SP 896 MHz — Spectrum Utilization Policy for the Fixed, Mobile, Radiolocation and Amateur Services in the Band 896-960 MHz

September, 1991
Amendment

Table of Contents

  1. Intent
  2. Introduction
  3. Policy
  4. References
  5. Implementation

1. Intent

The purpose of this document is to specify the spectrum utilization policy for the band 896 to 960 MHz by the fixed, mobile, radiolocation and amateur services.

2. Introduction

In January, 1982 the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations was modified to include mobile radio services in the range 890–960 MHz. In 1986, at the culmination of a process of public consultation on the spectrum utilization policy in this band, Spectrum Utilization Policy (SP 300.89) was issued specifying the terms for the introduction of certain new radio services such as radio paging, multipoint communication systems and radiolocation in portions of the frequency band 890–960 MHz.

In October 1988, the Department initiated a comprehensive review of the spectrum in the range of 896–960 MHz. The revised Spectrum Utilization Policy SP 896 MHz, issued in February, 1990 completed this public consultation process. The revised SP 896 MHz in February 1990 designated spectrum for low power applications such as cordless telephone. Since then, the Department has received the Recommendations of the Industry Advisory Group on Cordless Telephone convened under the auspices of the Radio Advisory Board of Canada. Based on these Recommendations and the comments received from the public consultation on policy direction for public cordless telephone in Canada (Gazette Notice DGTP-014-89, November, 1989), the Department is releasing this Amendment to SP 896 MHz to confirm the provision of spectrum for cordless telephone in the 900 MHz band.

Reason: To update the introductory material.

3. Policy

3.1 Mobile Services

The mobile service in the band 896–960 MHz has been added to the International Table of Frequency Allocations on either a primary or secondary basis at various World Administrative Radio Conferences. After domestic consultation, many of these mobile allocations were added to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations in January 1982. The document SP 300.89 released in July 1986, specified the initial implementation of these allocations. This document gives the spectrum utilization policy for several additional subbands that were not previously specified.

3.1.1 Radio Paging

The band 929–932 MHz is designated for utilization by nation-wide, regional, local and in-building/in-plant radio paging services. The band 930–931 MHz is being held in reserve for advanced technology experiments, propagation studies and development of innovative paging services which may, for example, require different channel bandwidths and/or message types. The bands 929–930 MHz and 931–932 MHz are available for paging operations subject to the provisions of Radio Policy 011 and Standard Radio System Plan 504.

3.1.2 Trunked and Conventional Mobile Service

The paired frequency bands 896–901 MHz and 935–940 MHz may be used by the mobile service for both trunked and conventional mobile systems, carrying voice or data or a combination of the two. Priority will be given to use of trunked systems in these bands particularly in areas of high spectrum usage. Standard Radio System Plan 506 describing the technical requirements will be developed shortly.

3.1.2.1 Advanced Train Control Systems

Six pairs of frequencies have been identified in the paired bands 896–901 MHz and 935-940 MHz to be assigned exclusively as required along railway rights-of-way for the Advanced Train Control System (ATCS). The specific frequencies are:

Advanced Train Control System (ATCS) frequencies
Base Mobile
935.8875 MHz 896.8875 MHz
935.9375 " 896.9375 "
935.9875 " 896.9875 "
936.8875 " 897.8875 "
936.9375 " 897.9375 "
936.9875 " 897.9875 "

ATCS employs advanced computer-based techniques designed specifically for use with large scale mobile systems, to control and monitor train movements along railway rights-of-way. The system will be used by the appropriate operating agencies in Canada and the United States of America. These frequencies may be used for non-railway applications in areas distant from railway rights-of-way, at the discretion of the Regional Director General.

3.2 Fixed Systems

3.2.1 Studio Transmitter Links (STL's)

The band 956–960 MHz will continue to be available for AM and FM mono and stereo assignments to STL's. The Regional Executive Director may request the submission of information and analysis to demonstrate why the use of a higher frequency band is unsuitable for the STL application. Note that outside of geographical areas requiring heavy use of STL's, this band can be used to establish fixed radio service requirements for voice, data or other information. Refer to Standard Radio System Plan 300.56 for technical requirements.

