BC-15 — On-Air Testing Procedures for AM, FM and TV Broadcasting Undertakings

Issue 1
June 1994

Spectrum Management
Broadcasting Circular

Notice

Broadcasting circulars are issued for the guidance of department staff and are complementary to the Broadcasting Procedures and Rules.

Purpose

The purpose of this document is to explain the procedure for on-air testing of AM, FM and TV broadcasting undertakings.


Procedure

The details of the procedure follow.



1. Introduction

On-air testing ensures that the broadcasting undertaking will operate in accordance with its authorized technical brief, the issued letter of authority (LOA), and that the required protection is being given to broadcasting and radio undertakings, especially those of safety-of-life aeronautical navigational and communications (NAV/COM) services. As may be seen, on-air testing is critical.


2. Objective

To ensure that a new or amended undertaking is brought to scheduled on-air broadcasting in an orderly fashion, without impacting adversely the public or other radio services.


3. AM, FM, TV Broadcasting Undertakings On-Air Testing Procedures

Reference is made to on-air testing requirements in the following publications: Broadcasting Procedures and Rules, Part II, Part III and Part IV. Normally, the on-air testing period is three (3) weeks.

3.1 Request for On-Air Testing

3.1.1 Following approval of an application by CRTC and the Department, a letter of authority (LOA) authorizing the installation and construction of facilities will be issued by the Department. The broadcaster or the retained broadcast engineering consultant is to keep the Department's district office informed of the progress on the installation and construction of the broadcast facilities as approved in the letter of authority.

3.1.2 Any changes to the approved proposal (e.g., site, parameters, equipment) are to be submitted to the Department for authorization. HQ will evaluate the impact of the changes and issue authorization. Note that significant changes may require CRTC's approval as well.

3.1.3 In the case of special LPs (covered by the regionalization agreement), the pertinent regional office will handle any changes, keeping in mind any CRTC involvement. In the latter case, HQ should be advised and will co-ordinate with the CRTC.

3.1.4 When construction of the facilities nears completion, the broadcaster or the retained broadcast engineering consultant will request permission from the district office to commence on-air testing. This request will be submitted to the district office in writing prior to the proposed date of testing. A time frame of "three weeks prior to the beginning of on-air testing" is usually specified in the LOA.

3.1.5 Following receipt of the request, the district office should confirm that the facilities are as authorized and determine the potential for interference to existing broadcasting and other radio services vis-à-vis the technical brief and site evaluation.

3.1.6 The scope and duration of the on-air tests and the course of action to be taken, should interference be experienced, will then be discussed with the applicant's representatives.

3.1.7 The district office may now issue on-air authority for testing. The on-air testing period is three (3) weeks. After authority has been issued, the regional broadcasting engineer and HQ should be advised.

3.1.8 Where there is potential for significant interference and a negative public response, the district office should avoid allowing testing to commence on a Friday, during the week-end, on national holidays, or on civic holidays.

3.2 On-Air Testing

3.2.1 During on-air testing, identification of the broadcast undertaking will be made every fifteen minutes by call sign, frequency and location. In the case of rebroadcasting undertakings without capability to originate the aforementioned information, the broadcaster will be responsible for making the public aware that the new undertaking is being tested. As an example, a notice could be placed in the local press which would explain that the undertaking is testing, and a means of contact, such as a telephone number, be given in the event of interference. The notice should be published for the duration of the on-air testing period, starting on the day the test is scheduled to begin.

3.2.2 During on-air testing, the district office should also undertake:

  1. An on site visit to ensure that the broadcast undertaking is indeed operating as authorized.
  2. A subjective evaluation of the received signal quality.
  3. Field strength measurements to verify the authorized coverage contours and protection. See special requirements of Section 3.4.
  4. An investigation to ensure that the studio-to-transmitter link (STL) has been appropriately licensed by the Department, if applicable.
  5. Forwarding of all received interference complaints deemed valid to the broadcaster for corrective action.
  6. The broadcaster shall implement any instruction given by Departmental representatives at the district, regional or headquarters level during this testing period. Such instructions should normally be coordinated through the district office.
  7. When the district office is satisfied that the on-air testing is successful, the regional office should be notified of the recommendation for regular on-air authority. The district office's recommendation will be based on compliance with radio spectrum considerations and conditions specified in the letter of authority.

