SP 23/38 GHz — Spectrum Policy and Licensing Considerations, Fixed Radio Systems in the 23 GHz and 38 GHz Frequency Bands


September 1996

Table of Contents

  1. Introduction
  2. Background
  3. Discussion
  4. Spectrum Utilization Policy for the 23 GHz Frequency Band
  5. Spectrum Utilization Policy for the 38 GHz Frequency Band
  6. Licensing Considerations
  7. Technical Considerations
  8. Implementation

Spectrum Management
Spectrum Utilization Policy

Amended by:

DGTP-005-99/DGRB-003-99 (May 1999) Policy and Licensing Procedures for the Auction of the 24 and 38 GHz Frequency Bands


Department of Industry
Radiocommunication Act

Notice No. DGTP-007-96

This notice announces new microwave spectrum utilization policies for the deployment of fixed radio facilities in the 23 GHz and 38 GHz bands with the release of the policy document entitled Spectrum Policy and Licensing Considerations, Fixed Radio Systems in the 23 GHz and 38 GHz Frequency Bands. Also Industry Canada invites public comments with regard to the definition of licensing areas for frequency block assignments and the proposed licensing fees.

In early 1995, Industry Canada solicited public comments on the use of the radio spectrum in certain bands above 20 GHz (e.g. 23, 28 and 38 GHz). This consultation, initiated through Canada Gazette Notice DGTP-013-94, focussed on specific radio service applications including fixed systems for emerging local carriages.

The Department invited comments on the use of the band 21.2-21.8/22.4-23.0 GHz and the 36-40.5 GHz band for innovative fixed service applications. Fourteen of the twenty-five submissions received on DGTP-013-94 addressed the use of these bands.

The Canadian telecommunication industry has indicated their strong support for the opening of frequency bands near 23 GHz and 38 GHz to provide new fixed service applications for broadband local wireless facilities. The recent release of the PCS policy and subsequent awarding of licences has generated some urgency to identify suitable spectrum above 20 GHz for PCS (and cellular) cell site network support and possibly other PCS network components including backbone/backhaul facilities. In addition, since the release of the consultation document DGTP-013-94, it has become apparent that there is interest by existing and new service providers in developing wireless access facilities using point-to-point and point-to-multipoint systems in these frequency ranges.

The new 23 GHz and 38 GHz spectrum policies will be consolidated in the package of microwave utilization policies, released in January 1995, entitled Revisions to the Microwave Spectrum Utilization Policies in the Range of 1–20 GHz, (SP 1–20 GHz).

This document entitled Spectrum Policy and Licensing Considerations, Fixed Radio Systems in the 23 GHz and 38 GHz Frequency Bands is available electronically via the Internet at the following addresses:

World Wide Web (WWW)
Spectrum Management and Telecommunications

Submissions in response to Section 6.0 of the policy document should be addressed to the Director General - DGRB, Industry Canada, 300 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0C8 and must be received on or before October 22, 1996 to receive full consideration. All representations should cite the Canada Gazette Part 1 Notice publication date, title, and the Notice reference number.

Written comments received in response to this Notice will be made available for viewing by the public two weeks after the closing date of this Notice, during normal business hours, at the Industry Canada Library, 365 Laurier Ave. West, Ottawa, and at the offices of Industry Canada at Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver, for a period of one year from the close of the comment period.

Copies of the subject document are also available from the Communications Branch, Industry Canada, 235 Queen Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5, 613-947-7466, and from the offices of Industry Canada at Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg and Vancouver.

Dated at Ottawa this 28th day of August, 1996.

Larry Shaw
Acting Director General
Telecommunications Policy Branch


1. Introduction

The purpose of this policy statement is to make spectrum available for the deployment of fixed microwave radio facilities in the 23 GHz and 38 GHz frequency bands.

2. Background

In early 1995, Industry Canada solicited public comments on the use of the radio spectrum in certain bands above 20 GHz (e.g. 23, 28 and 38 GHz). This consultation, initiated through Canada Gazette Notice DGTP-013-94, focussed on specific radio service applications including the following:

  • Local multipoint communication systems (LMCS), for the distribution of a wide variety of services, such as interactive video, broadcasting, multimedia, voice, narrowband and broadband data services to Canadian households and businesses;
  • Fixed point-to-point radio systems for emerging local carriages including backbone/backhaul facilities for the Personal Communications Service (PCS).