3.2.2 Multipoint Communications Systems (MCS)

The paired bands 928–929 MHz and 952–953 MHz and the paired bands 932-932.5 MHz and 941-941.5 MHz may be used to establish single voice channel, or equivalent data, one or two way MCS. Standard Radio System Plan 505 detailing the technical requirements will be released in the near future.

3.2.3 Spectrum for Fixed Services

The paired bands 932.5-935 MHz and 941.5-944 MHz may be used by the fixed service for point-to-point use. The primary use is for single channel systems but multiple channel systems will also be considered for approval.

3.2.4 Fixed Systems Existing on the Effective Date of the Policy

The 1–10 GHz Policy issued in December 1982 and policy document Spectrum Utilization Policy - General (SP-GEN) define frequency diversity operation. Fixed systems using frequency diversity operation in the band 890–960 MHz became non-standard as a result of the release of that policy on January 1, 1983. Such systems were granted a protection period of five years which terminated on December 31, 1987. Since the termination of this period, non-standard frequency diversity systems are not permitted to cause interference to standard systems.

Other existing systems not meeting the requirements of the Spectrum Utilization Policy (SP 300.89) were considered non-standard effective on the release date of the previous revision of this policy, July 1986. A protection period of five years until July 1, 1991 will apply.

Non-standard systems are required to accept interference from standard systems and make the necessary modifications to avoid causing interference. However, it should be noted that SP-GEN also requires that an advance notification period be given to the licensee of a nonstandard system prior to the licensing of standard system(s) described in this policy that could affect the operation of the non-standard system. It is to be noted that the notification period can be coincident with the protection period.

3.4 Radiolocation Service

The band 902–928 MHz will continue to be allocated to the radiolocation service on a primary basis in Canada. It is, however, limited to Government of Canada shipborne operations.

These radiolocation operations may take place along Canada's coastline including the coasts of Hudson Bay and James Bay and up the St. Lawrence River as far as Rimouski, Quebec.

Other radio services operating within this band and in these specified areas must accept harmful interference which may be caused by these radiolocation operations. The Department of National Defence will endeavour to arrange their radiolocation operations in consultation with the Department of Communications to minimize interference to existing fixed radio systems through frequency selection once the protection period for existing fixed systems has elapsed. Any interference received by fixed systems operating in the band 902-928 MHz after the expiry of the protection period discussed in section 3.3, will have to be accepted without protest.

3.5 Industrial, Scientific and Medical (ISM)

The band 902–928 MHz is also designated for ISM applications. Radio services operating within this band must accept harmful interference which may be caused by ISM applications.

3.6 Amateur Service

The amateur service will continue to have secondary status in the band 902–928 MHz throughout Canada. All types of emission are permitted. Amateur licensees are advised to consult with the Department to avoid operation on frequencies or sub-bands used by radio systems authorized on a primary basis in that area.

3.7 Low Power Communications Systems

Low power fixed and mobile communications systems may use the 902–928 MHz band on a licence-exempt basis provided they conform to all applicable Departmental requirements. Such systems will operate on low-power only and may not claim protection from radio interference nor cause interference to licensed primary users.

Reason: To clarify the provisions for low-power applications in this band and to enable the use of mobile terminals.

3.8 Cordless Telephone

The band 944–948 MHz is designated for digital cordless telephones as a result of Canada Gazette Notice number DGTP-0l4-89 inviting public comments on the choice of frequency spectrum and other matters for a public cordless telephone service providing access to the Public Switched Telephone Network. Cordless telephones using this band are to comply to the Department of Communications standards. It is to be noted that should additional spectrum be required and justified for digital cordless telephone the reserve band 948-952 MHz may be allocated.

Reason: To provide an allocation of 4 MHz of frequency spectrum for cordless telephone and to also provide an opportunity for expansion of this band should this be warranted in the future.