3.2.3 The regional office will notify HQ of the recommendation to enable them to grant regular on-air authority.

3.2.4 Following successful on-air tests, and as specified in the LOA, the retained broadcast engineering consultant will certify to HQ that the facilities are operating as authorized for purposes of requesting permanent on-air authority for regular programming. This request must be received in the Department at least three working days before the desired on-air date. See special requirements of Section 3.4.

3.2.5 Should the retained broadcast engineering consultant or the broadcaster request regular on-air authority from the district office or regional office, the request is to be immediately passed on to HQ along with the region's recommendations.

3.3 Specific Considerations for FM Broadcasting Undertakings

3.3.1 Where NAV/COM compatibility tests have been identified in the LOA, coordination with the Transport Canada (TC) office will be required. HQ will initiate coordination with TC Headquarters and advise of specified steps, if any, to be taken. See Appendix A for further information.

3.3.2 Three weeks are required for departmental HQ to effectively coordinate with TC HQ; therefore the district office should ensure that the client is aware of this required lead time.

3.3.3 Testing should not commence on a Friday, during the week-end, on national holidays, or on civic holidays as Transport Canada does not have available personnel for coordination of NAV/COM testing for these periods.

3.3.4 Due to NAV/COM compatibility aspects, on-air testing requires the following conditions:

  1. An unmodulated carrier is not permitted.
  2. The carrier must be modulated. No tone modulation is permitted.
  3. Test programming should be as close as possible to regular programming.
  4. If interference to NAV/COM facilities is identified, the broadcaster will be instructed to cease transmitting immediately and to correct this interference. On-air testing will resume after successful remedial measures have been applied. HQ should be apprised of developments.

3.3.5 In some cases, remedial measures and/or conditions for continued testing may be specified by the Department or Transport Canada Headquarters, which will be channelled to the district office for implementation.

3.4 Specific Considerations for AM Broadcasting Undertakings

Following successful on-air tests, and as specified in the LOA, the retained broadcast engineering consultant will certify that the facilities are operating as authorized. This certification shall also be supported by a Preliminary and/or a Final Proof of Performance, except for low-power undertakings.

3.5 Simulcasting

3.5.1 Simulcasting means to broadcast the same program from two or more broadcast undertakings at the same time to provide service to the same general area.

3.5.2 The licensee may request to simulcast when they commence on-air testing of a channel or frequency change to ensure that the listening public is aware of their impending move.

3.5.3 In the case of a frequency or channel change within the same service band, simulcasting is not normally permitted. However, the region may authorize simulcasting after consulting with HQ. Consultation is critical, especially for FM, due to NAV/COM compatibility considerations.

3.5.4 Simulcasting will end with the conclusion of the three-week on-air testing period.

3.5.5 In the case of a frequency or channel change to another service band, such as an AM to FM change, simulcasting will be permitted.

3.5.6 The duration of simulcasting is normally found in the CRTC decision and therefore may extend beyond the normal three-week on-air testing period.

3.5.7 Should a problem, such as interference, be unresolved and necessitate an extension to the three-week on-air testing period, the region will consult with HQ prior to authorizing an extension to simulcast.


Appendix A - Departmental Tests for Type A1 Interference on NAV/COM Frequencies

1. For all Classes of FM Stations

1.1 Off-air spurious emission measurements are to be made in the 108-117 MHz band with special attention to nearby airport NAV/COM frequencies as published in the current edition of the Canada Flight Supplement. Special attention also to VOR identified in the FM/NAV/COM form (with nearby airways as published in En Route Radio Navigation Charts).

1.2 No tests are required for FM stations with ERP < 1 watt.

1.3 Only receiver listening checks required if the FM transmitter is to be located within 5 NM of an airport having only COM facilities.

2. Notes

2.1 The Department is responsible for assigning and protecting UNICOM frequencies (e.g., 122.8 MHz) at uncontrolled aerodromes and airports with ATS or FSS air/ground COM.