The policy consultation was to take into account the spectrum needs for feeder links for nongeostationary mobile satellite networks, and future advanced communication satellites in the 28 GHz range.

On February 29, 1996, Industry Canada released a new policy and call for applications for the implementation of Local Multipoint Communication Systems (LMCS) in the frequency range 25.35-28.35 GHz, noting that initial implementation will be in the band 27.35–28.35 GHz. These systems, typically requiring 500–1000 MHz of spectrum, will operate as local common carrier facilities and will accommodate a wide range of basic and advanced telecommunications, multimedia and broadcasting services.

The Department has responded to the need for mobile satellite feeder links and advanced satellite communications through separate actions, including the preparations for the 1995 World Radiocommunication Conference (WRC-95). Canada was successful at WRC -95 in having the ITU designate sufficient spectrum for feeder links in the C and Ka bands while ensuring the availability of spectrum for advanced satellite applications. In the near future the Department will issue proposals for consequential amendments to the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations.

The remaining item from the consultation process, fixed radio facilities, is the subject of this policy document. The Department invited comments on the use of the band 21.2-21.8/ 22.4-23.0 GHz and the 36-40.5 GHz band for innovative fixed service applications. Fourteen of the twenty-five submissions received on DGTP-013-94 addressed the use of these bands.

The Canadian telecommunication industry has indicated their strong support for the opening of frequency bands near 23 GHz and 38 GHz to provide new fixed service applications. The recent release of the PCS policy and subsequent awarding of licences has generated some urgency to identify suitable spectrum above 20 GHz for PCS (and cellular) cell site network support and possibly other PCS network components including backbone/backhaul facilities. In addition, since the release of the consultation document DGTP-013-94, it has become apparent that there is interest by existing and new service providers in developing wireless access facilities using point-to-point and point-to-multipoint systems in these frequency ranges.

3. Discussion

The nature of microwave point-to-point systems has evolved considerably over the past 10 years. Existing medium and long haul transmission systems have in many cases moved from radio based technologies to optical cable technology, in order to meet burgeoning capacity requirements. On the other hand, the new competitive telecommunication environment has provided many opportunities for new service providers. In many cases the new entrants have elected to develop microwave point-to-point systems for economic and deployment timing reasons.

Since the introduction of cellular radio systems in the mid 80's, there has been a continued growth in microwave communication systems as a key component of the cellular backbone network. The cellular deployment of new point-to-point microwave facilities has outpaced all other uses of microwave facilities in the last 10 years and as cellular systems expand, so does their use of higher microwave frequency bands which has traditionally been in bands below 20 GHz.

With the introduction of broadband PCS in the 2 GHz band there is now a further need to find radio spectrum to support interconnection of cells within urban areas. In the case of PCS, the cells vary in size; some small enough to be contained within the floor of a building or at a street intersection; some considerably larger, comparable to cellular. Equipment manufacturers have developed new lines of short range, rapid deployment, microwave equipment in frequency bands above 20 GHz which meet the backbone/backhaul requirements of PCS and cellular systems and emerging high speed digital access requirements for business.

Industry Canada recognizes the need to provide radio spectrum above 20 GHz to support emerging applications such as fixed wireless access and private data networks. Given the phenomena of the expanding use of the Internet and other computer networks, service providers are racing to provide high speed digital communications to business and residential subscribers. Industry experts have indicated that the data transmission speeds will have to increase to support continued growth of computer networks.

Telecommunication service providers have more recently expressed interest in multipoint communications system (MCS) technology to provide wide access to clients for delivery of a full range of voice and data services. MCS equipment can take advantage of the propagation characteristics and available bandwidth found in spectrum above 20 GHz to support wireless access applications to a large number of users.

In the consultation process respondents suggested that there is need to move away from the conventional fixed service frequency assignment methods and technical requirements. The general direction that was supported by the respondents is as follows:

  1. Spectrum blocks should be made available to users, on a self-managed basis, to permit the rapid deployment of communication facilities.
  2. The technical and operational constraints on the use of spectrum blocks should be minimal, allowing flexibility to the licensee to meet particular service demands in the most efficient and economic manner.
  3. Assignment of the blocks of spectrum should be over a given service area(s) and not subject to site-by-site authorization.