3.9 Future Uses and Frequency Allocations

Growth and development in advanced telecommunications systems, which relies on new and innovative radiocommunications, is often unpredictable, and unforeseen new technology and system application trends may develop. The aim of Spectrum Utilization Policies released by the Department of Communications has always been to encourage the availability of efficient radiocommunications services and spectrum resources for future radio technology to all Canadians. The following frequency bands will, therefore, be reserved for future radio services developments. Note that the various services indicated for each band are suggestive rather than restrictive.

901-902 MHz: Reserved (paired with 940–941 MHz) for potential growth and expansion of the conventional and trunked mobile services or other applications.

930-931 MHz: Reserved for advanced technology experiments, propagation studies and development of innovative paging services which may, for example, require different channel bandwidths and/or message types.

940-941 MHz: Reserved (paired with 901–902 MHz) for potential growth and expansion of the conventional and trunked mobile services or other applications.

948-952 MHz: Reserved for potential growth and expansion of digital cordless telephones.

953-956 MHz: Reserved for new services and/or expansion of existing ones.

Reason: To make a specific reservation of additional spectrum for cordless telephone.

3.10 Table of Frequency Allocations and Spectrum Utilization

The Spectrum Utilization Policy given in Table 1 comes into force on the effective date of this Policy.

Table 1 - Table of Frequency Allocations and Spectrum Utilization
Frequency Band (MHz) ITU Allocation1 Canadian Allocation Spectrum Utilization
896 – 901 FIXED
MOBILE (except aeronautical mobile)
Radiolocation
FIXED
MOBILE (except aeronautical mobile)
Radiolocation
C5A
Mobile (paired with 935 – 940)
901 – 902 " " Held in reserve
902 – 928 FIXED
Amateur
Mobile (except aeronautical mobile) Radiolocation
FIXED
RADIOLOCATION
C5A
Amateur

Mobile (except aeronautical mobile)
Government of Canada Shipborne Radars, Low Power Communications Systems, Amateur, ISM (by Frequency Table footnote)
928 – 929 FIXED
MOBILE (except aeronautical mobile)
Radiolocation
FIXED
MOBILE (except aeronautical mobile)
Radiolocation
C5A
Multipoint Communications Systems
929 – 932 " " Paging (930 – 931 MHz is currently reserved for experimentation)
932 – 932.5 FIXED
MOBILE (except aeronautical mobile)
Radiolocation
FIXED
MOBILE (except aeronautical mobile)
Radiolocation
C5A
Multipoint Communications Systems (paired with 941 – 941.5 MHz)
932.5 – 935 " " Fixed Links (paired with 941.5 – 944 MHz)
935 – 940 " " Mobile (paired with 896-901)
940 – 941 " " Held in Reserve
941 – 941.5 " " Multipoint Communciations Systems (paired with 932-932.5 MHz)
941.5 – 942 " " Fixed Links (paired with 932.5-935 MHz)
942 – 944 FIXED
Mobile2
FIXED
MOBILE
 
944 – 948 " FIXED MOBILE2 Digital cordless telephones
948 – 952 " Held in reserve for Digital Cordless Telephone
952 – 953 FIXED
Mobile
FIXED
Mobile
Multipoint Communications Systems
953 – 956 " " Held in reserve
956 – 960 " " Studio-Transmitter Links, Other Fixed Links

4. References

  1. General Information Related to Spectrum Utilization and Radio Systems Policies (SP-GEN). Effective Date: January 1991.
  2. Policy for the Utilization of the 0.890 to 10.68 GHz Radio Spectrum by the Fixed Service. Effective Date: December 1982.
  3. Spectrum Utilization Policy for the Fixed, Mobile, Radiolocation and Amateur Services in the Band 890 to 960 MHz (SP 300.89). Effective Date: July 1986
  4. Radio Systems Policy for Radio Paging with Special Reference to the 900 MHz Band (RP-011). Effective Date: May 1989.
  5. Introduction of Very Low-Power Wireless Communications in the Workplace (RP-009). Effective Date: March 1987 and Addendum, Effective Date: September 1989.
  6. Provision for Field Trials of Public Cordless Telephone Service in Canada and Public Consultation for Policy Direction (Gazette Notice DGTP-014-89) November, 1989.
  7. Standard Radio System Plan 504: Technical Considerations for the Licensing of Radio Paging Systems in the band 929–932 MHz. Effective Date: May 1989.
  8. Standard Radio System Plan 505: Technical Requirements for Multipoint Communications Systems Operating in the Bands 928–929 MHz and 952–953 MHz (To be released shortly).
  9. Call for Expression of Interest for Public Cordless Telephone Service.
  10. Telecommunications Regulatory Circular 80: Technical Acceptance of Low Power Devices (902-928 MHz): To be issued shortly.