2.2 Listening checks on ground-based aeronautical COM receivers are to be co-ordinated by departmental regional/district offices. The user of the COM facility (could be TC personnel, or a private individual/company) monitors his receivers at the time that the FM station begins on-air testing. In some COM receivers, squelch circuits are carrier operated; FM interference may not break squelch, but could still disrupt communications after the squelch has been broken by a COM signal. Therefore, for COM receivers, the squelch feature must be disabled and the audio monitored for any unacceptable increase in background noise when the FM station goes on-air.

Date modified:

CR-15 — Procédures d'essais en ondes des entreprises de radiodiffusion AM, FM et TV

1re édition
Juin 1994

Gestion du spectre
Circulaire sur la radiodiffusion

Avis

Les circulaires sur la radiodiffusion sont publiées dans le but d'informer le personnel du Ministère et complètent les Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion.

But

Le présent document sert à expliquer comment effectuer des essais en ondes pour les entreprises de radiodiffusion AM, FM et TV.


Procédure

Les détails de la procédure sont décrits dans les pages qui suivent.



1. Introduction

Les essais en ondes permettent de vérifier que l'installation de radiodiffusion est exploitée conformément au mémoire technique et à la lettre d'autorisation délivrée, et que les installations de radiodiffusion et de radiocommunications sont convenablement protégées, en particulier dans le cas où les services de radiocommunications et de navigation aéronautiques (NAV/COM) sont nécessaires à la sécurité des personnes. Comme on peut le deviner, les essais en ondes sont indispensables.


2. But

Veuillez à ce que la mise en service d'une installation de radiodiffusion nouvelle ou modifiée s'effectue de manière harmonieuse, sans dégradation du service au public ou des autres services radio.


3. Procédures d'essais en ondes des installation de radiodiffusion AM, FM et TV

Les exigences relatives aux essais en ondes sont décrites dans les Règles et procédures sur la radiodiffusion, Partie II, Partie III et Partie IV. Normalement, la période des essais en ondes est de trois semaines.

3.1 Demandes d'essais en ondes

3.1.1 Une fois la demande approuvée par le CRTC et par le Ministère, ce dernier délivre une lettre d'autorisation permettant la mise en place et la construction des installations. Le radiodiffuseur ou son ingénieur-conseil en radiodiffusion doit informer le bureau de district du Ministère de l'avancement des travaux de mise en place et de construction, en conformité avec la lettre d'autorisation.

3.1.2 Toute modification de la proposition approuvée (en ce qui a trait au site, aux paramètres et à l'équipement, par exemple) doit être présentée au Ministère pour approbation. L'administration centrale évalue les conséquences des modifications et délivre l'autorisation nécessaire. Il est à noter que des modifications substantielles peuvent également nécessiter l'approbation du CRTC.

3.1.3 Dans le cas des installations à faible puissance spéciales (couvertes par l'entente de régionalisation), c'est le bureau régional responsable qui traite les modifications, en tenant compte de la participation du CRTC s'il y a lieu. Le cas échéant, l'Administration centrale doit être prévenue; elle se charge ensuite d'assurer la coordination avec le CRTC.

3.1.4 Peu avant la fin des travaux de construction des installations, le radiodiffuseur ou son ingénieur-conseil en radiodiffusion demande au bureau de district la permission de commencer les essais en ondes. Cette demande est présentée par écrit au bureau de district avant la date des essais projetés; habituellement, la lettre d'entente précise un délai préalable de trois semaines avant le début des essais en ondes.

3.1.5 Après avoir reçu la demande, le bureau de district doit confirmer que les installations sont conformes à l'autorisation et évaluer le potentiel de brouillage des services de radiodiffusion existants et des autres services radio, d'après le mémoire technique et l'évaluation du site.

3.1.6 L'envergure et la durée des essais en ondes ainsi que les mesures à prendre en cas de brouillage font ensuite l'objet de discussions avec les représentants du requérant.

3.1.7 Le bureau de district peut alors autoriser les essais en ondes. La période des essais en ondes est normalement de trois semaines. Une fois l'autorisation accordée, il faut en aviser l'ingénieur en radiodiffusion de la région et l'administration centrale.

3.1.8 S'il existe une possibilité d'un haut niveau de brouillage et qu'on entrevoit une réaction négative du public, le bureau de district ne devrait pas autoriser que les travaux débutent un vendredi, pendant la fin de semaine ou un jour férié.