Given the variety of applications that could emerge employing both point-to-point and point-to-multipoint technologies, Industry Canada will provide sufficient spectrum in the 23 GHz and 38 GHz frequency bands to accommodate that diversity. In addition, the Department recognizes the need to update existing policies and standards for the current fixed service band in the 23 GHz range to ensure the spectrum is used in the most efficient manner.

4. Spectrum Utilization Policy for the 23 GHz Frequency Band

Currently, the paired frequency bands 21.8-22.4 GHz and 23-23.6 GHz are available for use by point-to-point fixed systems under the provisions established in the spectrum utilization policy SP 1–20 GHz and the standard radio systems plan SRSP 321.8. The policy and technical standards for the use of this spectrum permit a wide variety of applications operating under minimal technical restrictions. It has been recognized by microwave manufacturers and service providers that a review of SRSP 321.8 is necessary in order to facilitate new product lines and to ensure that the spectrum is used in the most efficient manner.

Industry Canada concurs with the proposal to review and revise SRSP 321.8. The Department assessed the current usage of the bands 21.8-22.4 GHz and 23-23.6 GHz and has concluded that nearly all channels are lightly used in metropolitan areas. Consequently the planned updating of the technical standards for the existing bands should provide sufficient opportunity for deployment of point-to-point systems in this frequency range for the foreseeable future.

Emerging technology trends in the frequency bands above 20 GHz suggest that some spectrum should be available to service providers to develop a variety of business opportunities and implement new technology within exclusively licensed spectrum blocks. Industry Canada recognizes that competition in the telecommunication industry will continue to unfold creating new wireless service opportunities for Canadian companies. In support of this new environment, new radio spectrum is being made available in the bands 21.2-21.6 GHz and 22.4-22.8 GHz, for a wide variety of fixed service applications employing multipoint communication systems (MCS).

The spectrum in the bands 21.2-21.6 GHz and 22.4-22.8 GHz will be divided into 50 MHz paired blocks and each paired block will be assigned on an exclusive basis over an area. Increased flexibility is provided through a block assignment structure, where operators will have considerable freedom to use the spectrum within their licensed blocks to suit their particular business needs. There will be a limit on the maximum number of paired blocks assigned to each licensee in any area, in order to provide equitable access to the available spectrum,

The Department is of the view that the remaining spectrum in the bands 21.6-21.8 GHz and 22.8-23 GHz should not be designated for use at this time. Therefore, this spectrum is held in reserve. These bands could be available for point-to-point and/or multipoint systems at a later date, depending on the emerging demands and the rate at which spectrum is depleted in the adjacent bands.

The specific spectrum utilization policy provisions are as follows:

4.1 A full description of the relationship between frequency bands and services, as contained in related international and domestic footnotes, can be found in the Canadian Table of Frequency Allocations.

4.2 The use of the existing bands 21.8-22.4 GHz and 23.0-23.6 GHz by the fixed service:

4.2.1 These paired bands are designated for point-to-point microwave systems.

4.2.2 The permitted transmission capacity, as defined in SP 1–20 GHz, is low, medium and high capacity. (See Annex A)

4.2.3 The technical standards within the Standard Radio System Plan (SRSP 321.8) should be revised to improve the efficient use of this band. Until a new SRSP is adopted, all licensing of new microwave systems in these bands will be on non-standard basis.

PS 23/38 GHz — Considérations en matière de politique du spectre et de délivrance de licences pour les systèmes radio fixes dans les bandes de fréquences de 23 GHz et 38 GHz


Septembre 1996

Table de matières

  1. Introduction
  2. Contexte
  3. Examen de la question
  4. Politique d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande de fréquences 23 GHz
  5. Politique d'utilisation du spectre pour la bande de fréquences 38 GHz
  6. Considérations relatives à la délivrance de licences
  7. Considérations techniques
  8. Mise en oeuvre

Gestion du spectre
Politique des systèmes radio

Modifié par:

DGTP-005-99/DGRB-003-99 Politique et procédures pour la délivrance de licences par enchère dans les bandes de fréquences de 24 GHz et de 38 GHz (mai 1999)


Avis no DGTP-007-96

Le présent avis annonce de nouvelles politiques d'utilisation du spectre et le réaménagement des installations radio fixes dans les bandes de 23 GHz et 38 GHz, intitulées Considérations en matière de politique du spectre et de délivrance de licences pour les systèmes radio fixes dans les bandes de fréquences de 23 GHz et 38 GHz. Par le fait même, Industrie Canada invite le public à faire ses commentaires en ce qui a trait à la définition des zones de licences pour les blocs de fréquences et aux droits de licences proposés.

Au début de 1995, Industrie Canada a invité le public à lui faire part de ses observations sur l'utilisation du spectre radioélectrique dans certaines bandes supérieures à 20 GHz (p. ex. 23, 28 et 38 GHz). Amorcée par l'avis DGTP-013-94 dans la Gazette du Canada, cette consultation était axée sur des applications particulières du service radio, y compris les systèmes fixes pour entreprises locales émergentes de télécommunications.

Le Ministère a invité les intéressés à lui faire part de leurs observations sur l'utilisation de la bande 21,2-21,8/22,4-23,0 GHz et de la bande 36-40,5 GHz pour des applications innovatrices du service fixe. Quatorze des vingt-cinq mémoires reçus au sujet du DGTP-013-94 portaient sur l'utilisation de ces bandes.

L'industrie canadienne des télécommunications a indiqué qu'elle appuie massivement l'ouverture des bandes de fréquences situées près de 23 GHz et de 38 GHz en vue de la fourniture de nouvelles applications du service fixe pour des installations locales sans fil à bande de base. La récente publication de la politique sur les SCP et la délivrance subséquente de licences ont créé une certaine situation d'urgence quant à la détermination du spectre disponible au-dessus de 20 GHz pour le soutien de réseau des emplacements des SCP (et cellulaires), et peut-être pour d'autres composantes de réseau de SCP, notamment en ce qui touche les installations de base et de liaison secondaire. En outre, depuis la publication du document de consultation DGTP-013-94, il est devenu apparent que les fournisseurs de services existants et nouveaux ont intérêt à développer des installations d'accès sans fil utilisant des systèmes point à point et point à multipoint dans ces plages de fréquences.

Les nouvelles politiques du spectre à 23 GHz et à 38 GHz seront intégrées à l'ensemble des politiques sur l'utilisation des hyperfréquences, publié en janvier 1995 et intitulé Révisions des politiques d'utilisation du spectre dans les bandes hertziennes de 1–20 GHz (PS 1–20 GHz).

Une version électronique du document intitulé Considérations en matière de politique du spectre et de délivrance de licences pour les systèmes radio fixes dans les bandes de fréquences de 23 GHz et 38 GHz est disponible par l'Internet aux adresses suivantes :

World Wide Web (WWW)
Gestion du spectre et télécommunications

Les mémoires écrits en réponse à la partie 6.0 du présent avis doivent être adressés au Directeur général, Réglementation de la radiodiffusion, Industrie Canada, 300, rue Slater, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0C8. Ils doivent nous parvenir au plus tard le 22 octobre 1996 pour recevoir toute l'attention voulue. Il faut indiquer la date de publication du présent avis dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, son titre ainsi que son numéro de référence.

Deux semaines après l'expiration du délai précisé dans le présent avis, tous les mémoires et toutes les observations écrites qui auront été reçus en réponse à cet avis seront mis à la disposition du public à des fins d'examen pendant les heures régulières de bureau à la bibliothèque d'Industrie Canada, 365, avenue Laurier ouest, Ottawa (Ontario), et aux bureaux d'Industrie Canada situés à Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver, pendant un an à compter de la date limite de présentation des observations.

Des copies du document indiqué en objet sont également disponibles auprès de la Direction générale des communications, Industrie Canada, 235, rue Queen, Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5, 613-947-7466, et auprès des bureaux d'Industrie Canada à Moncton, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg et Vancouver.

Fait à Ottawa, ce 28e jour du mois d'août 1996.