5. Implementation

It is suggested that applicants contact one of the Department's Regional Offices regarding the licensing status of systems in this band.

Issued under the authority of the Minister of Communications

Paul Racine
Assistant Deputy Minister
Communications Policy

1 International Footnotes are not included in this Table.
C5A: The use of the radiolocation service is limited to Government of Canada shipborne operations. These operations are not permitted on inland water systems.

2 Canada is proposing to WARC '92 that the status of the mobile allocation in the band 942-960 MHz be changed from secondary to primary in the ITU Region 2 to enable fixed or mobile use according to domestic priorities.

PS 896 MHz — Politique d'utilisation du spectre de la bande 896-960 MHz par le service fixe, service mobile, service de radiolocalisation et service d'amateur

septembre 1991
Modification

Table de matières

  1. Portée
  2. Introduction
  3. Politique
  4. Documents de référence
  5. Mise en vigueur

1. Portée

Le présent document a pour objet de prescrire la politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant la bande 896–960 MHz, applicable au service fixe, au service mobile, au service de radiolocalisation et au service d'amateur.

2. Introduction

En janvier 1982, le Tableau d'attribution des bandes de fréquences a été modifié de façon à refléter l'exploitation des services mobiles de radiocommunications dans les bandes de la gamme 890-960 Mhz. En 1986, au terme d'un processus de consultation du public à propos de la politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant cette bande, le Ministère a publié la Politique d'utilisation du spectre (PS 300.89) afin de prescrire les conditions devant régir l'entrée en exploitation de certains nouveaux services de radiocommunications dans cette bande, notamment le service de téléappel radio, les systèmes de communications multipoints et le service de radiolocalisation dans certaines parties de la bande 890–960 MHz.

En octobre 1988, le Ministère entreprenait un examen général de l'utilisation des fréquences de la bande 896–960 MHz. Ce processus de consultation du public met un terme à cette version révisée de la Politique d'utilisation du spectre PS 896 MHz publiée en février 1990. Cette version révisée de la PS 896 MHz parue en février 1990 indique les fréquences destinées à servir pour l'exploitation des appareils de faible puissance comme les téléphones sans fil. Depuis cette date le Ministère a reçu les recommandations du Groupe consultatif de l'industrie sur les téléphones sans fil qui avait été formé sous les auspices du Conseil consultatif canadien de la radio. C'est à partir de ces recommandations et des observations du public sur l'orientation à donner aux services de téléphones sans fil au Canada (avis DGTP-014-89 paru dans la Gazette en novembre 1989) que le Ministère publie la présente modification au document PS 896 afin de confirmer les fréquences réservées aux communications par téléphone sans fil dans la bande 900 MHz.

Raison : Pour mettre à jour le matériel d'introduction.

3. Politique

3.1 Service mobile

Le service mobile dans la bande 896–960 MHz a été ajouté au Tableau international d'attribution des bandes de fréquences, à titre primaire ou à titre secondaire, à l'occasion de diverses Conférences administratives mondiales des radiocommunications. À la suite d'une consultation menée au Canada, un grand nombre de ces attributions du service mobile ont été ajoutées au Tableau des attributions canadiennes, en janvier 1982. Dans le document PS 300.89, publié en juillet 1986, la mise en oeuvre de ces attributions était prescrite pour la première fois. Le présent document prescrit la politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant plusieurs des sous-bandes qui n'étaient pas visées par une telle politique jusqu'à présent.