3.2 Essais en ondes

3.2.1 Pendant les essais en ondes, l'installation de radiodiffusion doit être identifiée toutes les quinze minutes par son indicatif d'appel, sa fréquence et son emplacement. Dans le cas des installations de rediffusion qui ne peuvent pas émettre directement ces renseignements, le radiodiffuseur doit informer le public de la tenue d'essais sur la nouvelle installation. Par exemple, on peut publier un avis dans un journal local pour expliquer que l'installation procède à des essais et pour fournir un moyen de signaler les cas de brouillage, tel qu'un numéro de téléphone. Cet avis devrait être publié du début à la fin des essais.

3.2.2 Pendant les essais en ondes, le bureau de district doit également :

  1. Visiter l'emplacement pour s'assurer que l'installation de radiodiffusion est exploitée conformément à l'autorisation.
  2. Faire une évaluation subjective de la qualité du signal capté.
  3. Procéder à des mesures d'intensité du champ pour vérifier les contours de couverture et la protection autorisés. Voir les conditions spéciales à la section 3.4.
  4. S'assurer que le Ministère a accordé la licence appropriée à la liaison studio-émetteur (STL), s'il y a lieu.
  5. Acheminer au radiodiffuseur toutes les plaintes de brouillage valides, de manière à prendre des mesures correctives.
  6. Le radiodiffuseur doit se conformer à toute instruction que donnent les représentants du Ministère, au niveau du district, de la région ou de l'administration centrale, pendant la période d'essais. Normalement, le bureau de district devrait coordonner ces instructions.
  7. Lorsque le bureau de district est satisfait des résultats des essais en ondes, le bureau régional doit être avisé de la recommandation visant l'autorisation d'exploitation normale en ondes. La recommandation du bureau de district doit être fondée sur le respect des conditions et des critères de gestion du spectre indiqués dans la lettre d'autorisation.

3.2.3 Le bureau régional prévient l'Administration centrale de la recommandation, de manière à lui permettre d'accorder l'autorisation de diffusion régulière en ondes.

3.2.4 Après la réussite des essais en ondes, et en conformité avec la lettre d'autorisation, l'ingénieur-conseil en radiodiffusion du radiodiffuseur doit certifier à l'administration centrale que les installations fonctionnent en conformité avec l'autorisation. Le requérant peut alors présenter une demande d'autorisation pour la diffusion de sa programmation régulière. Le Ministère doit recevoir cette demande au moins trois jours ouvrables avant la date de diffusion demandée. Voir les conditions spéciales de la section 3.4.

3.2.5 Si l'ingénieur-conseil en radiodiffusion ou le radiodiffuseur demande l'autorisation de diffusion au bureau de district ou au bureau régional, sa demande doit immédiatement être transmise à l'administration centrale et être accompagnée des recommandations du bureau régional.

3.3 Critères propres aux installations de radiodiffusion FM

3.3.1 Si la lettre d'autorisation fait mention de tests de compatibilité NAV/COM, il faut coordonner les essais avec le bureau de Transports Canada (TC). L'administration centrale assure la coordination avec l'administration centrale de Transports Canada et recommande, s'il y a lieu, des mesures précises à prendre. Voir l'annexe A pour de plus amples renseignements.

3.3.2 L'administration centrale du Ministère doit disposer de trois semaines pour assurer une bonne coordination avec l'administration centrale de Transports Canada; le bureau de district doit donc informer le client du délai nécessaire.

3.3.3 Les essais ne devraient pas débuter un vendredi, ni pendant la fin de semaine, ni un jour férié, puisque Transports Canada ne dispose pas du personnel nécessaire à la coordination des essais NAV/COM pendant ces journées.

3.3.4 En raison des questions liées à la compatibilité NAV/COM, les essais en ondes doivent s'effectuer aux conditions suivantes :

  1. Il est interdit d'utiliser une porteuse non modulée.
  2. La porteuse doit être modulée, et la modulation par une seule tonalité est interdite.
  3. Les émissions d'essais doivent ressembler le plus possible aux émissions régulières.
  4. Si l'on détecte des situations de brouillage des installations NAV/COM, on ordonne au radiodiffuseur de cesser immédiatement d'émettre et d'éliminer le brouillage. Les essais en ondes reprennent après avoir pris des mesures correctives efficaces. L'Administration centrale doit être tenue au courant de l'évolution de ce dossier.