Larry Shaw
Directeur général intérimaire
Politique des télécommunications


1. Introduction

L'objet du présent énoncé de politique est de trouver des fréquences pour le déploiement des installations radio fixes à micro-ondes dans les bandes de 23 et de 38 GHz.

2. Contexte

Au début de 1995, Industrie Canada a invité le public à faire des observations sur l'utilisation de certaines bandes de fréquences au-dessus de 20 GHz (23, 28 et 38 GHz). Cette consultation, amorcée par l'Avis DGTP-013-94 publié dans la Gazette du Canada, portait essentiellement sur des applications radio particulières comme :

  • les systèmes de télécommunications multipoint locaux (STML), pour la distribution d'une grande variété de services comme la vidéo interactive, la radiodiffusion, le multimédia, les communications vocales, ainsi que la fourniture de services de données à large bande et à bande étroite aux entreprises et aux ménages canadiens;
  • les systèmes radio fixes point à point pour les nouveaux services d'acheminement locaux, y compris des installations principales/de réserve pour les services de communications personnelles (SCP).

La consultation en question visait à tenir compte des besoins de fréquences pour les liaisons de connexion des réseaux à satellite mobiles non géostationnaires et des futurs satellites de télécommunications évolués dans la bande de 28 GHz.

Le 29 février 1996, Industrie Canada a publié une nouvelle politique et une invitation à présenter des demandes relativement à la mise en oeuvre des systèmes de télécommunications multipoint locaux (STML) dans la bande de fréquences 25,35-28,35 GHz, en notant que la mise en oeuvre initiale se ferait dans la bande 27,35-28,35 GHz. Ces systèmes, qui demandent d'ordinaire une largeur de bande de 500 à 1 000 MHz, fonctionneront comme des installations de télécommunications locales et répondront à un large éventail de services multimédias, de télécommunications et de radiodiffusion de base ou évolués.

Le Ministère a répondu aux besoins de liaisons de connexion pour les communications mobiles par satellite et aux besoins de communications évoluées par satellite au moyen de mesures distinctes, y compris les préparatifs à la Conférence mondiale des radiocommunications de 1995 (CMR-95). Le Canada a convaincu les participants de la CMR-95 qu'il fallait prévoir un nombre suffisant de fréquences pour assurer des liaisons de connexion dans les bandes C et Ka, en garantissant la disponibilité de fréquences pour les applications évoluées par satellite. Dans un proche avenir, le Ministère rendra publiques des propositions visant à apporter des modifications pertinentes au Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.

L'autre question qui se rapporte au processus de consultation, c'est-à-dire les installations radio fixes, fait l'objet de la présente politique. Le Ministère a invité les intéressés à lui présenter des observations sur l'utilisation de la bande 21,2-21,8/22,4-23 GHz et de la bande 36-40,5 GHz pour des applications de service fixe innovatrices. Quatorze des vingt-cinq mémoires reçus concernant l'avis DGTP-013-94 traitaient de l'utilisation de ces bandes.

L'industrie canadienne des télécommunications a indiqué qu'elle appuyait énergiquement l'utilisation de bandes de fréquences au voisinage des bandes de 23 et de 38 GHz pour l'exploitation de nouvelles applications dans le service fixe. La publication récente de la politique sur les SCP et l'attribution de licences qui en a résulté ont suscité un certain sentiment d'urgence afin de désigner des fréquences utilisables au delà de 20 GHz pour le soutien réseau des emplacements cellulaires des SCP (et du service cellulaire), ainsi que d'autres composantes réseau éventuelles des SCP, y compris des installations principales/de réserve. En outre, depuis la publication du document DGTP-013-94, il est devenu apparent que les fournisseurs actuels ou nouveaux veulent élaborer des installations à accès sans fil en utilisant des systèmes entre points fixes et des systèmes point-multipoint dans ces bandes de fréquences.

3. Examen de la question

La nature des systèmes à micro-ondes point à point a changé considérablement au cours des dix dernières années. Dans bien des cas, les systèmes de moyenne et de grande portée existants ont abandonné la technologie radioélectrique pour passer à celle du câble optique, afin de répondre aux besoins croissants de capacité. D'autre part, le nouvel environnement des télécommunications concurrentielles a ouvert de nombreux débouchés aux nouveaux fournisseurs de services. Bien souvent, ces nouveaux venus ont choisi d'établir des systèmes à micro-ondes point à point pour des raisons d'économie et pour choisir le moment le plus opportun pour procéder au déploiement.