3.1.1 Téléappel

La bande 929–932 MHz est désignée pour l'exploitation des services de téléappel radio à l'échelle du pays, à l'échelle d'une région, à l'échelle locale ainsi qu'à l'intérieur d'un immeuble ou d'un complexe. La bande 930–931 MHz est conservée en réserve pour les besoins d'expériences menées en technologie, des études de propagation et du développement de services de téléappel novateurs susceptibles, par exemple, de nécessiter l'utilisation de canaux à largeurs de bandes différentes et/ou de types de messages distincts. Les bandes 929–930 MHz et 931–932 MHz sont à la disposition des services de Téléappel sous réserve des dispositions de la Politique des systèmes radio no 011 et du Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens no 504.

3.1.2 Service mobile à utilisation de plusieurs canaux et service mobile classique

Les bandes appariées 896–901 MHz, et 935–940 MHz, pourront être utilisées aux fins de la prestation d'un service mobile aussi bien par les systèmes à utilisation de plusieurs canaux que par les systèmes mobiles classiques, acheminant des signaux vocaux, des signaux de données ou un trafic mixte. Les systèmes à utilisation de plusieurs canaux auront la priorité dans ces bandes, en particulier dans les régions de forte utilisation du spectre. Le Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens no 506 qui prescrira les exigences techniques applicables sera élaboré prochainement.

3.1.2.1 Systèmes d'automatisation de la marche des trains

Six paires de fréquences ont été désignées dans les bandes appariées 896–901 MHz, et 935–940 MHz, pour assignation en priorité et au besoin, le long des emprises des chemins de fer pour les fins du système d'automatisation de la marche des trains (SAMT). Les fréquences visées sont les suivantes:

Système d'automatisation de la marche des trains (SAMT) fréquences
Base Mobile
935,8875 MHz 896,8875 MHz
935,9375 " 896,9375 "
935,9875 " 896,9875 "
936,8875 " 897,8875 "
936,9375 " 897,9375 "
936,9875 " 897,9875 "

Le système SAMT utilise des techniques informatiques de pointe spécifiquement destinées à être utilisées par des systèmes mobiles à grande échelle afin de contrôler et de surveiller la marche des trains le long des emprises des chemins de fer. Ce système sera utilisé par les organismes d'exploitation compétents du Canada et des États-Unis d'Amérique. Dans les zones éloignées des emprises des chemins de fer, ces fréquences pourront être utilisées à d'autres fins permises, sous réserve de l'approbation du Directeur général régional.

3.2 Systèmes fixes

3.2.1 Liaisons studio-émetteur (LSE)

La bande 956–960 MHz demeurera à la disposition des assignations concernant les liaisons studio-émetteur de radiodiffusion AM et FM en monophonie et en stéréophonie. Le Directeur exécutif régional pourra exiger qu'on lui soumette un mémoire et une analyse pour lui expliquer les raisons pour lesquelles l'utilisation des bandes de fréquences supérieures ne répond pas aux besoins de la LSE. A noter qu'à l'extérieur des régions géographiques nécessitant une forte utilisation des LSE, cette bande peut être utilisée pour répondre à d'autres besoins de transmission de la voix, de données ou d'autres genres d'information du service fixe. On trouvera les exigences techniques applicables dans le Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens no 300.56.

3.2.2 Systèmes de télécommunications multipoints (STM)

Les bandes appariées 928–929 MHz et 952–953 MHz ainsi que les bandes appariées 932-932,5 MHz et 941–941,5 MHz, pourront être utilisées pour l'exploitation des systèmes de communications multipoints de transmission afin d'acheminer un seul circuit de voix, ou l'équivalent en transmission de données, pour les fins de services unidirectionnels ou bidirectionnels. Le Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens no 505, qui énoncera en détail les exigences techniques applicables sera bientôt publié.

3.2.3 Fréquences attribuées aux services fixes

Les bandes appariées 932,5–935 MHz et 941,5–944 MHz, pourront être utilisées par le service fixe pour les fins des liaisons point-à-point. Cette bande est réservée à titre primaire aux systèmes à un seul circuit, mais les systèmes à utilisation de plusieurs circuits peuvent aussi être des demandes valides d'autorisation.