3.3.5 Dans certains cas, l'administration centrale du Ministère ou de Transports Canada peut dicter des mesures correctives ou des conditions pour la poursuite des essais; le bureau de district est informé et voit à leur application.

3.4 Critères propres aux installations de radiodiffusion AM

Après la réussite des essais en ondes, l'ingénieur-conseil en radiodiffusion de l'exploitant certifiera, en conformité avec la lettre d'autorisation, que les installations fonctionnent selon les clauses de l'autorisation. Cette certification doit également être appuyée par des essais de preuve de performance préliminaires ou finaux, sauf pour les installations à faible puissance.

3.5 Diffusion simultanée

3.5.1 Par diffusion simultanée, on entend la diffusion, au même moment, d'un programme à partir d'au moins deux installations, pour desservir une même région.

3.5.2 Le titulaire d'une licence peut demander de diffuser simultanément lorsqu'il commence des essais en ondes afin de changer de canal ou de fréquence. En diffusant simultanément, le titulaire d'une licence peut signaler le changement au public à l'écoute.

3.5.3 Normalement, on n'autorise pas la diffusion simultanée s'il s'agit d'un changement de fréquence ou de canal dans la même bande attribuée.

Toutefois, le bureau régional peut autoriser la diffusion simultanée après avoir consulté l'Administration centrale. Cette consultation est essentielle, particulièrement pour la radiodiffusion FM, en raison des questions liées à la compatibilité NAV/COM.

3.5.4 La fin de la diffusion simultanée coïncide avec celle de la période des essais en ondes, d'une durée de trois semaines.

3.5.5 La diffusion simultanée est autorisée s'il s'agit d'un changement de fréquence ou de canal dans une autre bande attribuée, par exemple de AM à FM.

3.5.6 La durée autorisée de diffusion simultanée est normalement précisée dans la lettre de décision du CRTC. Il se peut donc que la diffusion simultanée continue après la période normale des essais en ondes, à savoir trois semaines.

3.5.7 Si un problème, tel que du brouillage, persiste et requiert que la période d'essais en ondes de trois semaines soit prolongée, le bureau régional consulte l'Administration centrale avant d'approuver un prolongement de la diffusion simultanée.


Annexe A - Essais du ministère pour le brouillage de type A1 aux fréquences NAV/COM

1. Pour toutes les classes de stations FM

1.1 La mesure en ondes des rayonnements non essentiels doit s'effectuer dans la bande 108-117 MHz. Il faut porter une attention particulière aux fréquences NAV/COM des aéroports à proximité, lesquelles figurent dans l'édition en vigueur au Canada de Supplément de vol. On doit aussi porter une attention particulière aux systèmes VOR répertoriés sur le formulaire FM/NAV/COM (les voies aériennes à proximité sont publiées dans les Cartes de radionavigation en route).

1.2 Il est inutile de procéder aux essais pour les stations FM dont la PAR est inférieure à 1 watt.

1.3 Seules les vérifications d'écoute sur les récepteurs sont requises si l'émetteur FM se trouve à moins de 5 MN d'un aéroport ne possédant que des installations de radiocommunications.

2. Notes

2.1 Le Ministère est responsable de l'attribution et de la protection des fréquences UNICOM (par exemple 122,8 MHz) dans les aérodromes sans contrôleurs et dans les aéroports avec services de communications air/sol ATS ou FSS.

2.2 Les bureaux régionaux et de district du Ministère doivent coordonner les vérifications d'écoute sur les récepteurs de communications aéronautiques au sol. L'utilisateur de l'installation de communications (il peut s'agir soit de personnel de Transports Canada, soit d'une entreprise privée ou d'un particulier) règle son récepteur au moment où les stations FM commencent les essais en ondes. Dans certains récepteurs de radiocommunications, les circuits d'amortissement sont actionnés par la porteuse. Il se peut que le brouillage FM ne déborde pas le silencieux, mais qu'il perturbe quand même les communications après le débordement du silencieux par un signal de communication. Par conséquent, pour les récepteurs de communications, la fonction du silencieux doit être supprimée, et on doit écouter le canal audio afin de détecter toute montée inacceptable du bruit de fond lorsque la station FM passe en ondes.

Date de modification :