Depuis l'avènement des systèmes radio cellulaire au milieu des années 80, le nombre de systèmes de communication à micro-ondes n'a cessé de croître, constituant l'élément clé du réseau principal des installations cellulaires. Le déploiement cellulaire des nouvelles installations à micro-ondes point à point a surclassé toutes les autres utilisations des installations à micro-ondes au cours des dix dernières années et, plus les systèmes cellulaires se développent, plus se développe l'utilisation de bandes à micro-ondes supérieures, alors qu'on s'était toujours borné à des bandes inférieures à 20 GHz.

L'introduction des SCP à large bande dans la bande des 2 GHz fait qu'on a maintenant de nouveau besoin de trouver des fréquences radioélectriques pour soutenir l'interconnexion des cellules dans les zones urbaines. Dans le cas des SCP, les cellules sont de dimension variable. Certaines sont assez petites pour loger sur un seul étage d'un immeuble ou pour qu'on les trouve à une intersection. D'autres sont tellement larges qu'on peut les comparer à celles du service cellulaire. Les fabricants de matériel ont adopté de nouveaux équipements à micro-ondes de courte portée et à déploiement rapide fonctionnant dans des bandes de fréquences au-delà de 20 GHz, et qui sont capables de satisfaire aux exigences d'installations principales/de réserve des SCP et des systèmes cellulaires et à celles d'accès numérique rapide du monde des affaires.

Industrie Canada reconnaît qu'il est nécessaire d'offrir des fréquences radioélectriques au-dessus de 20 GHz pour soutenir les applications qui se font jour comme l'accès fixe par dispositif sans fil et les réseaux de données privés. Vu le phénomène de l'utilisation de plus en plus courante d'Internet et d'autres réseaux informatiques, les fournisseurs de service se hâtent d'offrir des communications numériques à grande vitesse aux abonnés commerciaux et résidentiels. Les spécialistes de l'industrie ont indiqué qu'il faudra accroître les vitesses de transmission des données pour appuyer la croissance des réseaux informatiques.

Plus récemment, les fournisseurs de services de télécommunications se sont montrés intéressés à utiliser les systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM) pour offrir à leur clientèle un accès élargi à la fourniture d'une gamme complète de services vocaux et de données. Le matériel STM peut profiter des caractéristiques de propagation et de largeur de bande disponible qu'offrent les fréquences au-delà de 20 GHz puisqu'il est ainsi possible de soutenir des applications à accès sans fil pour le compte d'un grand nombre d'utilisateurs.

Dans le processus de consultation, des répondants ont indiqué qu'il est nécessaire de laisser de côté les anciennes méthodes et les anciennes exigences techniques relatives à l'assignation des fréquences du service fixe. En général, les répondants voyaient la situation ainsi :

  1. Il importe de mettre des blocs de fréquences à la disposition des utilisateurs, dans un contexte d'auto-gestion, pour permettre le déploiement rapide des installations de communication.
  2. On devrait s'organiser pour que les contraintes techniques et opérationnelles concernant l'utilisation des blocs de fréquences soient minimales, en mettant en place des conditions plus souples pour le titulaire de licence, ce qui lui permettrait de répondre à des demandes de service particulières de la manière la plus efficace et la plus économique possible.
  3. L'assignation des blocs de fréquences devrait se faire dans une zone de service donnée et elle ne devrait pas être assujettie à une autorisation par emplacement.

Étant donné la grande variété des applications qui pourraient découler de l'emploi de technologies point à point comme de technologies point-multipoint, Industrie Canada va donner accès à un nombre suffisant de fréquences dans les bandes de 23 et de 38 GHz pour répondre à la diversité des besoins. En outre, le Ministère reconnaît le besoin de mettre à jour les politiques et les normes existantes pour les applications actuelles du service fixe assurées dans la bande de 23 GHz afin que le spectre soit utilisé de la manière la plus efficace possible.