3.2.4 Systèmes fixes en exploitation à la date d'entrée en vigueur de la présente politique

La Politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant la bande 1–10 GHz publiée en décembre 1982, et le document de Politique d'utilisation du spectre (PS-GEN) définissent l'exploitation avec diversité de fréquence. Les systèmes fixes utilisant la diversité de fréquence dans la bande 890–960 MHz sont devenus des systèmes non normalisés à la suite de la publication de cette politique, le ler janvier 1983. Une période de protection de cinq ans qui a pris fin le 31 décembre 1987, a été accordée à ces systèmes. Depuis que cette période de protection est venue à échéance, les systèmes non normalisés utilisant la diversité de fréquence ne sont plus autorisés à occasionner du brouillage aux systèmes normalisés.

Les autres systèmes fixes qui ne répondent pas aux exigences de la Politique d'utilisation du spectre (PS 300.89) sont considérés comme des systèmes non normalisés à compter de la date de la publication de la version provisoire de la présente politique, en juillet 1986. Une période de protection de cinq ans prenant fin le ler juillet 1991 s'appliquera en pareil cas.

Les systèmes non normalisés sont tenus d'accepter le brouillage provenant des systèmes normalisés et de procéder aux modifications nécessaires afin de faire échec au brouillage en question. A noter, cependant, que la PS-GEN prescrit également d'allouer une période de préavis aux titulaires de licence d'un système non normalisé avant de délivrer la licence de système(s) normalisé(s) du type décrit dans la présente politique, risquant d'affecter l'exploitation d'un système non normalisé. On notera que la période de préavis peut coïncider avec la période de protection.

3.4 Service de radiolocalisation

La bande 902–928 MHz continuera d'être attribuée à titre primaire au service de radiolocalisation au Canada. Cependant, ce service est limité aux activités du gouvernement du Canada à bord des navires. Ces activités de radiolocalisation devront être menées le long du littoral canadien, y compris les côtes de la baie d'Hudson et de la baie James et le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent jusqu'à Rimouski (Québec).

Les autres services radio exploités dans la bande en question et dans les régions visées devront accepter le brouillage préjudiciable susceptible de leur être causé par ces activités de radiolocalisation. Le ministère de la Défense nationale s'efforcera de prendre les dispositions avec le ministère des Communications afin de minimiser le brouillage susceptible d'être causé aux systèmes de radiocommunications du service fixe, en choisissant les fréquences, une fois que la période de protection applicable aux systèmes fixes existants sera parvenue à échéance. Après l'expiration de la période de protection dont il est question à la section 3.3, tout brouillage subi par les systèmes fixes exploités dans la bande 902-928 MHz, devra être accepté sans protestation.

3.5 Applications industrielles, scientifiques et médicales (ISM)

La bande 902–928 MHz est également désignée, pour des raisons d'uniformité, pour utilisation à titre primaire, aux fins des applications industrielles, scientifiques et médicales (ISM). Les services de radiocommunications fonctionnant dans cette bande doivent accepter le brouillage préjudiciable susceptible de leur être causé par ces applications.

3.6 Service d'amateur

Le service d'amateur continue d'être autorisé à titre secondaire dans la bande 902–928 MHz partout au Canada.

Toutes les catégories d'émissions sont autorisées. Il est conseillé aux titulaires de licence de station de radioamateur de consulter le Ministère pour éviter d'exploiter leur station sur les fréquences ou dans les sous-bandes utilisées par les systèmes radio autorisés à titre primaire dans la région visée.

3.7 Systèmes de communications de faible puissance

Les systèmes de communications du service fixe et mobile de faible puissance peuvent utiliser la bande 902–928 MHz en étant exemptés de permis, à condition qu'ils soient conformes aux exigences du Ministère. Les systèmes de la sorte devront utiliser une faible puissance seulement et ne pourront pas exiger de protection contre le brouillage de radio et ne causeront pas de brouillage aux utilisateurs autorisés à titre primaire.

