiles dans certaines régions du Canada soient perturbées dans les situations d'urgence. Pour cette raison, les usagers de services de sécurité qui ne pourraient pas tolérer ces perturbations ne devraient pas songer à utiliser la bande 420–421 MHz en simplex, ou en duplex avec la bande 409–410 MHz.

4. Mise en oeuvre

La présente politique d'utilisation du spectre entre en vigueur au moment de sa publication.

V. Hill
Le Directeur général
Politique des télécommunications

Figure B-1 Zones de protection canadienne de l'Observatoire Algonquine de Radioastronomie (OAR)

Date de modification :