4. Politique d'utilisation du spectre dans la bande de fréquences 23 GHz


Actuellement, les bandes de fréquences appairées 21,8-22,4 GHz et 23-23,6 GHz peuvent être utilisées par les systèmes fixes point à point aux conditions établies dans la politique d'utilisation du spectre PS 1–20 GHz et dans le plan de réseaux hertziens PNRH 321,8. La politique et les normes techniques concernant l'utilisation de ces fréquences permettent une grande variété d'applications fonctionnant avec des restrictions techniques minimales. Les fabricants de matériel à micro-ondes et les fournisseurs de services reconnaissent qu'un examen du PNRH 321,8 est nécessaire pour faciliter les nouveaux types de produits et pour s'assurer que le spectre sera utilisé de la manière la plus efficace possible.

Industrie Canada est d'accord avec la proposition visant à revoir et à réviser le PNRH 321,8. Le Ministère a évalué l'utilisation actuelle des bandes 21,8-22,4 GHz et 23-23,6 GHz, et a conclu que pratiquement toutes les voies sont peu utilisées dans les zones métropolitaines. Par conséquent, la mise à jour prévue des normes techniques pour les bandes existantes devrait offrir suffisamment d'occasions de déployer les systèmes point à point dans cette bande de fréquences, dans un avenir prévisible.

Les nouvelles tendances technologiques dans les bandes au-dessus de 20 GHz donnent à entendre que des fréquences devraient être mises à la disposition des fournisseurs de services pour qu'ils créent une gamme d'occasions d'affaires et pour qu'ils implantent une nouvelle technologie dans des blocs de fréquences exclusivement autorisés à cette fin. Industrie Canada reconnaît que la concurrence dans l'industrie des télécommunications continuera à faire naître de nouvelles possibilités de services sans fil pour les entreprises canadiennes. Pour favoriser ce nouvel environnement, de nouvelles fréquences radio sont mises à la portée des utilisateurs dans les bandes 21,2-21,6 GHz et 22,4-22,8 GHz, pour une grande variété d'applications fixes qui emploient des systèmes de télécommunications multipoint (STM).

Les fréquences des bandes 21,2-21,6 GHz et 22,4-22,8 GHz seront réparties en blocs appairés de 50 MHz, qui seront chacun assignés exclusivement à une région. Une plus grande souplesse est prévue grâce à une structure d'assignation de blocs où les exploitants auront beaucoup de latitude puisqu'ils pourront puiser dans ces blocs autorisés pour répondre à leurs besoins commerciaux particuliers. On imposera une limite au nombre maximal de blocs appairés qui seront assignés à chaque titulaire de licence dans une région, afin de garantir un accès équitable aux fréquences disponibles.

Le Ministère est d'avis que les fréquences restantes dans les bandes 21,6-21,8 GHz et 22,8-23 GHz ne devraient pas faire l'objet d'une désignation à ce moment-ci. Par conséquent, ces bandes sont gardées en réserve. Elles pourraient être mises à la disposition des systèmes point à point, des systèmes multipoint ou des systèmes de ces deux catégories plus tard, suivant l'évolution de la demande et la vitesse à laquelle s'épuiseraient les fréquences des bandes adjacentes.

Voici les dispositions particulières sur l'utilisation des fréquences dans les bandes visées :

4.1 On trouvera une description complète de la relation entre les bandes et les services, telle qu'elle est présentée dans les renvois nationaux et internationaux, dans le Tableau canadien d'attribution des bandes de fréquences.

4.2 Utilisation des bandes existantes 21,8-22,4 GHz et 23-23,6 GHz par le service fixe :

4.2.1 Ces bandes appairées sont désignées en vue de leur utilisation par les systèmes à micro-ondes point à point.

4.2.2 Comme les définit le document PS 1–20 GHz, on permet les capacités de transmission faible, moyenne et grande (voir l'Annexe A).

4.2.3 Il conviendrait de réviser les normes techniques contenues dans le Plan normalisé de réseaux hertziens (PNRH 321,8) afin d'améliorer l'utilisation efficace de cette bande. Jusqu'à ce qu'un nouveau PNRH soit adopté, toutes les autorisations de nouveaux systèmes à micro-ondes dans ces bandes se feront de façon non normalisée.


Date de modification :