Justification: Afin d'indiquer les dispositions pour l'exploitation des systèmes de communications à faible puissance dans cette bande et de permettre les terminaux mobiles.

3.8 Téléphones sans fil

La bande 944–948 MHz est désignée pour les téléphones numériques sans fil suite des résultats de l'Avis no DGTP-014-89 dans la Gazette du Canada, sollicitait les observations du public à propos du choix des fréquences et d'autres aspects du service téléphonique public sans fil garantissant l'accès au Réseau téléphonique public commuté. Les téléphones sans fil qui utiliseront cette bande devront répondre aux normes énoncées du ministère des Communications. A noter que dans le cas où il serait nécessaire et justifié de prévoir des fréquences supplémentaires pour les téléphones numérique sans fil la bande de réserve 948-952 MHz pourrait ètre attribuée.

Justification: Prévoir une attribution de 4 MHz pour les téléphones sans fil et faire en sorte qu'il soit possible d'étendre la bande sile besoin est un jour justifié.

3.9 Utilisation futures et attributions futures de fréquences

La croissance et le développement des systèmes de télécommunications de pointe, qui reposent sur des services de radiocommunications nouveaux et novateurs, sont souvent imprévisibles et il peut se dessiner de nouvelles tendances dans le domaine des applications de la technologie et des systèmes. Les politiques d'utilisation du spectre publiées par le ministère des Communications ont toujours eu pour objet d'encourager la mise à la disposition de tous les Canadiens de services de radiocommunications efficaces et de ressources spectrales pour répondre aux besoins de la technologie des radiocommunications de l'avenir. Par conséquent, les bandes de fréquences suivantes seront réservées en prévision des services de radiocommunications qui seront mis au point dans l'avenir. A noter que les divers services indiqués au regard de chaque bande ont une valeur de suggestion et non pas de restriction.

901-902 : Réservée (appariée avec 940–941 MHz) en prévision de la croissance et de l'expansion éventuelles des services mobiles classiques et des services mobiles à utilisation de plusieurs canaux ou d'autres applications.

930-931 MHz : Réservée aux expériences concernant la technologie de pointe, aux études de la propagation et à la mise en oeuvre de services novateurs de téléappel susceptibles, par exemple, de nécessiter des largeurs de bande différentes ou d'acheminer des types de messages différents.

940-941 MHz : Réservée (appariée avec 901–902 MHz) en prévision de la croissance et de l'expansion éventuelles des services mobiles classiques et des services mobiles à utilisation de plusieurs canaux ou d'autres applications.

948-952 MHz : Réservée en prévision de la croissance et de l'expansion des téléphones numériques sans fil.

953-956 MHz : Réservée aux nouveaux services et/ou en prévision de la croissance et de l'expansion éventuelles des services actuels.

3.10 Tableau des attributions de fréquences et utilisation du spectre

La politique d'utilisation du spectre illustrée au tableau 1 entre en vigueur à la date d'entrée en vigueur de la présente politique.

Tableau 1 - Tableau des attributions de fréquences et utilisation du spectre
Bande de fréquences MHz Attribution par l'UIT1 Attribution canadienne Utilisation du spectre
896-901 FIXE
MOBILE (sauf mobile aéronautique)
Radiolocalisation
FIXE
MOBILE (sauf mobile aéronautique)
Radiolocalisation
C5A
MOBILE (appariée avec la bande 935–940 MHz)
901-902 " " Gardée en réserve
902-928 FIXE
Amateur
Mobile (sauf mobile aéro-nautique)
Radiolocalisation
FIXE
RADIOLOCALISATION C5A
Amateur

Mobile (sauf mobile aéronautique)
Radars du gouver-nement du Canada, transportés à bord des navires, Systèmes de télécommunications de faible puissance, Amateur, ISM (en vertu d'un renvoi du tableau d'attributions des bandes de fréquences).
928-929 FIXE
MOBILE (sauf mobile aéronautique)
Radiolocalisation
FIXE
MOBILE (sauf mobile aéronautique)
Radiolocalisation C5A
Système de communications multipoints
929-932 " " Téléappel (930-931 MHz est actuellement réservée à des fins d'expérimentation)
932-932,5 FIXE
MOBILE (sauf mobile aéronautique)
Radiolocalisation
FIXE
MOBILE (sauf mobile aéronautique)
Radiolocalisation
Systèmes de communications multipoints (appariée avec 941-941,5 MHz)
932,5-935 " " Liaison du service fixe (appariée avec 941,5-944 MHz)
935-940 " " Mobile (appariée avec la bande 896–901 MHz)
940-941 " " Gardée en réserve
941-941,5 " " Systèmes de communications multipoints (appariée avec la bande 932-932,5 MHz)
941,5-942 " " Liaison du service fixe (appariée avec 932,5-935 MHz)
942-944 FIXE
MOBILE2
FIXE
MOBILE
"
944-948 " FIXE
MOBILE2
Téléphones numériques sans fil
948-952 " " Gardée en réserve pour les téléphones numériques sans fil
952-953 FIXE
Mobile
FIXE
Mobile
Système de télécommunications multipoints
953-956 " " Gardée en réserve
956-960 " " Liaisons studio-émetteur, Autres liaisons du service fixe

4. Documents de référence

  1. Renseignements généraux relatifs aux politiques du spectre et des systèmes radio (PS-GEN). Date d'entrée en vigueur : janvier 1991.
  2. Politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant l'utilisation de la bande 0,890-10,68 GHZ par le service fixe. Date d'entrée en vigueur : décembre 1982.
  3. Politique d'utilisation des fréquences de la bande 890–960 MHz par le service fixe, le service mobile, le service de radiolocalisation et le service d'amateur (PS 300.89). Date d'entrée en vigueur : juillet 1989.
  4. Politique des systèmes radio relative au service de téléappel particulièrement dans la bande 900 MHz (PR-011). Date d'entrée en vigueur : mai 1989.
  5. Introduction d'équipements à très faible puissance pour les communications sur les lieux de travail (PR-009). Date d'entrée en vigueur : mars 1987; et Supplément, date d'entrée en vigueur : septembre 1989.
  6. Dispositions relatives à des essais sur le terrain du service de téléphone public sans fil au Canada, et consultation publique concernant les orientations générales (Avis NE DGTP-014-89 dans la Gazette du Canada) Novembre 1989.
  7. Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens no 504. Considérations techniques relatives à la délivrance de licences de systèmes de téléappel radio fonctionnant dans la bande 929–932 MHz. Date d'entrée en vigueur : mai 1989.
  8. Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens no 505 : Exigences techniques relatives aux systèmes de communications multipoints fonctionnant dans les bandes 928–929 MHz et 952–953 MHz (Publication prochaine). Politique d'utilisation du spectre concernant le service fixe, PS-896 MHz service mobile, service de radiolocalisation et service d'amateur dans la bande 896–960 MHz
  9. Déclaration d'intérêt concernant le service téléphonique public sans fil.
  10. Circulaire no 80 de la Réglementation des télécommunications : Acceptabilité technique des dispositifs de faible puissance (902-928 MHz) - Sera publiée sous peu.

5. Mise en vigueur

Nous recommandons que les requérants communiquent avec l'un des bureaux régionaux pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet de l'autorisation des systèmes dans cette bande.

Publication autorisée par
le ministre des Communications

Paul Racine
Le sous-ministre adjoint
Politiques des communications

1 Les renvois internationaux ne sont pas inclus dans ce Tableau.
C5A- l'utilisation du service de radiolocalisation est limitée aux stations de navire du gouvernement du Canada. On ne permet pas l'exploitation de ce service dans les eaux intérieures.

2 Le Canada va proposer à la CAMR-92 que les exploitations mobiles dans la bande 942-960 MHz soient autorisées non plus à titre secondaire mais à titre primaire dans la Région 2 de l'UIT afin de permettre les services fixe et mobile d`après les priorités domestiques.

Date de modification :